Dance education Dancers of Tomorrow

Bundesjugendballett (National Youth Ballet)
Bundesjugendballett (National Youth Ballet) | Photo (detail): © Marcus Renner

Made-to-measure and yet also versatile – this is what is expected of dance education today. The path to professionalism is closely linked to a new self-conception of the profession of dancer.

Individualism counts. “My name is Winnie, I’m 21 years old, and I dance.” Dressed in jeans and a bright yellow top, Winnie Dias from Brazil stands on a platform in the middle of the Hamburger Rathausmarkt surrounded by a group of pupils. More pop star than ballerina, she is animating the school kids to dance, following a choreography that she has been rehearsing with them. Arms are stretched upwards enthusiastically, faces beam as the children, en masse, follow the graceful movements of the dancer, hopping on the spot, rotating in a circle, while Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons music heats up the rhythm over loudspeakers.

A new self-conception

The large-scale schools project is only one of many activities in which the Bundesjugendballett (National Youth Ballet) has been involved, not only in Hamburg, since its foundation in September 2011. The spectrum ranges from the gala event via club evenings to workshops in prisons. Up-and-coming choreographic talents such as the Canadian Robert Binet or the Hungarian Natalia Horecna receive here highly regarded opportunities while John Neumeier, by way of an exception, even creates personally the occasional work for the international cast of the Youth Company of which he is a co-founder. Usually, however, the eight talented young dancers create their own pieces, and in so doing they embrace, as it were, both high culture and street culture, they unite art and societal engagement. They give the profession of dancer a new self-conception. Not least for this achievement will the Bundesjugendballet be awarded the German Dance Prize “Future” on 2. March 2013 in the Aalto Theatre in Essen.

Future Dance Training – Who sets the benchmark?

Winnie Dias studied at the Tanzakademie Mannheim, four of her colleagues at the Ballet School of the Hamburg Ballet. The Bundesjugendballet, funded by the government in Berlin, does not aim to be a link between school and company in the way that, for example, the Junior Company Munich functions between the Ballett-Akademie of the Heinz-Bosl Foundation and the Bayerischer Staatsballett. Nevertheless, the question as to the aims of professional training is an issue that arouses strong emotions everywhere. And this to such an extent that in 2007 the state-run dance education institutions founded the Ausbildungdkonferenz Tanz, aka its abbreviation AKIT (Education Conference Dance). In 2008 the 1. Biennale Tanzausbildung, as part of Tanzplan Deutschland, succeeded for the first time in involving the Ballet Academies of Munich and Hamburg, the Universities of Stuttgart with their modern and contemporary dance programmes, the Palucca Hochschule in Dresden, the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen, the Academies of Music and Theatre of Frankfurt, Mannheim and Cologne and the Inter-University Centre for Dance Berlin (HüZT) in an active dialogue and in assembling the students in one training hall. In 2014 the 4. Biennale will already take place in Dresden.

Dance education in Germany calls for change if one wishes to strive, as did the recently deceased Deputy Director of the Munich Academy, Konstanze Vernon, “to raise the level to such an extent that we can keep pace with Russia and the USA.” Made-to-measure and, at the same time, versatile - this is expected of dance training. And it raises the question as to whether a strong classical technique is nowadays still enough for dancers who should be able in the end to do everything and perform all styles. As early as the late 1990s, when he became a Professor in Frankfurt, Dieter Heitkamp had launched a thorough renewal of the education and training programmes. A synthesis of classical (including en pointe) and contemporary dance and body work is the result, very much in accordance with the ideas of the radical ballet innovator William Forsythe, who exerts a formative influence as honorary professor.

Invent yourself!

Widespread influence in Frankfurt, extending right into the “Community”, has also been exerted by Tanzlabor 21, initiated by Tanzplan Deutschland, which in cooperation with the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies, the University and the Künstlerhaus Mousonturm has contributed to the development of a dynamic dance scene that is open to experimentation and discourse. In Berlin, also inspired by Tanzplan Deutschland, two new study programmes were implemented as pilot projects and have meanwhile firmly established themselves. A far cry from the competitive standard which Vernon had in mind, they may be described as physical learning in the context of art theory and societal criticism, whereby students have much freedom of choice within the programmes. One course ends with a Master’s degree in solo dance: individuality counts. For in dance as in every other profession the maxim is – invent yourself.

Dance history becomes cultural practice

The path to professionalism begins long before graduation. During their training, dancers already present themselves to an audience – as self-determined artists and not as pupils. A new awareness of history is aroused, an interest in the idols of yesteryear, observed against the background of art and society today. Strict repertoire adherence has been consigned to the past and replaced by individual research, not infrequently in the light of one’s own (dance) biography.

The thinking dancer, as the influential reform pedagogue Rudolf von Laban once postulated him or her, is now more important than ever. Thus, in her solo Trois Voies, Jasmim Ihrac, a graduate from Berlin’s Inter-University Centre for Dance, interweaves her own steps with the vocabulary of the choreographer Trisha Brown and the gesticulating speech of the philosopher Slavoj Žižek: an encounter on a level playing field.

Tanzausbildung Tänzer von morgen

Das Bundesjugendballett
Das Bundesjugendballett | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Marcus Renner

Maßgeschneidert und dennoch vielseitig soll die Tanzausbildung heute sein. Der Weg in die Professionalität ist eng verknüpft mit einem neuen Selbstverständnis für den Tänzerberuf.

Es zählt die Individualität. „Ich heiße Winnie, bin 21 Jahre alt, und ich tanze“. In Jeans und leuchtend gelbem Top steht die Brasilianerin Winnie Dias auf einem Podest mitten auf dem Hamburger Rathausmarkt umringt von einer Gruppe Schüler, die sie – mehr Popstar als Ballerina – nach zuvor einstudierter Choreografie zum Tanzen animiert. Arme recken sich begeistert in die Höhe, mit strahlendem Gesicht folgen die Kinder massenhaft den anmutigen Bewegungen der Tänzerin, hüpfen auf der Stelle, rotieren im Kreis, Antonio Vivaldis Jahreszeiten-Musik heizt über Lautsprecher den Rhythmus an.

Ein neues Selbstverständnis

Das groß angelegte Schulprojekt ist nur eines von vielen Aktivitäten, in die das Bundesjugendballett seit der Gründung im September 2011 nicht nur in Hamburg involviert war. Die Bandbreite reicht von der Gala-Veranstaltung über Clubabende bis hin zu Workshops in Strafanstalten. Aufstrebende Choreografentalente wie der Kanadier Robert Binet oder die Ungarin Natalia Horecna erhalten hier viel beachtete Chancen, ausnahmsweise kreiert John Neumeier auch schon mal persönlich für die von ihm ins Leben gerufene international besetzte Jugendkompanie. Meist aber entwickeln die acht Nachwuchstänzer ihre eigenen Stücke, umarmen dabei gleichsam die Hochkultur wie die Kultur der Straße, vereinen Kunst und gesellschaftliches Engagement. Dem Beruf des Tänzers geben sie ein neues Selbstverständnis. Nicht zuletzt dafür wurde dem Bundesjugendballett am 2. März 2013 im Essener Aalto Theater der Deutsche Tanzpreis Zukunft verliehen.

Zukunft Tanzausbildung – mit wem messen wir uns?

Winnie Dias hat an der Tanzakademie Mannheim studiert, vier ihrer Kollegen an der Ballettschule des Hamburg Ballett. Ein Bindeglied zwischen Schule und Kompanie, wie sie vergleichsweise die Junior Company München zwischen der Ballett-Akademie der Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung und dem Bayerischen Staatsballett darstellt, will das von Berlin finanzierte Bundesjugendballett nicht sein. Die Frage nach den Zielen von Ausbildung für den Beruf erregt dennoch allerorts die Tanzgemüter. Und zwar so sehr, dass die staatlichen Tanzausbildungsinstitutionen 2007 die Ausbildungskonferenz Tanz, kurz AK|T, gründeten. 2008 gelang es der ersten Biennale Tanzausbildung im Rahmen von Tanzplan Deutschland, erstmalig die Ballett-Akademien aus München, Hamburg, Stuttgart mit den modern und zeitgenössisch ausgerichteten Hochschulen, die Palucca Hochschule in Dresden, die Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen, die Hochschulen für Musik und Theater Frankfurt, Mannheim, Köln, das Hochschulübergreifende Zentrum Tanz Berlin (HüZT), in einen aktiven Dialog und die Studenten in einen Trainingssaal zu bringen. 2014 findet in Dresden bereits die vierte Biennale statt.

Das Tanzstudium in Deutschland ruft nach Wandel, will man, wie es die kürzlich verstorbene stellvertretende Leiterin der Münchner Akademie, Konstanze Vernon, anstrebte, „das Niveau so anheben, dass wir mit Russland und den USA mithalten können“. Maßgeschneidert und gleichzeitig vielseitig soll ausgebildet werden. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob eine starke klassische Technik nach wie vor ausreicht für Tänzer, die am Ende alles können und jeden Stil bedienen sollen? Bereits Ende der 1990er-Jahre hatte Dieter Heitkamp mit Antritt seiner Professur in Frankfurt begonnen, die Studien- und Trainingsinhalte bei den Wurzeln zu packen. Eine Synthese aus Klassik (inklusive Spitzentanz) und zeitgenössischer Tanz- und Körperarbeit ist das Ergebnis, ganz im Sinn des radikalen Balletterneuerers William Forsythe, der als Honorarprofessor prägend wirkt.

Erfinde dich!

Kreise zieht in Frankfurt darüber hinaus das von Tanzplan Deutschland initiierte Tanzlabor_21, das seit 2005 in Kooperation von Hochschule, Universität und dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm zur Entwicklung einer dynamischen, experimentier- und diskursfreudigen Tanzszene beiträgt. In Berlin hatte man ebenfalls im Zuge von Tanzplan Deutschland zwei neue Studiengänge als Pilotprojekte eingerichtet, die sich mittlerweile fernab von einem Konkurrenzanspruch wie er Vernon vorschwebte, etabliert haben. Physisches Lernen im Kontext von Kunsttheorie und Gesellschaftskritik, so lassen sich die weitgehend selbstbestimmten Studiengänge umschreiben. Ein Masterabschluss in Solotanz steht am Ende des einen: Individualität zählt. Denn im Tanz gilt wie in jedem anderen Beruf: Erfinde dich selbst.

Tanzgeschichte wird kulturelle Praxis

Der Weg in die Professionalität beginnt nicht erst mit dem Abschluss. Bereits während der Ausbildung präsentiert man sich einem Publikum: als selbstbestimmter Künstler und nicht als Schüler. Ein neues Geschichtsbewusstsein ist erwacht, ein Interesse an den Idolen von damals, betrachtet vor dem Hintergrund von Kunst und Gesellschaft heute. Sture Repertoirepflege ist nicht länger Gegenstand des Unterrichts sondern individuelle Recherche, nicht selten im Licht der eigenen (Tanz-)Biografie.

Der denkende Tänzer, wie ihn der einflussreiche Reformpädagoge Rudolf von Laban einst postulierte, gilt mehr denn je. Und so verschränkt die Berliner HüZT-Absolventin Jasmin Íhrac in ihrem Solo Trois Voies eigene Schritte mit dem Vokabular der Choreografin Trisha Brown und der gestikulierenden Rede des Philosophen Slavoj Žižek: Eine Begegnung auf Augenhöhe.