Artistic Research The Question of Relevance

Form Flow Allignments: the way in which Forsythe designs relationships in space and time Credit; Synchronous Objects Project, The Ohio State University and The Forsythe Company;
Form Flow Allignments: the way in which Forsythe designs relationships in space and time Credit; Synchronous Objects Project, The Ohio State University and The Forsythe Company; | Photo: V. Ragunath

Should art assist the sciences or are artistic thought and perception impulses forms of knowledge in their own right? – Some thoughts on “Artistic Research” and dance.

Much begins with Plato - maybe also various new trends in art. According to the Greek philosopher, the Beautiful, the True and the Good form an inseparable trias. That which is beautiful is also good, and that which is good is also true. Some have succumbed to the temptation of salvaging the hallowed triangle into the present day. This does not work, however, without some moderation. Here the beautiful becomes the pleasant, the good the valuable and the true becomes what is right. Yet from this moderation born of necessity there has recently emerged a new umbrella term.

Relevance and Relevé

We are referring here to “relevance”. The term is enthroned, albeit circumspectly, on the level of the antique trias. Hence this concept, which Plato did not know, may well have appealed to him - although he would have deprecated the relativism manifested within it. For we use “relevance” in a referential, but also expanded sense. Usually it means: justified, significant, substantial. Originally and etymologically, however, the term is connected to the weighing scales, to re-lifting. The Italian “re-levare” means to lift something up. And that takes us to dance. The “relevé”, concealed not only linguistically in relevance, is the absolute basic figure of ballet, perhaps the epitome of artistic dance gestures. Dance means releasing the body from its habitual conditions, letting it appear light, mobile, perhaps also pliant. Yet it means, above all, an artistic alteration of organic preconditions. The “relevé” is the best example. The body is raised like a needle onto the tip of the legs. It involves linear forms and silhouette, geometry and pirouette, ceiling height and elegance. "Relevé" means movement without physical counterweight.

Lifts

The artistic figures of dance are evidently conceived against the image of the scales. Probably for that reason they became the core concept of the self-determination of an art that takes the body as a medium. Now it will be said that artistic lifts are an item of capricious ballet and just as dated as the concept of beauty. Yet here another aspect plays a role, one that has always characterised dance: choreography and its codification. Plato had still placed dance on the side of mythical, sensuous, cultic happiness. In his opinion dance had nothing to do with the powers of reason and insight. For him thoughts could be beautiful, but dance figures could not be true. Nevertheless, for newer movements in the arts this is exactly what comes into view.

Artistic Research is the name of a tendency within contemporary art that examines its own knowledge achievement and scientific competence. Supported by the elevation of the art colleges to universities, the question is not so much whether art can assist the sciences but rather whether artistic thought and perception impulses can lead to the development of their own forms of knowledge. Artistic Research is thus by no means an assistant or pathfinder for science, but the assertion of its intrinsic value.

Artistic Research and Dance

Dance is eminently suitable for this. It offers a long tradition of the study of physical movement radii. Its codification in data is not far removed from digitalisation. New media make possible comprehensive storage and targeted dissemination of knowledge. William Forsythe, with his interest in a knowledge management of movement, is probably the best example for this tendency. He already used media at an early stage, his CD Improvisation Techniques: A Tool for the Analytical Dance Eye, released in 1994 in collaboration with the ZKM (Centre for Art and Media) in Karlsruhe, follows the structural reading of movement profiles. For some years now, he has been engaging with web-based scores. The first project is called Synchronous Objects for One Flat Thing, Reproduced, 2009. This is the pilot project of Motion Bank, a platform for the exploration of dance scores. The dance signatures of various artists are stored and by means of computerised recording and design techniques examined to find their core structures. Choreography appears as grammar, its execution as a mechanical language, part of which at least can be synthetically configured.


William Forsythe discusses “Synchronous Objects” (Youtube)

Another proponent is Xavier Le Roy, who studied molecular biology before turning to dance. In his case it is not classical lifts or artistic pirouettes but isolated gestures of bodies and their actions that arouse interest. He observes rhythms and movement acts. From their isolation he distils patterns and laws, in the manner of a scientist.

Summarising, one can say that the collection of data from dance movements has neither achieved Truth nor conveyed Right. It allows, however, concrete, verifiable contents of artistic concepts to be made scientifically accessible. It is not the work itself but the research that lays claim to relevance. Art becomes reflexive, not only with regard to Plato’s claim for truth, but also to its epistemic basis as methodology, study and evaluation.

Artistic Research Die Frage nach der Relevanz

Form Flow Allignments: Kenntlichmachung von Raum- und Zeitabläufen; Synchronous Objects Project, Ohio State University und The Forsythe Company;
Form Flow Allignments: Kenntlichmachung von Raum- und Zeitabläufen; Synchronous Objects Project, Ohio State University und The Forsythe Company; | Foto: V. Ragunath

Soll die Kunst den Wissenschaften assistieren oder sind künstlerische Denk- und Wahrnehmungsanregungen eigene Wissensformen? – Überlegungen zu „Künstlerischem Forschen“ und Tanz.

Vieles beginnt mit Plato, vielleicht auch manche neue Tendenz in der Kunst. Das Schöne, das Wahre und das Gute, so meinte der griechische Denker, umreißen eine unzertrennliche Trias. Das, was schön sei, sei auch gut, und was gut sei auch wahr. Manche sind der Versuchung erlegen, die hehre Dreiecksbeziehung bis in die Gegenwart zu retten. Ohne mäßigende Biegung funktioniert das allerdings nicht. Da wird das Schöne zum Angenehmen, das Gute zum Wertvollen, das Wahre zum Richtigen. In jüngerer Zeit erhob sich allerdings ein neuer Überbegriff: die Relevanz.

Relevanz und Relevé

Der Begriff der Relevanz thront, obschon vorsichtiger, fast auf der Höhe der antiken Trias. Der Term, den Plato nicht kannte, hätte ihm deshalb wohl zugesagt. Missachtet hätte er aber den Relativismus, der sich darin ausdrückt. Wir verwenden den Begriff Relevanz nämlich in einem referenziellen, zugleich aber erweiterten Sinn – „relevant“ bedeutet heute meist: berechtigt, bedeutungsvoll, gewichtig. Doch ursprünglich und etymologisch hat der Begriff etwas mit der Waagschale zu tun, mit dem „Wiederanheben“. Das italienische „Re-levare“ bedeutet: etwas in die Höhe heben. Und dies führt uns zum Tanz. Das Relevé, das sich in der Relevanz nicht nur sprachlich verbirgt, ist die Grundfigur des Balletts schlechthin, vielleicht der Inbegriff künstlicher Tanzgebärden überhaupt. Tanz bedeutet, den Körper aus seinen gewöhnlichen Bedingungen zu lösen, ihn leicht und beweglich erscheinen zu lassen, vielleicht auch biegsam. Doch er bedeutet vor allem eine künstliche Veränderung organischer Voraussetzungen. Das Relevé ist das beste Beispiel. Wie eine Nadel wird der Körper auf die Spitze der Beine gehoben. Es geht um Lineatur und Silhouette, um Geometrie und Pirouette, um Raumhöhe und Eleganz. Relevé heißt Bewegung ohne körperliches Gegengewicht.

Hebefiguren

Die Kunstfiguren des Tanzes sind offenkundig gegen das Bild von der Waage gedacht. Wahrscheinlich deshalb wurden sie zum Kern der Selbstbestimmtheit einer Kunst, die sich den Körper als Medium nimmt. Nun wird man sagen, künstliche Hebefiguren sind eine Sache des kapriziösen Balletts und ähnlich veraltet wie der Begriff des Schönen. Doch ein anderer Aspekt kommt hier ins Spiel, der seit jeher den Tanz prägt: die Choreografie und ihre Kodifizierung. Plato hatte den Tanz noch auf die Seite des mythischen und sinnlich-kultischen Glücks geschlagen. Mit Verstandes- und Erkenntnisbefähigung hatte das Tanzen seiner Meinung nach nichts zu tun. Für ihn konnten Gedanken schön werden, Tanzfiguren aber nicht wahr. Und dennoch rückt für neuere Bewegungen in den Künsten genau das ins Blickfeld.

„Artistic Research“ nennt sich eine Tendenz der gegenwärtigen Künste, die die Erkenntnisleistung und Wissenschaftsfähigkeit der Künste prüft. Gestützt vom Aufstieg der Kunsthochschulen zu Universitäten geht es weniger um die Frage, ob Kunst den Wissenschaften assistieren kann, als vielmehr darum, ob sich durch künstlerische Denk- und Wahrnehmungsanregungen eigene Wissensformen entwickeln können. Künstlerische Forschung ist damit nicht Sekundant oder Zuarbeiter der Wissenschaft, sondern die Behauptung eines Eigenwerts.

Künstlerische Forschung und der Tanz

Der Tanz eignet sich bestens dafür. Er bietet eine lange Tradition des Studiums körperlicher Bewegungsradien. Seine Kodifizierung in Daten ist der Digitalisierung nicht fern. Neue Medien ermöglichen umfassende Speicherung und die gezielte Verbreitung des Wissens. William Forsythe ist wohl das beste Beispiel für diese Tendenz, mit seinem Interesse für ein Wissensmanagement der Bewegung. Schon früh benutzt er Medien, seine CD Improvisation Techniques: A Tool for the Analytical Dance Eye, die 1994 mit dem ZKM in Karlsruhe herausgegeben wurde, verfolgt das strukturelle Lesen von Bewegungsprofilen. Seit einigen Jahren beschäftigt er sich mit webbasierten Partituren. Das erste Projekt nennt sich Synchronous Objects for One Flat Thing, Reproduced, 2009. Es handelt sich um das Pilotvorhaben von Motion Bank, einer Plattform zur Erforschung von Tanzpartituren. Tänzerische Handschriften verschiedener Künstler werden gespeichert und durch computergestützte Aufnahme- und Gestaltungstechniken auf ihre Kernmotive untersucht. Choreografie erscheint als Grammatik, ihre Ausführung wie eine maschinelle Sprache, die zum Teil synthetisch konfiguriert werden kann.


William Forsythe über „Synchronous Objects“ (Youtube)

Ähnlich auch Xavier Le Roy, der Molekularbiologie studiert hat, bevor er sich dem Tanz zuwandte. Bei Le Roy sind es nicht klassische Hebefiguren oder künstliche Pirouetten, sondern isolierte Gesten von Körpern und ihren Handlungen, die Interesse wecken. Er beobachtet Rhythmen und Bewegungsakte. Aus ihrer Isolierung destilliert er wie ein Naturwissenschaftler Muster und Gesetze.

Zusammenfassend kann man sagen: Mit den Datensammlungen aus tänzerischen Gebärden wird wohl weder Wahrheit erzielt noch das Richtige ermittelt. Jedoch werden damit konkrete und überprüfbare Inhalte künstlerischer Vorstellungen wissenschaftlich verfügbar gemacht. Es ist nicht das Werk selbst, sondern die Recherche, die Relevanz beansprucht. Die Kunst wird rückbezüglich, nicht nur auf den alten Wahrheitsanspruch Platos, sondern auf ihre Erkenntnis-Grundlagen Methodik, Studium und Auswertung.