Theatre History From court theatre to the federal system

Nationaltheater Mannheim (© Christian Kleiner), Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH (© Thomas Müller), Nationaltheater at Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich (© Felix Löchner)
Nationaltheater Mannheim (© Christian Kleiner), Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH (© Thomas Müller), Nationaltheater at Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich (© Felix Löchner) | collage

The Germanstage is known for its diversity. But why is there no national theater in Germany?

Again and again, especially abroad, the question is put why there is no National Theatre in Germany. For Germany has an undoubtedly rich theatre tradition and in comparable other countries, such as Austria or France, there are national stages. – Yet there was never really a National Theatre in Germany. The state theatres, such as those in Karlsruhe, Düsseldorf or Dresden, are not national theatres but theatres of the federal states – thus, in the cited cases, of Baden-Württemberg, North Rhine-Westphalia and Saxony. Culture, it was decided in 1945, is an affair of the federal states. Even the so-called “national theatres” of Weimar and Mannheim differ from the other German stages only in name, not in function.
And the Deutsches Theater (German Theatre) in Berlin, although bearing a representative name and located in a representative place, is also only one of the leading theatre of the country, not a theatre financed by the federal government and conceived of as a national institution. Ulrich Khuon, the intendant of the Deutsches Theater since 2009, certainly ruminates on the question of the “national”, but he is far from wanting to think of his theatre as a National Theatre: “The concept of the ‘national’ is currently being so narrowed and abused by many who use it only as a form of resistance against the Other that it’s difficult to refer to apart from a context. Cultures are always part of each other; the national in the sense of self-creation doesn’t exist.”

  • Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH Thomas Müller
    Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH
  • Nationaltheater Mannheim Christian Kleiner
    Nationaltheater Mannheim
  • Nationaltheater at Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich Felix Löchner
    Nationaltheater at Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich
This does not mean, however, that the concept of the national for Khuon is completely obsolete: “At the same time, there is a ‘sense of locality’ or a sense of home; that is, a sensibility for the ways in which cultural experiences are accumulated at particular places, how they have bought forth values and established a way of life.”

Court theatre 

Historically speaking, there was never a clear decision in Germany against a National Theatre, but there was also never a time when it was proposed. The wish has been formulated since Lessing, but it became realistically possible only with the establishment of the German Empire in 1871. At that time, however, there was the Royal Theatre in the Gendarmenmarkt; the German Empire was a monarchy and the Royal Theatre the leading stage. A National Theatre would have been a republican affront.
Though theatre emerged from the court theatres, the history of the stage in Germany since the second half of the nineteenth century has been the story of the republican idea, as, for example, Günther Rühle’s comprehensive book Theater in Deutschland 1887-1945 (Theatre in Germany, 1887-1945) has shown. The rise of Max Reinhardt in Berlin at the beginning of the twentieth century, and his takeover of the Deutsches Theater, gave the latter the status of the premier German theatre in the capital city, and so in the entire country. Reinhardt also entertained the vision of a prestigious and representative stage, but when he reached the high point of his work in Berlin, from about 1911 to 1912, he was more interested in expansion than in in fighting for a national beacon.

Decentralized structure

With the end of the German monarchy in 1918, a National Theatre was really conceivable for the first time. But the socialist-republican zeitgeist was then opposed to the idea of such an establishment. The leading forces in theatre were concerned with the council republics rather than with a National Theatre. The national idea was no longer regarded as progressive, as it had been in the nineteenth century, but rather as something conservative and reactionary.
And so it has remained. In the GDR, the Theater am Schiffbauerdamm, thanks to Brecht, overtook the Deutsches Theatre in the role of a national and representative stage. In the Western part of Berlin, the Theatre Meeting was launched in 1960, and can be seen as a kind of substitute for a National Theatre, reflecting once a year the diverse, decentralized structure of the German stage. This arrangement has not changed in essence to this day, and no one wants to change anything about it; the decentralized structure of German theatre is its strength.
Meanwhile, Ulrich Khuon of the Deutsches Theater has expressed the idea of the “national” in his own way: “Theatres are specialists in the sense of the local. And Berlin preserves in itself the ruptured and often violent history of the last century along with its great present openness. The Deutsches Theater has sought to explore this field of tension, braving even the dangers surrounding a closed form of national thinking. The more precise the sense of locality, the more effective its transferability to other spaces.” Such a way of looking at the question is then again very German, and so representative of German theatre. But there will certainly not be a National Theatre, in Berlin or elsewhere in Germany, any time soon.

Theatergeschichte Vom Hoftheater zum föderalen System

Nationaltheater Mannheim (© Christian Kleiner), Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH (© Thomas Müller), Nationaltheater am Max-Joseph-Platz, München (© Felix Löchner)
Nationaltheater Mannheim (© Christian Kleiner), Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH (© Thomas Müller), Nationaltheater am Max-Joseph-Platz, München (© Felix Löchner) | Collage

Die deutsche Theaterlandschaft ist für ihre Vielfalt bekannt. Doch warum existiert in Deutschland kein Nationaltheater?

Immer wieder wird, insbesondere aus dem Ausland, die Frage gestellt, warum in Deutschland kein Nationaltheater existiert. Deutschland hat eine ausgesprochen reiche Theatertradition und in vergleichbaren Ländern wie Österreich oder Frankreich gibt es ja auch nationale Bühnen. – Nun gab es tatsächlich noch nie ein Nationaltheater in Deutschland. Die Staatstheater, etwa in Karlsruhe, Düsseldorf oder Dresden, sind keine nationalen Theater, sondern Theater der Länder, also in diesen Fällen von Baden-Württemberg, Nordrhein-Westfalen und Sachsen. Kultur, so wurde nach 1945 beschlossen, ist Ländersache. Auch die sogenannten Nationaltheater in Weimar und Mannheim unterscheiden sich von anderen Bühnen des Landes nur durch den Namen – nicht aber durch ihre Funktion.

Und das Deutsche Theater in Berlin hat zwar einen repräsentativen Namen und Ort, ist auch eine der führenden Bühnen des Landes, aber ebenfalls kein Theater, das vom Bund finanziert würde und das national gedacht wäre. Ulrich Khuon, Intendant seit 2009, macht sich denn auch sehr wohl über das Nationale im Theater Gedanken, ist aber weit davon entfernt, das Deutsche Theater als Nationaltheater denken zu wollen: „Der Begriff des Nationalen wird derzeit in einer Weise eingeengt und von vielen, die ihn nutzen, zur reinen Abwehr des Anderen missbraucht, so dass es schwer fällt, sich auf ihn ohne Kontext zu beziehen. Kulturen sind immer Teil voneinander, das Nationale im Sinn des Aus-sich-selbst-Schöpfens existiert nicht.“
 

  • Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH Thomas Müller
    Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar GmbH
  • Nationaltheater Mannheim Christian Kleiner
    Nationaltheater Mannheim
  • Nationaltheater am Max-Joseph-Platz, München Felix Löchner
    Nationaltheater am Max-Joseph-Platz, München
Das heißt aber nicht, dass der Begriff des Nationalen für Khuon vollkommen obsolet wäre: „Gleichzeitig gibt es aber den ‚Ortssinn‘ oder ein Empfinden für Heimat – das heißt eine Sensibilität für die Art und Weise, wie sich an bestimmtem Orten kulturelle Erfahrungen angesammelt haben, wie sie Werte hervorgebracht und Lebensweisen bestimmt haben.”

Hoftheater 

Historisch gesehen gab es in Deutschland nie eine klare Entscheidung gegen ein Nationaltheater, es gab aber auch nie einen Moment, der es nahegelegt hätte. Seit Lessing wurde der Wunsch formuliert – realistisch möglich wäre es erstmals bei Gründung des Deutschen Reichs 1871 gewesen. Damals aber gab es das Königliche Theater am Gendarmenmarkt, das Deutsche Reich war eine Monarchie und das Königliche Theater war die führende Bühne. Ein nationales Theater wäre damals vor allem ein republikanischer Affront gewesen.
 
Gleichwohl ist die Geschichte des Theaters in Deutschland, wenn auch aus den Hoftheatern hervorgegangen, seit der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhundert eine Geschichte des republikanischen Gedankens, wie sich etwa in Günther Rühles umfassendem Buch Theater in Deutschland 1887-1945 nachvollziehen lässt. Der Berliner Aufstieg Max Reinhardts seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, seine Übernahme des Deutschen Theaters machten dieses Haus künstlerisch zum ersten Berlins und damit Deutschlands. Reinhardt hatte auch die Vision eines repräsentativen Hauses, aber als er den Höhepunkt seines Berliner Schaffens erreichte, etwa 1911 oder 1912, war er doch mehr daran interessiert zu expandieren als sich in Kämpfen um einen nationalen Leuchtturm aufzureiben.

Dezentrale Struktur

Mit dem Ende der Monarchie 1918 wäre erstmals ein Nationaltheater wirklich denkbar gewesen. Damals stand einer solchen Gründung aber der sozialistisch-republikanische Zeitgeist dagegen. Die führenden Kräfte des Theaters beschäftigten sich eher mit der Räterepublik als mit einem Nationaltheater. Der nationale Gedanke galt nicht mehr, wie im 19. Jahrhundert, als fortschrittlich, sondern bekam etwas Konservatives und Reaktionäres.

So ist es bis heute geblieben. In der DDR wuchs das Theater am Schiffbauerdamm durch Brecht noch vor dem Deutschen Theater in die Rolle eines national repräsentativen Theaters. Im Westen der Stadt gründete sich 1960 das Theatertreffen, das man als einen Art Ersatz betrachten kann, der die vielfältige dezentrale Struktur der deutschen Theaterlandschaft einmal im Jahr widerspiegelt. Daran hat sich im Kern bis heute nichts geändert und es will auch niemand etwas daran ändern – die dezentrale Struktur macht die Stärke des deutschen Theaters aus.

Ulrich Khuon vom Deutschen Theater fasst indessen den Gedanken des Nationalen auf seine Weise: „Theater sind Spezialisten des Ortssinns. Und Berlin bewahrt in sich die zerrissene und größtenteils gewalttätige Geschichte des letzten Jahrhunderts, wie auch eine große gegenwärtige Geöffnetheit. Dieses Spannungsfeld versucht das deutsche Theater auszuloten, bis hin zu den Gefährdungen eines sich verschlossenen Nationaldenkens. Je genauer der Ortssinn desto wirksamer seine Übertragbarkeit auf andere Räume.“ Ein solches Denken ist dann doch auch wieder sehr deutsch, und insofern für die deutschen Theater repräsentativ. Ein Nationaltheater aber wird sich, hier und anderswo, über längere Zeit auch in Zukunft sicher nicht bilden.