Dance in the Museum Movement between Institutions and Genres

Dr. Dirk Luckow, Director of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg; © Bertold Fabricius
Dr. Dirk Luckow, Director of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg | Photo (detail): © Bertold Fabricius

The mutual inspiration of dance and the fine arts constantly poses new challenges for both choreographers and the audience, as Dirk Luckow, Director of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg, explains in this interview.

Centre Pompidou in Paris, MoMA in New York, Tate Modern and the Hayward Gallery in London: they are all currently embracing dance. Someone who for some time now has been seeking effective frictions between choreography and movement in the context of the fine arts, for instance with works by William Forsythe or Xavier Le Roy, is Dirk Luckow, Director of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg, one of the largest exhibition houses for contemporary art in Europe.

Mr. Luckow, in 2003, when you became director of the Kunsthalle Kiel, you already launched the project “Open the Curtain – the Interplay between Dance and Art“, co-curated by Susanne Traub.

The Kunsthalle Kiel was years ahead of its time. The idea was a “museum in motion”. With performances by Boris Charmatz, La Ribot and Tino Sehgal, Open the Curtain marked the beginning. Installations - Fluxus has already been around in art since the 1960s - and more than ever it is being confirmed that the approach of the artists plays a role, rather than the medium.

Was Tino Sehgal already well-known in the art scene at that time?

I had heard of him. He was already working on solutions as to how he could include dance in the discourse with the classical presentation forms for the fine arts. An experience with him is a vivid example: I was with Sehgal at his exhibition in the Guggenheim Museum New York, we were looking down from above into the rotunda where on the floor a couple of dancers were kissing, and he just said: “ A loan from the MoMA.” With this the action acquired a sort of object status. Like a picture.

Do you remember the response to „Open the Curtain“? Of the visitors? Of the artists?

For many it was a discovery. Experimental dance, concept dance had not yet entered the mindscape. And even the artists reacted in surprise to the invitation, whereas nowadays they actually seek the museum context. As a field of experimentation. A space that is, of course, protected, and yet for the dancer it does present a different public than the stage in a classical theatre situation.

How did William Forsythe’ s “White Bouncy Castle” come to the Deichtorhallen in 2010 and Xavier Le Roy’s “Retrospective“ in 2013? Did the choreographers approach you?

They were both co-operations with Kampnagel. In between was another project that, in my opinion, had to do with dance: Antony Gormley’s Horizon Field Hamburg.

How did the audience react to the installations in the Deichtorhallen?

Participation is an important aspect. It has been a topic in the museum for some time - since the 1970s, there has been the concept of the “participant viewer” who not only consumes passively but also intervenes in what is happening. Here the visitor triggers something with other visitors. Or in the case of Xavier Le Roy with a dancer. With Gormley we had to join forces to set the structure in motion.

And how do you assess the artistic aspect?

Some people did call White Bouncy Castle just a better inflatable jumper. I disagree. The entire room became an artwork, the perception of the people changed. A huge soft sculpture, which one could not only look at but in which one could move around. Crossing the walkway to Gormly’s free floating level meant entering another sphere. 120,000 visitors came, that was really crazy. That shows that it’s no longer the thing just to look at something from a distance.

How did you feel with Xavier Le Roy - when experiencing the working methods of dancers here in the museum?

I found it quite fascinating to see how the audience was drawn in. And how the dancers linked Xavier’s pieces with narratives from their own biographies as dancers. We learned something about their life and gained the completely new impression that dance is not just highbrow culture. Originally, however, the performance of the pieces with Le Roy had far more tension than in the dancers’ citations. A pity. For that is exactly what is so special about dance, that it can produce this intensity. Visual art is always seeking this kind of presence.

Is dance in this respect a role model for art?

In an abstract way: if you see something that is very intense, very compacted, that can give you an idea for your own art. By way of an aspiration to a power, dimension, vision and precision.

In “Retrospective” Xavier Le Roy hands over his art symbolically to the museum. How do you assess the need to preserve the fleeting art of dance?

Here museums are a step ahead of the dance community. Due to the history of performance art, they are experienced in archiving and documenting time-based art and in establishing the requisite rules and concepts with artists who are still alive. Choreographers seem to give more thought to this aspect. Tino Seghal is a trailblazer here. There are film departments in museums, why not dance departments? However, we don’t want to take dance away from the theatres. Not that, in the end, the avant-garde can only be seen in galleries and museums.

Tanz im Museum Bewegung zwischen Institutionen und Genres

Dr. Dirk Luckow, Intendant der Deichtorhallen Hamburg; © Bertold Fabricius
Dr. Dirk Luckow, Intendant der Deichtorhallen Hamburg | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Bertold Fabricius

Die wechselseitige Inspiration von Tanz und Bildender Kunst stellt Choreografen wie Besucher vor immer wieder neue Herausforderungen, wie Dirk Luckow, Intendant der Deichtorhallen Hamburg, im Interview erzählt.

Centre Pompidou in Paris, MoMA in New York, Tate Modern und Hayward Gallery in London: Sie alle umarmen derzeit den Tanz. Einer, der mit Arbeiten von William Forsythe oder Xavier Le Roy nicht erst seit heute wirkungsvolle Reibungen zwischen Choreografie und Bewegung im Kontext der bildenden Kunst sucht, ist Dirk Luckow, Intendant der Deichtorhallen Hamburg, eines der größten Ausstellungshäuser für zeitgenössische Kunst in Europa.

Herr Luckow, bereits 2003 hatten Sie mit dem Projekt „Open the Curtain – Tanz und Kunst im Wechselspiel“, ko-kuratiert von Susanne Traub, die Direktion der Kunsthalle Kiel angetreten.

Die Kunsthalle Kiel ging um Jahre voraus. Ein „Museum in Motion“ war die Idee. Open the Curtain gab mit Performances von Boris Charmatz, La Ribot, Tino Sehgal den Auftakt. Installationen, Fluxus hat es in der Kunst seit den 1960er-Jahren schon gegeben, und mehr denn je bestätigt sich, dass die Haltung der Künstler eine Rolle spielt und nicht so sehr das Medium.

War Tino Sehgal damals schon in der Kunst bekannt?

Er war mir ein Begriff. Er arbeitete immer schon an Lösungen, wie er den Tanz in Auseinandersetzung mit den klassischen Präsentationsformen für die bildende Kunst bringt. Ein Erlebnis mit ihm macht das sehr plastisch: Ich war mit Sehgal in seiner Ausstellung im Guggenheim Museum in New York, wir schauten von oben in die Rotunde wo sich am Boden ein Tänzerpaar küsste, und er sagte nur: „Leihgabe aus dem MoMA.“ Dadurch bekam die Aktion eine Art Objektstatus. Wie ein Bild.

Erinnern Sie sich an die Resonanz auf „Open the Curtain“? Seitens der Besucher? Seitens der Künstler?

Für viele war es eine Entdeckung. Experimenteller Tanz und Konzepttanz waren noch nicht in den Köpfen. Und selbst die Künstler reagierten auf die Einladung überrascht, während sie heute gezielt den Museumskontext suchen – als Experimentierfeld: ein Raum, der zwar geschützt ist, aber für den Tänzer doch eine andere Öffentlichkeit darstellt als die Bühne in einer klassischen Theatersituation.

Wie gelangten 2010 William Forsythes „White Bouncy Castle“ und 2013 Xavier Le Roys „Retrospective“ in die Deichtorhallen? Sind die Choreografen an Sie herangetreten?

Beides waren Kooperationen mit Kampnagel. Dazwischen lag noch ein Projekt, das für mich mit Tanz zu tun hat: Antony Gormleys Horizon Field Hamburg.

Wie reagierte das Publikum auf die Installationen in den Deichtorhallen?

Partizipation ist ein wichtiger Aspekt. Im Museum ist sie schon länger Thema, seit den 1970er-Jahren macht man sich Gedanken um den participant viewer, der nicht nur passiv konsumiert, sondern aktiv in das Geschehen eingreift. Hier löst der Besucher etwas beim anderen Besucher aus. Oder, wie bei Xavier Le Roy, bei einem Tänzer. Bei Gormley musste man sich zusammentun, um die freihängende Platte in Bewegung zu setzen.

Und wie beurteilen Sie den künstlerischen Aspekt?

Manche bezeichneten White Bouncy Castle zwar als bessere Hüpfburg. Das sehe ich anders. Der ganze Raum wurde zum Kunstwerk, die Wahrnehmung der Leute änderte sich. Eine riesige soft sculpture, die man sich nicht nur anschauen, sondern in der man sich auch bewegen konnte. Den Steg zu Gormleys frei schwingender Ebene zu überqueren, bedeutete in eine andere Sphäre einzutreten. 120.000 Besucher kamen, das war wirklich verrückt. Das zeigt, es geht nicht mehr nur darum, etwas aus der Distanz zu betrachten.

Wie war es für Sie bei Xavier Le Roy, die Arbeitsweise von Tänzern hier im Museum zu erleben?

Faszinierend fand ich, wie das Publikum einbezogen wurde und wie die Tänzer die Stücke Xaviers mit Erzählungen aus ihrer eigenen Tänzerbiografie verknüpft haben. Man erfuhr etwas aus ihrem Leben und bekam den völlig neuen Eindruck, dass der Tanz eben nicht nur Hochkultur ist. Die Aufführung der Stücke hatte bei Le Roy ursprünglich jedoch viel mehr Spannung als in den Zitaten der Tänzer. Schade, denn darin liegt gerade das Besondere des Tanzes, dass er diese Intensität erzeugen kann. Diese Präsenz wünscht sich die bildende Kunst immer.

Ist der Tanz in dieser Beziehung für die Kunst ein Vorbild?

In abstrakter Weise: Wenn man etwas sieht, das sehr intensiv, sehr verdichtet ist, kann das einem eine Idee geben für die eigene Kunst. Im Sinne eines Anspruchs an eine Kraft, Größe, Vision und Präzision.

In „Retrospective“ übergibt Xavier Le Roy seine Kunst sinngemäß dem Museum. Wie beurteilen Sie das Bedürfnis nach Verwahrung der flüchtigen Tanzkunst?

Darin sind Museen der Tanzgemeinde einen Schritt voraus. Durch die Geschichte der Performancekunst haben sie Erfahrung damit, zeitbasierte Kunst zu archivieren, zu dokumentieren und entsprechende Regeln und Konzepte mit noch lebenden Künstlern zur Aufführung ihrer Stücke aufzustellen. Choreografen scheinen diesen Aspekt mehr zu bedenken. Dafür ist Tino Sehgal denn auch ein Vorreiter. Es gibt Filmabteilungen in Museen, warum nicht auch Tanzabteilungen? Allerdings will man den Theatern den Tanz ja nicht wegnehmen. Nicht dass es am Ende die Avantgarde nur noch in Galerien und Museen zu sehen gibt.