Berliner Festspiele Dance meeting of young people

„Rausch“ by TanzLabor Junges Resi of the Munich Residenztheaters
„Rausch“ by TanzLabor Junges Resi of the Munich Residenztheaters | © Dave Grossmann

Contemporary dance as part of cultural education in Germany has gained a unique nation-wide new format that places the focus on contemporary dance: the Tanztreffen der Jugend at the Berliner Festspiele.

From a total of 68 entries in 2015, seven groups were selected from seven Länder of the Federal Republic of Germany by a seven-member jury. Most of the players came from dance or ballet schools and theatres; less frequently they came from ordinary schools. The reason for this is no doubt that young people usually seek out extra-curricular facilities in their leisure time; contemporary dance is currently being (further) developed in this sector. Dance for children, in contrast, has established itself as a fixed part of the school curriculum at all-day public-sector schools in some places in Germany. Nation-wide programmes such as Kultur macht stark. Bündnisse für Bildung (i.e. Culture Empowers. Alliances for Education) have strongly promoted participative broad-based dance projects in recent years. Their focus is more on supporting dance as a mass phenomenon, however, with the aim of facilitating the cultural participation of youngsters from backgrounds with limited access to educational opportunities.

Watching diversity

What was striking about the selection for the Berliner Treffen was the aesthetic diversity of the performances, the content of which ranged from critical engagement with mythical material and its application to (body) images, for example in Tantalos, tanzsturm by the Staatstheater Mainz, and the subject of (bodily) identity, as in Selbstbaukasten, Selbstbaukasten performed by the tjg.theaterakademie, Dresden, to contact in its various dimensions, as exemplified by Dritte Art by Tanzstudio Danzon in Tübingen. The hip hop ensemble B2B – Back to Basics from tanzhaus nrw in Düsseldorf, which has members of various nationalities, spent a week engaging with the unusual research topic of Japan. What emerged from this artistic engagement was a piece entitled Tabi which was presented by the 16 young people aged between 12 and 20, an artistic interpretation of Japanese culture that combined an adaption of the far-Eastern culture of human motion with contemporary dance and the participants’ own hip hop vocabulary.

Participants arriving at the house of Berlin Festspiele Participants arriving at the house of Berlin Festspiele | © Dave Grossmann Saltazia, a nine-member youth ensemble from Hildesheim, staged Alice. This intricately-constructed 20-minute staging on the theme of personal experiences of fear, desire and limitation got by with hardly any music and displayed polished dance techniques. Eleven young dancers from TanzLabor Junges Resi at Munich’s Residenztheater staged improvisations on motifs from Faust. Their performance culminated in choreographies and personal interpretations of the themes of seduction, ecstasy and impetuosity in Rausch, ia 20-minute production featuring a cold space clearly delimited by light. The children’s dance company Sascha Waltz & Guests presented Feuerblume, in which children between 11 and 13 years of age danced rule-based improvisations within a defined space on various energy states.

All the works shown at the Treffen are piece developments that shine out from the creative interplay between the youngsters’ personal engagement with themes, materials and aesthetics, as well as with their instructing choreographers’ artistic signature.

Dancebattle Dancebattle | © Dave Grossmann

Practice, dialogue and special

The underlying aim of the training for participants is to promote artistic aspects in dance work. Thus, it fills a gap in a scene largely influenced by pedagogical discourse. The workshop instructor invited to come in 2014, for example, Joke Laureyns of kabinet k (Belgium), is known for her remarkable, profound stage work with children and adults. In 2015, Steve Kirkham of Frantic Assembly (Great Britain) held a practical workshop dealing with the generation of unusual, new movement material based on everyday movements. A ground-breaking special enabling the young participants to encounter the dance experience of outstanding choreographers was the invitation to all the youngsters to spend a day learning a short choreography by Rosas danst Rosas by Belgian choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Instruction was provided and participants were able to create their own dance video for the Rosas danst Rosas project website.

The Tanztreffen in 2015 not only showed a current cross-section of dance productions from and with young people. It was also the expression of a current development which aims to facilitate the formulation of an individual aesthetic form of expression of dance by “non-professionals”. As in developments in theatre in recent years, discovering one’s own aesthetics through working with the “experts of everyday life” remains a highly-charged and interesting question. We can look forward to further developments!

Berliner Festspiele Das Tanztreffen der Jugend

„Rausch“ vom TanzLabor Junges Resi des Münchner Residenztheaters
„Rausch“ vom TanzLabor Junges Resi des Münchner Residenztheaters | © Dave Grossmann

Der zeitgenössische Tanz als Bestandteil kultureller Bildung in Deutschland hat ein neues, bundesweit einzigartiges Format hinzugewonnen, das den zeitgenössischen Tanz in den Mittelpunkt stellt: Das Tanztreffen der Jugend der Berliner Festspiele.

2015 wurden sieben Gruppen aus sieben deutschen Bundesländern von einer siebenköpfigen Jury aus 68 eingegangenen Bewerbungen ausgewählt. Die Akteure kamen zum großen Teil aus Tanz- oder Ballettschulen sowie den Theatern, seltener aus den allgemeinbildenden Schulen. Grund hierfür ist sicherlich die Tatsache, dass Jugendliche in ihrer Freizeit zumeist die Anbieter im außerschulischen Bereich aufsuchen; der zeitgenössische Tanz wird derzeit hier (weiter-) entwickelt. Der Tanz von Kindern hingegen hat sich an manchen Orten in Deutschland als fester Bestandteil im schulischen Angebot des offenen Ganztagsbetriebes etabliert. Bundesweite Programme wie Kultur macht stark. Bündnisse für Bildungförderten partizipative Tanzprojekte in den letzten Jahren zwar sehr stark in der Fläche. Sie unterstützten ihn aber eher als Breitenphänomen mit dem Anspruch, Heranwachsende mit so genannten „bildungsfernen Hintergrund“, kulturelle Teilhabe zu ermöglichen.

Vielfalt schauen

Auffällig bei der Auswahl für das Berliner Treffen war die ästhetische Vielfalt der Darbietungen Inhaltlich erstreckte sie sich von der Auseinandersetzung mit einem mythischen Stoff und dessen Umsetzung in (Körper-)Bilder wie zum Beispiel in Tantalos, tanzsturm vom Staatstheater Mainz, über das Thema (körperliche) Identität, wie in Selbstbaukasten, Selbstbaukasten der tjg.theaterakademie, Dresden, bis hin zu Kontakt in seinen verschiedenen Dimensionen zum Beispiel inDritte Art des Tanzstudios Danzon in Tübingen. Das aus verschiedenen Nationalitäten bestehende HipHop-Ensemble B2B – Back to Basics vom Düsseldorfer Tanzhaus NRW hatte sich eine Woche lang auf das ungewöhnliche Recherchethema Japan eingelassen. Ergebnis der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung, das die 16 jungen Menschen im Alter von 12 bis 20 Jahren unter dem Titel Tabi zeigten, war die künstlerische Interpretation der japanischen Kultur in einer Mischung aus Adaption fernöstlicher Bewegungskultur, zeitgenössischem Tanz und mitgebrachtem eigenem Vokabular aus dem Hip-Hop.

Teilnehmer bei der Ankunft im Haus der Berliner Festspiele Teilnehmer bei der Ankunft im Haus der Berliner Festspiele | © Dave Grossmann Das neunköpfige Jugendensemble Saltazia aus Hildesheim präsentierte mit Alice eine feingliedrig gebaute, tanztechnisch ausgefeilte und fast ohne Musik auskommende 20-minütigen Inszenierung zu persönlichen Erfahrungen von Ängsten, Sehnsüchten und Grenzen. Elf junge Tänzerinnen und Tänzer vom TanzLabor Junges Resi des Münchner Residenztheaters improvisierten zu Motiven aus Faust und gelangten schließlich zu Choreografien und persönlichen Interpretationen von Verführung, Rausch und Ausbruch, das sie in ihrer 20-minütige Inszenierung Rausch in einem durch Licht klar abgegrenzten, kalt wirkenden Raum zeigten. Die Kindertanzcompagnie Sascha Waltz & Guests präsentierte Feuerblume, in der Kinder im Alter von 11 bis 13 Jahren im Raum angesiedelte, regelgeleitete Improvisationen zu verschiedenen Energiezuständen tanzten.

Alle beim Treffen gezeigten Arbeiten sind Stückentwicklungen, die in dem Spannungsfeld von persönlicher Auseinandersetzung der Heranwachsenden mit Themen, Stoffen und Ästhetiken wie auch künstlerischer Handschrift ihrer anleitenden Choreografen und Choreografinnen brillieren.

Dancebattle Dancebattle | © Dave Grossmann

Praxis, Dialog und Spezial

Das Weiterbildungsangebot für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer setzt auf die Förderung von künstlerischen Aspekten in der Tanzarbeit und füllt damit eine Leerstelle in der eher durch pädagogische Diskurse geprägten Landschaft. Die 2014 eingeladene Werkstattleiterin Joke Laureyns von kabinet k (Belgien) ist beispielsweise bekannt für ihre bemerkenswerten, tiefgründigen Arbeiten mit Kindern und Erwachsenen auf der Bühne. 2015 thematisierte Steve Kirkham von Frantic Assembly (Großbritannien) in seinem Praxis-Angebot die Generierung von ungewöhnlichem, neuem Bewegungsmaterial ausgehend von Alltagsbewegungen. Ein wegweisendes Special für die Begegnung mit Tanzwissen von herausragenden Choreografen war die Einladung an alle Jugendlichen, eine Kurzchoreografie von Rosas danst Rosas der belgischen Choreografin Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker an einem Tag unter Anleitung zu erlernen und ein eigenes Tanz-Video für die Site des Projektes Rosas danst Rosas zu kreieren.

Das Tanztreffen 2015 zeigte nicht nur eine aktuelle Übersicht der Tanzproduktionen von und mit Jugendlichen, es war auch Ausdruck einer aktuellen Entwicklung, bei der es um die Formulierung einer eigenen ästhetische Ausdrucksweise des Tanzes von „Nicht-Profis“ geht. Ähnlich wie die Entwicklung im Theater der letzten Jahre ist auch hier die Frage nach einer eigenen Ästhetik in der Arbeit mit den „Experten des Alltags“ brisant und spannend. Auf weitere Entwicklungen darf man gespannt sein!