Canan Erek Conspiratorial Journey

Canan Erek
Canan Erek | Photo: privat

Pina Bausch’s Wuppertaler Tanztheater beckoned Canan Erek from Istanbul to Germany, where she studied dance and choreography. Today she works with young people and realises projects in public space.

When Canan Erek, born 1968 in Istanbul/Turkey, first saw a video recording of the Tanztheater Wuppertal – Café Müller and Le Sacre du printemps – she made the decision to stop studying Journalism in Istanbul. Then followed a conspiratorial journey to Germany, an audition in Essen, training’s begin in October 1987.

Settling into lessons and everyday life at the Essen Institute in the then struggling western region of the Federal Republic was not easy for Canan Erek. She had very little contact to the student body, already quite international at that time, and so after graduating in 1992 she moved to Berlin where the Wall had just fallen and her husband-to-be was already studying. As a student it was possible to obtain a residence permit, hence Erek enrolled as the first student from a non-socialist foreign country for the course in Choreography at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts.
 
She completed her studies there in 1996 and began her career as a free-lance choreographer. At that time Berlin offered many opportunities but also constant uncertainty. Thus she welcomed the offer to become artistic director of the Leipzig Tanztheater, an ensemble with roots in the amateur dance movement of the GDR. Erek worked there for three years.

Since then she has been active in the sphere of cultural education, at that time quite uncharted territory. “As I have a so-called migration background, I soon got offers,” says Erek laconically. However, at the same time this “Turkey bonus” also blocked her access to many a funding programme. In accordance with the practice of those days, the Goethe-Institut refused to grant her travel expenses as she did not have a German passport – this regulation has since been abolished.

Yet activity in this field does give her a broader social-impact radius. “Working with young people opens up quite different perspectives.” In 2016, together with the Berlin producer Inge Zysk, she initiated PURPLE – International Dance Festival for Young Audiences whose first edition in January 2017 was a great success. Further projects for dance in the public space  - in registry offices or municipal parks – are in the pipeline. “Dance can be so much more,” says Erin. After all, that is precisely why she came to Germany 1987 – in search of dance that differed from that taught in the studios of Ankara and Istanbul.
 

„REAL POSES“ (2013)

Canan Erek Konspirative Reise

Canan Erek
Foto: privat

Pina Bauschs Wuppertaler Tanztheater lockte Canan Erek aus Istanbul nach Deutschland. Hier studierte sie Tanz und Choreografie. Heute arbeitet sie mit Jugendlichen und realisiert Projekte im öffentlichen Raum.

Als die 1968 in Istanbul in der Türkei geborene Canan Erek erstmals eine Videoaufzeichnung des Tanztheaters Wuppertal sah – „Café Müller“ und Le Sacre du printemps – stand der Entschluss fest: Abbruch des Journalistik-Studiums in Istanbul, konspirative Reise nach Deutschland, Audition an der Folkwang Hochschule in Essen, Ausbildungsbeginn im Oktober 1987.

Die Eingewöhnung in den Schulbetrieb und den Alltag am Essener Institut im damals ruinösen Westen der Bundesrepublik fielen Canan Erek schwer. Sie hatte wenig Kontakt zur schon damals internationalen Studentenschaft, und so ging sie gleich nach ihrem Diplom 1992 nach Berlin, wo gerade die Mauer gefallen war und ihr späterer Ehemann bereits studierte. Der Studenten-Status erlaubte es, eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung zu erhalten, und so schrieb sich Erek als erste Studentin aus dem nicht-sozialistischen Ausland in den Studiengang Choreografie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch ein.
 
1996 war auch dieser Ausbildungsschritt beendet, und es begann die Karriere als freischaffende Choreografin. Berlin bot damals viele Möglichkeiten, aber auch permanente Unsicherheit. Da kam das Angebot gerade recht, die Leitung des Leipziger Tanztheaters zu übernehmen, eines Ensembles, dessen Wurzeln in der Laientanzbewegung der DDR liegen. Drei Jahre war Erek dort tätig.

Seither hat sie sich dem damals noch völlig neuen Bereich der kulturellen Bildung geöffnet. „Weil ich selbst einen so genannten Migrationshintergrund habe, bekam ich rasch Angebote“, sagt Erek lakonisch. Doch dieser „Türkei-Bonus“ verwehrte ihr zugleich auch den Zugang zu manchem Förderprogramm. Das Goethe-Institut lehnte nach damaliger Praxis einen Reisekostenzuschuss ab, weil sie eben keinen deutschen Pass vorweisen konnte – dieses Kriterium ist mittlerweile abgeschafft.

Doch gibt ihr dieses Feld auch mehr gesellschaftlichen Wirkungsradius: „Die Arbeit mit Jugendlichen eröffnet ganz andere Perspektiven.“ 2016 initiierte sie gemeinsam mit der Berliner Produzentin Inge Zysk PURPLE – ein Internationales Tanzfestival für junges Publikum, dessen erste Ausgabe im Januar 2017 ein großer Erfolg war. Andere Projekte für Tanz im öffentlichen Raum – in Bürgerämtern oder öffentlichen Grünanlagen – sind in Arbeit. „Tanz kann viel mehr sein“, so Erek. Immerhin ist sie vor 1987genau deswegen nach Deutschland gekommen: auf der Suche nach einem anderen Tanz als er in den Studios von Ankara und Istanbul unterrichtet wurde.
 

„REAL POSES“ (2013)