“Educational Republic of Germany” Of Economizing and Redistribution

In a lecture at the University of Cologne; Photo: © dpa
In a lecture at the University of Cologne | Photo (detail): © dpa

In Greece, schools and universities are up to their necks in water, and in Portugal too. In Spain, school children, teachers and university students are protesting against massive cuts in education. And what about Germany?

The economic crisis has ripped wounds in the field of education all across Europe. But Germany appears not to have joined the trend. While youth unemployment in Europe has reached a record level of 22.1 percent, German employers are complaining about shortages of skilled workers. The Federal Ministry for Education and Research sees the reason for this low unemployment in investment in education. Is there really something to the sobriquet “Educational Republic of Germany”?

The budget is growing

The fact is that there have been no cuts. Not, at least, at the federal level. In 2012, education and research has even been given a record budget. “We are investing in the future of our country”, says the Minister of Education and Research Schavan, explaining the windfall. Education and research are being strengthened so as to ensure “sustainable growth”. In numbers this means that the budget of the Ministry for Education has been increased this year by eleven percent over last year’s budget, to 12.9 billion euros. That sounds like a lot of money. Where are the billions going?

Promoting excellence

The money goes mainly to the initiatives of the Higher Education Pact 2020 and the Pact for Research and Innovation. The Higher Education Pact was launched in order to help universities shoulder the extra load of incoming students brought about by the abolition of the draft and the double number of high-school graduates. In 2012 the federal states will receive about 1.1 billion euros and, by 2015, another five billion for up to 335,000 new university places. As part of the Quality Pact for Teaching, by 2020 two billion euros will have gone to universities for the improvement of study conditions. In addition, grants for higher education, scholarships for gifted students and “Germany scholarships” will be expanded. University research will be supported by funds from the Excellence Initiative and the Higher Education Pact.

The Minister of Education is satisfied with these programs. Germany has one of the best-performing research systems in the world; in the awarding of patents it plays in the same league as the United States and Japan. Why then do students also take to the streets in Germany, why are university departments shut, why is the plaster from the ceilings of lecture halls crumbling? Why are there 60,000 school dropouts and 7.5 million illiterate if education has been given so much attention in the “Educational Republic”? The fact is that, though the budget is being increased, the additional money is going mainly to the promotion of excellence. Universities without excellence projects see little of the millions. And then there is also another peculiarity of the German educational system.

State autonomy in education

In Germany, education falls within the competence of the states. When the Federal Ministry of Education increases its budget, this does not mean that Education Ministries of the various states do the same. Among the sixteen federal states, there are significant differences, both in expenditure and levels of education. Overall, the development has been positive, as the 2011 Education Monitor shows. Thus there has been progress throughout Germany in gaining qualifications for higher education. Of high-school graduates, 17.6 percent received qualifications to attend university. In 2000, it was still only 11.3 percent of a graduating class. There have also been improvements in all-day care for elementary school pupils and in the pupil-teacher ratio. In 2000 there were still about 20 children to one elementary school teacher; today the ratio is significantly lower. Nevertheless, differences in educational levels among the states remain a problem. The best educational locations are Saxony, Thuringia and Baden-Württemberg; Berlin comes at the bottom of the list.

Reforms and mini-reforms

The situation in the Educational Republic is muddled. Windfalls of billions here, empty coffers there. The government is therefore considering a reform. Hitherto the federal government and the states have not been permitted to work together on a permanent basis on issues of education. So says the German Basic Law. Under this regulation, strapped states that have difficulties in maintaining schools and universities are particularly disadvantaged. They need a guaranteed basic funding. The engagement of the federal government is allowed only in exceptional cases and is limited in its duration, as, for instance, in the Excellence Initiatives. When the Initiative 2017 expires, the prestigious projects together with their positions also come to an end. Unless, that is, the states take over the financing.

There must therefore be a redistribution of funds – if not, things look bad. If the restriction on federal and state collaboration is dropped, then a permanent co-financing would become possible. This, however, is initially envisaged only for research, not for schools, which just as much need money from Berlin. The present proposal, warn critics, is good for research, but not for education. It is still unclear whether there will be an amendment of the Basic Law and what it would look like. The states disagree. Schleswig-Holstein would like federal aid for schools, and Hamburg favors financial help for the entire education sector. For other states, such as Baden-Württemberg, this sounds too much like a financial equalization scheme. The education issue remains caught in a tension between economizing and redistribution.

„Bildungsrepublik Deutschland“ Vom Sparen und Umverteilen

In einem Hörsaal an der Universität in Köln | Foto: © dpa
In einem Hörsaal an der Universität in Köln | Foto (Ausschnitt): © dpa

In Griechenland geht es Schulen und Universitäten an den Kragen, in Portugal auch. In Spanien protestieren Schüler, Lehrer und Studierende gegen die massiven Einsparungen im Bildungsbereich. Und was ist mit Deutschland?

Die Wirtschaftskrise reißt in ganz Europa Wunden in den Bildungsbereich. Deutschland scheint den Trend nicht mitzumachen. Während die Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in Europa ein Rekordniveau von 22,1 Prozent erreicht, klagen deutsche Arbeitgeber über Fachkräftemangel. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung sieht den Grund dafür in Investitionen im Bildungsbereich. Ist etwas dran an der „Bildungsrepublik Deutschland“?

Das Budget wächst

Tatsache ist, gekürzt wird nicht. Zumindest nicht auf Bundesebene. Für Bildung und Forschung steht im Jahr 2012 sogar ein Rekordhaushalt bereit. „Wir investieren in die Zukunft unseres Landes“, so begründet Ministerin Schavan den Geldsegen. Bildung und Forschung werden gestärkt, um „nachhaltiges Wachstum“ sicherzustellen. In Zahlen bedeutet das: Der Haushalt des Bundesministeriums für Bildung steigt gegenüber dem Vorjahr um elf Prozent auf 12,9 Milliarden Euro. Das klingt nach einer Menge Geld. Nur wo gehen die Milliarden hin?

Exzellenz fördern

Das Geld fließt vor allem in die Initiativen Hochschulpakt 2020, Exzellenzinitiative und Pakt für Forschung und Innovation. Der Hochschulpakt wurde angehoben, damit Universitäten die starken Jahrgänge, die durch die wegfallende Wehrpflicht und den doppelten Abiturjahrgang entstehen, besser schultern können. Die Länder bekommen 2012 etwa 1,1 Milliarden Euro und bis 2015 noch einmal fünf Milliarden Euro für bis zu 335.000 neue Studienplätze. Im Rahmen des Qualitätspakts Lehre gehen bis 2020 zwei Milliarden Euro an die Hochschulen, zur Verbesserung der Studienbedingungen. Außerdem werden BAföG, Begabtenförderung und Deutschlandstipendium ausgebaut. Die Forschung an Hochschulen wird mit Mitteln aus der Exzellenzinitiative und aus dem Hochschulpakt unterstützt.

Die Ministerin ist zufrieden. Deutschland zählt zu den leistungsfähigsten Wissenschaftssystemen, bei der Vergabe von Patenten spielt es mit den USA und Japan in der ersten Liga. Warum aber kommt es auch hier vor, dass Studierende auf die Straße gehen, Lehrstühle geschlossen werden, in Hörsälen der Putz von der Decke bröckelt? Woher kommen die 60.000 Schulabbrecher und 7,5 Millionen Analphabeten, wenn in der Bildungsrepublik das geistige Gut hoch gehandelt wird? Zwar stimmt es, dass das Budget aufgestockt wird, aber das zusätzliche Geld fließt zum großen Teil in die Exzellenzförderung. Universitäten ohne Exzellenzprojekt haben wenig von den Millionen. Und dann ist da noch eine Besonderheit des Bildungssystems.

Die Krux mit der Bildungshoheit

In Deutschland ist Bildung Ländersache. Wenn das Bundesministerium seinen Bildungsetat aufstockt, bedeutet das nicht, dass die Bildungsministerien der Länder das auch tun. Zwischen den 16 Bundesländern gibt es, sowohl was die Ausgaben, als auch was den Bildungsstand betrifft, deutliche Unterschiede. Insgesamt ist die Entwicklung positiv, wie der Bildungsmonitor von 2011 ergab. So gibt es gesamtdeutsch Fortschritte bei der Akademisierung. Von den Schulabgängern erreichten 17,6 Prozent eine Hochschulberechtigung. Im Jahr 2000 waren es noch 11,3 Prozent eines Altersjahrgangs. Verbesserungen gab es auch bei der Ganztagsbetreuung von Grundschülern und beim Schüler-Lehrer-Verhältnis. Kamen auf einen Grundschullehrer im Jahr 2000 noch etwa 20 Kinder, so liegt der Wert heute deutlich darunter. Trotzdem bleiben die Unterschiede in den Bildungsstandards der Bundesländer ein Problem. Die besten Bildungsstandorte sind Sachsen, Thüringen und Baden-Württemberg, Tabellenletzter ist Berlin.

Reformen und Reförmchen

Die Situation ist verfahren in der Bildungsrepublik. Milliardensegen hier, leere Kassen dort. Deshalb denkt die Regierung auch über eine Reform nach. Bislang dürfen Bund und Länder in Bildungsfragen nicht dauerhaft zusammenarbeiten. So steht es im Grundgesetz. Darunter leiden vor allem klamme Länder, die Schwierigkeiten haben, Schulen und Universitäten zu unterhalten. Was sie brauchen ist eine Grundförderung. Erlaubt ist das Engagement des Bundes aber nur in Ausnahmefällen und befristet, also etwa bei der Exzellenzinitiative. Endet die Initiative 2017, dann laufen Prestigeprojekte mitsamt Stellen aus. Es sei denn, die Länder übernehmen die Finanzierung.

Es muss also umverteilt werden, sonst sieht es mau aus. Fällt die Beschränkung, dann wird eine dauerhafte Mitfinanzierung möglich. Allerdings ist dies zuerst nur für die Wissenschaft angedacht, nicht für die Schulen, die genauso dringend Geld aus Berlin brauchen. Der aktuelle Vorschlag sei gut für die Forschung, nicht für die Bildung, monieren Kritiker. Noch ist unklar, ob eine Grundgesetzänderung kommt und wie sie aussehen soll. Die Länder sind sich uneinig. Schleswig-Holstein hätte Bundeshilfen gerne auch für Schulen, auch Hamburg ist für Finanzhilfen für den gesamten Bildungsbereich. Für andere Länder, etwa Baden-Württemberg, klingt das zu sehr nach Finanzausgleich. Es bleibt spannend bei der Bildungsfrage zwischen Sparen und Umverteilen.