ResearchGate The Knowledge of Many

ResearchGate founder Ijad Madisch (right) and his staff want to improve networking between researchers;
ResearchGate founder Ijad Madisch (right) and his staff want to improve networking between researchers; | Photo (detail): © ResearchGate

The social network ResearchGate is changing the way researchers share knowledge. They can find each other more easily, expand their knowledge – and have even uncovered a case of fraud.

In the media, the social network ResearchGate is often dubbed “Facebook for researchers”. Its founder, the virologist Ijad Madisch, likes to talk about fundamentally changing the world of research, as the platform does a lot more than simply interlinking people within a digital network. “Our vision has remained the same ever since we began”, says Madisch. “ResearchGate aims to give researchers a forum in which to collaborate, share research results and make a name for themselves with a view to driving forward progress in science.” Launched in 2008, ResearchGate encourages researchers to share their thoughts and findings with one another. The network’s objective is “open science” – science that is more effective for being transparent and always reproducible. ResearchGate members can ask questions, raise problems and criticism, engage in debate and easily find partners for international and interdisciplinary cooperation. This makes the network particularly interesting for young researchers.

New links

Dragan Djordjevic is one of those who found cooperation and new opportunities on ResearchGate and whose story can be read on the website: a Serbian technical designer and traffic engineer with a PhD, he used the platform to publish the research he had carried out for his doctoral thesis, which explored ways of improving public rail transport for the increasingly mobile society of his home country. The problem he highlighted was that older and disabled citizens – who account for nearly a quarter of the Serbian population – find it difficult to access the public transport system. There is a lack of lifts and signposting in railway stations, while trains are not equipped for old and disabled people.

The challenge of how to create and design an infrastructure that is suitable for an ageing population is one faced by numerous countries. There has not been much research into this to date, says Djordjevic. He therefore browsed through the six million ResearchGate users worldwide, hunting for someone who was working on the same problems – and found just the person in India. Umesh Rai from the Centre for Electronic Design and Technology at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore was interested in precisely this subject. Following an inspiring exchange, he asked his Serbian colleague to write a chapter on this in his latest publication.

Discussion of errors and advances

The productive link that was forged between the Serb and the Indian thanks to ResearchGate is just one of thousands of tales of exchange and cooperation that are generated by the platform every day. Any researcher with a research institution e-mail address can apply to ResearchGate to draw attention to their work or to search for inspiration and research partners. ResearchGate ensures that they find one another on the basis of their profiles and across all disciplinary boundaries. Roughly two million publications per month are currently being uploaded by researchers in the network. As soon as a paper is available online, any members who are interested in it can discuss the publication and any questions, errors or advances resulting from it.

Greater transparency

The platform offers what are known as “open reviews”, which one day may even replace the conventional practice of peer reviews, which involve colleagues reviewing articles prior to their publication in an academic journal. As Ijad Madisch explains, it is far more effective, not to mention more transparent, if qualified colleagues around the world submit their critical appraisals and comments after publication. To this end, the platform introduced a new format in 2015, which it hopes will replace the PDF in the longer term: the ResearchGate Format, or RGF for short. A scientific publication in RGF is not hermetically sealed – theoretically, all six million users can add visible comments, criticisms and discussions of the content.

The most prominent example of this new review approach was a Japanese study which claimed in 2014 to have produced stem cells. The ResearchGate scientific community had attempted to reproduce the process, but to no avail. Nature magazine was forced to withdraw the article when the fraudulent claim was revealed – not least as a result of the debate about the study that had been triggered on ResearchGate by Kenneth Ka-Ho Lee, a stem cell researcher in Hong Kong.

Research-Gate Das Wissen der Vielen

Research-Gate-Gründer Ijad Madisch (rechts) und seine Mitarbeiter wollen Forscher besser vernetzen;
Research-Gate-Gründer Ijad Madisch (rechts) und seine Mitarbeiter wollen Forscher besser vernetzen; | Foto (Ausschnitt): © ResearchGate

Das soziale Netzwerk Research-Gate verändert den Austausch in den Wissenschaften. Forscherinnen und Forscher finden leichter zueinander, ergänzen ihr Wissen – und haben über das Netzwerk sogar schon einen Betrug aufgedeckt.

„Facebook für Forscher“ wird das soziale Netzwerk Research-Gate in den Medien immer wieder genannt. Sein Gründer, der Virologe Ijad Madisch, spricht gerne davon, die Welt der Wissenschaft grundlegend zu verändern. Denn die Plattform kann viel mehr, als Menschen nur digital zu vernetzen. „Unsere Vision hat sich seit den Anfängen nicht geändert“, sagt Gründer Madisch. „Wir wollen Wissenschaftlern mit Research-Gate einen Ort geben, an dem sie zusammenarbeiten, Forschungsergebnisse austauschen und sich einen Namen machen können, um den Fortschritt in der Wissenschaft voranzutreiben.“ Research-Gate ist seit 2008 online und motiviert Forscherinnen und Forscher, ihr Denken und ihre Ergebnisse miteinander zu teilen. Ziel der Vernetzung ist eine „Open Science“, also eine transparente, stets nachvollziehbare und damit auch effektivere Wissenschaft. Die Mitglieder können auf Research-Gate Fragen stellen, Probleme und Kritik äußern, Debatten führen und unkompliziert zu internationaler und interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit finden. Das macht das Netzwerk besonders für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs interessant.

Neue Verbindungen

Dragan Djordjevic ist einer, der auf Research-Gate Kooperation und neue Chancen fand. Seine Geschichte ist auf der Plattform nachzulesen: Der technische Designer und Verkehrsingenieur aus Serbien machte auf der Plattform die eigenen Forschungen im Rahmen seiner Doktorarbeit publik. Darin beschäftigt er sich mit der Verbesserung des öffentlichen Schienenverkehrs für die zunehmend mobile Gesellschaft in seiner Heimat. Sein Problem: Für ältere, alte und behinderte Menschen – beinahe ein Viertel der serbischen Bevölkerung – ist der Zugang zum öffentlichen Transportwesen erschwert. In den Bahnhöfen mangelt es an Fahrstühlen und Orientierungshinweisen, in den Zügen an alten- und behindertengerechter Ausstattung.

Eine Infrastruktur zu entwerfen und zu gestalten, die einer zunehmend älter werdenden Gesellschaft gerecht wird, ist ein Problem, das zahlreiche Länder teilen. Viel Forschung gebe es dazu noch nicht, sagt Djordjevic. Er suchte daher auf Research-Gate unter den sechs Millionen Nutzern weltweit nach jemandem, der seine Fragestellungen teilt – und wurde in Indien fündig. Umesh Rai vom Zentrum für Elektronik-Design und Technologie am Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore interessierte das Thema. Nach einem inspirierenden Austausch bat er den serbischen Kollegen, ein Kapitel zu diesem Thema für seine neue Publikation zu verfassen.

Debatten über Fehler und Fortschritte

Die fruchtbare Verbindung, die zwischen den beiden Wissenschaftlern über Research-Gate entstanden ist, ist nur eine von tausenden Geschichten über Austausch und Zusammenarbeit, die sich über die Plattform täglich ergeben. Alle Wissenschaftler, die über die E-Mail-Adresse einer Forschungsinstitution verfügen, können sich bei Research-Gate anmelden, um dort auf ihre Arbeiten aufmerksam zu machen oder nach Inspiration und Forschungspartnern zu suchen. Research-Gate sorgt dafür, dass sie sich entlang ihrer Profile und über alle Fachgrenzen hinweg finden. Etwa zwei Millionen Publikationen werden derzeit monatlich von Wissenschaftlern im Netzwerk hochgeladen. Sobald eine Arbeit online steht, können interessierte Mitglieder über die Veröffentlichung und über alle Fragen, Fehler oder Fortschritte, die sich daraus ergeben, diskutieren.

Mehr Transparenz

„Open Review“ heißt das Angebot auf der Plattform, mit der die klassische Praxis des Peer-Review, die Begutachtung durch Kollegen vor einer Veröffentlichung in einem wissenschaftlichen Journal, eines Tages vielleicht sogar abgelöst werden könnte. Es sei doch viel effektiver und vor allem transparenter, wenn kompetente Kollegen weltweit nach einer Veröffentlichung die Ergebnisse kritisch sichten und kommentieren würden, sagt Ijad Madisch. Dafür gibt es seit 2015 auf der Plattform ein neues Format, mit dem langfristig das PDF abgelöst werden soll: das Research-Gate Format oder kurz RGF. Eine wissenschaftliche Publikation im RGF ist nicht hermetisch geschlossen. Theoretisch können alle sechs Millionen Nutzer erkennbar den Inhalt kommentieren, kritisieren und diskutieren.

Prominentestes Beispiel für diese neue Art der Begutachtung war der Fall einer japanischen Studie, in der 2014 die Erzeugung von Stammzellen behauptet wurde. Die wissenschaftliche Community auf Research-Gate hatte versucht, den beschriebenen Prozess nachzuvollziehen, jedoch ohne Erfolg. Das Magazin Nature musste den Artikel zurückziehen, als die Geschichte als Betrug aufflog – nicht zuletzt aufgrund der Debatte, die Kenneth Ka-Ho Lee, Stammzellenforscher in Hongkong, auf Research-Gate über die Studie angestoßen hatte.