Battle of the Year And the winner is …

Jinjo, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2010
Jinjo, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2010 | © Conanwhitehouse

Hip hop has come of age. A subculture that originated in America is now even represented in Germany by a political party called “Die Urbane” (The Urban). A talent show to find the breakdance champion of the year, the Battle of the Year, has been held for the last 27 years and in 2017 it is taking place in Essen.

Breakdance looks like head-spinning daredevilry. It is a dance of minorities, street art, protest, a straightforward contest, a battle. It will be celebrating this year’s final on 21 October in the Grugahalle in Essen. As in previous years, the world champion of the largest annual international breakdance contest will be selected. Thomas Hergenröther has been involved from the start. He invented the “Battle of the Year”. If you wish him ill, you might say he has turned a subculture into a sport. If you want to praise him, you might say he has given B-Boyz and B-Girlz from around the world an arena that enables them to gain respect. 
 
It is striking that the last German crew to win the Battle of the Year were the Flying Steps from Berlin back in 2000. Since then, the winners’ podium has been shared without exception by French, South Korean and most recently Japanese performers. We asked Thomas Hergenröther why that is. His reply: “The Japanese are very perfectionist when it comes to show and teamwork,” enabling their skills to be evaluated in performances of just six minutes in front of a hand-picked jury. “The Floorriorz are a crew from Japan who have won the competition the last two years. Now they’re aiming for a hat trick“, says Hergenröther, and they have a good chance of achieving that because they come from the roots of hip hop: “Someone who just spins through the air performing saltos would definitely not win.”
 

  • Vagabonds, France, winner Battle of the Year 2011 © BOTY
    Vagabonds, France, winner Battle of the Year 2011
  • The Floorriorz, Japan, winner Battle of the Year 2016 © Maurice van der Meijs
    The Floorriorz, Japan, winner Battle of the Year 2016
  • Gamblerz, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2004 © Six-Step
    Gamblerz, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2004
  • Jinjo, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2010 © Conanwhitehouse
    Jinjo, South Korea, winner Battle of the Year 2010
  • Last Action Heroes, Bad Oeynhausen/Germany © Six-Step
    Last Action Heroes, Bad Oeynhausen/Germany
  • Poster International Breakdance Cup 1990 © Six-Step
    Poster International Breakdance Cup 1990

1989 and its repercussions

Germany, however, represents the beginnings 27 years ago when the Iron Curtain came down on both sides of the country. While hip hop was seen in the GDR as being western and decadent, a few officials understood the genre to be a protest movement against ghettoisation and poverty in the USA. That was what US-american singer and entertainer Harry Belafonte, known as  King of Calypso, told them. An avowed socialist, he was a frequent visitor to East Berlin. On one occasion, in 1984, he came as co-producer of the US film Beat Street, which popularised breakdance (called Brechtanz in the GDR), even among the state organisers of concerts and guest performances. Soon afterwards, the First Leipzig Breakdance Competition took place in the International Friendship Youth Club Völkerfreundschaft. Initiator Dieter Bittner commented on its effects as follows: “The people at the top had no idea what a major impact this film would have. Belafonte was a resistance fighter. Anything he did had to be good. The aim of screening Beat Street was to show the audience how badly black people were treated in capitalist countries. But the main things the kids in the socialist paradise saw apart from dance were sneakers, training suits and ghetto blasters. Things they wanted to have themselves.“
 
Break The Floor 2017 | final battle Gamblerz crew VS Jinjo crew

East vs. West

Thomas Hergenröther was his significantly younger colleague in the west. Following the box-office success of Beat Street, the youth magazine Bravo went along with the zeitgeist and organised the first national hip hop competition in Stuttgart the same year, 1984. It was a typically western phenomenon that the Dynamic Freezing Crew, a German group, were of Turkish origin. That’s how things were back then. The hip crew in Hanover were Burning Moves. Hergenröther was one of them. He was a vigorous opponent of nationalism of any kind and could not get the dream of world-wide b-boyin' out of his head. The first competition he organised looked as if it was between East and West Germany. It began with four regional qualifying rounds, held in Münster (for northern Germany), Dresden (for the new Federal Länder), Stuttgart (for southern Germany), and Berlin (a region in itself). The 1990 final was held in Hanover and was won by the Berlin group “Tod durch Breakdance”.
 
Battle of the Year 2017: Finals Germany

Germany, France, USA, Asia

Hergenröther did not find a model for his idea of an international battle, so there was also no competition. In 1997, the Style Elements were the first crew from the United States to win the competition, which was held in Hanover. Eight years later, in 2005, one of the group’s dancers, Poe One, took the Battle of the Year to Los Angeles. In 2001, Russian DJ Hobot had already established his battle based on the German model in Moscow. That year, the competition was also a hit in South Korea and in the French city of Montpellier. Only Tokyo was faster. National qualifying rounds were introduced, and then international qualifying rounds. The winners, for example from China, compete first in Asia, this time in Bangkok. But Senegal and Réunion are also taking part. All the winners are going to  Essen.
 
“And who’s going to win?” Thomas Hergenröther asks the staff of his organisation office SIX STEP in Hanover. “The Last Action Heros from the wonderful town of Bad Oeynhausen” is the resounding response from a number of voices in the background. “No, not spa guests”, explains Hergenröther. “They’re training at the Flying Steps Academy in Berlin and are one of the new crews that has emerged since we introduced the Kids Battle format to promote young talent.“ The 14 or 15-year-olds, now in the third generation of breakers, have their own competition. Counter-question: Who’s your favourite? “South Korea“, I say. I think it’s time they won again.

Battle of the Year And the winner is …

Jinjo, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2010
Jinjo, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2010 | © Conanwhitehouse

Hip-Hop ist erwachsen geworden. Die aus Amerika stammende Subkultur wird in Deutschland nun auch durch eine politische Partei vertreten: „Die Urbanen“ heißt sie. Seit 27 Jahren sucht Deutschland die Superbreaker: auf dem „Battle of the Year“, der 2017 in Essen stattfindet.

Breakdance sieht aus wie eine auf dem Kopf sich drehende Waghalsigkeit: ein Tanz der Minderheiten, Straßenkunst, Protest, ein Kampf ohne Theater, eben ein Battle, der sein diesjähriges Finale am 21. Oktober in der Grugahalle in Essen feiert, um auch diesmal den Weltmeister des größten, jährlich stattfindenden internationalen Breakdance-Wettbewerbs zu ermitteln. Von Anfang dabei: Thomas Hergenröther. Er hat den Battle of the Year erfunden. Er hat, wenn man ihm übel will, aus einer Subkultur eine Sportart gemacht. Er hat, wenn man ihn loben will, den B-Boyz und B-Girlz aus aller Welt die Arena gegeben, die ihnen Respekt verschafft. 
 
Auffallend: Die letzte deutsche Crew, die den Battle of the Year gewann, waren die Flying Steps aus Berlin, anno 2000. Seitdem teilen sich ausnahmslos Franzosen, Südkoreaner und zuletzt die Japaner das Siegertreppchen. Frage an Thomas Hergenröther: Woran liegt das? Seine Antwort: „Die Japaner sind nun mal sehr perfektionistisch, wenn es um Show und Teamwork geht“, die ihre Skills in nur sechs-minütigen Auftritten von einer handverlesenen Jury ermitteln lassen. „The Floorriorz, so heißt die Crew aus Japan, haben in den beiden letzten Jahren gewonnen. Sie wollen nun den Triple hinlegen“, sagt Hergenröther, und sie haben eine Chance, denn sie kommen aus den Wurzeln des Hip-Hop: „Wer hier nur durch die Luft wirbelt und Salti hinlegt, würde definitiv nicht gewinnen.“
 

  • Vagabonds, Frankreich, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2011 © BOTY
    Vagabonds, Frankreich, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2011
  • The Floorriorz, Japan, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2016 © Maurice van der Meijs
    The Floorriorz, Japan, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2016
  • Gamblerz, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2004 © Six-Step
    Gamblerz, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2004
  • Jinjo, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2010 © Conanwhitehouse
    Jinjo, Südkorea, Gewinner Battle of the Year 2010
  • Last Action Heroes, aus Bad Oeynhausen/Deutschland © Six-Step
    Last Action Heroes, aus Bad Oeynhausen/Deutschland
  • Poster International Breakdance Cup 1990 © Six-Step
    Poster International Breakdance Cup 1990

1989 und die Folgen

Deutschland hingegen steht eher für das, was vor 27 Jahren begann. Damals fiel auf beiden Seiten der Eiserne Vorhang. Hip-Hop galt in der DDR als westlich dekadent. Ein paar Funktionäre aber begriffen den Tanz als Protestbewegung gegen die Gettoisierung und Armut in den USA. Das verriet ihnen der US-amerikanische Sänger und Entertainer Harry Belafonte, bekannt als King of Calypso. Der bekennende Sozialist war oft in Ost-Berlin zu Gast, auch 1984, damals als Koproduzent des US-Films Beat Street, der in der DDR den „Brechtanz“ genannten Breakdance auch bei der staatlichen Konzert- und Gastspieldirektion populär machte. Im Jugendklubhaus Völkerfreundschaft fand bald der erste Leipziger Breakdance-Wettbewerb statt. Dieter Bittner hieß der Initiator, der die Wirkung so kommentierte: „Die Oberen hatten keine Ahnung, was sie mit diesem Film lostreten würden. Belafonte war Widerstandskämpfer. Was er in die Hände nahm, konnte ja nur gut sein. Mit Beat Street wollte man dem Publikum erklären, wie schlecht die Schwarzen im kapitalistischen Ausland behandelt wurden. Stattdessen sahen die Jungs im sozialistischen Paradies außer Tanz vor allem eins: Turnschuhe, Jogginganzüge und Gettoblaster. Dinge, die sie selber haben wollten.“
 
Break The Floor 2017 | final battle Gamblerz crew VS Jinjo crew

Ost gegen West

Thomas Hergenröther war sein deutlich jüngerer Kollege im Westen. 1984, im selben Jahr, setzte das Jugendmagazin Bravo auf den Geist der Zeit und richtete zum Kinoerfolg von Beat Street den ersten nationalen Hip-Hop-Wettbewerb in Stuttgart aus. Typisch Westen: Die Dynamic Freezing Crew, eine deutsche Formation, vertrat ihrer Herkunft nach die Türkei. So war das damals. In Hannover hieß die angesagte Crew Burning Moves. Hergenröther war dabei. Er stand mit Nationalismen ebenso auf Kriegsfuß wie er den Traum eines weltweiten B-Boyin' nicht aus dem Kopf bekam. Der erste Wettbewerb, den er ausrichtete, sah aus wie Ost- gegen Westdeutschland. Mit vier regionalen Vorausscheidungen fing es an: in Münster für Norddeutschland, in Dresden für die neuen Bundesländer, in Stuttgart für Süddeutschland, und Berlin als eine Region für sich. Das Finale wurde 1990 in Hannover ausgetragen. Damals gewann die Berliner Formation „Tod durch Breakdance“.
 
Battle of the Year 2017: Finals Deutschland

Deutschland, Frankreich, USA, Asien

Hergenröther fand für seine Idee eines internationalen Battles kein Vorbild, also auch keine Konkurrenz. Als 1997 mit den Style Elements in Hannover erstmals eine US-Crew gewann, brachte einer ihrer Tänzer, Poe One, den Battle of the Year nach Los Angeles: 2005, acht Jahre später. Da hatte der russische DJ Hobot seinen Battle-Ableger bereits 2001 in Moskau etabliert. In jenem Jahr schlug der Wettbewerb auch in Südkorea und im französischen Montpellier auf. Nur Tokyo war schneller. Es wurden nationale Qualifikationen eingeführt, dann staatenübergreifende: Die Sieger zum Beispiel aus China messen sich zuerst in Asien, 2017 in Bangkok. Aber auch Senegal und Réunion sind dabei. Alle Sieger gehen nach Essen.
 
Und wer wird gewinnen? Thomas Hergenröther fragt in die Runde seines Organisationsbüros in Hannover, das sich Six-Step nennt: „Die Last Action Heros aus dem wundervollen Bad Oeynhausen“, tönt es mehrstimmig aus dem Hintergrund. „Nein“, das sind keine Kurgäste“, erklärt Hergenröther, „Die werden trainiert von den Flying Steps aus Berlin und gehören zu den neuen Crews, nachdem wir – auch aus Nachwuchsgründen – das Format des Kids Battle eingeführt haben.“ Die 14-, 15-Jährigen treten in einem eigenen Wettbewerb an, die inzwischen dritte Generation von Breakern. Gegenfrage: Wer mein Favorit sei? „Südkorea“, sage ich. Ich finde, die sind mal wieder an der Reihe.