The Theater Season 2017/2018 What comes after the flight?

„Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble
„Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble | © Julian Roeder

The programmes of the 2017/2018 season are still defined by the theme complex “Migrant Life in Germany”. However, the theatres are also reacting strongly to the increasing number of autocrats who are transforming democratic state structures into presidential dictatorships.

Alongside the customary mixed repertoire with a portion of classical plays and premieres of new dramas, the programmes comprise an abundance of productions on post-migrant life in Germany. Yet the focus is no longer a cursory engagement with the fate of the refugees, but the question: “What comes after the flight?” Responding to this, in most cases, are authors, directors and artists who came to Germany with their families or who were born here.

Individual post-migrant fates

In spring 2018, the Theater Bonn is presenting an adaptation of Yassin Musharbash’s political thriller Radikal about a society that is being radicalised by Islamist and neo-Nazi elements.
Musharbash’s father emigrated from Jordan, while the grandparents of the German-Turkish journalist and author Fatma Aydemir came to Germany as so-called “guest workers”. Aydemir’s debut novel Ellbogen (Elbow) on an individual post-migrant fate premieres at the start of the season (director: Jan Gehler) in the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus.
 
  • „Ellbogen“ (Elbow), Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus © Lucie Jansch
    „Ellbogen“ (Elbow), Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus
  • „Ellbogen“ (Elbow), Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus © Lucie Jansch
    „Ellbogen“ (Elbow), Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus
  • „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ (Malalai – the Afghan Joan of Arc)  after the novel by Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar © Annette Hauschild
    „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ (Malalai – the Afghan Joan of Arc) after the novel by Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar
  • „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ (Malalai – the Afghan Joan of Arc)  after the novel by Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar © Annette Hauschild
    „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ (Malalai – the Afghan Joan of Arc) after the novel by Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar
  • „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt © Robert Schittko
    „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt
  • „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt © Robert Schittko
    „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt
  • „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble © Julian Roeder
    „Caligula“ by Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble

 
In addition to these examples of dramatization of novels, there are a number of project-related research works. At Munich’s Kammerspiele the filmmaker Uisenma Borchu explores the migration of her own family in Nachts, als die Sonne für mich schien  (At night, when the sun shone for me), also at the start of the season. Borchu’s parents came from Mongolia to East Berlin shortly before the fall of the Wall in1989. The Jordan-born author Hartmut El Kurdi follows a similar research path when telling the migration story of his widely ramified family in Home.Run in a co-production of the Staatstheater Hannover and the free Theater Agentur für Weltverbesserung (Theatre Agency for World Improvement).

Schiller as inspiration

The Theater Osnabrück takes a rather different approach and reflects migration fates via an antique myth. In Medea2 a black and a white Medea come across reflections of themselves, one in Mozambique, the other in Germany. The co-production with the Teatro Avenida Mosambik uses texts from Mozambican and German authors. In Weimar Friedrich Schiller provided inspiration as Robert Schuster and Julie Paucker together with French, Afghan, German and Israeli actors developed Malalei – Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans (Malalai – the Afghan Joan of Arc) at the beginning of the season. And for Chris Dercon’s new start as director of the Berliner Volksbühne there is also an antique project based on Euripides’ Iphigenia. In charge of this are the Syrian author Mohammed Al Attar and the Syrian theatre director Omar Abusaada, who are preparing the evening together with migrants from Syria.

The Life of the Prophet

By consistently engaging artists from very diverse countries of origin, the theatre consolidates the phenomena of global migration and post-migrant consequences in certain theatre evenings. This also applies in the case of new theatre texts, many of which are currently being written by the Broadway author and Pulitzer Prize winner Ayad Akhtar. In his piece The Who and the What, the world of a devout Pakistani taxi-driver, who has emigrated to the West, spins into confusion. The reason: his daughter writes a book about the true, passion-embracing life of the Prophet. Afzals Tochter (Afzal’s Daughter), the German title of the play, is at present the most performed work by a foreign author in German-speaking regions and will be played again, inter alia, at the Karlsruher Staatstheater (director: Robert Teufel). The Schauspiel Köln in Cologne will present a piece by the Italian author Stefano Massini as a German premiere (director: Moritz Sostmann). In Occident Express a woman flees together with her granddaughter from Mossul in Iraq along the Balkan route to Germany.
 
That the theatres react as quickly as possible to the collateral damage of globalisation also becomes clear when one looks at the phenomenon of the growing number of autocrats who are trying to transform democratically–oriented state structures into presidential dictatorships. One thinks of Poland, Hungary, Russia and Turkey, where heads of state are attempting to manipulate the constitutions of their countries. The play of the moment is Albert Camus’ Caligula. In Darmstadt it was performed at the start of the season (director: Christoph Mehler), Oliver Reese is beginning his new directorship at the Berliner Ensemble with a production by Antú Romero Nunes. In November 2017 it will be performed at the Bochumer Prinzregenttheater (director: Clara Nielebock), and in March 2018 it is the turn of the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus (director: Sebastian Baumgarten).

Artistic Resistance

Another play of the moment is George Orwell’s classic 1984. An adaptation of the novel is being presented at Mannheim’s Nationaltheater (director: Georg Schmidtleitner), and in Stuttgart theatre-director Armin Petras takes his leave at the end of the season with this parable of a completely monitored, totalitarian state. In Bochum Olaf Kröck celebrates his new start as the director of the Schauspielhaus with an adaptation of Yevgeny Samyatin’s We (director: Christoph Kalkowski). The novel from 1920 served Orwell as a model for his swansong of the future viability of democratic state structures.
 
There are many more projects engaging with this theme: for example, in Frankfurt’s Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and Hamburg’s Thalia Theater, both of which are staging manifestos of artistic resistance by members of the activist art collective Pussy Riot. Maria Alyokhina’s Riot Days was performed In Frankfurt, while Nadezhda Tolokonnikova’s Instructions for a Revolution will premiere in Hamburg. Showing resistance on the highest artistic level is once again Elfriede Jelinek who takes on Donald Trump in Am Königsweg (The Royal Road: The Burgher King). The premiere is at the end of October in the Hamburger Schauspielhaus, directed by Falk Richter. The text will later be performed at the ETA Hoffmann Theater, Bamberg (director: Daniel Kunze), at the Frankfurter Schauspiel (director: Miloš Lolić) and at the Deutsches Theater Berlin (director: Stephan Kimmig).

Theatersaison 2017/2018 Was kommt nach der Flucht?

„Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble
„Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble | © Julian Roeder

Die Spielpläne der Saison 2017/2018 sind weiterhin vom Themenkomplex „Migrantisches Leben in Deutschland “ geprägt. Die Theater reagieren aber auch stark auf die zunehmende Zahl von Autokraten, die demokratische Staatsgebilde in Präsidialdiktaturen verwandeln.

Neben dem gewohnt gemischten Spielplan mit einem Anteil klassischer Theaterstücke und der Uraufführung neuer Dramatik warten die Spielpläne mit einer Fülle von Produktionen zum postmigrantischen Leben in Deutschland auf. Es geht aber nicht mehr um die schnelle Auseinandersetzung mit Flüchtlingsschicksalen, sondern um die die Frage: „Was kommt nach der Flucht?“. Zu Wort kommen in den meisten Fällen Autorinnen und Autoren, Regisseurinnen und Regisseure sowie Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die mit ihren Familien nach Deutschland kamen oder hier geboren wurden.

Postmigrantische Einzelschicksale

Das Theater Bonn legt im Frühjahr 2018 eine Adaption von Yassin Musharbashs Politthriller Radikal über eine sich islamistisch und neonazistisch radikalisierende Gesellschaft vor. Musharbashs Vater emigrierte aus Jordanien, während die Großeltern der deutsch-türkischen Journalistin und Autorin Fatma Aydemir als sogenannte Gastarbeiter nach Deutschland kamen. Aydemirs Romandebut Ellbogen über ein postmigrantisches Einzelschicksal kam zum Saisonstart am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus zur Uraufführung (Regie: Jan Gehler).
 
  • „Ellbogen“, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus © Lucie Jansch
    „Ellbogen“, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus
  • „Ellbogen“, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus © Lucie Jansch
    „Ellbogen“, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus
  • „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ nach Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar © Annette Hauschild
    „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ nach Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar
  • „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ nach Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar © Annette Hauschild
    „Malalai - Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans“ nach Friedrich Schiller, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar
  • „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt © Robert Schittko
    „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt
  • „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt © Robert Schittko
    „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Staatstheater Darmstadt
  • „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble © Julian Roeder
    „Caligula“ von Albert Camus, Berliner Ensemble

 
Neben diesen Beispielen einer Dramatisierung von Romanvorlagen gibt es eine Fülle projektbezogener Recherchen. An den Münchner Kammerspielen erkundet die Filmemacherin Uisenma Borchu mit Nachts, als die Sonne für mich schien ebenfalls zu Beginn der Spielzeit die Migrationsbewegung der eigenen Familie. Borchus Eltern kamen kurz vor dem Mauerfall 1989 aus der Mongolei nach Ostberlin. In dieselbe Richtung recherchiert der in Jordanien geborene Autor Hartmut El Kurdi, wenn er mit Home.Run in einer Koproduktion des Staatstheater Hannover und der freien Theater Agentur für Weltverbessung die Migrationsgeschichte seiner verzweigten Familie erzählt.

Schiller steht Pate

Das Theater Osnabrück geht einen etwas anderen Weg und reflektiert Migrationsschicksale über einen antiken Mythos. In Medea2 treffen eine schwarze und eine weiße Medea auf Spiegelbilder ihrer selbst, die eine in Mosambik, die andere in Deutschland. Die Koproduktion mit dem Teatro Avenida Mosambik verwendet Texte mosambikanischer und deutscher Autorinnen und Autoren. In Weimar stand Friedrich Schiller Pate, als Robert Schuster und Julie Paucker zu Beginn der Spielzeit zusammen mit französischen, afghanischen, deutschen und israelischen Schauspielerinnen und Schauspielern Malalai – Die afghanische Jungfrau von Orléans entwickeln. Und zu Chris Dercons Neustart als Intendant der Berliner Volksbühne gibt es ein Antikenprojekt nach Euripides Iphigenie. Verantwortlich sind der syrische Schriftsteller Mohammed Al Attar und der syrische Theatermacher Omar Abusaada, die den Abend zusammen mit syrischen Migrantinnen und Migranten vorbereiten.

Das Leben des Propheten

Indem die Theater derart konsequent Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus ganz unterschiedlichen Herkunftsländern verpflichten, verdichten sie das Phänomen der globalen Migration und postmigrantischen Folgeerscheinungen in einzelnen Theaterabenden. Das gilt auch im Fall neuer Theatertexte, von denen derzeit sehr viele vom Broadway-Autor und Pulitzer-Preisträger Ayad Akhtar stammen. In seinem Stück Afzals Tochter gerät die Welt eines in den Westen emigrierten, strenggläubigen pakistanischen Taxifahrers durcheinander. Der Grund: Seine Tochter schreibt ein Buch über das wahre, auch von Leidenschaften geprägte Leben des Propheten. The Who and the What, so der amerikanische Titel, ist derzeit das im deutschsprachigen Raum am meisten gespielte Stück eines ausländischen Autors und wird unter anderem am Karlsruher Staatstheater nachgespielt (Regie: Robert Teufel). Das Schauspiel Köln bringt ein Stück des italienischen Autors Stefano Massini zur deutschen Erstaufführung (Regie: Moritz Sostmann). In Occident Express flieht eine Frau zusammen mit ihrer Enkelin aus dem irakischen Mossul über die Balkanroute nach Deutschland.
 
Dass die Theater auf Kollateralschäden der Globalisierung so schnell wie möglich reagieren, zeigt auch ein Blick auf das Phänomen der wachsenden Zahl von Autokraten, die demokratisch anmutende Staatsgebilde in Präsidialdiktaturen verwandeln wollen. Man denke an Polen, Ungarn, Russland und die Türkei, wo Staatsoberhäupter die Verfassung ihrer Länder zu manipulieren versuchen. Das Stück der Stunde zum Thema ist Albert Camus’ Caligula. In Darmstadt kam es zu Beginn der Saison auf die Bühne  (Regie: Christoph Mehler), Oliver Reese startete seine neuen Intendanz am Berliner Ensemble mit einer Inszenierung von Antú Romero Nunes. Das Bochumer Prinzregenttheater ist im November 2017 (Regie: Clara Nielebock) und das Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus im März 2018 (Regie: Sebastian Baumgarten) an der Reihe.

Künstlerischer Widerstand

Zum Stück der Stunde kommt George Orwells Klassiker 1984. Eine Adaption des Romans gibt es am Mannheimer Nationaltheater (Regie: Georg Schmidtleitner) und in Stuttgart verabschiedet sich Schauspiel-Intendant Armin Petras zum Ende der Saison mit der Parabel eines total überwachten Staates. In Bochum würzt Olaf Kröck seinen Neustart als Intendant des Schauspielhauses mit einer Adaption von Jewgenij Samjatins Wir (Regie: Christoph Kalkowski). Der Roman aus dem Jahr 1920 diente Orwell als Vorlage für seinen Abgesang auf die Zukunftsfähigkeit demokratischer Staatsgebilde.
 
Es gibt weitaus mehr Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Thema. Exemplarisch genannt seien das Frankfurter Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Hamburger Thalia Theater, die Manifeste des künstlerischen Widerstands von Mitgliedern des Moskauer Protestkunstkollektivs Pussy Riot inszenieren. In Frankfurt kam Maria Alyokhina Riot Days auf die Bühne, in Hamburg gibt es am die Uraufführung von Nadeschda Tolokonnikowa Anleitung für eine Revolution. Auf höchstem Niveau künstlerisch widerständig ist einmal mehr Elfriede Jelinek, die sich mit Am Königsweg Donald Trump vorknöpft. Die Uraufführung ist Ende Oktober am Hamburger Schauspielhaus in der Regie von Falk Richter. Nachgespielt wird der Text am ETA Hoffmann Theater Bamberg (Regie: Daniel Kunze), am Frankfurter Schauspiel (Regie: Miloš Lolić) und am Deutschen Theater Berlin (Regie: Stephan Kimmig).