Dance and Architecture Labyrinth and Birdsong

Opening of the Biennale di Venezia 2014
Opening of the Biennale di Venezia 2014 | Photo (detail): © Ettore Bellini

In their function of structuring and thereby actually creating spaces, art and dance are closely connected.
Yet in the interplay of bodies, movement and space, dance not only designs architecture itself. Increasingly, it engages with existing structural conditions by intervening corporeally in their architectonic configuration.

It was Daedalus, the architect in Greek mythology, who once built a labyrinth for the Cretan King Minos in order to imprison the dangerous monster, the Minotaur. However, as Homer reports in his Iliad, Daedalus also created another labyrinth that is said to have served as a dance space for the King’s daughter Ariadne. Hence the labyrinth is at once architectonic construction and dance. It engages with both dance and space at the same time, whereby its walls on the dance floor were apparently formed by the chorus, i.e. the bodies of the chorus of dancers in a round dance. The connection between body and motion on the one hand and space and architecture on the other was thus already inscribed into dance in mythology.

Geometric space and corporeal architecture

In the course of its development, classical ballet, which emerged from the courtly dance of the Renaissance, came to view the upright body itself as an architectonic structure. With geometric forms and figures, which recomposed and reshaped the body in dimension and proportion, ballet conceptualised an ideal corporeal architecture, which, in turn, connected to the laws of the Euclidian geometric space surrounding it. Modern dance then played a significant role in subjecting this body-space architecture to a critical, analytical scrutiny. Oskar Schlemmer, for instance, examined in his Triadisches Ballett (1922) as well as in his later Bauhaus dances the laws of cubic space with its invisible stereometric network of lines to which the human body was connected. For Rudolf von Laban the harmonious relationships of the human body to space - choreutics, an idea developed by the scientist Ernst Häckel – actually flowed through crystalline paths. The plastic form which the body produces by its naturally developing movements is that of an icosahedron, which forms the space surrounding the dancer, shaping his/her so-called kinesphere. This icosahedron, in turn, now has the form of an organic crystal, which appears to Laban as a natural, cosmetic construction prevailing over both the dancing body as well as the entirety of organic nature.

Investigating architecture with the body

In the 1960s, dancers manifested a distinct aversion to the laws of mathematics (Schlemmer) or of nature (Laban) and started experimenting with the urban architecture that surrounded them and in which they lived. Hence their interest no longer focussed on abstract spatial laws, which dance movement is in a privileged position to demonstrate, but they devoted themselves in their dance-choreographic experiments to architecture as a lifeworld orientation and human habitat. In 1970, in her piece Man Walking Down the Side of a Building Trisha Brown had a dancer suspended on a cable walk down the side of a building, tilting the horizontal into the vertical and thus also overturning our spatial orientation. In her Roof Piece from 1973 she stationed dancers on a series of rooftops in the New York district of Soho. Placed at such a distance that they were just able to see one another, the American choreographer investigated the relationship of proximity and distance and the possibilities and limitations of human communication. A few years previously, in her piece Street Dance (1964), Lucinda Childs had relocated the performance venue to the street while the spectators looked down on the event from a window. An audio tape commented on the unfolding action in the street canyons of New York. In Germany, the Berlin choreographer Sasha Waltz, combining modern and post-modern, frequently explored empty museums or theatre buildings in her series Dialoge. As in 2008 in the Neues Museum in Berlin, in 1999 she had already explored with her company the niches, corners, walls and spaces of Daniel Libeskind’s symbolically charged architecture. Infused by the atmosphere of the rooms, bodies and architecture almost melt into one another in Waltz’s experiments.

Architecture in motion

Lucinda Child’s piece can certainly be regarded as a blueprint for the numerous experiments in the public space, which, long before the radio ballets of the group Ligna, urge people in an urban space to perform sudden, synchronised movements and to attract and focus attention. This discourse of dance with urban architecture also enables choreography, seen as a structuring of space by bodies, to emancipate itself from dance as energetic movement. The borders between dance, theatre and performance become permeable, new art forms and architectures of public space emerge.

In his ballet work William Forsythe has also deployed Daniel Libeskind’s utopian architectural drawings, which served as an improvisation basis for the dancers of his company in 1990 for the piece Limbs Theorem, in order to overturn classical ballet architecture. He goes one step further in his most recent works, the choreographic objects and performance installations. While the objects that Forsythe builds are themselves static, yet potential movement is stored within them. Their inherent principles of movement encourage the spectators addressing the “choreographed” object – whether physically or mentally – to start moving themselves.

For the architecture biennale in Venice, he has now developed for the series “Performing Architecture” the acoustic performance Performing Architecture the acoustic performance Birds, Bonn 1964, which consists of birdcalls. The room in the German pavilion, in which the architects Alex Lehnerer and Savvas Ciriacidis have recreated the “Kanzler Bungalow” in Bonn, is transformed by the almost immaterial, ephemeral birdcalls. In this space within a space a group of voice imitators performs a live concert of birdsong. William Forsythe is thus far removed from an understanding of choreography as the invention of steps. Instead, he evinces a general spatial mentation that is oriented to movements of the most diverse kind. By placing the performers in the exterior space of the bungalow, who then edge forward from the non-existent garden between the bungalow and the walls of the German pavilion into the interior spaces, the fixed structural architecture is virtually suspended and becomes alive. The activity of listening and the search for the sources of sound inspire not only the space but also the perception of the visitors to dance.
 
Birds, Bonn 1964 
by William Forsythe 
Acoustic Performance und Installation (Live recorded version) 
06.06.–23.11.2014 
German Pavilion / Gardini of the Biennale in Venice 

A production for the Bungalow Germania in the German Pavilion of the 14. Architecture Exhibition of the Biennale di Venezia and for Performing Architecture, a programme of Goethe-Institut. 
In co-operation with The Forsythe Company and the German Pavilion Supported by the Auswärtiges Amt, the BHF Bank Stiftung and the Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain.

Tanz und Architektur Labyrinth und Vogelstimmen

Eröffnung der Architekturbiennale 2014 in Venedig
Eröffnung der Architekturbiennale 2014 in Venedig | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ettore Bellini

Tanz und Architektur sind in ihrer Funktion, Räume zu gliedern und dadurch erst zu erzeugen, eng miteinander verbunden. Doch der Tanz entwirft im Zusammenspiel von Körper, Bewegung und Raum nicht nur selbst Architekturen. Er setzt sich zunehmend auch mit vorgefundenen baulichen Gegebenheiten auseinander, indem er in deren architektonische Anordnung körperlich interveniert.

Es war Dädalus, der Architekt der griechischen Mythologie, der einst für den kretischen König Minos ein Labyrinth baute, um darin das gefährliche Monster, den Minotaurus, wegzuschließen. Doch wie Homer in seiner Ilias berichtet, schuf Dädalus noch ein anderes Labyrinth, das als Tanzplatz für die Königstochter Ariadne gedient haben soll. Das Labyrinth ist folglich zugleich architektonisches Gebäude und Tanz. Es ist tänzerisch und räumlich zugleich, wobei dessen Wände auf dem Tanzplatz, dem Choros, vom Chor der Tänzerinnen und Tänzer und ihrer Körper im Reigentanz selbst gebildet worden sein sollen. Die Verbindung von Körper und Bewegung auf der einen sowie Raum und Architektur auf der anderen Seite ist dem Tanz demnach schon in der Mythologie eingeschrieben.

Der geometrische Raum und die Körperarchitektur

Das klassische Ballett, aus dem höfischen Tanz der Renaissance hervorgegangen, hat im Laufe seiner Entwicklung den aufrechten Körper selbst wie ein architektonisches Gebilde begriffen. Mit geometrischen Formen und Figuren, die den Körper nach Maß und Proportion neu zusammensetzen und gestalteten, entwarf das Ballett eine ideale Körperarchitektur, die wiederum mit den Gesetzen des ihn umgebenden euklidischen, geometrischen Raumes in Verbindung stand. Es war nicht zuletzt die Tanzmoderne, die diese Körper-Raum-Architektur eines kritisch-analytischen Blicks unterzog. So hatte etwa Oskar Schlemmer sowohl 1922 im Triadischen Ballett als auch in seinen späteren Bauhaustänzen die Gesetze des kubischen Raumes untersucht, mit deren unsichtbarem stereometrischen Liniennetz der menschliche Körper in Beziehung stand. Für Rudolf von Laban verliefen die harmonischen Beziehungen des menschlichen Körpers zum Raum, die Choreutik, einer Idee des Naturwissenschaftlers Ernst Haeckel geschuldet, gar in kristallinen Bahnen. Die plastische Form, die der Körper durch seine sich natürlich entfaltenden Bewegungen erzeugt, ist die eines Ikosaeders, der den Umraum des Tänzers bildet, seine sogenannte Kinesphäre, bildet. Dieser Ikosaeder wiederum, hat nun die Form eines organischen Kristalls, der Laban als natürlich-kosmische Bauform erschien, der der tanzende Körper ebenso unterlag wie die ganze organische Natur.

Die Architektur mit dem Körper erkunden

Den Gesetzen der Mathematik (Schlemmer) oder der Natur (Laban) gänzlich abgeneigt, experimentierten die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer seit den 1960er-Jahren mit der städtischen Architektur, die sie umgab und in der sie lebten. Ihr Interesse galt mithin nicht mehr den abstrakten Raumgesetzen, die in privilegierter Weise in der Lage sind, die tänzerische Bewegung zu veranschaulichen, sondern sie widmeten sich in ihren tänzerisch-choreografischen Experimenten der Architektur als lebensweltlicher Orientierung und als menschlichem Lebensraum. So ließ Trisha Brown 1970 in ihrem Stück Man Walking Down the Side of a Building einen Tänzer an Seilen eine Hauswand hinunterlaufen, kippte die Horizontale in die Vertikale und damit auch unsere räumliche Orientierung. In ihrem Roof Piece aus dem Jahr 1973 verteilte sie Tänzerinnen und Tänzer auf einer Reihe von Häuserdächern im New Yorker Stadtviertel SoHo – soweit voneinander entfernt, dass sie sich gerade noch sehen konnten. Die amerikanische Choreografin untersuchte so das Verhältnis von Nähe und Distanz und den Möglichkeiten und Grenzen menschlicher Kommunikation. Wenige Jahre zuvor hatte Lucinda Childs in ihrem Stück Street Dance (1964) den Aufführungsort auf die Straße verlagert, während die Zuschauer von einem Fenster aus das Geschehen unten beobachteten. Über eine Tonaufnahme gesteuert, wurde ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf verschiedene alltägliche Dinge in den Häuserschluchten New Yorks gelenkt. In Deutschland erkundete die Berliner Choreografin Sasha Waltz, Moderne und Postmoderne verbindend, in ihrer Reihe Dialoge immer wieder leere Museen oder Theaterbauten. Wie 2008 im Neuen Museum in Berlin hatte sie schon 1999 im damals noch leeren Jüdischen Museum mit ihrer Kompagnie die Winkel, Ecken, Wände und Räume der symbolisch aufgeladenen Architektur von Daniel Libeskind erforscht. Durchdrungen von der Atmosphäre der Räume verschmelzen Körper und Architektur in Waltz’ Experimenten nahezu miteinander.

Architektur in Bewegung

Lucinda Childs Stück kann man durchaus als Blaupause für die zahlreichen Experimente im öffentlichen Raum verstehen, die nicht erst seit den Radioballetten der Gruppe Ligna Menschen im Stadtraum dazu anhalten, plötzlich synchronisiert Bewegungen auszuführen und Aufmerksamkeit zu erzeugen und zu bündeln. Durch die Auseinandersetzung des Tanzes mit der städtischen Architektur emanzipiert sich auch die Choreografie, verstanden als eine durch Körper erzielte Strukturierung des Raumes, vom Tanz als energetischer Bewegung. Die Grenzen zwischen Tanz, Theater und Performance werden durchlässig, neue Kunstformen und Architekturen des Öffentlichen entstehen.

Auch William Forsythe hat sich in seiner Arbeit am Ballett mit Daniel Libeskinds utopischen Architekturzeichnungen beschäftigt, die den Tänzern seiner Kompagnie 1990 für das Stück Limbs Theorem als Improvisationsgrundlage dienten, um die klassische Ballettarchitektur aus den Angeln zu heben. Einen Schritt weiter geht er in seinen jüngsten Arbeiten, den choreografischen Objekten und Performance-Installationen. Sind die Objekte, die Forsythe baut, selbst statisch, ist in ihnen potenzielle Bewegung gleichsam gespeichert. Ihre inhärenten Bewegungsprinzipien leiten die Betrachter an, sich in der Beschäftigung mit dem „choreografierten“ Gegenstand – sei es physisch oder mental – selbst in Bewegung zu versetzen.

Für die Architektur-Biennale in Venedig hat er nun für die Reihe Performing Architecture die akustische Performance Birds, Bonn 1964 entwickelt, die aus Vogelgeräuschen besteht. Der Raum des deutschen Pavillons, in den die Architekten Alex Lehnerer und Savvas Ciriacidis den Bundeskanzlerbungalow aus Bonn nachgebaut haben, wird durch die nahezu immateriellen, flüchtigen Vogelgeräusche transformiert. Eine Gruppe von Stimmenimitatoren führt in diesem Raum im Raum live ein Konzert aus Vogelgesang auf. Von einem Verständnis von Choreografie als Erfinden von Schritten ist William Forsythe damit weit entfernt. Ein allgemeines räumliches Denken, das sich an Bewegungen unterschiedlichster Art ausrichtet, tritt an dessen Stelle. Durch die Platzierung der Performer in den Außenraum des Bungalows, die aus dem nicht vorhandenen Garten zwischen Bungalow und den Wänden des deutschen Pavillons in die Innenräume dringen, wird die baulich feste Architektur gleichsam aufgehoben und zum Leben erweckt. Im Nachhören und auf der Suche nach den Geräuschquellen wird nicht nur der Raum, sondern auch die Wahrnehmung der Besucher zum Tanzen gebracht.
 
Birds, Bonn 1964 
William Forsythe 
Akustische Performance und Installation (live recorded version) 
06.06.–23.11.2014 
Deutscher Pavillon / Gardini der Biennale in Venedig 

Eine Produktion für den Bungalow Germania im deutschen Pavillon der 14. Architektur-Ausstellung der Biennale di Venezia und für Performing Architecture, Veranstaltungsreihe des Goethe-Instituts. 
Eine Zusammenarbeit mit The Forsythe Company und dem Deutschen Pavillon. Mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes, der BHF-Bank-Stiftung und dem Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain.