Performance meets Dance Rabih Mroué Tries Choreography

Rabih Mroué (left) and the Dance.On-Ensemble at rehaersals for „Water Between Three Hands“
Rabih Mroué (left) and the Dance.On-Ensemble at rehaersals for „Water Between Three Hands“ | Photo: Dorothea Tuch

For his piece “Water Between Three Hands“, performance artist and stage director Rabih Mroué worked for the first time with dancers – with the Senior-Company Dance On. “To my surprise they are all between 40 and 50 years, which means younger than me”, says Mroué. “This fact challenged me.”

Born in Beirut in 1967, Rabih Mroué found a second home in Berlin and became a true global player of the arts. Co-founder of the Beirut Art Center Association, Co-editor of New York’s Drama Review, he created installations for the German art show dOCUMENTA 13 and New York’s Museum of Modern Art, London’s Modern Tate as well as in Paris, Tokyo, Ljubljana, Istanbul and Madrid among other cities. The theatre trained artist was Fellow at the International Research Center Interweaving Performance Cultures – Freie Universität Berlin and stage director at Münchner Kammerspiele. For the first time Mroué now worked with dancers. His new piece Water Between Three Hands for the recently formed German Senior-Company Dance On opened at Hamburg’s avant-garde dance center Kampnagel and shall go on tour.

Mr. Mroué, after performances such as “Make me stop smoking” (2008), “Riding on a Cloud” (2014), “Biokhraphía” (2015) or “Ode to Joy” (2015) with long spoken texts in various languages and video clips of war scenes in the Middle East, this is a surprisingly gentle, delightfully poetic and even humorous ensemble theatre piece with terrific dance and powerful drum compositions. How did you prepare for this new venture?

Actually, at the beginning, I expected to meet senior dancers in their seventies or so, but to my surprise they are all between 40 and 50 years, which means younger than me. This fact challenged me. I made it a point not to watch any dance videos because I did not want to be influenced since I am not a choreographer. I was curious to know more about them, and their background, and their relation to their bodies. So these questions were my first inspirations.
 

  • Rabih Mroué Photo: Dorothea Tuch
    Rabih Mroué
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Photo: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Photo: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Photo: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“


How exactly did you work together?

I came with unfinished ideas, graphs and suggestions and started to explore them with the dancers. I also had the title Water Between Three Hands beforehand. Almost instantly a lively ‘give and take’ developed between us. The dancers were very generous in sharing their fascinating knowledge of their bodies, movements, art and thinking. A lot of drawings and notes were eventually made of possible arrangements, positions, reflections and relations.

… all of them collected in the little book that the dancers are reading or reciting from during the performance …

Yes.

You and five of the six Dance On members chose Germany as a second home country. Since your work is very political I had expected references to the current fugitive situation.

We talked about this situation. But it had no impact on the structure of the performance. My work is political in a philosophical sense. But I am not an activist neither in my artworks nor in my performances. Moreover, I’m not interested in educating the audience, to tell them what happened or explain events et cetera. I am interested in questions, reflections, and doubts without conclusions.

What made you decide to settle with your wife and partner Lina Majdalanie in Germany?

To be honest: it is not Germany. It is Berlin. I cannot tell what exactly there is about Berlin. When you love – you just love (he laughs).

The Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin offered a retrospective of your recent stage work in April 2016, titled “Outside the Image – Inside Us”. How did such a work-show feel for a relatively young, if extremely productive and versatile artist? It must have been quite exhausting at any rate, since you were on stage in all eight performances in five days.

I enjoyed it very much. It gave myself as well as the audience a chance to grasp the line of reflection to tighten our relation, distinguish between one another, and to examine the development of our work here.

Since 2002 you have been highly esteemed as stage director and performer in Berlin, München, Hamburg and other German cities. “Water Between Three Hands” is co-produced by Hamburg’s Kampnagel with tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen. A new piece, entitled “So Little Time”, will open at the “Wiesbaden Biennale” in August 2016. What do you think attracts Germans to your work?

With my work I want to share some ideas, thesis, doubts, questions with the spectators. For me the relation to them is very important. I deal with them as individuals not as a mass of people or group. Wherever I perform, each night and each audience is different. I always try to avoid generalizations. Many cities have a lot in common, but are also very different from each other. I would emphasize the differences rather than the similarities and that make us individuals in a political sense.

Theatre used to be also for joy and pleasure. Do you think the responsibility of the arts today is political?

No, I am not part of the aware arts. It should be a joy. However, I do not agree with simple, stupid entertainment that is just made for fast consuming. When I read poetry or philosophy – that is my joy. Or when I have a dialogue with the audience that’s a pleasure. Or just now working with those highly professional dancers is a rich experience and entertainment. Working with the Dance On Company was for me a very good way to be introduced to dance.

Performance trifft Tanz Rabih Mroué versucht sich als Choreograf

Rabih Mroué (links) und das Dance.On-Ensemble bei Proben zu „Water Between Three Hands“
Rabih Mroué (links) und das Dance.On-Ensemble bei Proben zu „Water Between Three Hands“ | Foto: Dorothea Tuch

Der Performancekünstler und Regisseur Rabih Mroué arbeitete für sein Stück „Water Between Three Hands“ erstmalig mit Tänzern – mit der Senioren-Tanzgruppe Dance On, deren Mitglieder größtenteils jünger sind als er selbst. „Diese Tatsache forderte mich so richtig heraus“, erzählt Mroué im Interview. 

1967 in Beirut geboren, fand Rabih Mroué eine zweite Heimat in Berlin und wurde eine internationale Größe in den Künsten. Er ist Mitgründer des Beirut Art Center und Mitherausgeber der New Yorker Zeitschrift Drama Review. Er schuf Installationen für die deutsche Kunstschau dOCUMENTA13 und New Yorks Museum of Modern Art, Londons Modern Tate sowie in Paris, Tokio, Ljubljana, Istanbul, Madrid und anderen Städten. Der ausgebildete Theatermacher war Stipendiat am Internationalen Forschungszentrum Interweaving Performance Cultures der Freien Universität Berlin und Regisseur an den Münchner Kammerspielen. Zum ersten Mal arbeitete Mroué jetzt mit Tänzern. Sein neues Stück Water Between Three Hands für die kürzlich gegründete Senioren-Tanzgruppe Dance On hatte in Hamburgs Avantgarde-Kulturzentrum Kampnagel Premiere und wird auf Tournee gehen.

Herr Mroué, nach Performances wie „Make Me Stop Smoking“ (2008), „Riding on a Cloud“ (2014), „Biokhraphia“ (2015) oder „Ode to Joy“ (2015) mit langen, gesprochenen Texten in verschiedenen Sprachen und Videoclips von Kriegsszenen im Mittleren Osten ist „Water Between Three Hands“ nun ein überraschend sanftes, herrlich poetisches und sogar humorvolles Ensemble-Theaterstück mit fantastischem Tanz und kraftvollen Schlagwerk-Kompositionen. Wie haben Sie sich auf diese neue Arbeit vorbereitet?

Ich habe damit gerechnet, dass die Senioren-Tänzer so um die 70 Jahre alt wären. Aber zu meiner Überraschung sind sie alle zwischen 40 und 50 – das heißt also, großenteils jünger als ich. Diese Tatsache forderte mich so richtig heraus. Ich beschloss, keinerlei Videos anzusehen, um in keiner Weise beeinflusst zu werden. Denn ich bin ja kein Choreograf. Ich wollte mehr über sie wissen, über ihren Hintergrund und ihr Verhältnis zu ihrem Körper. Diese Fragen waren meine erste Inspiration.
 

  • Rabih Mroué Foto: Dorothea Tuch
    Rabih Mroué
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Foto: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Foto: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“
  • „Water Between Three Hands“ Foto: Dorothea Tuch
    „Water Between Three Hands“


Wie genau haben Sie dann zusammengearbeitet?

Ich kam zur ersten Probe mit unfertigen Ideen, Skizzen und Vorschlägen und begann, diese mit den Tänzern zu erforschen. Ich hatte schon vorher den Titel – Water Between Three Hands. Fast sofort entwickelte sich zwischen uns ein lebendiges Geben und Nehmen. Die Tänzer teilten ihre faszinierende Kenntnis ihrer Körper, Bewegungen, Kunst und ihres Denkens sehr freimütig mit mir. Nach und nach entstand eine Vielzahl von Zeichnungen und Notizen von möglichen Positionen, Überlegungen und Beziehungen.

… die Sie alle in einem kleinen Buch gesammelt haben, aus dem die Tänzer während der Vorstellung vorlesen und rezitieren …

Richtig.

Sie selbst und fünf der sechs Dance-On-Mitglieder haben Deutschland als zweite Heimat gewählt. Da ihr Werk ja sehr politisch orientiert ist, hatte ich Bezüge zur aktuellen Flüchtlingssituation erwartet.

Wir haben über diese Situation gesprochen. Aber das hatte keinen Einfluss auf die Struktur der Aufführung. Meine Arbeit ist politisch in einem philosophischen Sinn. Aber ich bin kein Aktivist – weder in meiner Kunst noch in meinen Performances. Außerdem bin ich nicht daran interessiert, das Publikum zu erziehen, über Vorgänge zu informieren oder zu erklären und so weiter. Ich interessiere mich für Fragen, Reflektionen und Zweifel, ohne Schlüsse zu ziehen.

Aus welchem Grund haben Sie sich entschieden, sich mit Ihrer Frau und Partnerin Lina Majdalanie in Deutschland niederzulassen?

Ehrlich gesagt ist es nicht Deutschland, sondern Berlin. Ich kann gar nicht einmal sagen, was es mit Berlin auf sich hat. Wenn man liebt – liebt man eben einfach (lacht).

Das Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin hat Anfang April 2016 eine Retrospektive ihres jüngeren Bühnenwerks mit dem Titel „Outside the Image – Inside Us“ gezeigt. Wie fühlte sich eine derartige Werkschau für Sie, einen relativ jungen, wenn auch außergewöhnlich produktiven Künstler, an? Jedenfalls muss es ja wohl ziemlich anstrengend gewesen sein, da Sie in allen acht Stücken innerhalb von fünf Tagen auf oder hinter der Bühne standen.

Ich habe es sehr genossen. Es gab mir selbst und dem Publikum eine Chance, die verschiedenen Reflektionen zu verfolgen und unsere Beziehung zu vertiefen, unsere Unterschiede zu spüren und die Entwicklung meines Werks hier zu überprüfen.

Seit 2002 sind Sie als Regisseur und Performer in Berlin, München, Hamburg und anderen deutschen Städten hoch angesehen. „Water Between Three Hands“ ist eine gemeinsame Produktion von Hamburgs Kampnagel und dem tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Ein neues Stück mit dem Titel „So Little Time“ hat im August 2016 bei der Wiesbaden Biennale Premiere. Wodurch fühlen sich Deutsche Ihrer Meinung nach zu Ihrem Werk hingezogen?

In meiner Arbeit möchte ich einige Ideen, Thesen, Zweifel, Fragen mit den Zuschauern teilen. Für mich ist die Beziehung zu ihnen sehr wichtig. Ich betrachte sie als Individuen, nicht als Masse oder Gruppe. Wo immer ich auftrete – jeder Abend und jedes Publikum ist anders. Ich hüte mich möglichst vor Verallgemeinerungen. Viele Städte haben vieles miteinander gemein, aber unterscheiden sich auch sehr voneinander. Ich möchte eher die Unterschiede betonen als die Ähnlichkeiten; denn das macht uns als Individuen im philosophischen Sinn politisch.

Theater wurde aber auch zur Freude und Unterhaltung erfunden. Sind Sie der Ansicht, dass die Künste heute eher eine politische Verantwortung tragen?

Nein. Ich bin nicht Teil der aware arts. Es sollte wirklich Freude machen. Allerdings habe ich nichts übrig für simple, stupide Unterhaltung, die lediglich für den Konsum produziert wird. Wenn ich Gedichte oder philosophische Abhandlungen lese, ist mir das eine Freude. Oder wenn ich einen Dialog mit dem Publikum führe – das ist mir ein Vergnügen. Oder gerade jetzt die Arbeit mit diesen hoch professionellen Tänzern ist für mich eine reiche Erfahrung und beste Unterhaltung. Mit der Dance-On-Kompanie zu arbeiten war für mich eine sehr gute Möglichkeit, mit dem Tanz vertraut zu werden.