Conflict management Using Mediation against Violence in the Schools

Violence in the schools has repeatedly been a subject that has aroused the concern of the German public. Because of the country’s federalist structure, however, there are no nationwide programs for combating school violence. Yet at the regional level there is plenty going on. One thing is clear: only by dealing openly with conflicts can we get a grip on the problem.

Using Mediation against Violence in the Schools; © DOC RABE Media - Fotolia.com Using Mediation against Violence in the Schools; | © DOC RABE Media - Fotolia.com Anna sits weeping in a corner of the schoolyard of the Captain from Köpenick Elementary School in Berlin. Once again her classmates have refused to let her play with them. Two peer mediators in yellow fluro vests moderate: as neutral parties, these pupils with mediation training moderate a discussion in which both sides explain their points of view and describe their feelings. Anna says that the others always run away from her or tell her she should go away. The other girls feel pressured by Anna and would rather play by themselves. The peer mediators encourage both sides to express their wishes. The goal is that those involved in the quarrel should themselves find a solution and implement it. It is then more likely that they will hold to the agreement. They agree that in the next break Anna may play with them. The girls want to try to find a role for her in their games. Next week the peer mediators again have a date to talk with Anna and the others. Then they will evaluate what has changed since the mediation.

The Berlin peer mediation model

The peer mediators have been walking about the playground of the Köpenick School during every break since October 2011. They trained for a year in how to moderate conflicts. Now they are able to recognize violent situations in their early stages and know how to handle them. They protect and bolster the victim and help the quarrelling parties find a solution to the conflict. Ortrud Hagedorn developed and introduced the Berlin peer mediation model in 1992. “At that time the media often reported about increasing violence in the schools”, she says, explaining her motive. “The reports made both parents and young people fearful. The young wanted to do something against violence themselves instead of remaining stuck in fear.”

This often involves more difficult cases than that of Anna. In the 2010/2011 school year, Berlin schools reported 1,468 emergencies and instances of violence, seven percent less than in the previous year. The statistic is based on the current violence prevention report of the Berlin Senate Administration for Education, Youth and Science.

Invisible violence is the main problem

Violence is still a ubiquitous subject in schools in Germany. “Children and young people harm each other through devaluation, encroachment on needs, damage and destruction of property and physical attacks”, says Ortrud Hagedorn. Public perception of this is dominated by extreme cases of open violence such as killing sprees. The media report these in detail. But in everyday life it is above all the subtle forms of violence such as threats, exclusion and bullying that make difficult the lives and education of school children. These silent forms of violence escape the direct observation of adults. At the same time, in the age of the Internet the space in which children are excluded and verbally attacked has been extended. Cyber-bullying has become a major problem. Neither teachers nor parents are always aware of what children do online.

“The constructive handling of conflicts is unfortunately not a subject taught in the classroom”, says Hagedorn. Instead, there is a growing pressure to perform on both teachers and pupils, leaving hardly any time to deal with interpersonal issues. “Lots of pressure and other stressful experiences increase the risk of conflicts”, says Bastian Hartwig of the special violence and crisis team of the Regional Counseling and Support Center (Regionales Beratungs- und Unterstützungszentrums / ReBUZ) in Bremen. “In addition to experiences at school, the home environment and peer groups are significant for the emergence of violence”. The team from the ReBUZ counsels teachers, pupils and families in conflict and crisis situations. They intervene and act as a go-between for the people concerned and the relevant agencies that can provide further assistance. A major emphasis of the ReBUZ is to sensitize teachers to the problems. “Many forms of violence aren’t even open”, says Hartwig, “they work quietly and under cover.”

No national plan, but many projects

According to the German Basic Law, the 16 federal states are each responsible for its educational policy. There are therefore no nationwide, overarching initiatives or concepts against violence in the schools or an overview of the actual level of violence. On the other hand, through this federalist structure many valuable ideas have emerged at the state level. Mediators are one approach. Other schools have organized music festivals (“Music against Violence” at the Mücke Comprehensive School in Hesse), social skills training (“Learning Playfully How to Quarrel” in North-Rhine Westphalia) or sent an exhibition of school children’s pictures on tour, as did the 1992 initiative launched by the Ludwigshafen graphic artist Silvia Izi entitled “Who If Not Us?”.

There are also institutions in other federal states such as the ReBUZ, which provides help and networks all the important actors with each other. Likewise counseling centers that provide support for the victims of school violence and their parents. And telephone numbers that the children involved can call. Bastian Hartwig of the ReBUZ in Bremen sums up a point on which all those concerned with the subject of violence in the schools agree: “You have to take a close look. Prevention, counseling, intervention and follow-up are necessary. Only when conflicts are recognized, and have space in which they can be openly and peacefully resolved, can we effectively reduce violence in the schools”.

Konfliktbewältigung Mit Mediation gegen Gewalt an Schulen

Gewalt an Schulen ist immer wieder Thema in der deutschen Öffentlichkeit. Bundesweite Programme dagegen gibt es aufgrund des Föderalismus nicht. Doch auf regionaler Ebene tut sich viel. Eines wird dabei klar: Nur wer offen mit Konflikten umgeht, kann das Problem in den Griff bekommen.

Mit Mediation gegen Gewalt an Schulen; © Foto: DOC RABE Media - Fotolia.com Mit Mediation gegen Gewalt an Schulen | © Foto: DOC RABE Media - Fotolia.com Anna sitzt weinend in der Ecke des Pausenhofs der Berliner Hauptmann von Köpenick-Grundschule. Mal wieder darf sie beim Spiel ihrer Klassenkameradinnen nicht mitmachen. Zwei Konfliktlotsen in gelben Leuchtwesten vermitteln: Die Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Mediationsausbildung moderieren als neutrale Personen ein Gespräch, in dem beide Seiten ihre Sicht der Dinge erläutern und ihre Gefühle beschreiben. Anna erzählt, dass die anderen immer vor ihr weglaufen oder ihr sagen, sie solle gehen. Die Mädchen wiederum fühlen sich von Anna bedrängt und wollen lieber allein spielen. Nun ermuntern die Konfliktlotsen beide Seiten, ihre Wünsche vorzutragen. Ziel ist, dass die Streitenden selbst eine Lösung finden und festschreiben. Dann ist es wahrscheinlicher, dass sie sich an die Abmachung halten. In der nächsten Hofpause darf Anne mitspielen. Die Mädchen wollen gemeinsam versuchen, für sie eine Rolle im Spiel zu finden. In einer Woche haben sich die Konfliktlotsen wieder mit Anna und den Mädchen verabredet. Dann werden sie auswerten, was sich seit der Vermittlung verändert hat.

Das Berliner Konfliktlotsen-Modell

Die Konfliktlotsen laufen seit Oktober 2011 in jeder Pause über den Hof der Köpenick-Schule. Ein Jahr lang übten sie, wie man bei einem Streit vermittelt. Jetzt können sie Gewaltsituationen frühzeitig erkennen und wissen, wie man in diesem Fall handelt. Sie schützen und stärken die Opfer, helfen den Streitenden, selbst eine Lösung ihres Konfliktes zu finden. Ortrud Hagedorn hat das Berliner Konfliktlotsen-Modell 1992 entwickelt und eingeführt. „Damals wurde in den Medien häufig über zunehmende Gewalt an Schulen berichtet“, erläutert sie ihre Motivation. „Die Nachrichten produzierten Angst bei Eltern und der Jugend. Jugendliche wollten selber etwas dagegen unternehmen, anstatt in Angst zu verharren.“

Dabei geht es oft um schwierigere Fälle als den von Anna. Im Schuljahr 2010/2011 wurden in Berlin 1.468 Gewalt- und Notfälle an Berliner Schulen gemeldet, sieben Prozent weniger als im Vorjahr. Das geht aus dem aktuellen Gewaltpräventionsbericht der Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Wissenschaft hervor.

Unsichtbare Gewalt ist das Hauptproblem

Gewalt ist nach wie vor ein allgegenwärtiges Thema an Schulen in Deutschland. „Kinder und Jugendliche schädigen einander durch Abwertung, Verletzung der Bedürfnisse, Beschädigung und Zerstörung des Eigentums sowie körperliche Attacken“, sagt Ortrud Hagedorn. Die öffentliche Wahrnehmung beherrschen extreme Vorfälle offener Gewalt wie Amokläufe. Darüber berichten auch die Medien ausführlich. Aber im Alltag sind es vor allem subtile Formen von Gewalt wie Bedrohung, Ausgrenzung und Mobbing, die Schülern das Leben und Lernen schwer machen. Diese stillen Formen der Gewalt entziehen sich dem direkten Blick der Erwachsenen. Gleichzeitig hat sich im Internetzeitalter der Raum, in dem Kinder ausgegrenzt und verbal angegriffen werden, ausgeweitet. Cyber-Mobbing ist zu einem großen Problem geworden. Weder Pädagogen noch Eltern wissen immer, was Kinder im Internet tun.

„Der konstruktive Umgang mit Konflikten ist leider kein Thema im Unterricht“, bedauert Hagedorn. Stattdessen wächst der Leistungsdruck auf Lehrer und Schüler und lässt kaum noch Zeit, sich mit zwischenmenschlichen Themen zu beschäftigen. „Viel Druck und andere belastende Erfahrungen erhöhen die Gefahr von Konflikten“, sagt Bastian Hartwig vom Fachteam Gewalt und Krisen des Regionalen Beratungs- und Unterstützungszentrums (ReBUZ) in Bremen. „Neben den Erlebnissen in der Schule sind das häusliche Umfeld und die Peergruppe für die Entstehung von Gewalt bedeutsam“. Das Team vom ReBUZ berät Lehrer, Schüler und Familien in Konflikt- und Krisensituationen. Sie intervenieren und vermitteln den Betroffenen Fachstellen zur weiteren Unterstützung. Ein wichtiges Anliegen von ReBUZ ist es, Lehrer für die Probleme zu sensibilisieren. „Viele Formen von Gewalt werden gar nicht offenbar“, sagt Hartwig „sie wirken still und im Verborgenen“.

Kein nationaler Plan, aber viele Projekte

Für die Bildungspolitik sind in Deutschland laut Grundgesetz die 16 Bundesländer verantwortlich. Bundesweit übergreifende Initiativen oder Konzepte gegen Gewalt an Schulen oder einen Überblick über das tatsächliche Ausmaß der Gewalt gibt es daher nicht. Andererseits sind durch den Föderalismus viele wertvolle Ideen auf Länderebene entstanden. Mediatoren sind ein Ansatz. Andere Schulen organisieren Musikfestivals („Musik gegen Gewalt“, Gesamtschule Mücke, Hessen), lassen Sozialkompetenz-Trainings durchführen („Spielend streiten lernen“, Nordrhein-Westfalen) oder schicken eine Ausstellung von Schülerbildern auf Tour – wie im Rahmen der von der Ludwigshafener Grafikerin Silvia Izi 1992 ins Leben gerufenen Initiative „Wer, wenn nicht wir“.

Einrichtungen wie das ReBUZ, die helfen und alle wichtigen Akteure miteinander vernetzen, gibt es auch in anderen Bundesländern. Ebenso Beratungsstellen, die Opfer schulischer Gewalt und ihre Eltern unterstützen. Oder Telefonnummern, die betroffene Kinder anrufen können. Bastian Hartwig vom ReBUZ in Bremen fasst zusammen, worin sich alle, die sich mit dem Thema Gewalt an Schulen beschäftigen, einig sind: „Man muss genau hinsehen. Prävention, Beratung, Intervention und Nachsorge sind notwendig. Nur wenn Konflikte erkannt werden und den Raum haben, offen und friedlich gelöst zu werden, kann die Gewalt an Schulen nachhaltig reduziert werden.“