Dance Film Capturing Transience

“Gardenia”, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel
“Gardenia”, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel | © Luk Monsaert

It is a remarkable genre – as free as the visual arts, without the narrow framework of theatre, far from the rules of cinema. Dance film is a niche from which filmmakers since Fred Astaire have been glad to break free.

When asked why he likes using his camera so much, Jirí Kylián, the surrealist among the great choreographers, said: “People always get (their cameras) out when they experience an irretrievable moment. Your child is dancing, so you film her because you know that she will never dance like that again. It is exactly the same with older people. Their bodies change in their final years as fast as children’s bodies do in their first years of life.” Kylián does not love the camera for showing dancers who can repeat their dance anytime but because it shows something ephemeral, as in his latest work, East Shadow (2013), inspired by Samuel Beckett. His two ageing dancers Egon Madsen and Sabine Kupferberg “fade away” on the stage. At the same time, one sees them in the film - a striking portrait of their immortality.
 

“East Shadow” by Jirí Kylián at Monaco Dance Forum (Youtube)

The aspect of immortality could be called an old side-effect, an issue raised by any film, including Alain Platel’s Gardenia, which was released in 2014. Filmmaker Thomas Wallner observed six drag artists, all close to seventy, at the fringes of the dance performance of the same name. It focuses on and interviews the ageing diva Vanessa van Durme. No, they will never again be so young; in ten years, their dreams, worries and lifestyles will be different. Film captures her past of coming out, as if by way of reminder. Yet her dance burns like a firework that goes up in little black clouds.
 
“Gardenia”, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel © Kamiel De Meester (Youtube)

Dance filmmakers’ lobby

This image of the ephemeral is popular, particularly in dance, which seems to manage without a text book or score and to be less durable than music and words. Does that mean that a separate dance film genre exists? Hardly anyone speaks of theatre or opera films – at best of a “film adaptation”. Even the work of the Vienna-based International Music + Media Centre has not changed that. It has been promoting opera film in particular since the early period of educational television back in 1961. The Centre acts as a lobbying group for marketing films on DVD and for broadcasting opera live in cinemas.

That organisation also founded the annual Dance Screen Festival, the most recent edition of which was hosted by the San Francisco Dance Film Festival. Here, dance is not presented as a conserved stage spectacle, but rather makes more or less great cinema. The same is true of many other dance film festivals, such as Pool, which was founded in Berlin in 2007.

Unthinkable: Bollywood without dance

Since the 1930s, when the entrancing films by Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers were produced, the dance film genre has followed a distinctive dramaturgy consisting of humour, virtuosity and effective surprise. For nearly as long, since director, dancer and film theorist Maya Deren’s works in the 1940s, the genre has also seen itself as experimental film. Whether or not a firework actually does go off beneath Astaire’s dance shoes or the camera becomes a dancer, dance appears to promise great cinema, unlike theatre and musical theatre.

Bollywood without dance is as unthinkable as films like Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan (2010) or Stephen Daldry's Billy Elliot (2000) are unthinkable without ballet. It is always about a state of emergency, especially in Hollywood. As a movement apparently not subject to norms or normality, dance embodies that state. What is more, choreography guarantees a virtually endless expansion of that enormous movement. OK Go’s music video I Won’t Let You Down, is a breath-taking current example. A one-shot take, it starts by presenting a few Japanese women dancing with umbrellas who become an army of dancers, requiring a camera on an aerial drone to rise to a height of a hundred meters to keep them all in view. Such overwhelming aesthetics are attractive and bring in the cash.
 
OK Go: „I Won't Let You Down“, Official Video (Youtube)

Film as freedom

All the popular coming-of-age films since Dirty Dancing (1987) have also perceptively celebrated dance and its club culture as the place of youth initiation. In the wake of hip-hop – as previously flamenco and salsa – they have stylised dance in all kinds of ways as a great battle between rival gangs. Yet with all their drama and effects, people tend to be reluctant to speak of dance films. While they are dance films, their composition appears to be more closely related to revues and musicals than to contemporary dance.

One has the impression that half of all the dance film productions since the 1980s take place in derelict houses, unwelcoming tunnels or attractive suites. Playing with transience like this, contemporary dance commemorates the subject of loss that comes from the Romantic era and the loss of reliable perception. Dance film plays with its own logic. At best, dance film celebrates the consistent sequence of cause and effect; in less favourable instances, it applies the whole box of tricks of digital image manipulation to its victim, the dancing body.

Between these extremes, there is plenty of room for manoeuvre. An example is Replaced Vision (2014) a dance film made by Spanish filmmaker Lara Rodríguez Cruz, going to the limits of the familiar. This wonderful film essay rigorously reflects on its own means. “We are visual creatures“, a subheading says, while a dancing couple is shown. “Everyone reacts to pictures,” says the film, and, with great precision, it pushes its dancers to the edge of the picture while reproducing the same choreography at ever new optical levels, to the point of overkill. The essay ends with the demand “Stop visual totalitarianism”. The dancers are erased, with only a white picture remaining. Off-camera, Cruz demands finally giving up the eternal concept of transience. Cruz oppressively demonstrates that repetition is a compulsion. It is the little sister of transience.

Tanzfilm Vergänglichkeit festhalten

„Gardenia“, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel
„Gardenia“, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel | © Luk Monsaert

Es ist ein bemerkenswertes Genre – frei wie die bildende Kunst, ohne den engen Rahmen des Theaters, weit weg von den Regeln des Kinos. Der Tanzfilm ist eine Nische, aus der man schon seit Fred Astaire immer wieder ausbricht.

Jirí Kylián, der Surrealist unter den großen Choreografen, antwortete auf die Frage, warum er so gern zur Kamera greift: „Die Menschen zücken sie immer dann, wenn sie ein unwiederbringliches Moment erleben. Tanzt ihr Kind, dann filmen sie es, weil sie wissen, dass ihr Kind so nie wieder tanzen wird. Bei älteren Menschen ist es genau dasselbe. Ihre Körper ändern sich in ihren letzten Jahren so schnell, wie sonst die der Kinder in ihren ersten Jahren.“ Kylián liebt die Kamera nicht, um solche Tänzer zu zeigen, die ihren Tanz jederzeit wiederholen können. Er liebt die Kamera, weil sie das Vergängliche zeigt – wie in seinem jüngsten von Samuel Beckett inspirierten Werk East Shadow (2013). Seine beiden älteren Tänzer Egon Madsen und Sabine Kupferberg „vergehen“ auf der Bühne. Gleichzeitig sieht man sie im Film: ein fulminantes Porträt ihrer Unsterblichkeit.
 

„East Shadow“ von Jirí Kylián, Monaco Dance Forum (Youtube)

Man könnte die Sache mit der Unsterblichkeit einen uralten Nebeneffekt nennen. Er wäre in jedem Film gültig, auch bei Alain Platels Gardenia, der 2014 in die Kinos kam: Sechs fast 70-jährige Travestie-Darsteller hat der Filmemacher Thomas Wallner am Rande der gleichnamigen Tanzperformance um die alternde Diva Vanessa van Durme beobachtet und befragt. Nein, nie wieder werden sie so jung sein; ihre Träume, ihre Sorgen, ihre Lebensweisen werden in zehn Jahren andere sein. Der Film hält ihre Vergangenheit des Coming-out wie zur Erinnerung fest. Derweil brennt ihr Tanz ab wie ein Feuerwerk, das in schwarzen Wölkchen verpufft.
 
„Gardenia“, les ballets C de la B / Frank Van Laecke / Alain Platel © Kamiel De Meester (Youtube)

Lobby der Tanzfilmer

Man liebt ja das Vergängliche gerade im Tanz. Er kommt scheinbar ohne Textbuch und Partitur aus und gilt als weniger haltbar als Musik und Wort. Gibt es darum ein eigenes Genre Tanzfilm? Kaum einer spricht von einem Theater- oder Opernfilm – bestenfalls von einer „Verfilmung“. Auch die Arbeit des Internationalen Musik- und Medienzentrums (IMZ) mit Hauptsitz in Wien hat daran nichts geändert. Bereits seit 1961, seit der Frühzeit des Bildungsfernsehens, macht sich das IMZ besonders für Opernfilm stark. Als Lobbyverband fördert es den Vertrieb von Filmen auf DVD und die Live-Übertragung in Kinosäle.

Das IMZ ist auch Gründer des jährlichen Dance-Screen-Festivals. Hier, zuletzt zu Gast beim San Francisco Dance-Filmfestival, wird Tanz nicht als ein konserviertes Bühnenspektakel präsentiert. Stattdessen wird mehr oder minder großes Kino gezeigt, wie auf vielen anderen Tanzfilmfestivals auch, etwa dem 2007 gegründeten Pool-Festival in Berlin.

Undenkbar: Bollywood ohne Tanz

Bereits seit den 1930er-Jahren und den hinreißenden Filmen von Fred Astaire und Ginger Rogers folgt das Genre Tanzfilm einer eigenen Dramaturgie aus Humor, Virtuosität und effektvoller Überraschung. Beinahe zeitgleich, seit den Arbeiten der US-amerikanischen Filmregisseurin, Tänzerin und Filmtheoretikerin Maya Deren in den 1940er-Jahren sieht sich das Genre auch als Experimentalfilm. Ob tatsächlich ein Feuerwerk unter Astaires Tanzschuhen abbrennt oder die Kamera zu einer Tänzerin wird – Tanz scheint, anders als Schauspiel und Musiktheater, großes Kino zu versprechen.

Bollywood ist ohne Tanz so undenkbar, wie die Filme Black Swan (2010) von Darren Aronofskys oder Billy Elliot (2000) von Stephen Daldry ohne Ballett undenkbar sind. Immer geht es – zumal in Hollywood – um einen Ausnahmezustand. Den verkörpert der Tanz als die Bewegung, die sich scheinbar keiner Norm und Normalität unterwirft. Die Choreografie garantiert dazu eine nahezu endlose Addition der Bewegung. Besonders atemberaubend ist das etwa in dem Musikvideo I Won’t Let You Down der US-Band OK Go: In einem einzigen ungeschnittenen Take steigert es sich von einer Performance aus anfänglich vier Akteuren zum Einsatz einer Armee von Tänzern, deretwegen eine Kameradrohne wohl hundert Meter hoch aufsteigen musste, um sie alle im Blick zu behalten. Solche Überwältigungsästhetik lockt und macht Kasse.
 
OK Go: „I Won't Let You Down“, Official Video (Youtube)

Der Film als Freiraum

Auch all die populären Coming-of-Age-Filme seit Dirty Dancing (1987) feiern den Tanz und seine Club-Kultur als den Ort der Initiation für Jugendliche. Im Gefolge des Hip-Hop – wie zuvor des Flamenco und des Salsa – stilisieren sie den Tanz in sämtlichen Spielarten zur großen Battle zwischen rivalisierenden Gangs. Dennoch spricht man bei so viel Drama und Effekt eher widerwillig von Tanzfilmen. Sie sind Tanzfilme, doch ihre Rezeptur scheint der Revue und dem Musical verwandter als dem zeitgenössischen Tanz.

Seit den 1980er-Jahren sind die Schauplätze von – gefühlt – jeder zweiten Tanzfilm-Produktion verfallene Häuser, unwirtliche Tunnel oder pittoreske Zimmerfluchten. In diesem Spiel mit der Vergänglichkeit zelebriert der zeitgenössische Tanz das in der Epoche der Romantik geprägte Verlust-Motiv ebenso wie den Verlust der sicheren Wahrnehmung. Der Tanzfilm wirkt mit einer eigenen Logik. Im besten Fall feiert er die konsequente Handlungsabfolge aus Ursache und Wirkung, im ungünstigeren Fall wendet er die gesamte Trickkiste der digitalen Bildmanipulation auf sein Opfer, den tanzenden Körper, an.

Dazwischen existiert jede Menge Freiraum. Wie in Replaced Vision (2014), einem Tanzfilm der Spanierin Lara Rodríguez Cruz, der an die Grenzen des Gewohnten geht. Dieser wunderbare Filmessay denkt streng über die eigenen Mittel nach. „We are visual creatures“, lautet ein Zwischentitel, während ein tanzendes Paar gezeigt wird. „Jeder regiert auf Bilder“, sagt der Film und zwingt seine Tänzer exakt in den Bildrand, er vervielfacht die stets gleiche Choreografie auf immer neuen optischen Ebenen bis zum Overkill. Der Essay stoppt mit der Forderung: „Gegen den visuellen Totalitarismus“. Die Tänzer verschwinden, nur ein Weißbild bleibt. Im Off fordert Cruz, das ewige Konzept der Vergänglichkeit endlich aufzugeben. Beklemmend zeigt sie: Die Wiederholung ist ein Zwang. Sie ist die kleine Schwester der Vergänglichkeit.