Educating dance today Acrobatic Dancers and Dancing Acrobats

Constanza Macras/Dorky Park „The Ghosts“
Constanza Macras/Dorky Park „The Ghosts“ | Photo: Manuel Osterholt

Masterful movers, such as dancers, acrobats and breakers, entered into an alliance long ago. That has inspired choreographers. Circus and urban performers are profiting from the dancers’ theatrical expression.

“Every body-artist, regardless of his special abilities and his personality, brings along to rehearsal a wealth of valuable experience of a wide variety of different dance techniques and somatic practices,” says Stephanie Thiersch. After lengthy preliminary work, the Cologne choreographer engaged a mixed group of acrobats and dancers for Corps Étrangers – Fremdkörper – after all “acrobats and dancers have a command of similar but also very different physical techniques,” she observed and recalled that “as well as engaging in discussion on the content, we took the time to understand each others’ techniques and even, as far as possible, to learn them.“ As a result, the physical scope has been extended, stimulating the choreographic imagination. Thiersche said that her working methods were designed “so I can engage in an exchange with all the participating artistes on the form and concept of the creations, regardless of their discipline.“ A “cool troupe” emerged from Corps Étrangers – Fremdkörper, “one that perhaps was only able to fully develop its potential through merging“.

Martin Schläpfer „Reformationssinfonie“ (Reformation Symphony), Ballett am Rhein (Youtube)

Performers as partners

Particularly in the independent scene, which embraces experimentation, performers of all disciplines today are partners. But choreographers such as Martin Schläpfer (Reformation Symphony), Nanine Linning (Synthetic Twin), Mauro de Candia (Brahms’ First – Reflection), Davide Bombana (The Trial) or Richard Wherlock (Juditha triumphans) also integrate breakdance and acrobatic figures or formations in their ballets. No-one to date has demonstrated the union of acrobatics and ballet so perfectly and poetically as the multiple award-winning Chinese production of the acrobatic ballet Swan Lake. Western-oriented ballet dancers demonstratively show solidarity with circus acrobats, who are currently underestimated in China. The international dancing company Constanza Macras/Dorky Park deals here with the fate of this marginal social group through referring to the hungry spirits of Chinese mythology. The first production of The Ghostswas performed at Berlin’s international dance festival Tanz im August in 2015.

Nanine Linning „Synthetic Twin“ (Youtube) 

Some simply try out new movements when they fit dramaturgically or if a soloist has something unusual to offer. Anything goes if it works. But there are times that it does not work. A recent example at a renowned theatre was when three dancers dropped a famous ballerina at the premiere of Giselle after a high throw. In his Odyssee, Patrick Delcroix planned such difficult horizontal poses for Penelope that the dancer did not fend off her undesired suitors by means of mime, but reached out her arms to them, seeking to hold onto something. For trainers, such scenes are taboo. “For us, the stage is sacred. You are only allowed to show what you can really do well,” insists Ralf Stabel, Head of the State Ballet School and State School of Acrobatics in Berlin.

Mauro de Candia „Brahms’ First – Reflection“, Theater Osnabrück (Youtube)

En route to a New Circus

These two training centres are unique in Germany. They merged in 1991, perhaps to give the trend towards “New Circus” an opportunity to develop. Prospective dancers and acrobats live together on a large campus with training halls and studios, mainstream types of school, a boarding school and leisure area. “When you sit next to each other at your desk in an English or maths lesson in the morning”, reports Stabel, “it is natural that you discuss the other training as well.” Joint courses, for example in acrobatic gymnastics, are planned. What dancers find most difficult to learn is to let themselves fall. Acrobats benefit from dancers by learning from them how to express theatrical effects.

Davide Bombana „The Trial“, Staatstheater Karlsruhe (Youtube)

Networks

Montréal’s Cirque du Soleil and Cirque Éloize are regarded as the most prominent initiators of Cirque Nouveau. Like many other groups that have been set up around the world, they combine music, dance and acrobatics with charm, clownesque humour and poetry to create high-quality intellectual entertainment. The multimedia movement theatre of the Catalan street music group La Fura dels Baus has been causing a stir since as early as the 1980s. The Flemish-Moroccan dancer-choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui combines ballet, breakdance, flamenco, combat sports, folk dances and sacred rituals of the world. In Germany, cross-regional networks have formed from the Neuer Zirkus initiative (Cologne) and the Forum Neuer Zirkus (Berlin). “Circus lives from overcoming barriers and from the wealth of the cultural identity of acrobats from many countries”, we read in the initiative’s preamble.

Richard Wherlock „Juditha triumphans“, Theater Basel (Youtube)

Meanwhile, splits from traditional arts may be observed in all performing arts genres. New alliances become possible, as do individual views on current issues and attitudes of cultures, religions and regions. Many choreographers and performers regret that the contribution of dance is currently not receiving sufficient recognition.

Tanzausbildung heute Akrobatische Tänzer und tanzende Artisten

Constanza Macras/Dorky Park „The Ghosts“
Constanza Macras/Dorky Park „The Ghosts“ | Foto: Manuel Osterholt

Bewegungskünstler wie Tänzer, Artisten und Breaker sind längst eine Allianz eingegangen. Das beflügelt Choreografen. Vom theatralischen Ausdruck der Tänzer profitieren Zirkusartisten und urbane Performer.

„Jeder Körperkünstler bringt unabhängig von seinen speziellen Fähigkeiten und seiner Persönlichkeit einen riesigen Erfahrungsschatz an unterschiedlichsten Tanztechniken und somatischen Praktiken mit zur Probe“, sagt Stephanie Thiersch. Für Corps Étrangers – Fremdkörper engagierte die Kölner Choreografin nach langer Vorarbeit einen Mix aus Artisten und Tänzern. Denn „Akrobaten und Tänzer beherrschen ähnliche, aber auch sehr unterschiedliche Körpertechniken. Wir haben uns neben inhaltlichen Diskussionen Zeit genommen, diese Techniken gegenseitig zu verstehen und sogar, soweit es ging, zu lernen.“ Dadurch habe sich der physische Spielraum erweitert, und die choreografische Fantasie sei angeregt worden. Ihre Arbeitsweise sei so angelegt, sagt Thiersch, „dass ich mit allen beteiligten Künstlern, egal welcher Disziplin, im Austausch bin über Form und Inhalt der Kreationen.“ Im Fall von Corps Étrangers – Fremdkörper sei eine „coole Truppe“ gewachsen, „die vielleicht erst in der Fusion ihr Potential voll entfalten konnte“.
 

Martin Schläpfer „Reformationssinfonie“, Ballett am Rhein (Youtube)

Performer als Partner

Gerade in der experimentierfreudigen freien Szene sind Performer aller Disziplinen heute Partner. Aber auch Choreografen wie Martin Schläpfer (Reformationssinfonie), Nanine Linning (Synthetic Twin), Mauro de Candia (Brahms 1. – Reflection), Davide Bombana (Der Prozeß) oder Richard Wherlock (Juditha triumphans) integrieren Breakdance und akrobatische Figuren oder Formationen in ihre Ballette. Niemand demonstrierte bisher die Vereinigung von Akrobatik und Ballett derart perfekt und poetisch wie die vielfach preisgekrönte chinesische Produktion des akrobatischen Balletts Schwanensee. Demonstrativ solidarisierten sich dabei westlich orientierte Balletttänzer mit den in China heute gering geschätzten Zirkusartisten. Auch die internationale Tanzkompanie Constanza Macras/Dorky Park setzt sich unter Bezug auf die hungrigen Geister der chinesischen Mythologie mit dem Schicksal dieser sozialen Randgruppe auseinander. Die Uraufführung der Produktion The Ghosts war im Rahmen des Berliner Festivals Tanz im August 2015 zu sehen.
 
Nanine Linning „Synthetic Twin“ (Youtube) 

Manche Choreografen probieren einfach neue Bewegungen aus, wenn sie dramaturgisch passen oder ein Solist etwas Außergewöhnliches zu bieten hat. Erlaubt ist, was funktioniert. Aber manchmal funktioniert es eben auch nicht. So ließen an einem großen Theater drei Tänzer eine Ballerina bei der Premiere von Giselle nach einem hohen Wurf fallen. In seine Odyssee am Aalto-Theater in Essen baute der Choreograf Patrick Delcroix so schwierige horizontale Posen für Penelope ein, dass die Tänzerin die unerwünschten Freier nicht etwa pantomimisch abwehrte, sondern ihnen Halt suchend die Arme entgegenstreckte. Für Ausbilder sind das Tabuszenen. „Die Bühne ist uns heilig. Da darf man nur zeigen, was man wirklich gut kann“, fordert Ralf Stabel, Leiter der Staatlichen Ballettschule und Schule für Artistik Berlin.
 
Mauro de Candia „Brahms 1. – Reflection“, Theater Osnabrück (Youtube)

Auf dem Weg zum Neuen Zirkus

Die Staatliche Ballettschule und Schule für Artistik Berlin ist einzigartig in Deutschland. 1991 wurde sie aus zwei Schulen – eine spezialisiert auf Ballett, die andere auf Artistik – zu einer zusammengeführt, womöglich, um dem Trend zum „Neuen Zirkus“ eine Chance zu bieten. Auf einem großen Campus mit Trainingssälen und -studios, allgemeinbildenden Schulformen, Internat und Freizeitgelände leben die angehenden Tänzer und Artisten zusammen. „Wenn man morgens im Englisch- oder Matheunterricht nebeneinander die Schulbank drückt“, berichtet Stabel, „tauscht man sich natürlich auch über die andere Ausbildung aus“. Gemeinsame Kurse, zum Beispiel in künstlerischer Gymnastik, sind geplant. Für Tänzer sei es am schwierigsten zu lernen, sich fallen zu lassen. Die Artisten wiederum übernehmen von den Tänzern den Ausdruck theatralischer Effekte.
 
Davide Bombana „Der Prozeß“, Staatstheater Karlsruhe (Youtube)

Netzwerke

Montréals Cirque du Soleil und Cirque Éloize gelten als prominenteste Initiatoren des Cirque Nouveau. Wie mittlerweile weltweit viele Gruppen verbinden sie Musik, Tanz und Akrobatik mit Charme, clowneskem Humor und Poesie zu niveauvoll-intellektueller Unterhaltung. Aufsehen erregt auch schon seit den 1980er-Jahren das multimediale Bewegungstheater der katalanischen Straßentheatergruppe La Fura dels Baus. Ballett, Breakdance, Flamenco, Kampfsportarten, Volkstänze und sakrale Rituale der Welt vereint der flämisch-marokkanische Tänzer-Choreograf Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. In Deutschland haben sich aus der Initiative Neuer Zirkus in Köln und dem Forum Zirkus in Berlin regionenübergreifende Netzwerke entwickelt. „Zirkus lebt von der Überwindung von Grenzen und vom Reichtum der kulturellen Identität der Artisten aus vielen Ländern“, heißt es in der Präambel der Initiative Neuer Zirkus.
 
Richard Wherlock „Juditha triumphans“, Theater Basel (Youtube) 

Abspaltungen von traditionellen Künsten lassen sich inzwischen in allen Sparten darstellender Kunst beobachten. Neue Allianzen und individuelle Sichtweisen auf aktuelle Themen und Befindlichkeiten von Kulturen, Religionen und Regionen werden möglich. Was der Tanz dazu beiträgt, werde aber bisher nicht genügend gewürdigt, bedauern viele Choreografen und Performer.