Dance and Politics Bodies of Weight

Part of the cover of “Dance, Politics & Co-Immunity”, Stefan Hölscher (ed.), Gerald Siegmund (ed.)
Part of the cover of “Dance, Politics & Co-Immunity”, Stefan Hölscher (ed.), Gerald Siegmund (ed.) | © Diaphanes Publishers Berlin

How can dance reconquer its critical potential if artistic strategies are used to heat up the globalised economy? That is the question posed by the collection of articles “Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity“ edited by Gerald Siegmund and Stefan Hölscher.

This publication, the result of an international symposium, is devoted to a subject that has been much discussed in recent years: How can the relationship between art – specifically dance – and politics be reconceived in the present day, when artistic strategies and working methods are being appropriated economically? Bodies and capital are sent on a trip around the world, while other, undesirable bodies are detained within politically and technologically sealed borders. These developments, write Gerald Siegmund and Stefan Hölscher in the introduction, have a twofold relationship to dance. Firstly, they are based on the ability of the individual body and its capacity for movement, which are the starting point for these processes. And secondly, they are occupied with distributing bodies in space, as choreography does. This leads the editors to make the following annihilating diagnosis that art and artistic communities have become a model for neo-liberal flexibilisation and self-exploitation. How can one speak of the relationship between dance and politics without repeating neo-liberal claims and conditions? Many of the articles in this volume address this question, examining the complex connection between (both modern and contemporary) dance and politics. They are compiled under five main themes: The Politics of Enjoyment, of Sense, of Modernism, of the Social and of Community. Many important representatives both of dance studies and of philosophy, political science and cultural studies present their views.

A policy of stumbling

Dance scholar Bojana Kunst, for example, who directs the Choreography and Performance masters study programme in Giessen, has written an enlightening essay on the potential for resistance of dancing and walking in post-Fordism entitled Working Out Contemporaneity. Dance and Post-Fordism. Artistic forms of production are one of the author’s main fields of interest, and she always aim to identify potential for action in the present time, which is deemed to be without alternative. In this article, she writes about the economic exploitation of the movement capability in post-Fordism in which, rather than fostering specialisation, the intrinsic human abilities to speak, think and move are made into production factors. The body’s ability to change is converted into flexibilisation, but this negates in particular such factors as the slowness of the body. Thus, this can become a stumbling block of the omnipresent, smooth flow. The author differentiates between everyday exploitation of the physical ability to move and dancers’ and choreographs’ knowledge about using movement. They can create distance from forms of movement that are used every day and mock them, thereby creating resistance.

Initiating as opening

In his essay From Parttaking to Initiating: Leadfollowing as Dance’s (a-personal) Political Singularity, dance scholar, curator and dramaturge André Lepecki critically examines the concept of participation. While it suggests that social stakeholding exists, Lepecki argues that the opportunities for action by participants are ultimately always predefined. He demands a new concept of engagement and proposes the term “initiate”. “Initiating” is an opening that facilitates or demands reactions. Contrary to what the history of the concept suggests, individual actors are not responsible for initiating. Rather, initiating opens up an impersonal dynamism between bodies, a force that always remains unpredictable and temporary. This exists in dance in particular, for example in contact improvisation as the creation of an impersonal field of force of action and reaction.

Room for manoeuvre of the turbulent present

Erin Manning and Brian Massumi occupy themselves with the political potential of autists, identifying in the texts of autistic people alternative ways of perceiving the world that do not centre on human articulation. And Isabel Lorey examines the immunisation of political resistance practices by ruling powers. Thus, ingrained structures and changes in politics are examined in diverse ways.

All this makes Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity a very successful book that offers concise diagnoses and stimulating perspectives on a highly relevant subject, because the contributions transform the editors’ annihilating initial diagnosis to make it productive. The scope of our turbulent present lies precisely in its inherent constant restructuring of relationships. This makes negotiations possible and opens up temporary scope for resistance that holds back the flow and highlights differences.
 

Stefan Hölscher (ed.), Gerald Siegmund (ed.)
“Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity”
Diaphanes Publishers Berlin, 288 pages, 29,95 EUR

Tanz und Politik Körper von Gewicht

Buchcover-Ausschnitt von „Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity“, Stefan Hölscher (Hg.), Gerald Siegmund (Hg.)
Buchcover-Ausschnitt von „Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity“, Stefan Hölscher (Hg.), Gerald Siegmund (Hg.) | © Diaphanes Berlin

Wie kann der Tanz sich sein kritisches Potenzial zurückerobern, wenn künstlerische Strategien benutzt werden, um die globalisierte Wirtschaft anzuheizen? Das fragt der Sammelband „Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity“, herausgegeben von Gerald Siegmund und Stefan Hölscher.

Die Publikation, hervorgegangen aus einem internationalen Symposium, widmet sich einem in den letzten Jahren viel diskutierten Thema: Wie kann die Beziehung zwischen der Kunst – hier dem Tanz – und dem Politischen neu gedacht werden in einer Gegenwart, in der künstlerische Strategien und Arbeitsweisen ökonomisch vereinnahmt werden? Körper und Kapital werden auf Reisen um die Welt geschickt, während andere, unerwünschte Körper an den politisch wie technologisch abgeschotteten Grenzen festgehalten werden. Diese Entwicklungen haben, wie Gerald Siegmund und Stefan Hölscher in der Einleitung schreiben, eine doppelte Beziehung zum Tanz: Denn sie gründen sich auf der Fähigkeit des individuelles Körpers und seines Bewegungsvermögens, die zum Ausgangspunkt der Abläufe werden. Und sie sind damit befasst, Körper im Raum zu verteilen, wie es die Choreografie tut. Dies führt die Herausgeber zu der vernichtenden Diagnose, dass Kunst und künstlerische Gemeinschaften also zum Modell neoliberaler Flexibilisierung und Selbstausbeutung geworden sind. Wie kann man dann über die Beziehung zwischen Tanz und Politik sprechen, ohne neoliberale Ansprüche und Bedingungen zu wiederholen? Dieser Fragestellung folgen viele der Beiträge, die die komplizierte Verbindung von – sowohl modernem als auch zeitgenössischem – Tanz und Politischem untersuchen und die unter fünf Leitthemen versammelt sind: The Politics of Enjoyment, of Sense, of Modernism, of the Social and of Community. Viele wichtige Vertreter sowohl aus der Tanzwissenschaft als auch aus Philosophie, Politik- und Kulturwissenschaft kommen darin zu Wort.

Politik des Stolperns

So schreibt die Tanzwissenschaftlerin Bojana Kunst, die den Master-Studiengang Choreografie und Performance in Gießen leitet, einen erhellenden Essay über das Widerstandspotenzial des Tanzens und Gehens im Postfordismus: Working Out Contemporaneity. Dance and Post-Fordism. Künstlerische Produktionsweisen sind eines der Hauptinteressengebiete der Autorin, stets geht es ihr darum, Handlungspotenziale auszumachen in einer Gegenwart, die als alternativlos gilt. Hier schreibt sie über die ökonomische Vereinnahmung des Bewegungsvermögens im Postfordismus, in dem nicht Spezialistentum gefordert sei, sondern vielmehr die ureigenen menschlichen Sprech-, Denk- und Bewegungsfähigkeiten zu Produktionsfaktoren würden. Die körperliche Fähigkeit zur Veränderung werde in eine Flexibilisierung umgemünzt, die jedoch gerade Faktoren wie die Langsamkeit des Körpers negiere. So kann diese zum Stolperstein des omnipräsenten, reibungslosen Fließens werden: Denn die Autorin differenziert zwischen der alltäglichen Ausbeutung körperlichen Bewegungsvermögens und dem Wissen der Tänzer und Choreografen, Bewegung einzusetzen. Sie können Distanz schaffen zu alltäglich abgerufenen Bewegungsformen, diese verspotten und so Widerständigkeit herstellen.

Initiieren als Eröffnung

In seinem Essay From Parttaking to Initiating: Leadfollowing as Dance’s (a-personal) Political Singularity untersucht der Tanzwissenschaftler, Kurator und Dramaturg André Lepecki kritisch den Begriff des Partizipierens: Er suggeriere zwar gesellschaftliche Teilhabe, doch letztlich seien die Handlungsmöglichkeiten des Partizipierenden immer schon definiert. Er fordert ein neues Konzept des Engagements und schlägt den Begriff „Initiieren“ vor. Das „Initiieren“ sei eine Eröffnung, die Reaktionen ermögliche oder einfordere: Anders als die Begriffsgeschichte es suggeriere, sei es keineswegs Einzeltätern geschuldet, sondern es eröffne vielmehr eine apersonale Dynamik zwischen den Körpern, eine Kraft, die stets unberechenbar und temporär bleibt. Gerade im Tanz ist diese gegeben, beispielsweise in der Kontaktimprovisation als Errichtung eines apersonalen Kraftfeldes von Aktion und Gegenreaktion.

Spielräume der bewegten Gegenwart

Erin Manning und Brian Massumi beschäftigen sich mit dem politischen Potenzial von Autisten, indem sie in den Texten von Autisten alternative Weisen der Weltwahrnehmung ausmachen, in denen die menschliche Artikulation nicht im Zentrum steht. Und Isabel Lorey untersucht die Immunisierung politischer Widerstandspraxen durch die regierenden Kräfte. Auf vielfältige Weisen werden so die Einschreibungen und Veränderungen des Politischen untersucht.

All dies macht Dance, Politics and Co-Immunity zu einem wirklich gelungenen Band, der zu einem sehr aktuellen Thema konzise Diagnosen und spannende Perspektiven offeriert, weil die Beiträge die vernichtende Eingangsdiagnose der Herausgeber produktiv wenden: Die Spielräume unserer bewegten Gegenwart liegen gerade in der ihr immanenten steten Neuordnung von Beziehungen, die Verhandlungen ermöglicht und temporäre Widerstandsräume eröffnet, die den „Flow“ aussetzen und Differenzen markieren.
 

Stefan Hölscher (Hg.), Gerald Siegmund (Hg.)
„Dance, Politics & Co-Immunity“
Diaphanes Berlin, 288 Seiten, 29,95 EUR