Citizen Science Citizens create Knowledge

The citizen science project “Loss of the Night” is assessing the illumination of the night sky.
The citizen science project “Loss of the Night” is assessing the illumination of the night sky. | © kentauros/Fotolia

The idea behind citizen science is that ordinary people help contribute to research projects or develop their own projects – a trend that is becoming widespread in Germany, too.

Citizen scientists observe butterflies, catch flies or use a smartphone app to monitor their own health, gathering important data or supporting scientific projects in some other way. In the USA and Great Britain, it has long been recognized that collaboration between laypersons and scientists can be of benefit not only to research but also in business, politics and not least in everyday life.

Nowadays there is a growing number of citizen science projects in Germany, too. One of these is Loss of the Night, a research project run by the Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries. The idea is that amateur astronomers are guided by a smartphone app to particular stars and asked how bright they are. The citizen scientists also state how many stars they can see in all and which star is the least bright. Through this support of lay researchers around the world, the objective is to assess the illumination of the night sky.

An overview of citizen science projects can be found on the Buergerschaffenwissen.de and Citizen-science-germany.de websites. The concept, essentially, is by no means new: as long ago as in 1900, the National Audubon Society called upon Americans to take part in a nationwide Christmas Bird Count, a project that has been run annually ever since.

It’s a question of mass

For art historian Hubertus Kohle, involving laypersons in science is likewise nothing new. What has changed, however, is the fact that some projects “can be much better organized” thanks to digital media, and that far more potential participants can be reached via the Internet. As he explains, this is precisely what makes all the difference in most citizen science projects. After all, it’s rarely a question of finding a new theory of everything, but first and foremost a question of mass – in other words of gathering as much data as possible that can then serve as the basis for further research or application.

This applies equally to the Artigo project headed by Hubertus Kohle at Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität Munich, one of the few German citizen science projects in the field of the humanities. Artigo is what is known as a “game with a purpose”, in which the aim is to describe artworks using key words. Academically, the advantage of Artigo is that any key word that is used by at least two different players will end up as a search term in the Artemis art history database. And the advantage for players is that they are entertained while at the same time being educated in art history – by the end of each session, the player will have learnt an artwork’s title, its artist and other important information.

Of course, a team of academics could also be assigned the task of identifying key words. Given that Artemis contains around 50,000 artworks, however, this would doubtless take decades. What inspired Hubertus Kohle to “delegate the work to the crowd” was James Surowiecki’s book “The Wisdom of Crowds”. In it, the author postulates that groups are often cleverer than individuals. “A great idea”, says the art historian, and one that has now helped him and his team identify more than eight million key words.

Developed in a laundry room

Another citizen science project illustrates just how much can be achieved by one person with a good idea: the One Dollar Glasses. These are easy to manufacture glasses designed for the estimated 150 million people around the world who need glasses but cannot afford them.

The glasses were developed by Martin Aufmuth, a maths and physics teacher from Erlangen. It was also a book that gave him the idea: “Out of Poverty” by Paul Polak, who writes that there needs to be glasses that even a “one-dollar worker” can afford. When Aufmuth discovered glasses in a one-euro shop shortly afterwards, he asked himself why such things were not also available in Africa. He then started experimenting in his laundry room with bicycle brake cables and other materials, and finally came up with a robust and easily assembled model made of spring steel wire.

The clever part is not actually the glasses themselves but the bending machine designed to make them. It contains all the materials and tools – including a variety of lenses – needed to manufacture a pair of glasses in ten to 30 minutes. The real goal that Aufmuth and his 30 or so voluntary staff members at the association EinDollarBrille are pursuing is to teach people in Africa and South America how to make the glasses themselves, thereby turning them into “one dollar glasses opticians”. A simple idea that has already helped more than 1,000 people – and another great example of citizen science at work.

Citizen Science Bürger schaffen Wissen

Das Citizen-Science-Projekt „Verlust der Nacht“ bestimmt die Helligkeit des Himmels.
Das Citizen-Science-Projekt „Verlust der Nacht“ bestimmt die Helligkeit des Himmels. | © kentauros/Fotolia

Laien arbeiten als Hilfswissenschaftler an Forschungsprojekten mit oder entwickeln eigene Projekte – das ist die Idee von Citizen Science. Ein Trend, der sich auch in Deutschland durchsetzt.

Sie beobachten Schmetterlinge, fangen Fliegen oder überwachen ihre Gesundheit mit einer Smartphone-App. Die Rede ist von Citizen Scientists, von Bürgerwissenschaftlern. Sie sammeln wichtige Daten oder unterstützen auf andere Weise Wissenschaftsprojekte. In den USA und Großbritannien hat man den Nutzen, den die Zusammenarbeit von Laien und Wissenschaftlern nicht nur für die Forschung, sondern auch für Wirtschaft, Politik und nicht zuletzt für den Alltag bringen kann, schon seit längerem erkannt.

Inzwischen gibt es auch in Deutschland eine zunehmende Zahl an Bürgerwissenschaftsprojekten. Eines davon ist das vom Leibniz-Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei geleitete Forschungsvorhaben Verlust der Nacht. Die Idee: Eine Smartphone-App leitet Hobby-Astronomen zu bestimmten Sternen und fragt, wie hell diese sind. Auch geben die Bürgerwissenschaftler an, wie viele Sterne sie insgesamt sehen und welcher Stern der lichtschwächste ist. Weltweit soll dank der Mitarbeit der Laien-Forscher auf diese Weise die Helligkeit des Himmels bestimmt werden.

Einen Überblick über Citizen-Science-Projekte geben die Websites Buergerschaffenwissen.de und Citizen-science-germany.de. Das Konzept ist im Grunde nicht neu. So rief bereits im Jahr 1900 die National Audubon Society die amerikanischen Bürger zum Christmas Bird Count auf: einer nationalen Vogelzählung, die seitdem jedes Jahr stattfindet.

Es geht vor allem um Masse

Für den Kunsthistoriker Hubertus Kohle ist die Beteiligung von Laien an der Wissenschaft ebenfalls nichts Neues. Verändert habe sich aber, dass man einige Projekte mithilfe digitaler Medien „viel besser organisieren kann“ und zudem über das Internet weit mehr potenzielle Teilnehmer erreiche. Und genau das sei bei den meisten Citizen-Science-Projekten entscheidend. Gehe es doch dabei selten um das Finden einer neuen Weltformel, sondern in erster Linie um Masse. Das heißt: um die Erhebung möglichst vieler Daten, die dann als Grundlage für die weitere Forschung oder Anwendung dienen.

Das ist bei dem von Hubertus Kohle an der Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München geleiteten Projekt Atigo, einem der wenigen deutschen geisteswissenschaftlichen Citizen-Science-Projekte, nicht anders. Artigo ist ein so genanntes game with a purpose, ein Spiel mit Zweck, bei dem es darum geht, Kunstwerke mit Schlagworten zu beschreiben. Der wissenschaftliche Nutzen von Artigo: jedes Schlagwort, das von mindestens zwei verschiedenen Spielern verwendet wird, landet als Suchbegriff in der kunsthistorischen Datenbank Artemis. Und der Nutzen für den Spieler: Unterhaltung und kunsthistorische Bildung. Erfährt man doch nach jedem Spieldurchgang Titel, Künstler und weitere wichtige Daten.

Natürlich könnte man auch ein rein wissenschaftliches Team mit der Schlagwort-Eingabe beauftragen. Aber bei den rund 50.000 Kunstwerken, die in Artemis erfasst sind, dürfte das Jahrzehnte dauern. Auf die Idee, das Ganze an die „Crowd“ zu delegieren, kam Hubertus Kohle durch James Surowieckis Buch Die Weisheit der Vielen. Der Autor vertritt darin die Grundthese, Gruppen seien oft klüger als Einzelne. „Ein tolles Konzept“, findet der Kunsthistoriker, das ihm und seinem Team inzwischen zu mehr als acht Millionen Schlagworten verholfen hat.

Entwickelt in der Waschküche

Dass auch ein Einzelner mit einer guten Idee viel bewirken kann, zeigt ein anderes Citizen-Science-Projekt: die Ein-Dollar-Brille. Es handelt sich dabei um eine schnell herstellbare Brille, die für die weltweit schätzungsweise 150 Millionen Menschen gedacht ist, die eine Brille bräuchten, sich aber keine leisten können.

Entwickelt wurde die Brille von dem Erlanger Mathematik- und Physiklehrer Martin Aufmuth. Auch ihn brachte ein Buch auf die Idee: Out of Poverty von Paul Polak. Er schreibt, dass es eine Brille geben müsste, die sich auch ein „Ein-Dollar-Arbeiter“ leisten kann. Als Aufmuth kurz darauf in einem Ein-Euro-Shop Brillen entdeckte, fragte er sich, warum es so etwas nicht auch in Afrika gebe. In seiner Waschküche experimentierte er daraufhin mit Fahrradbremskabeln oder anderen Materialien und landete schließlich bei einem robusten und einfach herstellbaren Modell aus Federstahldraht.

Der eigentliche Clou ist aber gar nicht die Brille, sondern die zugehörige Biegemaschine. Diese enthält inklusive verschiedener Linsen alle Materialien und Werkzeuge, mit denen sich innerhalb von zehn bis 30 Minuten eine Brille herstellen lässt. Die Menschen in Afrika und Südamerika in der Herstellung zu unterrichten, sie zu „Ein-Dollar-Brille-Optikern“, das ist auch das eigentliche Ziel, das Aufmuth und seine rund 30 ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiter des Vereins EinDollarBrille verfolgen. Eine einfache Idee, die bereits mehr als 1.000 Menschen geholfen hat. Auch das ist Citizen Science.