The Latest at Goethe
Features, reports and interviews from around the world

Heidelberg is not the same as Heidelberg Photo: Uwe Rau

Heidelberg is not the same as Heidelberg

(10 August 2015) Yangon, Vilnius, Bogotá, Wellington, Cairo: For a year we have been getting letters from the most fascinating corners of the world. At the end of our series of letters to our “liebe Heimat” we end up in, of all places, Heidelberg. By Uwe Rau

Heidelberg is not the same as Heidelberg Photo: Uwe Rau

Heidelberg is not the same as Heidelberg

(10 August 2015) Yangon, Vilnius, Bogotá, Wellington, Cairo: For a year we have been getting letters from the most fascinating corners of the world. At the end of our series of letters to our “liebe Heimat” we end up in, of all places, Heidelberg. By Uwe Rau

The Cathedral and Me Photo: Anna Maria Strauß

The Cathedral and Me

(3 August 2015) Look or shoot? In our age of mobile phone cameras and selfie sticks, it seems that documenting an experience is becoming more important than the experience itself for travellers. Here are some observations from the field in Riga. By Anna Maria Strauß

A Touch of Home

(27 July 2015) What is it that makes a place home? Friends, family, the past, the number of years lived there? Our writer Katja Kessing is not sure either. But she can feel it.

Canadian Venice Photo: Uwe Rau

Canadian Venice

(13 July 2015) Our summer retreat is only fifteen minutes from Toronto. When you leave the metropolis behind by ship you soon find yourself in a melange of colourful Victorian houses, ancient weeping willows, beaches, dunes and the sound of the waves. What more could you ask for? By Uwe Rau

Please come thirsty! Photo: Bettina Senff

Please come thirsty!

(6 July 2015) Coffee culture is considerably older in Germany than it is in New Zealand. But when it comes to the café culture, German operators can still learn a lot from their colleagues on the other side of the world. By Bettina Senff

Ireland, Who Knew!

(22 June 2015) Late in May I was able to witness an historic event in Ireland: the vote in favour of gay marriage. Patti Smith offered the perfect soundtrack, too. By Anne Klapperstück

Congo unplugged Photo: Gitte Zschoch

Congo unplugged

(15 June 2015) There is a lack of just about everything in Kinshasa with the exceptions of music, artists, the love of dancing and good spirits. With these and hard work, the people keep their vibrant arts scene alive. Sometimes you have to do without a drum set and just use a bottle crate instead. By Gitte Zschoch

Sport Trumps Art Photo: Garrett Ziegler

Sport Trumps Art

(8 June 2015) Since everyone is focusing again on questions of race and ethnicity in America, I begin to look more closely to see where people of different origins and skin colours casually mix in New York. The corner of Malcolm X Boulevard and 125th Street stands out. By Christoph Bartmann

Literally the Lowest Level Photo: Anna Maria Strauß

Literally the Lowest Level

(1 June 2015) Those bemoaning the disappearance of retail shops in Europe’s city centres should come to Riga. It’s blossoming here, though often underground. By Anna Maria Strauß

Driving Along the Nile Photo: Johanna M. Keller

Driving Along the Nile

(25 May 2015) You can read the newspaper, shop or have a pleasant conversation with the driver in the next car: driving in Egypt’s capital city is a laid-back affair. Take a trip through Cairo, the “mother of the traffic jam.” By Johanna M. Keller

Henry Moore’s Legacy Photo: Claude Marchand

Henry Moore’s Legacy

(11 May 2015) Henry Moore was English, but he left his private collection to the Art Gallery in Toronto in an unexpected act of gratitude. By Uwe Rau

Her Majesty’s Pleasure Photo: Stuart Yates

Her Majesty’s Pleasure

(4 May 2015) Writing crime novels is an honourable profession. But I would like to appeal to any young people considering this profession to take this to heart: you do not need to commit murder to write about it. By Bettina Senff

Sledding with Obama Photo: Sebastian Woitsch

Sledding with Obama

(27 April 2015) Nine days, 42 dogs, 30 degrees below. The plan is as simple as it is thrilling: we want to cross the enormous Lake Khövsgöl – on the ice. By Sebastian Woitsch

Summer in the City Photo: Anne Klapperstück

Summer in the City

(20 April 2015) The trees are blossoming, the sunshine beams, the people are going mad: it’s summer in Dublin. Well, almost. By Anne Klapperstück

There’s No “Place” Like Home Photo: Jacobia Dahm

There’s No “Place” Like Home

(6 April 2015) In the light of recent events, today I would like to write about street types in New York, more precisely about streets, avenues and other designations for asphalted pathways in Manhattan, but in particular about one specific “place.” By Christoph Bartmann

True Latvians Gather Mushrooms Photo: Norbert Strauß

True Latvians Gather Mushrooms

(30 March 2015) Those who live in Latvia learn quickly that being Latvian requires more than having been born inside the national borders. This is sensed not only by the so-called non-citizens from Soviet days. By Anna Maria Strauss

I spy, with my little eye... Photo: Johanna M. Keller

I spy, with my little eye...

(23 March 2015) History, noise and dust: you either love Cairo, or you hate it. If you love this city, then you do one thing particularly often: you look away. By Johanna M. Keller

Species in Danger Photo: Katja Kessing

Species in Danger

(16 March 2015) Colombia is booming. The country, which only a few years ago stood for violence and terror, is bounding from one superlative to the next. The superlatives in matters of environmental policy are, however, negatives. By Katja Kessing

The Mountain Calls Photo: Sebastian Woitsch

The Mountain Calls

(9 March 2015) Today, I am aiming high. I want to climb the Chingeltei Uul with a group of hikers. Twenty below? No sweat! By Sebastian Woitsch

...till the fat lady sings Photo: Michael Cooper

...till the fat lady sings

(2 March 2015) I have to shout it to the world: the Canadian Opera Company is splendid and evolving to become one of the prime addresses for opera. They are being helped along by two men from Germany. By Uwe Rau

Bronze for New Zealand Photo: Bettina Senff

Bronze for New Zealand

(23 February 2015) On a meadow in the middle of the Botanical Garden in Wellington stands New Zealand’s only Henry Moore sculpture – in my opinion, the city’s most beautiful work of art. By Bettina Senff

The Sea of Ice

(16 February 2015) One of the many survival tactics you must learn in Siberia is to walk safely on snow and ice. By February at the latest, the snow has literally crept into the city in the form of huge towers, walls and mountain ranges. By Stefanie Peter

„This is Ireland!“

(9 February 2015) One of the best books ever written about Dublin is called In Schlucken – zwei – Spechte. Do you understand what that means? Neither do I. But it sounds sort of funny. Just like Dublin in its best moments. By Anne Klapperstück

Mellow State of Emergency

(2 February 2015) Remain calm. Go home. Stay at home. Await further instructions. Last week, New York shifted into disaster mode. I watched the major meteorological event from my heated living room. By Christoph Bartmann

New National Hero

(26 January 2015) Since last summer, Colombia has a new superstar. He’s already mentioned in the same reverential breath as pop goddess Shakira. His name is Rodríguez. James Rodríguez. Ja-mes! By Katja Kessing

With Frosty Regards

(19 January 2015) For five long months, the thermometers in the world’s coldest capital city register sub-zero temperatures. For some of my friends, it sounds horrific, but in reality it’s merely a matter of habit – and a good down coat. By Sebastian Woitsch

Old New World

(12 January 2015) Old is relative. New even more so. Upon my return from a brief holiday in good old England, Toronto seems especially new. No other big city has seen as much construction in recent years. By Uwe Rau

Red Christmas

(8 January 2015) Christmas and snow simply belong together for us Germans. It’s not the same in the southern hemisphere. I remember my first holiday in New Zealand: A white Christmas – what a disappointment! By Bettina Senff

Brandenburger Tor Copyright: pa-picture alliance | A. Ehrlicher, B. Rehmann

The Past Meets the Present

(28 September 2015) The decades-long division of Germany came to an end 25 years ago. Since then the country has changed, Berlin in particular. Has what belongs together truly grown together? In a photography project, the Goethe-Institut remembers a bit of German history. By Ula Brunner

Top

Goethe aktuell
Reportagen, Berichte und Interviews aus aller Welt

Heidelberg ist nicht gleich Heidelberg Foto: Uwe Rau

Heidelberg ist nicht gleich Heidelberg

(10. August 2015) Yangon, Vilnius, Bogotá, Wellington, Kairo: Ein Jahr lang haben wir Post aus den spannendsten Ecken der Welt bekommen. Zum Abschluss unserer Reihe von Briefen in die „liebe Heimat“ verschlägt es uns nach – Heidelberg. Von Uwe Rau

Ich und der Dom Foto: Anna Maria Strauß

Ich und der Dom

(3. August 2015) Schauen oder knipsen? Im Zeitalter von Handykameras und Selfiesticks scheint auf Reisen immer öfter die Dokumentation des Erlebten wichtiger zu sein als das Erleben selbst. Feldbeobachtungen aus Riga. Von Anna Maria Strauß

Ein Anflug von Heimat

(27. Juli 2015) Was ist es, das einen Ort zur Heimat werden lässt – die Freunde, die Familie, die Vergangenheit, die Anzahl der dort verbrachten Jahre? Unsere Autorin Katja Kessing weiß es auch nicht. Aber sie spürt es.

Venedig auf Kanadisch Foto: Uwe Rau

Venedig auf Kanadisch

(13. Juli 2015) Die Sommerfrische ist nur 15 Minuten von Toronto entfernt. Wer die Metropole mit dem Schiff hinter sich lässt, findet sich schon bald in einer Melange aus bunten viktorianischen Häusern, uralten Trauerweiden, Stränden, Dünen und Wellenrauschen wieder. Was will man mehr? Von Uwe Rau

Please come thirsty! Foto: Bettina Senff

Please come thirsty!

(6. Juli 2015) Die Kaffeekultur ist in Deutschland um einiges älter als in Neuseeland. Was die Café-Kultur angeht, könnten deutsche Café-Betreiber trotzdem viel von ihren Kollegen am anderen Ende der Welt lernen. Von Bettina Senff

Ausgerechnet Irland!

(22. Juni 2015) Ende Mai durfte ich einem historischen Ereignis in Irland beiwohnen: dem Ja zur Homo-Ehe. Und Patti Smith lieferte den passenden Soundtrack dazu. Von Anne Klapperstück

Kongo unplugged Foto: Gitte Zschoch

Kongo unplugged

(15. Juni 2015) In Kinshasa fehlt es an fast allem – außer an Musik, Künstlern, Lust am Tanzen und guter Laune. Mit viel Einsatz halten die Menschen so eine lebendige Kulturszene am Leben. Zur Not verzichtet man halt mal aufs Schlagzeug. Eine Cola-Kiste tut es auch. Von Gitte Zschoch

Was kann der Sport, was die Kultur nicht kann? Foto: Garrett Ziegler

Was kann der Sport, was die Kultur nicht kann?

(8. Juni 2015) Weil sich in Amerika wieder mal alles um Fragen von race und ethnicity dreht, schaue ich aufmerksamer als sonst darauf, wo sich in New York Menschen verschiedener Herkünfte und Hautfarben zwanglos treffen. Interessantest wird es an der Ecke Malcolm X Boulevard/125. Straße. Von Christoph Bartmann

Im besten Sinne unter Niveau Foto: Anna Maria Strauß

Im besten Sinne unter Niveau

(1. Juni 2015) Wer den schwindenden Einzelhandel in den Innenstädten Europas beklagt, sollte nach Riga kommen. Hier blüht er. Bisweilen jedoch im Untergrund. Von Anna Maria Strauß

Fahren, fahren, fahren, am Nil entlang Foto: Johanna M. Keller

Fahren, fahren, fahren, am Nil entlang

(25. Mai 2015) Nachrichten lesen, einkaufen und nette Gespräche mit dem Fahrer des Nachbarautos führen: Autofahren in der ägyptischen Hauptstadt ist eine gemütliche Angelegenheit. Eine Fahrt durch Kairo, die „Mutter des Staus“. Von Johanna M. Keller

Moores Erbe Foto: Claude Marchand

Moores Erbe

(11. Mai 2015) Henry Moore war Engländer, aber seine private Sammlung hat er ausgerechnet der Art Gallery in Toronto vermacht. Ein überraschender Akt der Dankbarkeit. Von Uwe Rau

Nach Belieben Ihrer Majestät Foto: Stuart Yates

Nach Belieben Ihrer Majestät

(4. Mai 2015) Das Verfassen von Krimis ist eine ehrenwerte Profession. Doch eines sei allen jungen Menschen, die mit diesem Beruf liebäugeln, nachdrücklich ans Herz gelegt: Man muss keinen Mord begangen haben, um darüber zu schreiben. Von Bettina Senff

Schlittenfahrt mit Obama Foto: Sebastian Woitsch

Schlittenfahrt mit Obama

(27. April 2015) Neun Tage, 42 Hunde, minus 30 Grad. Das Vorhaben ist so einfach wie aufregend: Wir wollen den riesigen Khuvsgul-See umrunden – auf dem See. Von Sebastian Woitsch

Summer in the City Foto: Anne Klapperstück

Summer in the City

(20. April 2015) Die Bäumen blühen, das Licht strahlt, die Leute drehen durch: Es ist Sommer in Dublin. Nun ja, fast. Von Anne Klapperstück

Der Platz, der keiner ist Foto: Jacobia Dahm

Der Platz, der keiner ist

(6. April 2015) Aus gegebenem Anlass will ich heute etwas über New Yorker Straßentypen schreiben, oder genauer: über „Street“, „Avenue“ und andere Namen asphaltierter Pfade in Manhattan – besonders aber über einen ganz bestimmten „Place“. Von Christoph Bartmann

Echte Letten sammeln Pilze Foto: Norbert Strauß

Echte Letten sammeln Pilze

(30. März 2015) Wer in Lettland lebt, bekommt schnell mit: Lettisch-Sein setzt mehr voraus als einen Geburtsort innerhalb der Staatsgrenzen. Das bekommen nicht nur die sogenannten Nicht-Bürger aus Sowjetzeiten zu spüren. Von Anna Maria Strauß

Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst Foto: Johanna M. Keller

Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst

(23. März 2015) Geschichte, Lärm und Staub: Kairo muss man lieben oder hassen. Und wenn man die Stadt liebt, dann macht man vor allem eines besonders oft: wegsehen. Von Johanna M. Keller

Arten in Gefahr Foto: Katja Kessing

Arten in Gefahr

(16. März 2015) Kolumbien boomt. Das Land, das noch vor einigen Jahren vor allem für Gewalt und Terror stand, jagt von einem Superlativ zum nächsten. Doch in Sachen Umweltpolitik sind es negative Superlative. Von Katja Kessing

Der Berg ruft Foto: Sebastian Woitsch

Der Berg ruft

(9. März 2015) Heute will ich hoch hinaus. Mit anderen Wanderern möchte ich den Tschingelteij-Berg erklimmen. Minus 20 Grad? Halten uns nicht ab. Von Sebastian Woitsch

Solange die dicke Frau noch singt ... Foto: Michael Cooper

Solange die dicke Frau noch singt ...

(2. März 2015) Ich muss es in die Welt hinausschmettern: Die Canadian Opera Company ist grandios und dabei, sich zu einer der ersten Adressen in Sachen Oper zu entwickeln. Der Grund dafür sind nicht zuletzt zwei Männer aus Deutschland. Von Uwe Rau

Bronze für Neuseeland

(23. Februar 2015) Mitten im Botanischen Garten von Wellington steht auf einer Wiese die einzige Henry-Moore-Skulptur Neuseelands – das meiner Meinung nach schönste Kunstwerk der Stadt. Von Bettina Senff

Das Eismeer

(16. Februar 2015) Eine der vielen Überlebenstechniken, die man in Sibirien lernen muss, ist das sichere Gehen auf Schnee und Eis. Spätestens im Februar ist der Schnee förmlich in die Stadt hineingewachsen – mit riesenhaften Türmen, Mauern und Gebirgszügen. Von Stefanie Peter

„This is Ireland!“

(9. Februar 2015) Eines der besten Bücher, das jemals über Dublin geschrieben wurde, heißt In Schlucken – zwei – Spechte. Verstehen Sie, was das heißt? Ich auch nicht. Aber es klingt irgendwie lustig. Und so ist Dublin in seinen besten Momenten. Von Anne Klapperstück

Sanfter Ausnahmezustand

(2. Februar 2015) Ruhe bewahren! Nach Hause gehen! Zu Hause bleiben! Weitere Instruktionen abwarten! In New York war vergangene Woche Katastrophenstimmung. Ich habe mir das meteorologische Großereignis vom beheitzen Wohnzimmer aus angesehen. Von Christoph Bartmann

Helden hat das Land

(26. Januar 2015) Kolumbien hat seit dem vergangenen Sommer einen neuen Superstar. Schon jetzt wird er ehrfurchtsvoll mit der Popgöttin Shakira in einem Atemzug genannt. Sein Name: Rodríguez. James Rodríguez. Ja-mes! Von Katja Kessing

Mit frostigen Grüßen

(19. Januar 2015) Fünf Monate lang zeigen die Thermometer in der kältesten Hauptstadt der Welt Minusgrade an. Für so einige meiner Freunde eine Horrorvorstellung. In Wirklichkeit aber nur eine Frage der Gewohnheit – und der richtigen Daunenjacke. Von Sebastian Woitsch

Alte neue Welt

(12. Januar 2015) Alt ist relativ. Neu erst recht. Nach einem Kurzurlaub im guten alten England kommt mir Toronto bei der Rückkehr besonders neu vor. In keiner anderen Metropole wurde in den letzten Jahren so viel gebaut wie hier. Von Uwe Rau

Rote Weihnachten

(8. Januar 2015) Weihnachten und Schnee – das gehört für uns Deutsche einfach zusammen. Anders verhält es sich auf der südlichen Halbkugel. Ich erinnere mich an mein erstes Fest in Neuseeland: Wir hatten weiße Weihnachten – was für eine Enttäuschung! Von Bettina Senff

Brandenburger Tor Copyright: pa-picture alliance | A. Ehrlicher, B. Rehmann

Vergangenheit trifft Gegenwart

(28. September 2015) Vor 25 Jahren fand die jahrzehntelange Teilung Deutschlands ein Ende. Seither hat sich das Land verändert, vor allem in Berlin. Aber ist nun tatsächlich zusammengewachsen, was zusammengehört? Das Goethe-Institut erinnert mit einem Fotoprojekt an ein Stück deutsche Geschichte. Von Ula Brunner

Bronze für Neuseeland Foto: Bettina Senff

Bronze für Neuseeland

(23. Februar 2015) Mitten im Botanischen Garten von Wellington steht auf einer Wiese die einzige Henry-Moore-Skulptur Neuseelands – das meiner Meinung nach schönste Kunstwerk der Stadt. Von Bettina Senff

Top