GFL teachers develop their classroom skills
Trying out new things in Lessons with practical explorations

„Tagesschau" als Methode
© adobe.stock

“I think it’s fun to try out new things. I attempt to use strategies I’ve learnt in professional development training in my lessons as well – usually in a slightly different form, adapted to the situation, class and theme. I enjoy experimenting, it doesn’t always work out... It doesn’t have to be a huge project, I’m talking about experiments on a small scale, which are important nevertheless.”
 

Monica Acler, teacher from Italy

 

By Imke Mohr and Monica Acler

1. What are Practical Explorations?


If language teachers are developing their own classroom skills and would like to try out new ideas in lessons, Practical Exploration projects can be helpful. A good place to start off a Practical Exploration is to pick a teaching focus that is important to you, and that you’d like to explore in more depth in your teaching. Increasing numbers of teachers are undergoing professional development training to learn how to deliver Practical Exploration Projects (PEPs) and are then putting what they have learned in the training sessions into practice in their own specific context and evaluating it. As a result, Practical Exploration Projects (PEPs) are instruments of lifelong learning for teachers, who bring about their own positive changes in their capacity as experts in their teaching field.

Spannungsbogen Praxiserkundungsprojekt
Figure 1: Practical Exploration Project development curve | © Goethe-Institut
Exploring and practising new lesson activities in a Practical Exploration Project follows a sequence of 10 steps. These steps are important to ensure that new teaching skills are really built up as a result of analysis, experimentation and reflection in cooperation with colleagues concerning what happens in the classroom, or with regard to the students’ learning processes. Read more about the 10 steps to the Practical Experience Project here:
 


2. An example of Practical Exploration:

pupils summarise their study of a work of literature in the form of a news programme.
What happens for instance if pupils are tasked with summarising an intensive reading phase (at the time the class was reading and working on “Momo” by Michael Ende) in a self-made film along the lines of “Tagesschau in 100 Sekunden” (news in brief), which they then have to present to the rest of the class? Monica Acler and two of her colleagues wanted to know that and tried it out as a group task with their learners aged around seventeen, who were at Level B1+ - in 12th grade at a Gymnasium. They used this exploration technique to look at the following questions,
What their learners had taken away from the school reading book, and how they would reproduce the material they had learnt in the “news in brief” text format?
Whether processing this content in the form of a smartphone film would pose a challenge to the learners’ creativity and therefore their motivation to work together on the task?
How the students themselves would rate this previously unknown learning activity (learner questionnaire)?For this project, each of Monica Acler’s colleagues carried out the activity with their own learner group, analysed the resulting films with the set learning targets in mind, observed the group tasks in detail, and asked their learners questions after they had presented their videos. At the end they discussed their experiences of the Exploration Projects. 
 

Practical Explorations need not always be documented comprehensively or discussed with colleagues. However it’s important that the starting point for the exploration is of real interest, and that the effect of a new classroom activity or learning resource is directly observable. If you are then surprised – like Monica Acler and her colleagues – because you (or a colleague who observes an activity on your behalf) can identify precisely those positive aspects in the lesson that you had set out to achieve, then that’s probably a good reason for you to choose a completely unexpected text form more often, and rely on your students’ media skills. In other words, Practical Exploration need not be too complex.
Monica Acler, who has now carried out several practical projects with her colleagues, writes:

“In the Practical Exploration Projects I’ve carried out, I’ve learnt to organise my lessons so that they are more target-oriented, and above all always to explain to my students what they have achieved.”

3. Practising Practical Exploration Projects

If you’re interested in understanding how a Practical Exploration Project is developed, you can follow the sample tasks shown here: the idea is to practise ad lib speaking in the German lesson. Follow the work steps and do the exercises. This enables you to learn how a PEP is developed by looking at a ready-made model. 


4. Carry on listening

Anglicist and education researcher Prof. Michael Legutke explains in an interview why practical explorations are so effective: according to Legutke, the most effective approach is for teachers to develop their own lesson material – because they are the experts in what they do, and are in a position to evaluate which strategies actually promote learning. That’s why professional development should always start from the premise of what is currently being taught, and teachers should be encouraged to try out and evaluate new things they have learned in their own context.
 

 

 

Top

Unterrichtskompetenz erweitern
Neues ausprobieren mit Praxiserkundungen

„Tagesschau" als Methode
© adobe.stock

„Es macht mir Spaß, Neues auszuprobieren. Was ich in einer Fortbildung lerne, versuche ich auch in meinem Unterricht zu verwenden, in der Regel immer ein bisschen anders, angepasst an Situation, Klasse und Thema. Es gefällt mir zu experimentieren, nicht immer klappt es ... Es muss kein besonders großes Projekt sein, es handelt sich um kleine Experimente, die aber doch Bedeutung haben.“
 

Monica Acler, Lehrerin aus Italien

 

Von Imke Mohr und Monica Acler

1. Was sind Praxiserkundungen?

Wenn man als Sprachlehrer/in die eigene Unterrichtskompetenz ausbauen und im Unterricht neue Ideen ausprobieren möchte, können Praxiserkundungsprojekte hilfreich sein. Als Ausgangspunkt für eine Praxiserkundung wählt man eine didaktische Fragestellung aus, die einem wichtig ist und der man in eigenen Unterricht nachgehen möchte. Immer mehr Lehrkräfte lernen in Fortbildungen, Praxiserkundungsprojekte (PEPs) durchzuführen und auf diese Weise das, was sie in der Fortbildung gelernt haben, in ihrem spezifischen Kontext auszuprobieren. Praxiserkundungsprojekte sind deshalb Instrumente lebenslangen Lernens für Lehrer/inne/n, die als Expert/inn/en ihres Unterrichts positive Veränderungen selbst herbeiführen.
Spannungsbogen Praxiserkundungsprojekt
Abbildung 1: Spannungsbogen Praxiserkundungsprojekt | © Goethe-Institut
Das Erkunden und Einüben von neuem unterrichtlichen Handeln in einem Praxiserkundungsprojekt folgt einem Ablauf von 10 Schritten. Diese Schritte sind wichtig, damit sich über das kollegiale Analysieren, Ausprobieren und die Reflexion dessen, was im Unterricht oder mit Blick auf die Lernprozesse der Lernenden geschieht, wirklich neue Unterrichtskompetenzen aufbauen. Lesen Sie hier mehr über die 10 Schritte zum Praxiserkundungsprojekt:
 

2. Ein Beispiel für eine Praxiserkundung

Schüler/innen fassen die Arbeit mit einem literarischen Werk in Form einer Nachrichtensendung zusammen
Was geschieht z.B., wenn Schüler/innen eine intensive Lektürephase (gelesen und bearbeitet wurde „Momo“ von Michael Ende) einmal mit einem selbstgedrehten Video vom Typ „Tagesschau in 100 Sekunden“ zusammenfassen und dieses Video ihrer Klasse präsentieren? Das wollten Monica Acler und zwei Kolleginnen wissen und probierten dies als Gruppenarbeit mit ihren Lernenden auf B1+ - Niveau in der 12. Schulstufe eines Gymnasiums aus. Sie brachten mit dieser Erkundung in Erfahrung,
  • was ihre Lernenden von der Schullektüre mitgenommen haben und auf welche Weise sie das Gelernte in der Textsorte „Tagesschau in 100 Sekunden“ darstellen würden
  • ob die Bearbeitung der Inhalte in Form eines Smartphone-Videos die Kreativität der Lernenden herausfordern würde und damit auch ihre Motivation, zusammen an der Aufgabe zu arbeiten, fördern würde
  • wie ihre Schüler/innen selbst diese bisher unbekannte Lernaktivität bewerten würden (Fragebogen für die Lernenden)
Dafür führte jede der Kolleginnen rund um Monica Acler die Aktivität mit ihrer eigenen Lernergruppe durch, sie analysierten die entstandenen Videos mit Blick auf die gesetzten Lernziele, beobachteten die Gruppenarbeiten detailliert und befragten ihre Lernenden im Anschluss an die Präsentation der Videos. Schließlich tauschten sie sich zu ihren Erfahrungen im Rahmen ihrer Erkundungen aus.

Praxiserkundungen müssen nicht immer umfangreich dokumentiert sein oder mit Kollegen diskutiert werden. Wichtig ist jedoch, dass die Ausgangsfrage zu einer Erkundung wirklich von Interesse und möglichst konkret ist, so dass man die Wirkung einer neuen Handlung im Unterricht oder eines Lernmaterials konkret beobachten kann. Wenn eine Lehrperson dann –wie Monica Acler und ihre Kolleginnen- überrascht ist, weil sie genau die positiven Aspekte beobachtet, die sie beabsichtigt hatte, ist das vermutlich ein Grund, öfter einmal eine ganz unerwartete Aktivität zu wählen und auf die Medienkompetenz der Schüler/innen zurückgreifen. Eine Praxiserkundung muss also nicht aufwändig sein.
Monica Acler, die mit ihren Kolleginnen bereits mehrere Praxisprojekte durchgeführt hat, schreibt:

Bei den Praxiserkundungsprojekten, die ich durchgeführt habe, habe ich gelernt, meinen Unterricht gezielter zu organisieren, und vor allem meinen Schülern das, was sie erreicht haben, immer klar zu machen.

 

3. Praxiserkundungsprojekte einüben

Wenn Sie Interesse haben nachzuvollziehen, wie ein Praxiserkundungsprojekt erarbeitet wird, können Sie nun den Beispielaufgaben folgen, die wir Ihnen hier vorstellen, evtl. gemeinsam mit einer Kollegin / einem Kollegen: Es geht um das Üben des Freien Sprechens im Deutschunterricht. Folgen Sie den Arbeitsschritten und bearbeiten Sie die Aufgaben. So erfahren Sie bei einer geführten Praxiserkundung, wie sich ein PEP entwickelt.
Video wird geladen
© Goethe-Institut
Video wird geladen
© Goethe-Institut


4. Zum Weiterhören

Der Anglist und Unterrichtsforscher Prof. Michael Legutke erklärt in einem Interview, warum Praxiserkundungen so effektiv sind: Lehrerkräfte können ihren Unterricht am besten selbst weiterentwickeln, so argumentiert Legutke, denn sie sind die Expertinnen und Experten in dem, was sie tun, und können beurteilen, was lernfördernd wirkt. Deshalb seien auch Fortbildungen immer ausgehend vom Unterricht zu denken und Lehrkräfte sollten dazu ermutigt werden, neu Gelerntes im eigenen Kontext auszuprobieren und zu bewerten.
 
 

Top