Horst-Eberhard Richter Philosopher of Peace and Psychotherapist for the Germans

As the standard bearer of the Federal German peace movement psychoanalyst, Horst-Eberhard Richter, was highly regarded all over the world and beyond the boundaries of his field. The native Berliner was considered to be Germany’s most popular psychoanalyst. Equally as eloquent as he was productive, as a humanist and pacifist he still took a valiant stand on issues right to the very end – as a critic of the war Iraq or of the “War on Terror”.

Horst-Eberhard Richter; © Lorenz Vierecke Horst-Eberhard Richter | © Lorenz Vierecke Horst-Eberhard Richter, born in 1923, won many awards and is considered to be one of the great German intellectuals of the post-war period. Regarding his education and various professions, he was a philosopher, doctor, psychoanalyst and therapist. He did not just find words and put them together in the form of prose, he took the floor on issues and intervened in the public sphere, contributing to the way post-war Federal German society reflected on itself politically like no other. Richter was a pioneer of family and group psychotherapy, as well as the author of numerous standard works on psychology that are still being read today. At the same time however he was the “Psychotherapist of the Nation” (as former Federal President Johannes Rau said), one of its most thorough analysts and staunchest critics. He was someone who viewed psychoanalysis not only as a method of treating individual persons, but also as an instrument for social and political enlightenment – an instrument that he knew exactly how to use.

A traumatic youth

Richter’s decision to devote himself to psychoanalysis and its socio-political applications, along with his lifelong commitment to a world without war, can be traced back to the traumatic experiences of his youth. After doing his Abitur (German university entrance qualification) he was called up to the Wehrmacht (the army of the Third Reich), in the Second World war he served in an artillery regiment on the Eastern front. This was to be his first encounter with death which he, as a gun aimer, was instrumental in causing. Purely by chance he avoided being sent to Stalingrad and was deployed in Italy where just before the war ended he deserted. After this he spent four months as a French prisoner of war because he was suspected of being what they called a “werewolf” (one of those Nazi fanatics who carried on guerrilla warfare). After his release he learned of the death of his parents who had been murdered by Russian soldiers two months after the end of the war - this second traumatic experience being possibly the more disturbing of the two.

Richter drew both personal and political consequences from these experiences that were reflected in his academic and professional career: he studied philosophy, medicine and psychology, in 1949 he completed his doctorate on the philosophical dimension of pain and in 1950 he began a supplementary course in psychoanalysis that he finished two years later. In 1957 he got a doctorate in medicine and from 1952 onwards Richter ran a consultation and research centre for mentally disturbed children and teenagers in Berlin. From 1959 to 1962 he also managed Berlin’s Psychoanalytical Institute. In 1963, without any post-doctoral thesis or professorship, Richter was appointed to the newly founded Chair of Psychosomatics at the medical faculty of the University of Giessen. He held the chair in Giessen until 1991 and succeeded in setting up one of the leading centres for psychosomatic medicine and, on top of that, he also established a Psychoanalytical Institute. After he retired, becoming a professor emeritus, he took over the management of the Sigmund Freud Institute in Frankfurt that had been threatened with closure and gave it a secure future.

Don’t run away, stand firm!

Richter’s literary output was equally as impressive as his biography. Over 200 scientific treatises and almost 30 books testify to a persistent assiduity that is second to none. No way are his works academic flashes in the pan, either. Many of his books - for example, his first work Eltern, Kind und Neurose (Parents, Child and Neurosis, 1962) that was rejected as his post-doctoral thesis, his works entitled Patient Familie (The Family as Patient, 1970) and Die Gruppe (The Group, 1972) or his philosophical magnum opus Der Gotteskomplex (All Mighty: A Study of the God-Complex in Western Man, 1979) - have become veritable classics and have been issued anew many times. They were almost always not only aimed at a specialist group, but also at a broader readership that might possibly be won over to psychology and psychoanalysis and their analytically emancipatory power.

Like the psychoanalysts, Margarete und Alexander Mitscherlich, Richter was also one of the pioneers of psychoanalysis in the early years of the Federal Republic of Germany - a field which had been suppressed by the Nazis. And, as was the case with them, his main focus, if not his only focus, was on explaining and making people aware of unresolved guilt, on the analysis of the correlations between pain, guilt and hatred, on individual and collective forms of strife. One of Richter’s fundamental insights based on his own experience was as follows - the only thing left for you to feel, if you don’t acknowledge your guilt and suppress your pain, is hate (and even more suffering). Don’t run away, stand firm - the idea is to actively overcome one’s own guilt, one’s own fears, along with all the harmful impositions that get at you from outside. It is one of Richter’s strongest convictions that mental pain is always “social” pain, too; mental distress stems from social and political causes. This is why he thinks that forms of collective practice and/or successful solidarity are the best ways to overcome individual pain and suffering.

All this talk about peace

Richter himself took part in this practice: he was a critical observer of the social reform movements of the 1970s and was actively involved in the movements of the 1980s. In 1981 his satire Alle redeten vom Frieden (All Talked of Peace) turned him into one of the leading figures of the German peace movement, which even in later periods welcomed impulses that Richter was providing. The German section of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW), which Richter helped to set up, was awarded the Nobel Peace prize in 1985. This was primarily due to the work Richter had put in and was certainly one of the highlights of his involvement in working for peace.

Right up until his death Richter did not shy away from any form of public debate in the Federal Republic of Germany, be it as critic of the two wars in Iraq and the “War on Terror”, be it on genetic engineering or on the battle to improve psychosocial health care. For him it was always about using his commitment to contribute to a “culture of peace” i.e. to a better, and fairer world - a world worth living in. He always appealed to the individual to feel a joint political responsibility. As a doctor and psychoanalyst, as well as a citizen, Richter lived and breathed social responsibility. He died on 19th December 2011 at the age of 88. The example he set lives on!

Horst-Eberhard Richter Friedensdenker und Psychotherapeut der Deutschen

Als intellektuelle Leitfigur der bundesdeutschen Friedensbewegung wurde der Psychoanalytiker Horst-Eberhard Richter weltweit und weit über die Grenzen seines Fachs hinaus geschätzt. Der gebürtige Berliner gilt als Deutschlands populärster Psychoanalytiker. Streitbar blieb der gleichermaßen wortmächtige wie produktive Humanist und Pazifist bis zuletzt: als Kritiker des Irakkrieges und des „Krieges gegen den Terror“.

Horst-Eberhard Richter; © Lorenz Vierecke Horst-Eberhard Richter | © Lorenz Vierecke Der 1923 geborene, vielfach ausgezeichnete Horst-Eberhard Richter zählt zu den großen deutschen Nachkriegsintellektuellen. Der Philosoph, Arzt, Psychoanalytiker und Therapeut hat nicht nur Worte gefunden und zu Texten verarbeitet, er hat das Wort ergriffen und eingegriffen, im öffentlichen Raum interveniert und wie kaum ein anderer zur politischen Selbstbesinnung der bundesdeutschen Nachkriegsgesellschaft beigetragen. Richter war einer der Pioniere der psychoanalytischen Familien- und Gruppentherapie sowie Verfasser zahlreicher psychologischer Grundlagenwerke, die noch heute gelesen werden. Gleichzeitig war er aber auch der „Psychotherapeut der Nation“, so Johannes Rau, einer ihrer gründlichsten Analytiker und entschiedensten Kritiker. Richter verstand die Psychoanalyse nicht nur als individuelle Behandlungsmethode, sondern auch als ein Instrument gesellschaftlich-politischer Aufklärung und wusste dieses Instrument virtuos einzusetzen.

Das Trauma der Jugend

Richters Entscheidung für die Psychoanalyse und ihre gesellschaftspolitische Verwendung wurzelt ebenso wie sein lebenslanges Engagement für eine Welt ohne Krieg, Hass und Gewalt in seinen traumatischen Jugenderfahrungen. Nach dem Abitur zur Wehrmacht eingezogen, diente er im Zweiten Weltkrieg in einem Artillerieregiment an der Ostfront – seine erste Begegnung mit dem Tod, den er als Richtkanonier selbst mitverursachte. Der Verlegung nach Stalingrad nur durch Zufall entgangen, wurde Richter in Italien eingesetzt, wo er kurz vor Kriegsende desertierte. Anschließend verbrachte er, als sogenannter „Werwolf“ verdächtigt, vier Monate in französischer Kriegsgefangenschaft. Nach seiner Freilassung erfuhr er vom Tod seiner Eltern, die zwei Monate nach Kriegsende von betrunkenen russischen Soldaten ermordet worden waren – seine zweite traumatische Erfahrung, vielleicht noch verstörender als die erste.

Aus diesen Erfahrungen hat Richter persönliche und politische Konsequenzen gezogen, die sich auch in seinem akademisch-beruflichen Werdegang widerspiegeln: Er studierte Philosophie, Medizin und Psychologie, promovierte 1949 über die philosophische Dimension des Schmerzes und begann 1950 eine psychoanalytische Zusatzausbildung, die er zwei Jahre später abschloss. 1957 erfolgte die Promotion zum Dr. med. Bereits von 1952 an leitete Richter in Berlin eine Beratungs- und Forschungsstelle für seelisch gestörte Kinder und Jugendliche, von 1959 bis 1962 außerdem das Berliner Psychoanalytische Institut. 1963 wurde Richter ohne Habilitation auf den neu eingerichteten Gießener Lehrstuhl für Psychosomatik berufen, den er bis 1991 innehatte. In Gießen baute Richter eines der führenden Zentren für psychosomatische Medizin auf und gründete darüber hinaus ein Psychoanalytisches Institut. Nach seiner Emeritierung übernahm er die Leitung des von der Schließung bedrohten Sigmund-Freud-Instituts in Frankfurt am Main, das er in eine gesicherte Zukunft führte.

Nicht flüchten, sondern standhalten!

So eindrucksvoll wie Richters Biografie ist auch sein schriftstellerisches Werk. Über 200 wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen und fast 30 Bücher künden von einem Arbeitsfleiß, der seinesgleichen sucht. Dabei handelt es sich keineswegs um akademische Eintagsfliegen. Viele seiner Bücher – so etwa sein als Habilitationsschrift abgelehntes Erstlingswerk Eltern, Kind und Neurose (1962), die Arbeiten Patient Familie (1970) und Die Gruppe (1972) oder sein philosophisches Hauptwerk Der Gotteskomplex (1979) – sind zu veritablen Klassikern geworden und erlebten zahlreiche Neuauflagen. Und fast immer richteten sie sich nicht nur an das Fachpublikum, sondern an eine breite Leserschaft, die es für Psychologie und Psychoanalyse zu gewinnen und von ihrer analytisch-emanzipatorischen Kraft zu überzeugen galt.

Wie Margarete und Alexander Mitscherlich gehört Richter zu den Wegbereitern der von den Nazis unterdrückten Psychoanalyse in der frühen Bundesrepublik. Und wie in ihrem Fall so galt auch sein vordringliches, wenngleich gewiss nicht einziges Interesse der Aufklärung und Bewusstmachung unverarbeiteter Schuld, der Analyse des Zusammenhangs von Leid, Schuld und Hass, von individueller und kollektiver Friedlosigkeit. Wer seine Schuld nicht bekennt, das Leid verdrängt, dem bleibt letztlich nur zu hassen und weiter zu leiden übrig. Das war eine Grundeinsicht Richters, die er seinem eigenem Erleben mitzuverdanken hatte. Nicht zu flüchten, sondern standzuhalten, ja aktiv zu widerstehen gelte es daher: der eigenen Schuld, den eigenen Ängsten, aber eben auch den krankmachenden Zumutungen, die von außen andrängen und eindringen. Es gehört zu Richters tiefsten Überzeugungen, dass seelisches immer auch gesellschaftliches Leid ist, seelische Notlagen sozial und politisch mitverursacht sind – und Formen kollektiver Praxis beziehungsweise gelingender Solidarität deshalb am besten geeignet, individuelles Leid zu überwinden.

Alle reden vom Frieden

Richter selbst hat sich dieser Praxis nicht verweigert: Die gesellschaftlichen Reformbewegungen der 1970er-Jahre hat er kritisch begleitet, die Bewegungen der 1980er-Jahre aktiv mitgestaltet. Mit seiner Satire Alle redeten vom Frieden wurde Richter 1981 zu einer der Leitfiguren der Friedensbewegung, die auch in der Folgezeit wesentliche Impulse von ihm empfing. Die von ihm mitgegründete westdeutsche Sektion der Organisation „Internationale Ärzte für die Verhütung des Atomkriegs“ erhielt 1985 den Friedensnobelpreis – nicht zuletzt Richters Verdienst und gewiss ein Höhepunkt seines friedenspolitischen Engagements.

Bis zu seinem Tod hat sich Richter in die öffentlichen Debatten der Bundesrepublik eingemischt, als Kritiker der beiden Irakkriege und des „Krieges gegen den Terror“, im Streit um die Gentechnik oder im Kampf für eine Verbesserung der psychosozialen Versorgung. Immer ging es ihm darum, mit seinem Engagement zu einer „Kultur des Friedens“, sprich: zu einer besseren, gerechteren, lebenswerteren Welt beizutragen. Und immer appellierte er dabei an die politische Mitverantwortung jedes Einzelnen. Richter hat, als Arzt und Psychoanalytiker sowie als Bürger, soziale Verantwortung gelebt. Er starb am 19. Dezember 2011 im Alter von 88 Jahren. Ein Vorbild wird er bleiben.