Puppet theatre as interdisciplinary theatre form The resistant art

“Puppen sterben besser” (i.e. Puppets Die Better) by Florian Feisel
“Puppen sterben besser” (i.e. Puppets Die Better) by Florian Feisel | Photo: Oliver Röckle

Looking at the repertories of international puppet theatre festivals, it is apparent that the boundaries of the genre – as of most divisions of the theatre – are becoming more and more fluid. Artists such as Gisèle Vienne, Miet Warlop and Aurelien Bory, artist collectives such as AKHE, The Needcompany and BERLIN, are found at the most important performance and theatre festivals as well as at the major puppet theatre ones.

The opening of the genre into an interdisciplinary scope is striking, and yet anything but a novel development. It lies rather in the specifics of the theatre form itself, which operates at an intersection of the arts and has always retained a certain resistance to divisional boundaries and formal classifications.

Interstices and predetermined breaking points

Ivana Müller “While we were holding it together”; Ivana Müller “While we were holding it together”; | Photo: Karijn Kakebeeke When a few years ago Ivana Müller’s performance While we were holding it together was invited to three international puppet theatre festivals, this made for some consternation amongst the professional audience. How could the inclusion in a genre-specific context be justified of a production in which not a single puppet, no object and not even material things of any kind appeared on the stage – only five actors who for 70 minutes acted almost motionless in an empty space? The answer of the festival organizers would probably have been as simple as it would have been surprising: this performance made central principles of puppet theatre experienceable in an astonishingly definite way.

Not only the space between the actors was systematically staged but also that between the actors and the audience, a space in which both meet to become jointly creative: an imaginary space or “space of possibility”. This interstice is constitutive for puppet theatre, for this is where the dialogue between subject and object, the animation of seemingly inanimate things, the interplay between man and matter, takes place.

meinhardt krauss feigl “r.o.o.m”; meinhardt krauss feigl “r.o.o.m”; | Photo: Michael Krauss Among the pioneers of “digital puppet theatre” is the Stuttgart trio meinhardt krauss feigl; they themselves call the form “cinematographic theatre”. In worlds of virtual images the actors encounter enlarged and distorted details of their own bodies as in the play Intimacies, find themselves in r.o.o.m dominated by an intrinsic space or seek to situate themselves physically in a virtually generated universe as in And Suddenly the Sun Stood Still. The freedom or lack of freedom of the individual lies in the space in-between, at the interface of physical and imaginary body.

meinhardt krauss feigl “Und plötzlich stand die Sonne still”; meinhardt krauss feigl “Und plötzlich stand die Sonne still”; | Photo: Dirk Wilhelmy The dialectic of the man-object relationship not only opens its border and spaces; it also leads to friction and fractures: “It’s about a structural contradiction. As a medium, the thing in its concrete conditionedness will always behave as a friction towards the intended use. It will never fit completely”. So Markus Joss, Head of the Study Program for Contemporary Puppetry at the Ernst Busch University in Berlin, describing one of the basic principles of theatre work with puppets and objects. And he thus names one of the important “predetermined breaking points” from which a specific moment of performativity can be derived.

In the lecture-performance Puppen sterben besser (i.e. Puppets Die Better) the puppeteer Florian Feisel applies just this resistiveness of the material to make basic principles of puppet theatre clear. A quite ordinary plastic bag is elevated to the status of co-actor by having the actor give it an air-filled body and ask the audience to find a name for the resultant object. In the following playful examination, the object behaves very “willfully”, pursuing its own movement impulses, which can be only partially influenced by the manipulator. When the actor finally shoots the plastic bag before the eyes of the audience, it is again the object that, qua its material nature, duration and location, determines its death and so, up to the very end, asserts its status as an equal member of the cast.

Dissolutions and transgressions of boundaries

Contemporary puppet theatre, where the puppets are usually handled openly, that is, with the puppeteer visible to the audience, generates from the interaction of human and artificial bodies an interesting interplay of identification and the experience of difference. The puppet is connected to the puppeteer and appears as something belonging to him; at the same time its obvious material “otherness” marks a sphere of foreignness and the unknown.
Puppet theatre Wilde & Vogel and Grupa Coincidentia (Deutschland / Polen): „Faza REM Phase“ (Youtube)

For example, the theatre puppet reveals this “eerie existence” in the German-Polish co-production Faza REM Phase by the puppet theatre Wilde & Vogel and the Grupa Coincidentia. Here it is nightmares and dream images that join the actors as partners and seem again and again to take hold of them. The “other” of the sub and unconscious parts of the personality takes on a physical form, clinging, in a very literal sense, to the bodies of the actors. Now it is a wolf’s mask that chases its bearer, now grotesque latex faces that are pulled over the faces of the actors and transform a tangle of their bodies into a nightmarish pandemonium.

The structural resistance of puppet theatre generates alternative worlds and worlds of otherness that are capable of exerting continuing effects in social and political processes. This represents a great opportunity. To establish poetic interstices as places of social relevance remains the great future task of puppet theatre.

Figurentheater als interdisziplinäre Theaterform Die widerständige Kunst

„Puppen sterben besser“ von Florian Feisel;
„Puppen sterben besser“ von Florian Feisel; | Foto: Oliver Röckle

Sieht man sich die Spielpläne internationaler Figurentheaterfestivals an, so wird man feststellen, dass die Grenzen des Genres – wie die der meisten Theatersparten – zunehmend fließend werden. Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie Gisèle Vienne, Miet Warlop oder Aurelien Bory, Künstlerkollektive wie AKHE, The Needcompany oder BERLIN findet man auf den wichtigen Performance- und Theaterfestivals ebenso wie auf den großen Figurentheaterfestivals.

Die Öffnung des Genres in die Interdisziplinarität ist auffällig und doch alles andere als eine neuartige Entwicklung. Sie liegt vielmehr in der Spezifik einer Theaterform begründet, die am Schnittpunkt der Künste operiert und dabei stets eine gewisse Widerständigkeit gegen Spartengrenzen und formale Zuschreibungen bewahrt.

Zwischenräume und Sollbruchstellen

Ivana Müller „While we were holding it together“; Ivana Müller „While we were holding it together“; | Foto: Karijn Kakebeeke Als vor einigen Jahren Ivana Müllers Performance While we were holding it together auf gleich drei internationalen Figurentheaterfestivals eingeladen war, sorgte das beim Fachpublikum für einige Irritation. Denn wie ließ sich in einem genrespezifischen Kontext eine Inszenierung begründen, in der es nicht eine einzige Theaterpuppe, kein Objekt und nicht einmal Material auf der Bühne gab, dafür fünf Akteure, die 70 Minuten lang nahezu unbeweglich in einem leeren Raum agierten? Die Antwort der Festivalmacher wäre vermutlich ebenso schlicht wie überraschend gewesen: Dieser Theaterabend machte zentrale Prinzipien des Figurentheaters auf verblüffend konkrete Weise erfahrbar.

Konsequent wurde nicht nur der Raum zwischen den Akteuren, sondern auch der zwischen Spielern und Publikum inszeniert, ein Raum, in dem sich beide treffen, um gemeinsam schöpferisch zu werden: ein Imaginationsraum oder „Möglichkeitsraum“. Dieser Zwischenraum ist für das Figurentheater konstitutiv, denn genau hier findet der Dialog zwischen Subjekt und Objekt, die „Belebung“ scheinbar unbelebter Dinge, das Wechselspiel von Mensch und Material statt.

meinhardt krauss feigl „r.o.o.m“; meinhardt krauss feigl „r.o.o.m“; | Foto: Michael Krauss Das Stuttgarter Trio meinhardt krauss feigl gehört zu den Pionieren des „digitalen Figurentheaters“, das die Künstler selbst „cinematographic theatre“ nennen. In virtuellen Bildwelten begegnet die Spielerin vergrößerten und verfremdeten Details ihres eigenen Körpers wie im Stück Intimitäten, sieht sich in r.o.o.m von einem wesenhaften Raum beherrscht oder sucht sich in dem Stück Und plötzlich stand die Sonne still in einem virtuell erzeugten Kosmos physisch zu verorten. Die Freiheit oder Unfreiheit des Individuums liegt im Raum dazwischen, an der Schnittstelle von physischem und imaginärem Körper.

meinhardt krauss feigl „Und plötzlich stand die Sonne still“; meinhardt krauss feigl „Und plötzlich stand die Sonne still“; | Foto: Dirk Wilhelmy Die Dialektik der Mensch-Objekt-Beziehung eröffnet nicht nur Grenz- und Freiräume, sie führt auch zu Reibungen und Brüchen: „Es geht um einen strukturellen Widerspruch. Das Ding in seiner konkreten Bedingtheit wird sich als Medium immer in einer Reibung zum intendierten Einsatz verhalten. Es wird nie ganz passen.“ So beschreibt Markus Joss, Leiter des Studiengangs Zeitgenössische Puppenspielkunst an der Berliner Ernst-Busch-Hochschule eines der Grundprinzipien der Theaterarbeit mit Figuren und Objekten. Und er benennt damit eine der wichtigen „Sollbruchstellen“, aus der sich ein spezifischer Moment der Performativität ableiten lässt.

In der Lecture-Performance Puppen sterben besser bedient der Figurenspieler Florian Feisel genau diese Widerständigkeit des Materials, um Grundprinzipien des Figurentheaters deutlich zu machen. Eine ganz gewöhnliche Plastiktüte wird zum Mitspieler erhoben, indem der Spieler ihr einen – luftgefüllten – Körper verleiht und das Publikum bittet, für das so entstandene Wesen einen Namen zu finden. In der folgenden spielerischen Untersuchung verhält sich das Objekt durchaus „eigenwillig“, folgt seinen eigenen, durch den Manipulator nur bedingt zu beeinflussenden Bewegungsimpulsen. Als der Spieler die Plastiktüte schließlich vor den Augen der Zuschauer erschießt, ist es wiederum das Objekt, das qua seiner materiellen Eigenart Dauer und Ort seines Todes bestimmt und so bis zum Ende seinen Status als gleichwertiger Akteur behauptet.

Entgrenzungen und Überschreitungen

Im zeitgenössischen Puppen- und Figurentheater, in dem die Puppe meist offen, das heißt für den Zuschauer sichtbar, gespielt wird, ergibt sich aus dem Zusammenspiel von menschlichem und künstlichen Körper ein interessantes Wechselspiel von Identifikation und Differenzerfahrung. Die Figur ist mit dem Spieler verbunden und erscheint damit als etwas zu ihm Gehöriges; zugleich markiert ihre offensichtliche materielle „Andersartigkeit“ eine Sphäre des Fremden und Unbekannten.
Figurentheater Wilde & Vogel und Grupa Coincidentia (Deutschland / Polen): „Faza REM Phase“ (Youtube)

Diese „unheimliche Existenz“ offenbart die Theaterpuppe beispielsweise in der deutsch-polnischen Koproduktion Faza REM Phase vom Figurentheater Wilde & Vogel und der Grupa Coincidentia. Hier sind es Nachtmahre und Traumgebilde, die sich den Spielern als Partner beigesellen, sich ihrer immer wieder zu bemächtigen scheinen. Das „Andere“ der unter- und unbewussten Persönlichkeitsanteile gewinnt physische Gestalt, bleibt – im ganz wörtlichen Sinne – am Körper der Akteure „kleben“. Mal ist es eine Wolfsmaske, die ihren Spieler jagt, mal sind es Latexfratzen, die sich über die Gesichter der Darsteller stülpen und ein Knäuel aus Spielerkörpern in ein alptraumhaftes Pandämonium verwandeln.

Die strukturelle Widerständigkeit des Figurentheaters generiert Anders- und Gegenwelten, die in soziale und politische Prozesse weiterzuwirken vermögen. Das ist seine große Chance. Den poetischen „Zwischenraum“ als einen Ort gesellschaftlicher Relevanz zu etablieren, bleibt seine große Zukunftsaufgabe.