The Year 2016 Dates and anniversaries

Significant dates and anniversaries in 2016;
Significant dates and anniversaries in 2016; | Photo (detail): © Fotolia

From a traveling circus on a diplomatic mission to the Battle of Verdun – significant dates and anniversaries in 2016.

Beginning of 2016 – Demystifying: critically annotated edition of Adolf Hitler’s „Mein Kampf“

On 31 December 2015, 70 years after the death of Adolf Hitler, expires the copyright on his book Mein Kampf. This is the occasion for the Institute of Contemporary History (IfZ) in Munich to present a critically annotated edition of Hitler’s work at the beginning of 2016. At its core there are many questions, such as “What intentions did Hitler pursue with the book?” “What consequences did his announcements have?” Given the considerable symbolic significance of the book, the demystification of Mein Kampf is a contribution to historical and political education.

14.01.2016 – Building trust: opening of the German OSCE chairmanship

In 2016 Germany assumes for the first time the annually changing presidency of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE). The OSCE is a permanent conference of states on peacekeeping. It was created on 1 August 1975 by the Helsinki Final Act and has 57 participating states. In a speech to the German Bundestag in 2015, Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier called the control of conventional arms and the building of trust as the central tasks of the German presidential tenure.

24.1.2016 – Diplomatic traveling Circus: 100th anniversary of German-Afghan Friendship Treaty

In 1915 a small group of German diplomats and officers, disguised as a traveling circus, set off on behalf of the German emperor for Afghanistan. They crossed the Balkans, made their way to Bagdad and traversed the Dasht-e Kavir salt desert. On 26 September 1915 the embassy arrived in Kabul, with the intention of persuading Afghanistan’s ruler, Emir Habibullah, to enter the war on the side of the Central Powers. In this they failed, but from the diplomatic contact emerged on 24 January 1916 the first German-Afghan Friendship Treaty.

21.02.2016 – The hell of war: 100th anniversary of the Battle of Verdun

The Battle of Verdun is still regarded today as a symbol of the First World War. Verdun was one of the best fortified sites in France. As a result, the town became the object of a fierce battle. It lasted 300 days, from February to December 1916. Approximately 300,000 French and German soldiers were killed and 400,000 wounded.

15.03.2016 – Turning Point: 25th anniversary of the instrument of ratification of the Two Plus Four Agreement

With the signing of the Two Plus Four Agreement in September 1990, the Foreign Ministers of the Federal Republic of Germany, the GDR and the four occupying powers, the United States, Soviet Union, France and Great Britain, sealed the end of the division of Germany. The agreement also ended the confrontation between the East Bloc and the West. It represents a turning point in the creation of a new blueprint for peace in Europe. After the deposit of the last instrument of ratification by the Soviet Union, the agreement came into force on 15 March 1991.

17.06.2016 – Process of reconciliation: 25th anniversary of the German-Polish Treaty of Good Neighbourship

On 17 June 1991 in Bonn the German-Polish Treaty of Good Neighbourship was signed by the then German Chancellor Helmut Kohl, the German Foreign Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher, the Polish Prime Minister Jan Krzysztof Bielecki and his Foreign Minister Krzysztof Skubiszewski. The treaty supplements the German Polish Border Treaty negotiated in the autumn of 1990, which was one of the pre-conditions of the Allies for German reunification.

11.09.2016 – From Jena to the entire world: 200th anniversary of the birth of Carl Zeiss

Carl Friedrich Zeiss was born in 1816 in Weimar. In 1894 in Jena, the German mechanic opened a small workshop for precision machines and optics. He thus laid the foundation for today’s global technology group Zeiss. His work shaped the reputation of the city of Jena as an international centre for optics and photonics, with globally operating companies and renowned research institutes.

31.10.2016 – New Luther Bible: Opening of the 500th commemorative year of the Reformation

On 31.10.2016 the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD) will inaugurate the commemorative year for the 500th anniversary of the Reformation with a ceremony in Berlin. Just in time for the start of the anniversary, a revision of the Luther Bible will be presented, the original of which goes back to 1521-1545 and the reformer Martin Luther and his collaborators. The new edition will replace the current one as the authoritative Bible text of the EKD, last revised in 1984.

14.11.2016 – Universal Genius: 300th anniversary of the death of Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz

The German mathematician, physicist and philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz is considered as Germany’s last universal genius and exerted a strong influence on the subsequent Enlightenment, classical German philosophy, German Idealism and classical German literature. 2016 is the 300th anniversary of his death. The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Society, founded in Hanover in 1966, is also celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2016. And the most recent institution associated with Leibniz celebrating an anniversary in 2016 is the ten-year-old Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz University of Hanover.

11.12.2016 – 75th anniversary of the declaration of war between Germany and the United States

The German declaration of war against the United States on 11.12.1941 followed the Japanese surprise attack on the American fleet in Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, in December 1941, which took the lives of more than 2,000 American soldiers. The United States emerged out of the victorious war as a superpower.

Das Jahr 2016 Termine und Jubiläen

Welche Ereignisse jähren sich 2016, welche Termine bestimmen das Jahr?
Welche Ereignisse jähren sich 2016, welche Termine bestimmen das Jahr? | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Fotolia

Von einem Wanderzirkus mit diplomatischen Auftrag bis zur Schlacht von Verdun: Welche Ereignisse jähren sich 2016, welche Termine bestimmen das Jahr?

Anfang 2016 – Entmystifizierung: wissenschaftlich kommentierte Edition von Adolf Hitlers „Mein Kampf“

Am 31. Dezember 2015, im 70. Todesjahr Adolf Hitlers, erlöschen die Urheberrechte an dessen Buch Mein Kampf. Das ist der Ausgangspunkt für das Institut für Zeitgeschichte (IfZ) in München, Anfang 2016 eine wissenschaftlich kommentierte Edition von Hitlers Schrift vorzulegen. In ihrem Zentrum stehen viele Fragen, etwa: Wie entstand die Schrift? Welche Absichten verfolgte Hitler damit? Angesichts des hohen Symbolwerts des Buches ist die Entmystifizierung von Mein Kampf auch ein Beitrag zur historisch-politischen Aufklärung.

14.01.2016 – Vertrauen bilden: Auftakt des deutschen OSZE-Vorsitzes

Den jährlich wechselnden Vorsitz in der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) übernimmt Deutschland 2016 zum ersten Mal. Die OSZE ist eine verstetigte Staatenkonferenz zur Friedenssicherung. Sie entstand zum 1. August 1975 mit der Schlussakte von Helsinki und hat 57 Teilnehmerstaaten. In einer Rede vor dem Deutschen Bundestag 2015 nannte der deutsche Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier die konventionelle Rüstungskontrolle und vertrauensbildende Maßnahmen als zentrale Aufgaben der deutschen Amtszeit.

24.1.2016 – Diplomatischer Wanderzirkus: 100 Jahre deutsch-afghanischer Freundschaftsvertrag

Im Auftrag des deutschen Kaisers machte sich 1915 eine kleine Gruppe deutscher Diplomaten und Offiziere, getarnt als Wanderzirkus, auf den Weg nach Afghanistan. Sie überquerte dabei den Balkan, drang bis nach Bagdad vor und durchschritt die Salzwüste Kewir. Am 26. September 1915 traf die Gesandtschaft in Kabul ein und sollte dort Afghanistans Herrscher Emir Habibullah zu einem Kriegseintritt auf Seiten der Mittelmächte bewegen. Dies gelang nicht, aber aus dem diplomatischen Kontakt wurde am 24. Januar 1916 ein erstes deutsch-afghanisches Freundschaftsabkommen.

21.02.2016 – Die Hölle des Krieges: 100. Jahrestag der Schlacht von Verdun

Die Schlacht von Verdun gilt bis heute als Symbol des Ersten Weltkriegs. Verdun gehörte zu den bestbefestigten Standorten Frankreichs. Infolgedessen wurde die Stadt heftig umkämpft. Die Schlacht dauerte 300 Tage, von Februar bis Dezember 1916. Etwa 300.000 französische und deutsche Soldaten kamen dabei ums Leben, 400.000 Verletzte gab es auf beiden Seiten.

15.03.2016 – Wendepunkt: 25. Jahrestag der Hinterlegung der Ratifizierungsurkunde des Zwei-plus-Vier-Vertrags

Mit ihrer Unterschrift unter den Zwei-plus-Vier-Vertrag besiegelten die Außenminister der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, der DDR und der vier Besatzungsmächte USA, Sowjetunion, Frankreich und Großbritannien im September 1990 das Ende der Teilung Deutschlands. Der Vertrag beendete auch die Systemkonfrontation zwischen dem Ostblock und dem Westen. Er stellt einen Wendepunkt in der Schaffung einer neuen Friedensordnung in Europa dar. Nach der Hinterlegung der letzten Ratifikationsurkunde durch die Sowjetunion trat der Vertrag am 15. März 1991 in Kraft.

17.06.2016 – Versöhnungsprozess: 25 Jahre deutsch-polnischer Nachbarschaftsvertrag

Der deutsch-polnische Nachbarschaftsvertrag wurde am 17. Juni 1991 in Bonn von dem damaligen Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl, dem deutschen Außenminister Hans-Dietrich Genscher, dem polnischen Ministerpräsidenten Jan Krzysztof Bielecki und seinem Außenminister Krzysztof Skubiszewski unterzeichnet. Er ergänzt den im Herbst 1990 ausgehandelten deutsch-polnischen Grenzvertrag, der eine der Vorbedingungen der Alliierten für die deutsche Wiedervereinigung war.

11.09.2016 – Von Jena in die Welt: 200. Geburtstag von Carl Zeiss

Carl Friedrich Zeiss wurde 1816 in Weimar geboren. Der deutsche Mechaniker eröffnete 1846 in Jena eine kleine Werkstatt für Feinmechanik und Optik. Damit legte er den Grundstein für den heute weltweit tätigen Technologiekonzern Zeiss. Sein Wirken prägte den Ruf der Stadt Jena als internationales Zentrum für Optik und Photonik mit global agierenden Firmen und renommierten Forschungseinrichtungen.

31.10.2016 – Neue Lutherbibel: Eröffnung des Gedenkjahres zu 500 Jahren Reformation

Die Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland (EKD) eröffnet am 31.10.2016 das Gedenkjahr zu 500 Jahren Reformation mit einem Festakt in Berlin. Zum Beginn des Reformationsjubiläums wird eine Überarbeitung der Lutherbibel vorgelegt, die auf Übersetzungen des Reformators Martin Luther und seiner Mitarbeiter zwischen 1521 und 1545 zurückgeht. Die Neuausgabe wird die derzeitige, zuletzt 1984 überarbeitete Schrift als maßgeblichen Bibeltext der EKD ersetzen.

14.11.2016 – Das Universalgenie: 300. Todestag von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz

Der deutsche Mathematiker, Physiker und Philosoph Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz gilt als letzter Universalgelehrter Deutschlands und hatte starken Einfluss auf die nachfolgenden Aufklärer, die klassische deutsche Philosophie, den deutschen Idealismus und die Literatur der Klassik. 2016 jährt sein Todestag zum 300. Mal. Darüber hinaus feiert die im Jahr 1966 in Hannover gegründete Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Gesellschaft ihr 50-jähriges Bestehen. Die jüngste Jubilarin ist die Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Universität Hannover, die 2016 das Jubiläum ihres zehnjährigen Bestehens zelebrieren kann.

11.12.2016 – 75. Jahrestag der Kriegserklärung Deutschlands an die USA

Die Kriegserklärung Deutschlands an die USA am 11.12.1941 folgte dem japanischen Überraschungsangriff auf die US-Flotte vor Pearl Harbor auf Hawaii im Dezember 1941, bei dem mehr als 2.000 amerikanische Soldaten ihr Leben verloren. Aus dem gewonnenen Krieg gingen die Vereinigten Staaten als Supermacht hervor.