Van Manen, Madsen and Neumeier Three Masters and three reasons to celebrate

“Nijinsky”, Ballet by John Neumeier (2000), Hamburg Ballett
“Nijinsky”, Ballet by John Neumeier (2000), Hamburg Ballett | Photo (detail): Holger Badekow

Hans van Manen, the master of chamber ballet, has turned eighty. A biography has been published to mark the seventieth birthday of character dancer Egon Madsen. Forty years after taking up his post in Hamburg, John Neumeier is now Germany’s longest-serving ballet director. For decades, the Dutchman, Dane and American have been some of the German ballet scene’s most influential and highly respected artists. They all were celebrated in 2012 by the dance scene.

Hans van Manen – master of the small form

To congratulate Hans van Manen on his eightieth birthday, Het Nationale Ballet Amsterdam performed a gala, which was repeated in Baden-Baden. No other choreographer has developed George Balanchine’s abstract neoclassicism as independently as van Manen. He has composed some 120 short ballets. He draws inspiration from complex music ranging from Bach and Beethoven to contemporaries such as John Adams and Witold Lutosławski, but also Piazzolla (Five Tango Sensations, 1977) and Nina Hagen (In and Out, 1983), combining cool distance with elegance, humanity and wit. Van Manen has also been called the Mondrian of Dance on account of his clear structures and the unadorned refinement of his use of space and body language. In keeping with this, Keso Dekker, van Manen’s set designer for many years, often supplements the severe movement patterns with hatched backdrops and bright-coloured jerseys.

Van Manen was born in Nieuwer Amstel in 1932. His father was Dutch and his mother was German. He began to dance at the age of nineteen. He worked at the Amsterdam Opera Ballet and with Roland Petit in Paris. In 1961, he joined the Nederlands Dans Theater, which he directed until 1969. After quitting the NDT, he kept his spirits up with the choreography Keep Going (1971) for the ballet company of Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg. International engagements, productions of his ballets and awards followed. Today, his cooperation with Martin Schläpfer, Director of the Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg is particularly close. He says: “I study van Manen’s works to find out what he leaves out”.

Egon Madsen – untiring character dancer

The carefully researched, lively and competently written biography Egon Madsen – Ein Tanzleben by Hamburg culture journalist Dagmar Ellen Fischer was published right on time for his seventieth birthday. The cover shows Madsen in the solo Dear John (2010)), a homage to John Cranko by Eric Gauthier. “Cranko built me up,” the ballet dancer recalls. He became one of Stuttgart Ballet’s most versatile, popular soloists. John Neumeier created his first Hamlet (Hamlet Connotations, 1976) and Armand in Lady of the Camellias (1978) for the Dane. Above all, he appreciates his natural way of playing and dancing.

Madsen and Lucia Isenring, his stage partner and wife, took their leave of Stuttgart in 1981. As ballet director in Frankfurt, Stockholm and Florence, he always met Hans van Manen “with great respect”, reports Madsen, but he never danced anything by him. Jiri Kylian took him on in 2000 for the Nederlands Dans Theater’s senior citizens group NDT III. Madsen directed it until it disbanded in 2005. He still keeps coming back to Württemberg, his adopted home. He is a coach at Gauthier Dance at the Theaterhaus Stuttgart and dances in choreographies by Christian Spuck (Don Q., 2007) and Gauthier (M.M., 2009 and Dear John). He plays the soothsayer Madge in La Sylphide on the stage of the Württemberg State Theatre. Ballet director Reid Anderson puts his finger on the Madsen phenomenon, calling him “a genuine stage animal.”

Neumeier – a dance empire on the River Alster

Hardly anyone in Hamburg knew August Everding when the young dancer and choreographer came to direct the ballet of the Hamburg State Opera in 1973. Today, Neumeier is an honorary citizen and the “King of Hamburg”, as Marcia Haydée whimsically called him. He has built up a veritable empire by the River Alster. Ballet has long since been a theatre genre in its own right with Neumeier as director. Since 1973, he has directed the Ballettzentrum Hamburg - John Neumeier, which he founded, where children and young people from around the world study classical ballet. A day school and a boarding school are affiliated with the centre. In the former school building there is also a wing for administrative and artistic staff and rehearsal rooms for the company and the National Youth Ballet. In founding this troupe of eight young dancers in 2012, Neumeier took a major step towards setting up a separate junior company. All that remains to be done is to transfer Neumeier’s unique dance collection, including what is probably the world’s largest collection of documents on the work of Waslaw Nijinsky, to a public museum.

The focus continues to be on John Neumeier’s work as a choreographer, however. Audiences at home and on tour are enthusiastic about neoclassical narrative ballets (most recently Liliom, 2012)), symphonic ballets, based on music by composers including Gustav Mahler, and choreographies of sacred works such as Bach’s St. Matthew’s Passion (1980) and Mozart’s Requiem (1991) by John Neumeier, a devout Catholic.

Van Manen, Madsen und Neumeier Drei Meister und drei Gründe zum Feiern

„Nijinsky“, Ballett von John Neumeier (2000), Hamburg Ballett
„Nijinsky“, Ballett von John Neumeier (2000), Hamburg Ballett | Foto (Ausschnitt): Holger Badekow

Hans van Manen, der Meister des Kammerballetts, wurde am 6. Juli 2012 80 Jahre alt. Pünktlich zum 70. Geburtstag des Charaktertänzers Egon Madsen erschien eine Biografie. 40 Jahre nach seinem Amtsantritt in Hamburg ist John Neumeier seit 2012 dienstältester Ballettdirektor Deutschlands. Alle drei gehören seit Jahrzehnten zu den einflussreichsten Künstlern der deutschen Ballettszene – und wurden 2012 von der Tanzszene gefeiert.

Hans van Manen – Meister der kleinen Form

Zum 80. Geburtstag gratulierte das Het Nationale Ballet Amsterdam van Manen mit einer Gala. Kein Choreograf hat die abstrakte Neoklassik George Balanchines so eigenständig weiterentwickelt wie van Manen. Rund 120 Kurzballette hat er komponiert. Inspirieren lässt er sich von Bach und Beethoven bis hin zu Zeitgenossen wie John Adams und Witold Lutosławski, aber auch Piazzolla (Fünf Tangos, 1977) und Nina Hagen (In and Out, 1983). Kühle Distanz paart sich mit Eleganz, Menschlichkeit und Witz. Wegen seiner klaren Strukturen und des schnörkellosen Raffinements von Raumnutzung und Körpersprache wird van Manen auch als Mondrian des Tanzes bezeichnet. Entsprechend ergänzt sein langjähriger Bühnenausstatter Keso Dekker die strengen Bewegungsmuster oft mit schraffierten Rückprospekten und Trikots in klaren Farben.

1932 ist van Manen in Nieuwer Amstel als Sohn eines Holländers und einer Deutschen geboren. Als 19-Jähriger begann er zu tanzen. Er war beim Amsterdamer Opernballett und bei Roland Petit in Paris engagiert. 1961 schloss er sich dem Nederlands Dans Theater an, das er bis 1969 leitete. Nach dem Bruch ermutigte er sich mit der Choreografie Keep Going (1971) für das Ballett der Deutschen Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg. Internationale Engagements, Einstudierungen seiner Ballette und Ehrungen folgten. Besonders eng ist heute die Zusammenarbeit mit Martin Schläpfer, dem Direktor des Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg. Er sagt: „Ich studiere van Manens Werk, um herauszufinden, was er weglässt.“

Egon Madsen – unermüdlicher Charaktertänzer

Pünktlich zum 70. Geburtstag erschien im August 2012 die sorgfältig recherchierte, lebendig und mit Fachkompetenz geschriebene Biografie Egon Madsen – Ein Tanzleben der Hamburger Kulturjournalistin Dagmar Ellen Fischer. Das Cover zeigt Madsen in dem Solo Dear John (2010), einer Hommage auf John Cranko von Eric Gauthier. „Cranko hat mich aufgebaut“, erinnert sich der Ballerino. Er wurde einer der vielseitigsten, populärsten Solisten des Stuttgarter Balletts. John Neumeier kreierte für den Dänen seinen ersten Hamlet (Der Fall Hamlet, 1976) und den Armand in der Kameliendame (1978). Er schätzt vor allem dessen natürliche Art von Spiel und Tanz.

1981 nahmen Madsen und seine Bühnen- und Lebenspartnerin Lucia Isenring Abschied von Stuttgart. Als Ballettdirektor in Frankfurt, Stockholm und Florenz sei er Hans van Manen stets „mit großem Respekt“ begegnet, berichtet Madsen. Getanzt hat er nie etwas von ihm. Jiri Kylian engagierte ihn 2000 für die Seniorenformation NDT III des Nederlands Dans Theater. Madsen leitete sie bis zu ihrer Auflösung 2005. Noch heute kehrt er immer wieder in die württembergische Wahlheimat zurück. Er ist Coach von Gauthier Dance im Theaterhaus Stuttgart und tanzt in Choreografien von Christian Spuck (Don Q., 2007) und Gauthier (M.M., 2009 und Dear John). Auf der Bühne des Württembergischen Staatstheaters steht er als Hexe Madge in La Sylphide. Ballettintendant Reid Anderson bringt das Phänomen Madsen auf den Punkt: „Ein echtes Bühnentier.“

Neumeier – ein Tanzimperium an der Alster

Kaum ein Hanseat kannte ihn, als August Everding den jungen Tänzer und Choreografen 1973 als Ballettdirektor an die Hamburgische Staatsoper berief. Heute ist Neumeier Ehrenbürger und „König von Hamburg“, wie Marcia Haydée ihn launig titulierte. An der Alster hat er ein veritables Imperium aufgebaut: Das Ballett ist längst eine eigenständige Sparte mit Neumeier als Intendant. Seit 1973 leitet er das von ihm gegründete Ballettzentrum John Neumeier. Dort studieren Kinder und Jugendliche aus aller Welt klassisches Ballett. Eine öffentliche Schule und ein Internat sind angeschlossen. Ebenfalls in dem ehemaligen Schulkomplex untergebracht sind ein Trakt für Verwaltungs- und künstlerische Mitarbeiter sowie Probenräume für die Kompanie und das Bundesjugendballett. Mit der Gründung der achtköpfigen Truppe junger Tänzer im Frühjahr 2012 gelang Neumeier ein wichtiger Schritt hin zu einer eigenen Juniorkompanie. Bleibt nur noch die Überführung von Neumeiers einzigartiger Tanz-Sammlung mit der weltweit wohl größten Dokumentation des Werks von Waslaw Nijinsky in ein öffentliches Museum.

Im Mittelpunkt der Aufmerksamkeit steht aber weiterhin Neumeiers Arbeit als Choreograf. Seine neoklassischen Handlungsballette (zuletzt Liliom, 2012), die sinfonischen Ballette – etwa auf die Musik von Gustav Mahler – und Choreografien sakraler Werke wie Bachs Matthäus-Passion (1980) und Mozarts Requiem (1991) begeistern das heimische Publikum ebenso wie das auf Tournéen.