Careers in dance Transculturality instead of Multiculturalism

„Dialoge 09 - MAXXI Bernd Uhlig 2009“

In the 21st century dancers and choreographers are at home everywhere and nowhere.

Take the example of the celebrated Forsythe Company: it currently consists of 22 dancers from eleven nations. It is still led by its founder William Forsythe who was raised in New York, but since 2004 his company has been based in Dresden and Frankfurt. Or that of his fellow-American Meg Stuart: she lives in Berlin, her company Damaged Goods operates from Brussels. In 1991 she accepted an invitation to the Klapstuk Festival in Leuven where she was able to present her first full-length choreography Disfigure Study. The resonance was overwhelming; Stuart began to spend more time in Europe than in the USA and in 1994 she founded her company in Brussels. This was possible, not least, because she received public funding as the first non-Belgian choreographer.

Whereas in German spoken theatre it is still an exception that actors “with a migration background” (as the foreign in the familiar is termed nowadays) perform on stage, careers in dance – as in the visual arts and music – are international. Since the 1990s this tendency has been reinforced by the accelerated transfer movements of globalisation. In German spoken theatre plays are currently being discussed in which actors as the children of second or third-generation immigrants become the performers of their own history and thus negotiate the diversification of a society once hailed as “multicultural”. In dance, in contrast, immigration and emigration are givens to such an extent that they are hardly reflected in artistic practice. For it is often the precondition of artistic activity: people leave their home countries to learn and to practise. But the reason for both migration movements is ultimately to be found in the respective economic situation. Contemporary art is after all, as the art critic and essayist Nicolas Bourriaud writes ”a contemporary of the economy surrounding it.”

Multilingualism on many levels

There are various reasons for the internationality of dance: in many countries infrastructures for contemporary dance such as training centres and public funds hardly exist. Young dancers are often autodidacts, teaching themselves for example via youtube, or they go abroad to train. In this respect, too, there is a basic structural difference between dance and spoken theatre as in acting schools students of non-German descent are distinctly underrepresented. There are of course difficulties involved in border-crossing: students already have to cope with the Kafkaesque bureaucracy in acquiring a visa, and this continues after completing the course – particularly if graduates wish to work as freelance dancers or choreographers and are unable to prove beyond any doubt that they will not require welfare assistance from the state. Moreover, it appears that in the tense crisis-ridden climate since 2008 borders have once again become more difficult to cross and visas issued with greater reluctance. In artistic practice this friction has not (yet) become palpable.

“Everyone brings their own background, body knowledge and culture with them,” says the Argentinean choreographer Paula Rosolen, who studied at the University of Music and Performing Arts (HfMDK) in Frankfurt. “My experience is very different to that of my fellow students from Poland, Korea, Russia or China. In training we try to find a common ground.” Intercultural discourse and exchange already take place here. “You grow tremendously as a person,” claims Rosolen. “You learn about stories that are very different from your own and also from that of the place where you are now living together.” Internationality and interculturality are closely intertwined here – also in the diverse conditioning of the bodies that congregate here and work with one another, skin to skin, bone to bone. The “universal” art form dance has changed: nowadays its cross-border comprehensibility is based less on the fact that it does not rely on verbal communication but rather on the multilingualism that prevails in its movement vocabulary as well as in oral speech. In rehearsals the working language in any case is English.

Cultural conditioning of the body

In recent years a few choreographic works have focussed on cultural prefigurations in dance: for instance the piece Nijinsky Siam by the Thai choreographer Pichet Klunchun is a comparison of dance cultures that from the very beginning casts doubt on the identity of enclosed cultural spheres and celebrates the productivity of contact points where traditions – here classical ballet and Thai Khon dance – intertwine and communicate in translation with one another. For artistic inspiration definitely does not stop at national borders. Translation is also used by Monika Gintersdorfer and Knut Klaßen as an aesthetic tool: in their staged encounters between Ivorian and German dancers they present their socialisation and learning processes in dance to one another and thus also to the audience. Here they use the elements of multilingualism and translation (the German dancer always translates what the Ivorian is reporting) in order to reveal and negotiate the cultural contexts of dance.

Thus dance in its everyday routine and on stage retraces a kinetics of globalisation: over 175 million people live outside their home country, a trend that is increasing. Identities, ethnos and nationalities are in flux. “A recurring question in my works,” said Meg Stuart once in an interview, “concerns the double experience of feeling at home everywhere and nowhere.” One could say that dance creates trans-cultural or trans-national identities where cultures and forms of expression interweave to an almost utopian point: here the future of culturally diversified societies can be drafted and rehearsed.

Karrieren im Tanz Transkulturalität statt Multikulti

„Dialoge 09 - MAXXI Bernd Uhlig 2009“

Im 21. Jahrhundert sind Tänzer und Choreografen überall und nirgends zuhause: Karrieren im Tanz sind international.

Zum prominenten Beispiel die Forsythe Company: Sie umfasst derzeit 22 Tänzer aus elf Nationen. Ihr Kopf und rechter Fuß ist William Forsythe, aufgewachsen in New York, seine Company ist seit 2004 in Dresden und Frankfurt beheimatet. Oder seine Landsfrau, Meg Stuart: Sie lebt in Berlin, ihre Company Damaged Goods operiert von Brüssel aus. 1991 folgte sie einer Einladung zum Klapstuk Festival in Leuven, die ihr ihre erste abendfüllende Choreografie Disfigure Study ermöglichte. Die Resonanz war überwältigend, schließlich verbrachte Stuart mehr Zeit in Europa als in den USA und gründete 1994 in Brüssel ihre Company. Möglich wurde dies nicht zuletzt, weil sie als erste nicht-belgische Choreografin öffentliche Fördermittel erhielt.

Während es im deutschen Sprechtheater immer noch zur Ausnahme gehört, dass Schauspieler „mit Migrationshintergrund“, wie die Umschreibung des Fremden im Eigenen heute heißt, auf der Bühne stehen, sind Karrieren im Tanz – ähnlich wie in Bildender Kunst und Musik – international. Diese Tendenz hat sich seit den 1990er-Jahren durch die forcierten Transferbewegungen der Globalisierung noch einmal verstärkt. Im deutschen Sprechtheater werden derzeit Stücke diskutiert, in denen Schauspieler als Kinder von Einwanderern der zweiten oder dritten Generation zu Darstellern ihrer eigenen Geschichte werden und damit die Diversifizierung der einst als „multikulturell“ begrüßten Gesellschaft verhandeln. Im Tanz dagegen ist die Ein- und Auswanderung so selbstverständlich, dass sie in der künstlerischen Praxis kaum reflektiert wird. Denn sie ist oft die Voraussetzung der künstlerischen Tätigkeit: Zwecks Erlernung und Ausübung verlassen Menschen ihre Heimatländer. Die Ursache beider Migrationsbewegungen aber liegt letztlich in der jeweiligen wirtschaftlichen Situation begründet. Schließlich ist die zeitgenössische Kunst, wie der Kunstkritiker und Essayist Nicolas Bourriaud schreibt, „vor allem eine Zeitgenossin der sie umgebenden Ökonomie“.

Mehrsprachigkeit auf vielen Ebenen

Die Internationalität des Tanzes hat verschiedene Gründe: In vielen Ländern sind Infrastrukturen für zeitgenössischen Tanz wie Ausbildungsstätten und Fördermittel kaum vorhanden. Junge Tänzer bilden sich autodidaktisch beispielsweise via Youtube weiter oder sie gehen zur Ausbildung ins Ausland. Auch dies unterscheidet den Tanz strukturell grundlegend vom Schauspiel, wo in den Bildungsinstitutionen Studenten nicht-deutscher Abstammung stark unterrepräsentiert sind. Natürlich bringt dies auch Schwierigkeiten mit sich: Schon während des Studiums muss die kafkaeske Bürokratie der Visumsbeschaffung absolviert werden, nach dem Abschluss findet sie ihre Fortsetzung – gerade wenn der Absolvent als freier Tänzer oder Choreograf weiterarbeitet und nicht lückenlos nachweisen kann, dass er dem Staat künftig nicht auf der Tasche liegen wird. Zudem scheint es, dass im angespannten Krisen-Klima nach 2008 die Grenzen wieder undurchlässiger werden und Visa widerwilliger ausgestellt werden. In die künstlerische Praxis haben diese Reibungen (noch) keinen Eingang gefunden.

„Jeder bringt seinen eigenen Background, sein Körperwissen und seine Kultur mit“, berichtet die argentinische Choreografin Paula Rosolen, die an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt studierte. „Meine Erfahrung unterschied sich sehr von der meiner Mitstudenten aus Polen, Korea, Russland oder China. Die Ausbildung versuchte, einen gemeinsamen Boden zu schaffen.“ Schon hier finden interkulturelle Auseinandersetzungen statt. „Man wächst als Mensch sehr“, findet Rosolen. „Man lernt Geschichten kennen, die sich stark von der eigenen unterscheiden und auch von der des Ortes, an dem man jetzt gemeinsam lebt.“ Internationalität und Interkulturalität greifen hier eng ineinander – und sei es in der unterschiedlichen Prägung der Körper, die da zusammen kommen und Haut an Haut, Knochen an Knochen miteinander arbeiten. Die „universale“ Kunstform Tanz hat sich gewandelt: Ihre grenzübergreifende Verständlichkeit beruht heute weniger darauf, dass sie ohne Verbalsprache auskommt, sondern vielmehr auf ihrer Mehrsprachigkeit, die sowohl im Bewegungsvokabular als auch in der mündlichen Rede herrscht. Auf den Proben ist die Arbeitssprache ja ohnehin Englisch.

Kulturelle Prägungen des Körpers

Einige wenige choreografische Arbeiten thematisierten in den letzten Jahren kulturelle Präfigurationen im Tanz: So ist das Stück Nijinsky Siam des thailändischen Choreografen Pichet Klunchun ein tänzerischer Kulturvergleich, der die Identität geschlossener Kulturräume von Anfang an in Zweifel zieht und jenen Punkt fruchtbar macht, an dem sich Traditionen – hier klassisches Ballett und thailändischer Khon-Tanz – ineinander und zueinander übersetzen. Denn künstlerische Inspiration macht keineswegs an nationalen Grenzen halt. Übersetzung nutzen auch Monika Gintersdorfer und Knut Klaßen als ästhetisches Mittel: In ihren inszenierten Begegnungen zwischen ivorischen und deutschen Tänzern stellen diese einander und damit dem Publikum ihre tänzerischen Sozialisierungs- und Lernprozesse vor. Dabei nutzen sie gerade die Elemente Mehrsprachigkeit und Übersetzung (der deutsche Tänzer übersetzt stets das, was der ivorische berichtet), um kulturelle Kontexte des Tanzes aufzudecken und zu verhandeln.

So zeichnen tänzerischer Alltag und Bühne eine Kinetik der Globalisierung nach: Über 175 Millionen Menschen leben außerhalb ihres Heimatlandes, Tendenz steigend. Identitäten, Ethnien und Nationalitäten verwerfen sich. „Eine wiederkehrende Frage meiner Arbeiten ist“, sagte Meg Stuart einmal im Interview, „die doppelte Erfahrung, sich überall und nirgends zuhause zu fühlen“. Wenn man so möchte, schafft der Tanz transkulturelle oder transnationale Identitäten, Kulturen und Ausdrucksformen verflechten sich zu einem geradezu utopischen Moment: Hier kann die Zukunft kulturell diversifizierter Gesellschaften entworfen und erprobt werden.