Museums and Galleries

  • AedesPfefferberg, AedesLand, Berlin Aedes am Pfefferberg in Berlin, an architecture forum and publishing house, was founded in 1980 as the first private architecture gallery in Europe. It organises exhibitions and events in the fields of architecture and urban development. The AedesLand was opened in 2007 as a gallery for landscape architecture and urban space.
  • Architekturgalerie am Weißenhof This architecture gallery is devoted to the trends in current architecture and urban planning.
  • Architecture Gallery Munich This gallery is a platform for debates about architecture and other related aspects.
  • Architectural Museum of the University of Technology in Munich The Architectural Museum of the University of Technology in Munich houses the largest special collection of architecture in Germany. Its main theme is German architecture of the 18th to 20th century. Moreover, the museum gives information on exhibitions, events and publications in the field of architecture.
  • Museum of Architecture Schwaben, Augsburg Branch of the Architectural Museum of the University of Technology in Munich with the task of researching and documenting the history of architecture in Swabia
  • Bauhaus Archive, Museum of Design, Berlin History and influence of the Bauhaus (1913–1933). An important school of 20th century architecture, design and art. A comprehensive collection documenting the school’s history and all aspects of its work.
  • Berlinische Galerie State Museum of Modern Art, Photography, and Architecture
  • German Architecture Museum, Frankfurt/Main Founded in 1979, the DAM is a well-known institution worldwide. The museum exhibits the entire spectrum of present-day architecture.
  • German Center for Architecture (DAZ) The German Center for Architecture in Berlin is commited to discussions of current positions in architecture and a meeting-place for people interested in this subject.
  • Ernst-May-Gesellschaft e.V. The Ernst May society promotes architecture, the preservation of monuments and science and research in these fields.
  • KAZimKUBA, Kasseler Architekturzentrum im Kulturbahnhof KAZimKUBA, a non-profit association in the rooms of the former railway mission in Kassel, is a forum for exhibitions and disussions about urban planning and building.
  • M:AI Museum of Architecture and the Art of Engineering North-Rhine Westphalia M:AI stands for high quality building. M:AI wants to initiate, exhibit and export high quality building: museum, campaign, laboratory.
  • Dessau Masters' Houses The Dessau Masters' Houses designed by Walter Gropius served as private dwellings for the Bauhaus professors. The ensemble is included on the UNESCO World Heritage List and publicly accessible.
  • Mies van der Rohe Haus Ludwig Mies van der Rohe designed the "Landhaus Lemke" in 1932. Since 1990 it is an architectural monument and publicly accessible. In the building modern art exhibitions are shown.
  • Bauhaus Dessau Foundation Foundation in historic rooms. The building is publicly accessible.
  • Vitra Design Museum, Weil am Rhein A private cultural institution, active world-wide. The museum offers changing special exhibitions, researches and imparts design in its many and varied expressions: focus on furnishings and interior design. Also offers an archive and a specialised library.
  • Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart Information about the origins, history and presence of the Weißenhofsiedlung

Institutions and Organisations

  • Chambers of Architects in Germany Addresses and links to the chambers of architects of the different German states
  • Architekturbild e.V. Society in support of an artistic critique through photography of the built environment. The society awards the European Architectural Photography Prize.
  • Association of German Architects (BDA) Association of freelance architects
  • Association of German Architects and Engineers (BDB) Association of architects and construction engineers
  • Association of German Interior Designers (BDIA) This platform for information, communication and teh exchange of experience offers its members many different services.
  • Federal Chamber of Architects The Federal Chamber of Architects represents the interests of more than 118 000 architects vis-à-vis politicians and the public on a national and international level. The Chambers of Architects of the 16 German federal states are members of the BAK. The website offers information about education and further training and a list of professional journals.
  • Federal Foundation for Building Culture Promotion of the building culture in Germany
  • Council for European Urbanism This European organisation sees itself as a platform for a reform of urban development in times of deep-rooted changes in the society, population decline, aging societies, urban sprawl and dwindling resources. The Council forms a network for exchanging experience and ideas with regard to the necessary redevelopment and redesign of the manifold European cities and regions.
  • German Academy for Urban and Environmental Planning Promotion of urban and spatial planning in both theory and practice
  • German Institute of Urban Affairs (Difu) The German Institute of Urban Affairs (Difu) was founded in 1973 on the initiative of German cities. It is intended to help municipal authorities to solve their local problems by way of well-founded research and further training. Moreover, Difu tries to offer fairly long-term prospects and possibilities of action for urban development.
  • Europan Germany Europan is a Europe-wide networked institution and promotes experimental housing and the development of innovative urban planning methods among other things by architecture competitions.
  • German Architects Independent communication platform for architecture including profiles of selected German architects and architect’s offices. Also available for other countries.
  • Guiding Architects - International Network for Architectural Guided Tours Network of independent architects, all of which offer professional tours in the region or city where they are based. During the tours, current architectural developments, urban contexts, social and political backgrounds and many other issues are presented in an enjoyable and informative way. You get to see the most interesting modern architecture, visit important buildings and experience exciting city districts – all accompanied by an expert guide.
  • Architecture and Building Culture Initiative The initiative was established in 2000 by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development to bundle public debates about the quality of urban planning and constructing in Germany.
  • Initiative for Urban Building Cultur Initiative of North Rhine-Westphalia for the improvement of the built environment
  • Senate Department for Urban Development, Berlin Information about urban development in Berlin
  • “Lebendige Stadt” Foundation Objective is to play an active role in shaping the future of our towns and cities – by promoting cultural life, science and research, the conservation of cultural values, and the preservation of protected buildings.
  • UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Germany List of World Heritage sites in Germany
  • Association of German Architects' and Engineers' Societies (DAI) Umbrella organisation that represents the interests of German architects and engineers

Web Portals and Directories

  • Arcguide.de - The internet guide for architecture The web portal Arcguide provides information about the entire spectrum of architecture. Its pages present new trends, projects, exhibitions and competitions as well as literature lists, job vacancies or news from universities. Arcguide publishes a daily press roundup with articles on architecture from important German-language newspapers. In addition it publishes the magazine Arcguide every quarter.
  • ArchInform International database for architecture
  • archinoah Interactive information server for students of architecture. It contains e.g. a list of contests and a job centre.
  • Architekten 24 Online service in the field of architecture with news for architects, specialists and amateurs.
  • archiV Database of achitects
  • AZ/Architekturzeitung AZ/Architekturzeitung is an online publication and offers news and articles on current discussions related to architecture and building for architects, landscape architects, engineers, interior designers, lighting consultants and urban planners.
  • Baunetz Online service in the field of building industry with a database for architects.
  • candARCH.de Web site for students of architecture including an annotated links list
  • German Newspapers and Periodicals: Architecture Annotated database including a selection of journals in the field of architecture
  • Fraunhofer Information Centre for Planning and Building (IRB) Fraunhofer IRB is Germany’s central facility for national and international knowledge transfer in planning and building. The use of certain databases is available for charge.
  • Nextroom European network in the field of contemporary architecture
  • Wolkenkuckucksheim International online journal of architectural theory
Top

Museen und Galerien

  • AedesPfefferberg, AedesLand, Berlin Aedes am Pfefferberg in Berlin, Architekturforum und Verlag, wurde 1980 als erste private Architekturgalerie Europas gegründet. Hier finden Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen im Bereich Architektur und Städtebau statt. AedesLand wurde 2007 als Galerie für Landschaftsarchitektur und Urbanen Raum eröffnet.
  • Architekturgalerie am Weißenhof Die Architekturgalerie am Weißenhof in Stuttgart widmet sich der Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Architektur und Stadtplanung.
  • Architekturgalerie München Die Architekturgalerie versteht sich als Plattform für die Diskussion um Architektur und verwandte Themenfelder.
  • Architekturmuseum der Technischen Universität München Das Architekturmuseum der Technischen Universität München verfügt über die größte Spezialsammlung für Architektur in Deutschland. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf deutscher Architektur des 18. bis 20. Jahrhunderts. Zudem erhält man hier Informationen über Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen und Publikationen im Bereich Architektur.
  • Architekturmuseum Schwaben, Augsburg Zweigstelle des Architekturmuseums der Technischen Universität München mit der Aufgabe der Erforschung und Dokumentation der Architekturgeschichte Schwabens
  • Bauhaus-Archiv, Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin Geschichte und Wirkung des Bauhauses (1913–1933). Bedeutende Schule für Architektur, Design und Kunst im 20. Jh. Umfangreiche Sammlung zur Geschichte der Schule und zu allen Aspekten ihrer Arbeit.
  • Berlinische Galerie Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
  • DAM Deutsches Architektur Museum, Frankfurt/Main 1979 gegründet ist das DAM eine weltweit bekannte Institution. Es zeigt die gesamte Bandbreite heutiger Architektur.
  • Deutsches Architekturzentrum (DAZ) Das Deutsche Architekturzentrum in Berlin versteht sich als Ort des architektonischen Diskurses und Treffpunkt für Architekturinteressierte.
  • Ernst-May-Gesellschaft e.V. Die Ernst-May-Gesellschaft in Frankfurt am Main fördert die Baukunst und den Denkmalschutz sowie die Wissenschaft und Forschung in diesen Bereichen.
  • KAZimKUBA, Kasseler Architekturzentrum im Kulturbahnhof Das KAZimKUBA arbeitet als gemeinnütziger Verein und nutzt die ehemaligen Räume der Bahnhofsmission im Kasseler Kulturbahnhof als Forum für Ausstellungen und Diskussionen zum Thema Planen und Bauen.
  • M:AI Museum für Architektur und Ingenieurkunst des Landes Nordrhein Westfalen M:AI steht für Gutes Bauen. M:AI will Gutes Bauen initiieren, ausstellen und exportieren: Museum, Kampagne, Laboratorium.
  • Meisterhäuser Dessau Die Meisterhäuser, von Walter Gropius entworfen, dienten als Wohnhäuser für die Lehrenden am Bauhaus. Das Ensemble hat heute den Status eines UNESCO Weltkulturerbes und ist öffentlich zugänglich.
  • Mies van der Rohe Haus Ludwig Mies van der Rohe entwarf das "Landhaus Lemke" im Jahre 1932. Seit 1990 ist es als Architekturdenkmal öffentlich zugänglich. Im Haus werden Ausstellungen moderner Kunst gezeigt.
  • Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau Stiftung in historischen Räumen. Das Haus ist öffentlich zugänglich.
  • Vitra Design Museum, Weil am Rhein Weltweit privat agierende Kulturinstitution. Das Museum zeigt wechselnde Sonderausstellungen, erforscht und vermittelt Design in seinen unterschiedlichsten Ausprägungen; Schwerpunkt: Möbel- und Interieurdesign. Es verfügt auch über ein Archiv und eine Spezialbibliothek.
  • Weißenhofsiedlung Stuttgart Informationen über die Entstehung der Weißenhofsiedlung, ihre Geschichte und ihre heutige Erscheinung

Institutionen und Organisationen

  • Architektenkammern in Deutschland Linkverweise zu allen deutschen Landesarchitektenkammern nach Bundesländern geordnet sowie zur Bundesarchitektenkammer
  • Architekturbild e.V. Der Verein Architekturbild e.V. hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die fotografisch-künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der gebauten Umwelt zu fördern. Er lobt den Europäischen Architekturfotografie-Preis aus.
  • Bund Deutscher Architekten (BDA) Vereinigung freiberuflich tätiger Architektinnen und Architekten
  • Bund Deutscher Baumeister, Architekten und Ingenieure (BDB) Berufsverband, in dem Architekten und Ingenieure des Bauwesens organisiert sind
  • Bund Deutscher Innenarchitekten (BDIA) Diese Plattform für Information, Kommunikation und Erfahrungsaustausch bietet seinen Mitgliedern vielfältige Serviceleistungen an.
  • Bundesarchitektenkammer Die Bundesarchitektenkammer vertritt die Interessen von über 118.000 Architekten gegenüber Politik und Öffentlichkeit auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Mitglieder der BAK sind die Architektenkammern der 16 deutschen Bundesländer. Die Website bietet auch Informationen zur Aus- und Weiterbildung sowie eine Liste mit Fachzeitschriften.
  • Bundesstiftung Baukultur e.V. Förderung der Baukultur in Deutschland
  • Council for European Urbanism Die europäische Organisation versteht sich als Forum für eine Reform des Städtebaus in Zeiten des gesellschaftlichen Umbruchs, der Bevölkerungsabnahme, Alterung der Gesellschaft, Zersiedlung und Ressourcenschwund. Es bildet ein Netzwerk zum Erfahrungsaustausch für den notwendigen Umbau der vielfältigen europäischen Städte und Regionen.
  • Deutsche Akademie für Städtebau und Landesplanung Förderung von Städtebau und Landesplanung in Wissenschaft und Praxis
  • Deutsches Institut für Urbanistik (Difu) Das Deutsche Institut für Urbanistik (Difu) wurde 1973 auf Initiative der deutschen Städte gegründet. Es möchte Kommunalverwaltungen durch wissenschaftlich fundierte Forschung und Fortbildung die Lösung ihrer kommunalen Aufgaben erleichtern und darüber hinaus längerfristige Perspektiven und Handlungsmöglichkeiten für die städtische Entwicklung aufzeigen.
  • Europan Deutschland Europan - eine innerhalb Europas vernetzte Institution - fördert den experimentellen Wohnungsbau und die Entwicklung innovativer städtebaulicher Verfahren, u.a. auch mit Architekturwettbewerben.
  • German Architects Unabhängige Kommunikationsplattform für Architektur, mit Profilen ausgewählter deutscher Architekten/innen und Architekturbüros. Auch für andere Länder verfügbar.
  • Guiding Architects - Internationales Netzwerk für Architekturführungen Die Mitglieder des 1996 gegründeten Netzwerks bieten maßgeschneiderte Führungen für Gruppen zu architektonischen und städtebaulichen Themen an. Ob Barcelona oder Paris, Kopenhagen oder Moskau: Ortsansässige Architekten zeigen die interessantesten Bauten und Projektgebiete der Region.
  • Initiative Architektur und Baukultur Die Initiative wurde im Jahr 2000 vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau- und Wohnungswesen gestartet, um die öffentliche Diskussion über die Qualität des Planens und Bauens in Deutschland zu bündeln.
  • Landesinitiative StadtBauKultur-NRW Initiative des Bundeslandes Nordrhein-Westfalen zur Verbesserung der Baukultur
  • Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Berlin Informationen zur Stadtentwicklung Berlins
  • Stiftung Lebendige Stadt Ziel der Stiftung Lebendige Stadt ist es, die Zukunft der Städte aktiv mitzugestalten - im Bereich der Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie der Pflege von Kulturwerten und Denkmalpflege.
  • Südwestdeutsches Archiv für Architektur und Ingenieurbau (Saai) Aufgaben des Südwestdeutschen Archivs für Architektur und Ingenieurbau sind Nachlässe und Materialien zum Werk bedeutender Architekten und Ingenieure zu sammeln, die einen Bezug zur Baugeschichte des Landes Baden-Württemberg haben.
  • UNESCO Welterbestätten in Deutschland Übersicht der deutschen Welterbestätten
  • Verband Deutscher Architekten- und Ingenieurvereine (DAI) Dachverband Deutscher zur Interessensvertretung deutscher Architekten und Ingenieure

Webportale und Verzeichnisse

  • Arcguide.de - Der Internetführer für Architektur Das Webportal Arcguide informiert auf seinen Seiten über alle Facetten des Themas Architektur. Neue Trends, Projekte, Ausstellungen und Wettbewerbe werden genauso präsentiert wie Literaturlisten, Jobs oder Neues aus dem Hochschulbereich. Täglich erscheint eine Presseschau mit Artikeln wichtiger deutschsprachiger Zeitungen zu Architekturthemen. Zudem gibt Arcguide vierteljährlich das Arcguide Magazin heraus.
  • ArchInform – Internationale Architekturdatenbank
  • archinoah Interaktiver Informationsserver für Architekturstudenten. Enthält u.a. eine Liste mit Wettbewerben und eine Jobbörse.
  • Architekten 24 Onlinedienst Architektur mit aktuellen Meldungen für Baufachleute und Architekturinteressierte
  • archiV Architektendatenbank
  • AZ/Architekturzeitung Die AZ/Architekturzeitung ist eine Online-Publikation und bietet Beiträge und Meldungen zu aktuellen Architekturdiskussionen sowie Berichte über bautechnische Innovationen für Architekten, Ziviltechniker, Innenarchitekten, Lichtplaner, Landschaftsarchitekten und Stadtplaner.
  • Baunetz Onlinedienst für die Baubranche; Datenbank für Architekten. Enthält u.a. eine LIste mit Wettbewerben.
  • candARCH.de Internetseite für Architekturstudenten mit annotierter Linkliste
  • Deutschsprachige Zeitschriften und Zeitungen: Architektur Annotierte Datenbank mit einer Auswahl an Fachzeitschriften im Bereich Architektur
  • Fraunhofer Informationszentrum Raum und Bauen (IRB) Der zentrale Informationsdienstleister Deutschlands zu allen Fragen des Planens und Bauens und zur Denkmalpflege. Die Online-Datenbanken sind kostenpflichtig.
  • Nextroom Europäisches Netzwerk im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Architektur
  • Wolkenkuckucksheim Internationale Online-Zeitschrift für Architekturtheorie
Top