Sino-German Museum Conversations (2021–2022)

Sino-German Museum Conversations © Goethe-Institut China The Museum Conversations series between German and Chinese museums aims to establish a platform for discussion of topical issues relating to museum cooperation, with a focus on contemporary art, design and intercultural co-curation.

The project is geared towards young but established curators and museum staff who are interested in developing collaborative projects. The first meeting will be held online – due to current circumstances – on 26th – 28th May 2021, and will be attended by eleven museums from Germany and twelve from China.

Museum work in both countries is characterised by different environments, but also by different lines of tradition and reception histories. In an open-ended discussion format the institutions find out about each other’s work practices, as well as are looking at social and aesthetic questions. The project is explicitly intended as a long-term venture, with the hope of establishing a foundation based on substantive dialogue for joint projects ranging from specialist conferences and exchange visits to collaborative exhibitions.

 

Key words:
Dialogue, cooperation, future of museums

Further information:
Project page at Goethe-Institut China

Top

Deutsch-chinesische Museumsgespräche (2021–2022)

Deutsch-chinesische Museumsgespräche © Goethe-Institut China Mit den Museumsgesprächen zwischen deutschen und chinesischen Museen soll eine Plattform für den Austausch zu aktuellen Fragen der Museumszusammenarbeit mit den Schwerpunkten Gegenwartskunst, Design und interkultureller Ko-Kuration entstehen.

Das Projekt richtet sich an junge, aber bereits etablierte Kurator*innen und Museumsverantwortliche, die Interesse an der Entwicklung gemeinsamer Projekte haben. Vom 26. bis 28. Mai 2021 findet das erste Treffen mit elf Häusern aus Deutschland und zwölf Häusern aus China - entsprechend der aktuellen Umstände – in digitaler Form statt.

Die Museumsarbeit in beiden Länder ist geprägt durch unterschiedliche Rahmenbedingungen, aber auch durch ihre unterschiedlichen Traditionslinien und Rezeptionsgeschichten. In ergebnisoffenen Gesprächen lernen die Häuser ihre jeweilige Arbeitspraxis kennen und thematisieren gesellschaftliche und ästhetische Fragestellungen. Das Projekt ist explizit langfristig angelegt und möchte auf Basis einer inhaltlichen Auseinandersetzung die Grundlage für gemeinsame Projekte von Fachtreffen über Personalaustausch bis hin zu gemeinsamen Ausstellungen schaffen.

 

Schlagworte:
Austausch, Kooperation, Zukunft von Museen

Weitere Informationen:
Projektseite Goethe-Institut China

Top