Foreign Affairs 2014 Museum and Stage

Boris Charmatz “20 Dancers for the XX Century” with Ashley Chen, 27. and 28.06.2014, Sowjetisches Ehrenmal in Berlin, Treptower Park; © Jirka Jansch
Boris Charmatz “20 Dancers for the XX Century” with Ashley Chen, 27. and 28.06.2014, Sowjetisches Ehrenmal in Berlin, Treptower Park; © Jirka Jansch | © Jirka Jansch

Exhibition and performance are two sides of the same coin. Museums are showing “immaterial works of art” and theatre festivals are exploring exhibition formats. The Berliner Festspiele devoted a programme focus to this theme in 2014 as part of the theatre and performative arts festival Foreign Affairs.

The Musée de la Danse, Dancing Museum or Tanzmuseum presented a working context that skilfully plays with the two aspects of performance and exhibition. French choreographer Boris Charmatz took over as director of the Choreographic Centre in Rennes, Brittany in 2009. His project was to transform it into a museum devoted to dance. Of course, one should not think of this as being a museum project in the strict sense of the word. Rather, the aim is to sound out how dance and museum can act in relation to interdisciplinary artistic thinking.

One of the works created in this connection is the choreography for a large ensemble Levée des conflits (suspension of conflicts). The idea behind it, said Charmatz in a public discussion, is to show all the material in motion at one moment while at the same time performing it in ever new variations – as a kind of moving sculpture. In Berlin, this encounter took place on stage using a traditional frontal perspective. In MoMA, New York, however, Levée des conflits was exhibited in the foyer, in the French city of Avignon it was shown on a public green space and at the Ruhrtriennale on a coal stockpile. The piece never remains what it is and everyone sees it in ever different ways.

Boris Charmatz „Levée des conflits“, Ruhrtriennale (Youtube)

Walking monuments

Matthias von Hartz, Artistic Director of Foreign Affairs, also invited two other projects from this production context to attend the festival: 20 Dancers for the XX Century and Expo Zéro. both of which are something like touring exhibitions. While the format remains the same, the venues, participants and sometimes the contents vary. 20 Dancers brings together the said number of players, each of whom presents one work of twentieth-century dance within a fixed period of time in a commentary and performance. The Soviet War Memorial in Treptow was selected as the exhibition venue in Berlin. Something was said about Russian and Serbian folk dances, about Pina Bausch and her choreography Spring Victim, about Ron Athey and Karl Marx. In an atmosphere entirely devoid of unctuousness, subjective knowledge about dance occupied an ambivalent historical monument.
 
Boris Charmatz „20 Dancers for the XX Century“ – Treptower Park, Berlin (Youtube)

What is monumental (“What is monumental today?” asked the Russian group Chto Delat in another programme focus) is closely linked with power, as demonstrated both by ancient and recent history. In destroying monuments, the triumphant power aims to demonstrate its domination over the past power. Yet even in the art business, there is conflict between fixation on objects as monuments to artistic activity, and performance as a traceless practice, based purely on aesthetic experience.

The power of the immaterial?

In thus commingling stage and showroom, a quite different power may emerge - the power of the immaterial. In an environment increasingly dominated by the liquefaction of material things in digital processes, the transition of aesthetic museum experience into performance structures may be a stealthy victory. Tino Sehgal for one is better known for not wanting to leave any traces than for his works themselves, and for the work of art withdrawing into an atmospheric “now” moment. Because there are no pictures or documents, the situational artwork grabs all the attention. More is said about what is absent than about what is visible.

Monument and the bourgeoisie

Triumphalism of this kind is not what the Musée de la Danse under its director Boris Charmatz is aiming for, however. Although Expo Zéro depends on direct encounters with the participating artists (who are often speakers and rhetoricians), it does create meeting space that by no means wishes to close itself off from posterity. It is only in dialogue that the content of the exhibition develops as a potential of knowledge and of the experiences that dancers and audiences bring with them into the exhibition space.

It is probably no coincidence that the extremes of bourgeois-monumental practices are quoted in the Berlin versions of 20 Dancers and Expo Zéro. After all, the wide range of forms of experience that influenced at the least the twentieth century are spread out between the historically-charged military cemetery in Treptow and a bourgeois apartment in Schöneberg, neutralised into a gallery using plaster-board applications with a series of intimate chambers and cabinets recalling dance. Thus, the coin of art is also hard currency, regardless of the side from which it is viewed.

Foreign Affairs 2014 Museum und Bühne

Boris Charmatz „20 Dancers for the XX Century“ mit Ashley Chen, 27. und 28.06.2014, Sowjetisches Ehrenmal im Treptower Park
Boris Charmatz „20 Dancers for the XX Century“ mit Ashley Chen, 27. und 28.06.2014, Sowjetisches Ehrenmal im Treptower Park | © Jirka Jansch

Ausstellung und Aufführung, das sind zwei Seiten einer Medaille. Museen zeigen „immaterielle Kunstwerke“ und Theaterfestivals erforschen Ausstellungsformate. Die Berliner Festspiele widmeten diesem Thema 2014 einen Programmschwerpunkt im Rahmen des Festivals Foreign Affairs.

Mit dem Musée de la Danse, dem Dancing Museum oder zu deutsch Tanzmuseum wurde ein Arbeitszusammenhang vorgestellt, der kunstvoll mit den beiden Seiten spielt: aufführen und ausstellen. Der französische Choreograf Boris Charmatz übernahm 2009 die Leitung des Choreografischen Zentrums im bretonischen Rennes. Sein Vorhaben war, es in ein dem Tanz gewidmetes Museum zu verwandeln. Freilich darf man sich darunter kein im eigentlichen Sinne museales Projekt vorstellen. Vielmehr besteht das Ziel darin, Möglichkeiten auszuloten, wie sowohl Tanz als auch Museum sich zum künstlerischen Querschnitts-Denken verhalten können.

Eine der Arbeiten aus diesem Zusammenhang ist die Choreografie für großes Ensemble Levée des conflits (zu deutsch etwa Konfliktlösungen). Es soll, so Charmatz im Publikumsgespräch, das gesamte Bewegungsmaterial in einem Augenblick zeigen und gleichzeitig in immer neuen Variationen vorführen – als eine Art bewegte Skulptur. In Berlin fand diese Begegnung auf der Bühne statt, in klassischer Frontalansicht. Doch im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art war Levée des conflits in der Wandelhalle ausgestellt, im französischen Avignon auf einer öffentlichen Grünfläche gezeigt worden, bei der Ruhrtriennale auf einer Kohlenhalde. Das Stück bleibt nie, was es ist, und jeder sieht es immerzu anders.

Boris Charmatz „Levée des conflits“, Ruhrtriennale (Youtube)

Wandernde Monumente

Matthias von Hartz, Künstlerischer Leiter von Foreign Affairs, hatte auch noch zwei andere Projekte aus diesem Produktionszusammenhang eingeladen: 20 Dancers for the XX Century und Expo Zéro. Beide sind so etwas wie Wanderausstellungen. Das Format bleibt dasselbe, die Orte, die Teilnehmer und bisweilen auch die Inhalte verändern sich. 20 Dancers versammelt ebenso viele Akteure, die in einem festgelegten Zeitraum jeweils eine Position des Tanzes aus dem 20. Jahrhundert vorstellen, in Kommentar und Aufführung. In Berlin war das Sowjetische Ehrenmal in Treptow als Ausstellungsort gewählt worden. Man erfuhr etwas über russische und serbische Volkstänze, über Pina Bausch und Das Frühlingsopfer, über Ron Athey und Karl Marx. In einer ganz und gar nicht salbungsvollen Atmosphäre besetzte subjektives Tanzwissen ein ambivalentes Monument der Geschichte.
Boris Charmatz „20 Dancers for the XX Century“ – am Ehrenmal im Treptower Park, Berlin (Youtube)

Das Monumentale („What is monumental today?“ fragte die russische Gruppe Chto Delat in einem anderen Programmschwerpunkt) ist eng an die Macht gekoppelt; die alte und auch die neueste Geschichte beweisen das. Noch in der Zerstörung von Monumenten will sich die triumphierende Macht über die vergangene beweisen. Doch auch im Kunstbetrieb besteht der Widerstreit zwischen der Fixierung auf das Objekt als Monument künstlerischer Tätigkeit und der Performance als spurloser, rein erlebnisästhetisch begründeter Praxis.

Macht des Immateriellen?

In einer solchen Vermengung von Bühne und Schauraum kommt aber möglicherweise eine ganz andere Macht zum Vorschein: die Macht des Immateriellen. Denn wo Verflüssigung des Dinglichen in digitalen Prozessen zunehmend die Lebenswelt beherrscht, da ist vielleicht die Überführung von ästhetischer Museums-Erfahrung in Aufführungsstrukturen ein schleichender Sieg. Tino Sehgal etwa ist mehr noch als für seine Arbeiten selbst dafür bekannt, dass er keine Spuren produzieren will und sich das Kunstwerk in einen auratischen Gegenwartsmoment zurückzieht. Weil es keine Bilder oder Dokumente gibt, reißt das situative Kunst-Stück alle Aufmerksamkeit an sich. Man spricht mehr über das Abwesende als über das Sichtbare.

Monument und Bürgerlichkeit

Einen solchen Triumphalismus strebt das Musée de la Danse unter seinem Leiter Boris Charmatz allerdings nicht an. Expo Zéro lebt zwar ebenfalls von der direkten Begegnung mit den beteiligten Künstlern (die oftmals eher Redner und Rhetoren sind), schafft aber einen Begegnungsraum, der sich keineswegs der Nachwelt verschließen will. Im Dialog erst entfaltet sich der Ausstellungsinhalt, als Potential des Wissens und der Erfahrungen, die Tänzer und Zuschauer in den Ausstellungsraum mitbringen.

Dass mit 20 Dancers und Expo Zéro ihren Berliner Versionen zugleich die Extreme bürgerlich-monumentaler Gepflogenheiten zitiert wurden, dürfte kein Zufall sein. Denn zwischen dem historisch aufgeladenen Soldatenfriedhof in Treptow und einer mit Rigips-Applikationen zum Galerieraum neutralisierten großbürgerlichen Wohnung in Schöneberg mit ihrer Abfolge intimer Gemächer und Kabinette, in denen an Tanz erinnert wird, breitet sich die Palette von Erfahrungsformen aus, die mindestens das 20. Jahrhundert geprägt haben. Insofern ist die Kunstmedaille auch harte Währung, ganz gleich von welcher Seite man sie betrachtet.