The Change in the Concept of the Author Play Development versus Drama?

Royal Exchenge Theatre Production: „There Has Possibly Been an Incident“, directed by Sam Pritchard. © Jonathan Keenan
Royal Exchenge Theatre Production: „There Has Possibly Been an Incident“, directed by Sam Pritchard | Photo (detail): © Jonathan Keenan

The concept of the author has evolved considerably in recent years. Even the Play Market at the Berlin Theatre Meeting has been re-oriented.

It was a symbolic bombshell when Thomas Oberender, head of the Berliner Festspiele, and Yvonne Büdenhölzer, artistic director of the Theatre Meeting, announced the effective abolition of the play market for 2014. Although the event, part of the annual Berlin Theatre Meeting, will continue rather euphemistically to be called the “play market”, it will no longer, unlike in the past 35 years, invite authors to submit plays – that is, dramatic texts, from which a jury makes a selection to be presented in staged readings. In future, so-called “godparents” will nominate young theatre talents – directors, collectives and also authors – “who have distinguished themselves through a remarkable theatre language and pioneering forms of play development”. Their works will then be shown in guest performances at the Theatre Meeting.

The keyword is “play development”. This term is still meant to include the solitary labour of the author behind closed doors in which he gives birth to a text and which is then brought to life on the stage. But in future this is to be only one possibility amongst other.

Plays – dramas - projects

That the redefinition of the play market puts this 2,500-year-old form of theatrical production into a new perspective by no means bespeaks an acute drop in the writing of dramatic works. On the contrary, never were more plays being written and premiered in Germany than in the past ten years. Going on 120 new plays are produced annually in solo authorship, the result of funding practices that have rapidly multiplied since the invention of the play market in 1978. In 2009 a study by the University of Witten/Herdecke identified no fewer than 75 funding programmes in German-speaking countries: workshops, authors competitions, advancement awards, play markets. Not to mention commissioned plays, with which theatres generate premiers on their own initiative and attract the attention of nation-wide theatre criticism. The resultant new plays, however, seldom experience more than production at a secondary stage. After six performances the play is rarely done again and that’s the end of it. Re-performance is the exception.

Authors and collectives

The legitimate complaint about the wear-and-tear of talent and over-promotion is one motive for the re-orientation of the play market. The other reason is a development that began parallel to the accelerated output of texts: a changed concept of the author that sees the real creator of theatre to be the director, who appropriates dramatic material and takes possession of it as a malleable starting-point to be shaped as he chooses.

The other extension of the concept of the author found its institutional locus with the founding of the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen 1982 – and now also in Hildesheim. Not only there collectives already form during student years and invent theatre evenings quite independently of dramatic textual sources, mimesis and classical acting. They bear names such as Rimini Protokoll, Gob Squad, She She Pop, Monster Truck, MachinaEx or and company. Their play developments, which they prefer to call projects or performances, help themselves to collaged texts drawing on all the discourses of the present; they use documentary material, biographical experiences of “experts of everyday life” and experiment with the use of dance, music, light and visual arts in ways that cross all genre boundaries. When the subject demands, they leave the closed space of the theatre and swarm out into the city. They free the audience from their seats and place them at long tables or channel them through performance spaces in which they have to solve interactive tasks or come into conversation with the actors.

Co-existence

The graduates of the post-dramatic talent pools and their collectively developed productions have long since gained their place: at festivals, in the theatres of the independent scene such as the Berlin Hebbel am Ufer, the Frankfurter Mousonturm and the Zürcher Gessnerallee. But also increasingly in municipal theatres. Thus, for example, the Federal Cultural Foundation has responded to the new forms of production – and to the structural problems arising from the integration of these collectives in the repertory and ensemble system. Its “Doppelpass”, or “One-Two”, model has brought together independent groups with municipal and state theatres for individual projects. A rejuvenation for the theatres, and a bit of production security for the groups.

In the long run we can probably expect a peaceful co-existence of both systems: the author is not about to die out if a portion of funding, grants and competition monies goes in future to collectives and their work. The first edition of the newly defined play market at the Berlin Theatre Meeting bears witness to such a peaceful coexistence: the English director Katie Mitchell opted for the visual artist Miet Warlop, who develops performances, stage sets and exhibitions; Signa Köstler, the Danish co-founder and namesake of the collective Signa, nominated the stage designer Mona el Gammal; and the English playwright Simon Stephens the author, performer and musicians Chris Thorpe. The message of the 2014 play market is that the expanded concept of the author not only explodes the old genre boundaries, but also extends across the boundaries of language.

Die Veränderung des Autorenbegriffs Stückentwicklung versus Drama?

Royal Exchenge Theatre Production: „There Has Possibly Been an Incident“, Regie: Sam Pritchard. © Jonathan Keenan
Royal Exchenge Theatre Production: „There Has Possibly Been an Incident“, Regie: Sam Pritchard | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Jonathan Keenan

Der Begriff des Autors hat sich in den letzten Jahren stark weiterentwickelt. Auch der Stückemarkt beim Berliner Theatertreffen wird neu ausgerichtet.

Es war ein symbolischer Paukenschlag, als Thomas Oberender, Chef der Berliner Festspiele, und Yvonne Büdenhölzer, Leiterin des Theatertreffens, für 2014 die faktische Abschaffung des Stückemarkts ankündigten. Die Veranstaltung, Teil des alljährlichen Berliner Theatertreffens, wird zwar ein wenig euphemistisch weiterhin Stückemarkt heißen, aber anders als in den vorausgegangenen 35 Jahren werden nicht länger Autoren aufgefordert, Stücke – sprich: dramatische Texte – einzureichen, aus denen eine Jury eine Auswahl trifft, die in szenischen Lesungen vorgestellt werden. Künftig werden sogenannte Paten Theaternachwuchstalente – Regisseure, Kollektive oder Autoren – benennen, „die sich durch außergewöhnliche Theatersprachen und zukunftsweisende Formen der Stückentwicklung auszeichnen“. Sie dürfen im Rahmen des Theatertreffens ein Gastspiel zeigen.

Das Stichwort ist Stückentwicklung. Unter diesen Begriff soll zwar weiterhin auch die einsame Arbeit des Autors im stillen Kämmerlein fallen, die einen Text hervorbringt, der auf der Bühne zum Leben erweckt wird. Aber das ist künftig nur eine Möglichkeit unter mehreren.

Stücke – Dramen – Projekte

Dass die Neudefinition des Stückemarkts diese 2.500 Jahre alte Form der Stückproduktion relativiert, spiegelt dabei keineswegs ein akutes Nachlassen der Dramenproduktion. Im Gegenteil: Nie wurden in Deutschland mehr Stücke geschrieben und uraufgeführt als in den vergangenen zehn Jahren. An die 120 neue Stücke entstehen alljährlich in solistischer Autorenschaft, Folge einer Förderpraxis, die seit der Erfindung des Stückemarkts 1978 rasant zunahm. 2009 ermittelte eine Studie der Universität Witten/Herdecke nicht weniger als 75 Förderprogramme im deutschsprachigen Raum: Werkstatttage, Autorenwettbewerbe, Förderpreise, Stückemärkte. Ganz zu schweigen vom Auftragsstück, mit dem Theater auf eigene Initiative Uraufführungen generieren und die überregionale Kritik ins Haus locken. Die so entstandenen neuen Stücke erleben aber höchst selten mehr als eine Inszenierung in der Nebenspielstätte. Das neue Stück ist nicht selten nach sechs Aufführungen abgespielt und damit erledigt. Das Nachspiel ist der Sonderfall.

Autoren und Kollektive

Die berechtigte Klage über Talentverschleiß und Überförderung ist das eine Motiv für die Umwidmung des Stückemarkts beim Theatertreffen. Der andere Grund ist eine Entwicklung, die parallel zur Beschleunigung des Textausstoßes in Gang kam: Ein veränderter Autorenbegriff begreift als den eigentlichen Schöpfer des Theaters den Regisseur, der sich den dramatischen Stoff aneignet und ihn als beliebig modellierbares Ausgangsmaterial in Besitz nimmt.

Die andere Erweiterung des Autorenbegriffs fand 1982 mit der Gründung des Instituts für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen – und mittlerweile auch in Hildesheim – seinen institutionalisierten Ort. Nicht nur dort bilden sich schon während der Ausbildung Kollektive, die ganz unabhängig von dramatischen Textvorlagen, Mimesis und klassischen Schauspielern Theaterabende erfinden. Sie tragen Namen wie Rimini Protokoll, Gob Squad, She She Pop, Monster Truck, MachinaEx oder andcompany. Ihre Stückentwicklungen, die sie lieber Projekte oder Performances nennen, bedienen sich an collagierten Texten aus allen Diskursen der Gegenwart, sie benutzen dokumentarisches Material, biografische Erfahrungen der „Experten des Alltags“ und experimentieren mit dem alle Gattungsgrenzen überschreitenden Einsatz von Tanz, Musik, Licht und bildender Kunst. Wenn es das Thema will, verlassen sie die geschlossenen Theaterräume und schwärmen aus in die Stadt. Sie befreien die Zuschauer aus ihren Sitzen und platzieren sie an langen Tafeln oder schleusen sie durch Spielräume, in denen sie interaktiv Aufgaben zu lösen haben oder mit den Akteuren ins Gespräch kommen.

Koexistenz

Die Absolventen der postdramatischen Talentschmieden haben mit ihren kollektiv erarbeiteten Produktionen längst ihren Platz erobert – auf Festivals, in den Häusern der Freien Szene wie dem Berliner Hebbel am Ufer, dem Frankfurter Mousonturm oder der Zürcher Gessnerallee – zunehmend aber auch im Stadttheater. So hat zum Beispiel die Bundeskulturstiftung auf die neuen Produktionsformen reagiert – und auf die strukturellen Probleme, die für die Integration dieser Kollektive ins Repertoire- und Ensemblesystem bestehen. Ihr Doppelpass-Modell brachte 2012 freie Gruppen und Stadt- und Staatstheater für einzelne Projekte zusammen. Eine Frischzellenkur für die Theater, ein wenig Produktionssicherheit für die Gruppen.

Langfristig wird man aber wohl von einer friedlichen Koexistenz beider Systeme ausgehen können: Der Autor wird nicht aussterben, wenn ein Teil der Fördergelder, Stipendien, Wettbewerbe künftig den Kollektiven und ihrer Arbeit zukommt. Von friedlicher Koexistenz zeugt auch die erste Ausgabe des neudefinierten Stückemarkts beim Berliner Theatertreffen 2014: Die englische Regisseurin Katie Mitchell entschied sich für die bildende Künstlerin Miet Warlop, die Performances, Bühnenbilder und Ausstellungen entwickelt, Signa Köstler, die dänische Mitbegründerin und Namensgeberin des Kollektivs Signa, benannte die Szenografin Mona el Gammal und der englische Dramatiker Simon Stephens den Autor, Performer und Musiker Chris Thorpe. Die Botschaft des Stückemarkts 2014 lautet: Der erweiterte Autorenbegriff sprengt nicht nur die alten Gattungsgrenzen – er expandiert auch über die Sprachgrenzen hinaus.