Literature

Stand at Frankfurter Buchmesse Photo: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

The Goethe-Institut strengthens the dialogue and cooperation of international literary relations and contributes to disseminating German literature abroad. The Literature and Translation Promotion Division sees itself as a consultant and motivator for the Goethe-Instituts abroad as well as sponsors of literature presentation interested in international alliances.
 
The primary focus of the division’s work is on quality assurance, solidifying and expanding the partner network, coordinating major, cross-border projects as well as preparing and co-organising book fair appearances at home and aboard. In its work, the division is supported by a committee made up of stakeholders in the book trade and literature.

Literature Presentation

In its cooperation with diverse literary institutions and book trade establishments in Germany such as the Literature Houses, the Haus für Poesie, literary archives and museums, the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, the Frankfurt and Leipzig book fairs as well as various foundations (Robert Bosch Stiftung, S. Fischer Stiftung, Alfred Toepfer Stiftung, Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung and others), the Goethe-Institut takes an approach pursuing less commercial than aesthetic and foreign cultural policy aspects.
 
The various literature promoting measures and programmes abroad primarily include invitations to German authors, the organisation of book presentations, readings, panel discussions, writing and translating workshops, appearances at overseas book fairs and joint activities with the above partners. In this work, all facets and genres of literature are taken into consideration.
 
Yet even beyond holding events, the division is committed to helping strengthen local scenes through advanced publisher training courses or other programmes to stabilise or develop book market structures.
 
Parallel to the Leipzig Book Fair, the Literature and Translation Promotion Division also annually holds a one-week further training seminar on contemporary German literature and its presence at the Goethe-Instituts abroad. An additional further training seminar is held in Berlin to offer an overview of the current literary scene with a special focus on mediating formats.
 
A diversified website with theme-related dossiers and interactive pages enables rapid orientation about currents and trends in contemporary German literature.

www.goethe.de/literature

Translation Grants / Residency Programmes

The Goethe-Institut translation grants programme is the most long-standing and most extensive of its kind in the German language area. Since 1974 translations of over 5,000 books into 45 languages – from children’s books to philosophical treatises – have been supported.

The programme addresses publishing houses abroad, which are responsible for the choice of title and for hiring a suitable translator. Often, informative events held by the Goethe-Instituts abroad provide the decisive stimulus for a translation project. If approved, the Goethe-Institut reimburses the publisher a share of the translation costs following publication of the foreign language edition.

The Goethe-Instituts abroad are in close contact with the publishers. They receive the applications from the publishers and give their opinion on the translation projects. Decisions on grants are made by a committee that meets four times each year at the head office of the Goethe-Institut.

Each year, the Goethe-Institut receives about 500 applications for translation grants, of which approximately two-thirds can be considered. The programme focuses on current fiction and, increasingly, literature for children and teens. In addition, non-fiction and academic publications play a significant role.
www.goethe.de/translationgrants

Residency programmes for translators

Under the motto “Translating Books – Building Bridges,” the Goethe-Institut has been offering four working scholarships per year since 2008 for translators of literature from abroad. The programme’s cooperation partners are the Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S. and the Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, which makes its foundation residences at Gut Siggen (Schleswig-Holstein) and in Dresden-Hellerau available for living and working.

Qualified translators who have translated at least two longer works can concentrate on a current translation project from German-language fiction during a four to six-week stay. The scholarship pays €1,500 and includes costs of travel and board. If possible, the stays are enhanced by meetings with the authors or visits to publishers in the region. Applications should be addressed to the division.
www.goethe.de/uebersetzerstipendium

 

Litrix.de – German literature online

Litrix.de is a programme dedicated to making German-language literature more widely known, and encouraging and supporting its translation into other languages. Litrix.de was initiated in 2003 by the Federal Cultural Foundation (Kulturstiftung des Bundes) under the auspices of the Goethe-Institut and since 2009 has been an integral part of the Goethe-Institut’s Literature and Translation Promotion Division.

The trilingual website www.litrix.de serves as a global information portal showcasing current German-language books from the realms of fiction, non-fiction, and literature for children and young adults by means of reviews and substantial extracts, both in German and in translation. In addition, the website provides detailed information on the relevant authors and illustrators, and offers users the opportunity to make direct contact with publishers whose books are selected by Litrix.de’s specialist jury for inclusion in its Support Programme.

Litrix.de’s work is focused specifically on promoting its range of current titles, and it particularly addresses publishers, editors, translators and other key figures worldwide who are active in the field of cultural dialogue and who make or influence decisions about the translation of German-language books. To this end the website is published not only in German, but also in English as the lingua franca of cultural dialogue. The selected books are additionally presented in a third language based on the respective focus of the Litrix translation-funding programme.

Tailored to its worldwide programme of information, Litrix.de also offers its own funding programme, which supports the translation of each of the presented books in a specific language for several years. These funding programmes are determined according to cultural policy aspects and thus far were aimed at the Arabic world, China, Brazil, Argentina (Hispanic America) and Russia.
 
From 2015 until 2018 Litrix.de’s focus is on the Arabic world. This means that as well as providing information through its internet portal and supporting the translation of currently featured books into Arabic, Litrix.de also works closely with the various Goethe-Instituts in Arab countries to put on events aimed at actively stimulating interest in contemporary German-language literature.
 
In 2019 and 2020 Greek will be the new focus language of Litrix.de. Starting in 2019 the website will be published in German, English and Greek, and the Litrix translation-funding programme will address publishing houses in Greece and Cyprus.

Top

Literatur

Messestand Frankfurter Buchmesse Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Das Goethe-Institut stärkt den Dialog und die Zusammenarbeit der internationalen literarischen Beziehungen und leistet Beiträge zur Stärkung der Präsenz deutscher Literatur im Ausland. Der Fachbereich Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung versteht sich als Berater und Impulsgeber für die Goethe-Institute im Ausland und die an internationalen Kooperationen interessierten Träger der Literaturvermittlung.

Im Vordergrund der Arbeit des Fachbereichs stehen Qualitätssicherung, die Festigung und der Ausbau des Partnernetzes, die Koordinierung von großen, grenzüberschreitenden Projekten sowie die Vorbereitung und Ko-Organisation von Buchmessen-Auftritten im In- und Ausland. Hierbei wird der Fachbereich durch einen Beirat, der sich aus Akteurinnen und Akteuren des Literarturbetriebs zusammensetzt, unterstützt.

Literaturvermittlung

Bei seiner Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen literarischen Einrichtungen und Institutionen des Literaturbetriebs in Deutschland, wie den Literaturhäusern, dem Haus für Poesie, Literaturarchiven und -museen, dem Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, der Frankfurter und der Leipziger Buchmesse sowie diversen Stiftungen (Robert Bosch Stiftung, S. Fischer Stiftung, Alfred Toepfer Stiftung und andere) verfolgt das Goethe-Institut einen Ansatz, der weniger kommerziellen als vielmehr ästhetischen und außenkulturpolitischen Gesichtspunkten folgt.

Zu den verschiedenen Literaturförderungsmaßnahmen und -programmen im Ausland zählen vor allem Einladungen von deutschen Autorinnen und Autoren, die Organisation von Buchpräsentationen, Lesungen, Podiumsgesprächen, Schreib- und Übersetzerwerkstätten, die Präsenz auf ausländischen Buchmessen und gemeinsame Aktivitäten mit den oben genannten Partnern. Berücksichtigt werden dabei sämtliche Facetten und Sparten der Literatur.
Aber auch abseits von Veranstaltungen, engagiert sich der Fachbereich für die Stärkung lokaler Szenen, in Form von Verlegerfortbildungen oder  anderen Maßnahmen zur Stabilisierung oder Entwicklung von Buchmarktstrukturen.

Parallel zur Leipziger Buchmesse veranstaltet der Bereich Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung außerdem jährlich ein einwöchiges Fortbildungsseminar zur deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur und ihrer Präsenz an den Goethe-Instituten im Ausland. Ein weiteres Fortbildungsseminar findet in Berlin statt und bietet einen Überblick über die gegenwärtige Literaturszene mit besonderer Fokussierung auf Vermittlungsformaten.

Das breit gefächerte Online-Angebot mit Themendossiers und interaktiven Websites bietet einen vielseitigen Einblick in Strömungen und Tendenzen der deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur.

www.goethe.de/literatur

Übersetzungsförderung / Residenzprogramme

Die Übersetzungsförderung des Goethe-Instituts ist das am längsten bestehende und umfassendste Programm dieser Art im deutschen Sprachraum. Vom Kinderbuch bis zur philosophischen Abhandlung wurde seit 1974 die Übersetzung von über 5.000 Büchern in 45 Sprachen unterstützt.

Das Programm richtet sich an ausländische Verlage, die selbst für die Auswahl der Titel und die Verpflichtung eines geeigneten Übersetzers verantwortlich sind. Informationsveranstaltungen der Goethe-Institute im Ausland geben oftmals entscheidende Impulse für ein Übersetzungsvorhaben. Im Fall einer Bewilligung erstattet das Goethe-Institut dem Verlag nach Erscheinen der Fremdsprachenausgabe einen Anteil der Übersetzungskosten zurück.

Die Goethe-Institute im Ausland bilden die wichtigste Schnittstelle zu den Verlagen. Sie nehmen deren Bewerbungen entgegen und geben eine Stellungnahme zu den Übersetzungsprojekten ab. Über die Förderung entscheidet ein Ausschuss, der viermal jährlich in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts zusammentritt.

Pro Jahr erreichen das Goethe-Institut rund 500 Bewerbungen um Übersetzungsförderung, von denen rund zwei Drittel berücksichtigt werden können. Aktuelle Belletristik sowie in zunehmendem Maße auch Kinder- und Jugendliteratur bilden den Schwerpunkt der Förderung. Daneben spielen Sachbücher und wissenschaftliche Publikationen eine bedeutende Rolle.
www.goethe.de/uebersetzungsfoerderung

Residenzprogramm für Übersetzer

Unter dem Motto „Bücher übersetzen – Brücken schlagen“ bietet das Goethe-Institut seit 2008 jährlich vier Arbeitsstipendien für Literaturübersetzerinnen und -übersetzer aus dem Ausland an. Kooperationspartner sind die Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S. sowie die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, die ihre Stiftungshäuser auf Gut Siggen (Schleswig-Holstein) und in Dresden-Hellerau als Wohn- und Arbeitsorte zur Verfügung stellen.

Qualifizierte Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer, die mindestens zwei größere Werke übersetzt haben, können sich während des vier- bis sechswöchigen Aufenthalts einem aktuellen Übersetzungsprojekt aus dem Bereich der deutschsprachigen Belletristik widmen. Das Stipendium ist mit 1.500 Euro dotiert und beinhaltet die Übernahme der Reise- und Verpflegungskosten. Nach Möglichkeit runden Treffen mit den zu übersetzenden Autorinnen und Autoren oder Besuche bei Verlagen in der Region den Aufenthalt ab. Bewerbungen nimmt der Fachbereich entgegen.
www.goethe.de/uebersetzerstipendium
 

Litrix.de – Deutschsprachige Literatur online

Litrix.de ist ein Programm zur aktiven Vermittlung aktueller deutschsprachiger Literatur und zur Förderung ihrer Übersetzung. Litrix.de wurde 2003 von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes als Initiativprojekt in der Trägerschaft des Goethe-Instituts gegründet und ist seit 2009 integraler Bestandteil des Bereichs Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung des Goethe-Instituts.

Die dreisprachige Website www.litrix.de/ dient als weltweites Informationsportal, das aktuelle Titel aus den Bereichen Belletristik, Sachbuch sowie Kinder- und Jugendbuch mit ausführlichen Buchbesprechungen und aussagekräftigen Textauszügen bzw. Probeübersetzungen vorstellt. Außerdem stellt die Website alle wichtigen Informationen zu den präsentierten Autor/innen und Illustrator/innen bereit und bietet den Nutzern die Möglichkeit, direkt mit den deutschen Verlagen Kontakt aufzunehmen, deren Bücher von der Litrix.de-Fachjury in das Förderprogramm aufgenommen wurden.

Litrix.de arbeitet angebotsorientiert und wendet sich gezielt an diejenigen, die im internationalen Literaturaustausch die Weichen für die Übersetzung deutschsprachiger Bücher stellen: an Verleger/innen, Lektor/innen, Literaturvermittler/innen und Übersetzer/innen weltweit. Daher erscheint die Website außer auf Deutsch auch auf Englisch als lingua franca des internationalen Kulturaustauschs. Zusätzlich werden die ausgewählten Bücher noch in einer dritten Sprache vorgestellt, die sich aus der jeweiligen Schwerpunktsetzung des Litrix-Übersetzungsförderungsprogramms ergibt.

Zugeschnitten auf sein weltweites Informationsangebot bietet Litrix.de nämlich ein eigenes Förderprogramm an, das jeweils für mehrere Jahre die Übersetzung der vorgestellten Bücher in eine bestimmte Sprache unterstützt. Diese Förderschwerpunkte werden nach kulturpolitischen Gesichtspunkten festgelegt und waren bisher: die arabische Welt, China, Brasilien, Argentinien (Hispanoamerika) und Russland.

Von 2015 - 2018 steht die Arabische Welt im Fokus der Vermittlungsbemühungen von Litrix.de. Das bedeutet auch, dass begleitend zu den Informationen auf dem Webportal und zur Förderung der Übersetzung der aktuell vorgestellten Bücher ins Arabische in enger Kooperation mit den Goethe-Instituten in der Arabischen Welt Veranstaltungen durchgeführt werden, um die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur vor Ort aktiv ins Gespräch zu bringen.
 
2019/20 wird Griechisch die neue Schwerpunktsprache von Litrix.de sein, d.h. ab Anfang 2019 erscheint die Website auf Deutsch, Englisch und Griechisch, und das Litrix-Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm richtet sich dann an Verlage in Griechenland und auf Zypern.

Top