Heiner Müller In the Epoch of Comedy

“Zement” (i.e. Cement) at Munich Residenztheater, premiere at 5. May 2013, f.l. Sebastian Blomberg (Gleb Tschumalow), Bibiana Beglau (Dascha Tschumalowa), director: Dimiter Gottscheff;
“Zement” (i.e. Cement) at Munich Residenztheater, premiere at 5. May 2013, f.l. Sebastian Blomberg (Gleb Tschumalow), Bibiana Beglau (Dascha Tschumalowa), director: Dimiter Gottscheff; | © Armin Smailovic

Heiner Müller died twenty years ago, on 30 December 2013. He was the most influential German dramatist of the second half of the twentieth century, the chief successor of Bertolt Brecht. Companions such as the actor Ulrich Mühe or the director Dimiter Gotscheff, who performed Müller’s work after his death, are themselves now no longer among the living. Current theatre productions of his plays testify in many ways to the break with the reality from which Müller’s work originates.

Heiner Müller made a last prominent appearance in 2014, posthumously, of course, at the opening of the Berlin Theatre Meeting. He could be seen in his now long-legendary film interview from the 1990s with Alexander Kluge. Müller, as always incessantly puffing a cigar, spoke about ancient Rome, which invariably served him as a cipher for contemporary civilization. And he spoke about Rome’s will to destruction in contrast to the conciliatory aspirations of the Phoenicians, who, led by Hannibal, refrained from destroying the Eternal City and instead withdrew, because they were a trading people, for whom peaceful co-existence is obviously more profitable.

“Heil Coca Cola!”

And viewing the film one thought quietly to oneself: why did Müller never draw the line from the Phoenicians to the mercantile spirit of Anglo-American modernity? Why for him was American inevitably Rome, apocalyptic imperialism, always only “Heil Coca Cola” (Hamletmaschine) and human catastrophe (“Auschwitz is the altar of capitalism”, as he once said in an interview)? The thought of an open society under the banner of a market economy was alien to Müller. He himself recognized early on that with the extinction of former East Germany his “material” was lost. With German reunification was also lost the coordinate system of his dramatic art, the thinking in the sharp distinction between friend and foe, East and West, of Master and Slave within the system of capitalist exploitation. To this break between Müller’s reality and ours many productions at smaller stages and far from the big cities in the last twenty years since his death in 1995 have often borne witness.

A life full of threats

The film by Kluge was shown at the Theatre Meeting premiere of Zement (i.e. Cement) in the production by Dimiter Gotscheff. For him too this was a posthumous appearance. With Gotscheff’s death in October 2013, we lost the last great Müller director of our time, one who still had a direct line to the biographical and aesthetic depths of this art. To Müller’s life, which was shot through with real threats. As a teenager, the native of Saxony, born in 1929, survived the last days of the war in the “Volkssturm”. In East Berlin then he found his way into the theatre as a dramaturge and dramatist. At the latest with the prohibition of his post-war drama Die Umsiedlerin (i.e. The Resettler) (1961) Müller entered the circle of writers kept under watch by the GDR surveillance state and which the West discovered as dissidents and promoted by performances and the publications of texts. In 1985/86 Müller received the two highest artistic awards in East and West: the National Prize of the GDR and the Büchner Prize. That as a tightrope-walker and prominent intellectual Müller was also embroiled in the surveillance practices of the Stasi was in part revealed in his autobiography Krieg ohne Schlacht (i.e. War without Battle, 1992).

First production pieces, then adaptations of myths

Aesthetically, Müller’ work began to diverge from the early “production pieces” still oriented to Brechtian drama, including Lohndrücker (i.e. The Wage-Squeezer) (1956). From the mid-1960s he increasingly drew on mythic material, creating adaptations such as Macbeth after Shakespeare. The turn to myth and historical materials was a common practice among East German writers, used under the conditions of censorship to treat the reality of the regime metaphorically. Formally, Müller texts of the 1970s and 80s gradually dissolve the form of the drama, press towards monologue-like works such as Hamletmaschine (i.e. Description of a Picture) (1984); the keynote becomes more pessimistic, not least in response to the state-prescribed historical optimism, which more and more ignored the shortage economy of the GDR.

Dimiter Gotscheff’s flair for Müller-pathos

In diverse texts on poetry Müller formulated the premises of his work, including in his important “Letter to the Director of the Bulgarian Premiere of Philoctetes” (1983). This very director was the Bulgarian-born Dimiter Gotscheff, who immigrated to Germany in 1985.

Gotscheff was the only director of the period after the fall of the Berlin Wall who regularly performed Müller’s plays on metropolitan stages. These included humorous, slapstick-like productions such as GERMANIA.Stücke (i.e. GERMANIA. Plays) at the Deutsche Theater in Berlin in 2004. But Zement, produced in 2013 at the Munich Residenztheater shortly before Gotscheff’s death, was a work full of pathos, a dark spoken piece set on a barren stage. It brought Müller’s imagery, always aiming at human extremes, to life: “Our struggle has only begun, and we have a long way before us. Our feet will not reach its end, Chumalov, but the earth will yet drink all kinds of blood before we spy the goal at least from afar”. It was a pathos that set itself in relation to the historical situation in which the play takes place: in the 1920s after the Russian Revolution, war returnees like the hero Chumalov work on the reconstruction of a cement factory and struggle against the opposition of the Soviet administration. Violence pervades Chumalov’s married life as does the influence of the Party, which punishes any form of deviation with the death sentence.

The age of comedy: blood and lead become paper

The earnestness of this late work by Gotscheff stands in contrast to what has otherwise stamped Müller’s reception. In 1994 Frank Castorf, with his production of Pension Schöller / Die Schlacht (i.e. Boarding House Schöller/The Battle) opened Müller’s work for comedy. Castorf has regularly incorporated Müller’s Der Auftrag (i.e. The Commission, 1979) into his productions – as a set piece to comment on the decline of the middle class in Central Europe. Der Auftrag transfers the conflict between East and West to the post-colonial conflict between the so-called First and the Third world and is on account of the global situation currently one of Müller’s most frequently performed texts. At the same time its use by Castorff has always something allusive, something comically alienating about it.

“It is to be feared that the end of the GDR also means the end of the Shakespeare reception in Germany. I do not see why one should produce Shakespeare in the Federal Republic, unless it be the comedies”, wrote Müller in Krieg ohne Schlacht. The sentence has proven to be prophetic for his own work. The Castorf student Sebastian Baumgarten has recently clothed his interpretation of Zement at the Gorki Theater in Berlin (2015) in the guise of comedy. It begins with a sheepish intro in which the actor (Thomas Wodianka) recites haltingly Müller’s interview statements about his ambivalent attitude towards dictatorship. A distancing gesture, which marks our historical remove from Müller. Then Baumgarten presents the history of the revolutionary as a wild comedy performed by zombie-like characters flourishing cardboard guns. “Why doesn’t it occur to anyone here that it’s all cardboard”, improvises one of the actresses (Cynthia Micas). This is symbolic. A changed reality demands that access to Müller’s dramatic world of blood and lead also change. The dramas are no longer performed directly, but move to a sort of meta-level. Müller’s dramatic art becomes “paper”, quotable book learning. It is viewed like difficult-to-decipherable, sometimes quirky writing washed up to us from a dark time.

Heiner Müller In der Epoche der Komödie

„Zement“ am Residenztheater München, Premiere am 5. Mai 2013, v.l. Sebastian Blomberg (Gleb Tschumalow), Bibiana Beglau (Dascha Tschumalowa), Regie: Dimiter Gottscheff;
„Zement“ am Residenztheater München, Premiere am 5. Mai 2013, v.l. Sebastian Blomberg (Gleb Tschumalow), Bibiana Beglau (Dascha Tschumalowa), Regie: Dimiter Gottscheff; | © Armin Smailovic

Heiner Müller starb vor 20 Jahren – am 30. Dezember 1995. Er war der prägende deutsche Dramatiker der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts und der wichtigste Nachfolger Bertolt Brechts. Weggefährten wie der Schauspieler Ulrich Mühe oder Regisseur Dimiter Gotscheff, die Müllers Werke nach seinem Tod weiterspielten, sind selbst inzwischen verstorben. Aktuelle Bühnenumsetzungen seiner Stücke zeugen vielfach vom Bruch mit der Wirklichkeit, der Müllers Dramatik entstammt.

Einen letzten prominenten Auftritt hatte Heiner Müller 2014, posthum versteht sich, zur Eröffnung des Berliner Theatertreffens. Da lief eines seiner längst legendären Filminterviews aus den 1990er-Jahren mit Alexander Kluge. Müller, wie immer unablässig Zigarre paffend, sprach über das antike Rom, das ihm stets als Chiffre für die heutige westliche Zivilisation diente. Und er sprach über den Vernichtungswillen Roms im Gegensatz zum Ausgleichsbestreben der Phönizier, die mit Hannibal an ihrer Spitze eben nicht die ewige Stadt zerstört hätten, sondern abzogen, weil sie ein Handelsvolk gewesen seien, für das friedliche Koexistenz selbstredend profitabler ist.

„Heil Coca Cola!“

Und leise dachte man sich beim Gucken dieses Films: Wieso hat Müller eigentlich nie den Bogen von den Phöniziern zum merkantilen Freigeist der angloamerikanischen Moderne geschlagen? Warum war für ihn Amerika immer nur Rom, apokalyptischer Imperialismus, immer nur „Heil Coca Cola“ wie es in der Hamletmaschine (1977) heißt? Und warum war der Kapitalismus humane Katastrophe? – „Auschwitz ist der Altar des Kapitalismus“, sagte Müller in einem Interview. Das Denken einer offenen Gesellschaft im Zeichen der Marktwirtschaft war Müller fremd. Er selbst hatte früh erkannt, dass mit der DDR sein „Stoff“ untergegangen sei. Untergegangen war mit der Wiedervereinigung auch das Koordinatensystem seiner Dramatik, das scharfe Denken von Freund und Feind, Ost und West, von Herr und Knecht im System der kapitalistischen Ausbeutung. Von diesem Bruch zwischen Müllers Wirklichkeit und unserer zeitgenössischen kündeten viele Inszenierungen, die sich, vielfach auf kleineren Bühnen und abseits der Metropolen, in den Jahren seit seinem Tod 1995 dem Werk näherten.

Ein Leben voller Bedrohungen

Der besagte Film von Alexander Kluge wurde anlässlich der Theatertreffen-Premiere von Zement in der Inszenierung von Dimiter Gotscheff gezeigt. Auch für ihn war das eine posthume Würdigung. Mit Gotscheff war im Oktober 2013 der letzte große Müller-Regisseur unserer Tage gestorben. Er besaß noch einen direkten Draht zu den biografischen und ästhetischen Tiefen dieser Dramatik – zu Müllers Biografie, die von realen Bedrohungen durchzogen war. Als Jugendlicher hatte Heiner Müller, Jahrgang 1929, den „Volkssturm“ der letzten Kriegstage überlebt. In Ost-Berlin fand der gebürtige Sachse seinen Weg ans Theater, als Dramaturg und Dramatiker. Spätestens mit dem Verbot seines Nachkriegsdramas Die Umsiedlerin (1961) rückte Müller in den Kreis der von der DDR überwachungsstaatlich observierten Literaten, die die Bundesrepublik als Dissidenten entdeckte und durch Aufführungen beziehungsweise den Verlag von Texten förderte. 1985/86 erhielt Müller die beiden höchsten künstlerischen Auszeichnungen in der Bundesrepublik und der DDR: den Büchner-Preis und den Nationalpreis der DDR. Dass Müller als Grenzgänger und exponierter Intellektueller auch in die Überwachungspraktiken der DDR-Staatssicherheit verwickelt war, legt seine Autobiografie Krieg ohne Schlacht (1992) in Ansätzen offen.

Erst Produktionsstücke, dann Mythen-Bearbeitungen

Ästhetisch hat sich Müllers Werk von den noch an der Brechtschen Dramatik orientierten Produktionsstücken der Anfangsphase, darunter Lohndrücker (1956), wegentwickelt. Ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre griff er zunehmend auf mythische Stoffe zurück, schuf Stückbearbeitungen wie Macbeth nach Shakespeare. Die Hinwendung zu Mythen und historischen Stoffen war unter DDR-Literaten verbreitete Praxis, um unter Zensurbedingungen die Wirklichkeit des Regimes bildhaft zu verhandeln. Formal lösen Müllers Texte in den 1970er- und 1980er-Jahren langsam die Dramenform auf, drängen ins Monologhafte wie Die Hamletmaschine oder in die Prosa wie Bildbeschreibung (1984); der Grundton der Werke wurde pessimistischer, nicht zuletzt als Reaktion auf den von Staatsseite verordneten Geschichtsoptimismus, der zunehmend an der Mangelwirtschaft der DDR vorbei ging.

Dimiter Gotscheffs Gespür fürs Müller-Pathos

Müller formulierte in diversen poetologischen Texten die Prämissen seiner Arbeit, unter anderem 1983 in seinem wichtigen Brief an den Regisseur der bulgarischen Erstaufführung von PHILOKTET. Ebendieser Regisseur war Dimiter Gotscheff, der gebürtige Bulgare, der 1985 nach Deutschland emigrierte.

Gotscheff hat als einziger Regisseur der Nachwendezeit regelmäßig Müllers Stücke an Metropolenbühnen aufgeführt. Es waren auch heitere, slapstickhafte Interpretationen darunter, wie GERMANIA.Stücke am Deutschen Theater Berlin 2004. Zement aber, inszeniert 2013 am Münchner Residenztheater, kurz vor seinem Tod, war eine Arbeit voll Pathos, ein dunkles Sprechstück auf karger Bühne. Sie brachte Müllers stets auf menschliche Extreme zielende Metaphorik zum Klingen: „Unser Kampf hat erst angefangen, und wir haben einen langen Weg vor uns. Wir werden ihn auf unsern Füßen nicht zu Ende gehn, Tschumalow, aber die Erde wird noch allerhand Blut saufen, eh wir das Ziel wenigstens aus der Ferne sehn.“ Es war ein Pathos, das sich in Beziehung zur historischen Situation setzte, in der das Stück spielt: die 1920er-Jahre nach der russischen Revolution, als Kriegsheimkehrer wie der Held Tschumalow am Wiederaufbau der Zementfabrik arbeiten und mit den Widerständen der Sowjetadministration kämpfen. Gewalt durchzieht das Eheleben von Tschumalow wie das Wirken der Partei, die jede Form der Abweichung mit Todesurteilen straft.

Das Zeitalter der Komödie: Aus Blut und Blei wird Papier

Der Ernst dieser späten Gotscheff-Arbeit steht im Kontrast zu dem, was die Müller-Rezeption ansonsten weithin prägt. Frank Castorf hat Müllers Werk mit Pension Schöller / Die Schlacht 1994 für die Komödie geöffnet. Regelmäßig baut Castorf Müllers Der Auftrag (1979) in seine Inszenierungen ein – als Versatzstück, um einen Kommentar auf den Niedergang des Bürgertums in Mitteleuropa zu geben. Der Auftrag überführt die Konflikte zwischen Ost und West in die postkolonialistischen Konflikte zwischen sogenannter Erster und Dritter Welt und ist ob der globalen Problemlage einer der derzeit am häufigsten gespielten Texte Müllers. Die Verwendung bei Castorf hat gleichwohl stets etwas Zitathaftes, etwas komisch Verfremdendes.

„Es ist zu befürchten, dass mit dem Ende der DDR das Ende der Shakespeare-Rezeption in Deutschland gekommen ist. Ich wüsste nicht, warum man in der Bundesrepublik Shakespeare inszenieren sollte, es sei denn die Komödien“, sagt Müller in Krieg ohne Schlacht. Der Satz hat sich als prophetisch für sein eigenes Werk erwiesen. Ins Gewand der Komödie hat 2015 auch der Castorf-Schüler Sebastian Baumgarten seine Interpretation von Zement am Gorki Theater Berlin gekleidet. Es beginnt mit einem verlegenen Intro, in dem ein Schauspieler (Thomas Wodianka) stockend Interviewaussagen von Heiner Müller über sein gespaltenes Verhältnis zur Diktatur spricht. Eine Distanzierungsgeste, die unseren historischen Abstand zu Müllers Arbeit markiert. Anschließend präsentierte Baumgarten die Revolutionärsgeschichte als wildes Comic-Spiel mit zombiehaften Figuren, die mit Pappgewehren herumfuchteln. „Warum fällt hier keiner um, ist ja alles aus Pappe“, extemporiert eine Spielerin (Cynthia Micas). Das ist sinnbildlich. Wo die Wirklichkeit sich verändert hat, ist auch der Zugriff auf Müllers mit Blut und Blei getränkte Dramenwelt ein anderer. Man spielt die Dramen nicht direkt, sondern rückt sie gewissermaßen auf die Metaebene. Müllers Dramatik wird „Papier“, wird zitierfähiges Buchwissen. Es wird angeschaut wie ein schwer entzifferbares, mitunter auch skurriles Schrifttum, das aus dunkler Zeit zu uns herübergespült wurde.