Kenya: International Inventories Programme – artworks between worlds

Dennis Opudo, Head of the Anthropological Department of the Nairobi National Museum, in the Museum's Ethnographic Collection Dennis Opudo, Head of the Anthropological Department of the Nairobi National Museum, in the Museum's Ethnographic Collection | Photo (detail): Gioia Forster © picture alliance The “International Inventories Programme” (IIP) is an international research, database and exhibition project that focuses on Kenyan artefacts that have been held in museums and collections outside the country since colonial times.

This global inventory aims to research the number of Kenyan artefacts and the history of their acquisition, and make this information transparent.

In addition to the scientific recording of the artefacts, it is also a concern of how Kenyan cultural assets that are in the possession of cultural institutions in Europe and the USA can be made accessible in Kenya. Artists, museum professionals and researchers from the participating countries will collaborate to examine the “translocation” of significant objects from Kenya to Europe. The exhibition will explore which stories the objects tell and what meaning they have for the societies in Kenya and Europe.

The results of this artistic exploration process – the production of new artworks – will be exhibited in 2021 in the Kenyan National Museum, in the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum in Cologne, and in the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt a.M..

The exhibition project “Invisible Inventories” is sponsored by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

 

Key words:
Colonial heritage, restitution, dialogue, exhibition

Further information:
Project on the “Latitude” website

Partners:
National Museum of Kenya
Museum of World Cultures, Frankfurt/Main
Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum Cologne
SHIFT Collective, France/Germany
The Nest Collective, Nairobi
German Federal Cultural Foundation

Top

Kenia: International Inventories Programme – Kunstwerke zwischen Welten

Dennis Opudo, der Leiter der Anthropologischen Abteilung des Nairobi Nationalen Museums, in der ethnografischen Sammlung des Museums Dennis Opudo, der Leiter der Anthropologischen Abteilung des Nairobi Nationalen Museums, in der ethnografischen Sammlung des Museums | Foto (Detail): Gioia Forster © picture alliance Das internationale Forschungs-, Datenbank- und Ausstellungsprojekt „International Inventories Programme“ (IIP) erfasst kenianische Kunstwerke, die sich seit der Kolonialzeit in Museen und Sammlungen außerhalb Kenias befinden.

Diese globale Inventur soll den Umfang und die Erwerbsgeschichte kenianischer Objekte erforschen und transparent machen.
 
Neben der wissenschaftlichen Erfassung der Kunstwerke geht es auch um die Frage, wie kenianische Kulturgüter, die sich im Besitz von Kulturinstitutionen etwa in Europa und den USA befinden, auch in Kenia zugänglich gemacht werden können. Kunstschaffende, Museumsfachleute und Forscher*innen aus den beteiligten Ländern untersuchen gemeinsam die „Translokation“ bedeutender Objekte von Kenia nach Europa. Dabei wird sich damit auseinandergesetzt, welche Geschichten die Objekte erzählen und welche Bedeutung sie für die Gesellschaften in Kenia und Europa haben.

Die Ergebnisse dieser künstlerischen Auseinandersetzungen – neu produzierte Kunstwerke sowie die akademische Forschung – werden 2021 im Kenianischen Nationalmuseum, im Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum in Köln und im Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt a.M. ausgestellt.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt „Invisible Inventories“ wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

 

Schlagworte:
Koloniales Erbe, Restitution, Austausch, Ausstellung

Weitere Informationen:
Projekt auf der Webseite „Latitude“

Partner:
Nationalmuseum Kenia
Weltkulturen Museum Frankfurt/Main
Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum Köln
SHIFT Collective, Frankreich/Deutschland
The Nest Collective, Nairobi
Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Top