digital competence Which digital competences do educators require today?

One thing is certain: we live in a world in which digital media play a major role. We communicate, obtain information, shop and play on the Internet and via social media. Digital media are indispensable in the working world, but their use in schools is still a matter of some controversy.
The German government has just decided to invest heavily in digital media in schools. This makes the question of how educators should approach this topic in future all the more pressing.

DIGITAL PACT FOR SCHOOLS

Thanks to the five billion euro “Digital Pact for Schools” launched by the German parliament, schools in Germany will soon be better equipped with technology. Classrooms are to be provided with WiFi, new laptops and smartboards. Online platforms will foster “collaborative learning”.
However, as the Federal Ministry of Education and Research is well aware: “No medium alone makes for good education.” So once again it will be up to educators, who “will [have to] be well qualified to use digital media and teach digital competences.” [https://www.bmbf.de/de/wissenswertes-zum-digitalpakt-schule-6496.html]
If you enter the term “digital competence educators” in a search engine such as Google, you will be shown between 750,000 and 2.8 million results. So where should we begin?

EUROPEAN FRAMEWORK FOR THE DIGITAL COMPETENCE OF EDUCATORs

In 2017, the European Commission published the “European Framework for the Digital Competence of Educators” (DigCompEdu). Previously available only in English, it has now been translated into German by the Goethe-Institut.
Digitalkompetenz © European Union 2017 The Landesmedienzentrum Baden-Württemberg (the media centre of the state of Baden-Württemberg, or LMZ for short) describes the objectives of DigCompEdu as follows:
 
“The European Framework for the Digital Competence of Educators aims to ensure that educators are able to assess their level of digital competence and thus identify their personal need for further training. In addition, it provides information about the digital competences that need to be passed on to the citizens of tomorrow. (…) It should go without saying that educators must also adapt to new circumstances in a world that is becoming increasingly digital. However, most of the competences to be acquired do not merely involve learning a new methodology; they actually challenge the traditional role of the educator itself. For no small number of educators this poses an initial obstacle that they will need to overcome. Only once they have overcome this hurdle and are curious to learn and willing to embrace something new can the learning process begin. To reach this stage, it is essential for educators to realise that it is contemporary education for the next generation and the future of society that are at stake, and that one cannot resist this change in society.”

LMZ
 

Educators are therefore called upon to assess and build upon their digital competences.
 

 THE AREAS OF COMPETENCE DEFINED BY DIGCOMPEDU

DigCompEdu distinguishes between three areas of digital competence for teachers:
  • educators’ professional competences
  • educators’ pedagogic competences
  • learners’ competences.
DigCompEdu Kompetenzrahmen © European Union 2017 The DigCompEdu self-assessment matrix is designed to enable educators to assess their degree of competence and better identify those areas in which they should further develop their competences.

The DigCompEdu self-assessment matrix 
Digitale Kompetenzen im Überblick/Ausschnitt © European Union 2017 To facilitate the self-assessment process, motivating role descriptors are proposed for the six different competence levels; these are based on the six proficiency levels (A1/A2/B1/B2/C1/C2) of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (GER):

Newcomers (A1) have had very little contact with digital tools and need guidance to expand their repertoire.

Explorers (A2) have started using digital tools without, however, following a comprehensive or consistent approach. Explorers need insight and inspiration to expand their competences.

Integrators (B1) use and experiment with digital tools for a range of purposes, trying to understand which digital strategies work best in which contexts.

Experts (B2) use a range of digital tools confidently, creatively and critically to enhance their professional activities. They continuously expand their repertoire of practices.

Leaders (C1) rely on a broad repertoire of flexible, comprehensive and effective digital strategies. They are a source of inspiration for others.

Pioneers (C2) question the adequacy of contemporary digital and pedagogical practices, of which they themselves are experts. They lead innovation and are a role model for younger teacher
 

SELF-ASSESSMENT TOOLS

The DigCompEdu Quick Check, of which only an older version is available to date in German, can be used to undertake a rapid self-assessment. A more up-to-date version is currently being prepared. 

SELFIE - Tool für Schulen © European Union 2017 For schools and other institutions, a tool has just been made available that allows the use of digital technologies in the classroom and for teaching purposes to be analysed: SELFIE = Self-reflection on Effective Learning by Fostering the use of Innovative Educational Technologies.
SELFIE is a free, user-friendly and adaptable tool that helps schools assess their current level in terms of learning in the digital age. SELFIE gathers – anonymously – the views of students, teachers and school leaders on how technology is used in their school.
 

SERVICES FOR GFL TEACHERS AT SCHOOLS ABROAD

How does the Goethe-Institut promote the digital competences of teachers of German abroad? Two examples:
 
DIP IN SOE
DIP in SOE © Goethe-Institut From 2015 to 2017, the project promoted media-supported learning and teaching at schools in the Southeast Europe (SEE) region. In line with the motto of "digital-intercultural-project-oriented (DIP)", competence and further training centres were established during these three years in Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Greece, Croatia, Romania and Serbia. At the centres, trained teachers (GFL and media disseminators) support and train their colleagues in the area of multimedia teaching. The project’s goal was to introduce a media-supported teaching model at a total of twelve pilot schools.
More detailed information about the results of the project can be found here: [http://www.goethe.de/ins/hr/prj/mll/deindex.htm]
 
EDDU
Projekt EDDU Thailand © Goethe-Institut “Erfolgreich digital Deutsch unterrichten” (i.e. Successfully teaching German digitally) – The EDDU project in the Southeast Asia region presents lesson ideas for how teachers can easily and successfully use digital media in their lessons. Teachers can find lessons that match their school’s level of technical equipment, and are provided with all the materials that they will need. EDDU offers teachers concrete lesson ideas that incorporate chat apps, social media, videos, photos and other digital tools relating to the subjects that come up in their textbooks and that interest their students. More detailed information can be found here.

Digitale Kompetenz Welche digitalen Kompetenzen brauchen Lehrkräfte heute?

Digitale Kompetenz der Lehrerkraft
© adobe.stock

Sicher ist, dass wir alle in einer Welt leben, in der digitale Medien eine große Rolle spielen. Wir kommunizieren, wir informieren uns, wir konsumieren und wir vergnügen uns im Internet und via soziale Medien. In der Arbeitswelt sind die digitalen Medien ein Muss, in der Schule wird ihr Einsatz aber immer noch kontrovers diskutiert.
 

Die deutsche Politik hat gerade große Investitionen in den Bereich der digitalen Medien an Schulen beschlossen. Umso dringlicher stellt sich daher die Frage, wie Lehrkräfte in Zukunft mit diesem Thema umgehen sollen.

DIGITALPAKT SCHULE

Durch den vom Bundestag verabschiedeten DigitalPakt Schule mit einem Budget von 5 Milliarden Euro werden die Schulen in Deutschland bald technisch besser ausgerüstet. Die Klassen sollen mit WLAN, neuen Laptops und interaktiven Tafeln ausgestattet werden. Über Online-Plattformen soll „kollaboratives Lernen“ gefördert werden.

Aber auch das Bundesbildungsministerium weiß: „Kein Medium alleine erzeugt gute Bildung.“ Hier kommt es also wieder auf die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer an, die „gut qualifiziert sein [müssen], um digitale Medien nutzen und digitale Kompetenzen vermitteln zu können." 

Wenn Sie den Begriff „Digitale Kompetenz Lehrkräfte“ in eine Suchmaschine wie z.B. Google eingeben, erhalten Sie zwischen 750.000  bis 2.8 Millionen vorgeschlagene Seiten angezeigt. Woran können wir uns also orientieren?
 

EUROPÄISCHER RAHMEN FÜR DIE DIGITALE KOMPETENZ LEHRENDER

Die Europäische Kommission hat 2017 den „Europäischen Rahmen für die digitale Kompetenz Lehrender“ (DigCompEdu) veröffentlicht. Er liegt bislang auf Englisch vor und wurde nun vom Goethe-Institut ins Deutsche übersetzt. Digitalkompetenz © European Union 2017 Das Landesmedienzentrum Baden-Württemberg (LMZ) beschreibt die Ziele des DigCompEdu wie folgt:
 

„Der digitale europäische Kompetenzrahmen für Lehrkräfte soll dazu dienen, dass Lehrende ihren Kompetenzstand im digitalen Bereich ermitteln und so ihren persönlichen Weiterbildungsbedarf ermitteln können. Außerdem gibt er darüber Aufschluss, welche digitalen Kompetenzen an die Bürger von Morgen weitergegeben werden müssen. (…) Dass sich auch Lehrkräfte in einer immer digitaler werdenden Welt an die neuen Gegebenheiten anpassen müssen, sollte selbstverständlich sein. Doch handelt es sich bei den meisten der zu erwerbenden Kompetenzen nicht nur um eine neue Methodik, sondern auch das traditionelle Lehrerbild selbst wird dadurch durchaus in Frage gestellt. Dies stellt für nicht wenige Lehrkräfte eine erste Hürde dar, die es zu überwinden gilt. Erst wenn sie überwunden ist und Neugier auf das Neue und eine Bereitschaft, sich darauf einzulassen, vorhanden ist, kann der Lernprozess beginnen. Um dieses Stadium zu erreichen ist es zwingend notwendig, dass man sich der Tatsache bewusst wird, dass es um eine zeitgemäße Bildung für die nächste Generation und die Zukunft der Gesellschaft geht und man sich der Veränderung der Gesellschaft nicht verweigern kann.“

LMZ
 

Lehrkräfte sind also gefordert, ihre digitalen Kompetenzen einzuschätzen und aufzubauen.
 
 

DIE KOMPETENZBEREICHE DES DIGCOMPEDU

Der DigCompEdu unterscheidet drei Kompetenzbereiche für Lehrkräfte im digitalen Bereich:
  • die berufliche Kompetenz der Lehrenden
  • die pädagogische Kompetenz der Lehrenden
  • die Kompetenzen der Lernenden.

DigCompEdu Kompetenzrahmen © European Union 2017 Die DigCompEdu Matrix zur Selbsteinschätzung soll es Lehrenden ermöglichen, ihren Kompetenzstand zu ermitteln und besser zu verstehen, in welchen Bereichen sie ihre Kompetenz weiter entwickeln sollten.

 Digitalkompetenz im Überblick
Digitale Kompetenzen im Überblick/Ausschnitt © European Union 2017


Um die Selbsteinschätzung zu erleichtern werden für die sechs unterschiedlichen Kompetenzniveaus motivierende Rollenbeschreibungen vorgeschlagen, die sich an den sechs Stufen (A1/A2/B1/B2/C1/C2) des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) orientieren:
 
Einsteigerinnen und Einsteiger (A1) hatten bisher nur sehr wenig Kontakt mit digitalen Medien und brauchen Hilfe, um ein Repertoire an digitalen Strategien aufzubauen.

Entdeckerinnen und Entdecker (A2) haben digitale Medien für sich entdeckt und angefangen diese in ihrem beruflichen Umfeld einzusetzen, ohne jedoch einen umfassenden oder konsistenten Ansatz zu verfolgen.

Insiderinnen und Insider (B1) setzen digitale Medien in verschiedenen Kontexten und zu unterschiedlichen Zwecken ein. Sie entwickeln ihre digitalen Strategien stetig weiter, um besser auf unterschiedliche Situationen eingehen zu können.

Expertinnen und Experten (B2) nutzen eine Vielfalt digitaler Medien kompetent, kreativ und kritisch. Sie erweitern kontinuierlich ihr Repertoire an digitalen Praktiken.

Leaderinnen und Leader (C1) haben ein breites Repertoire an flexiblen, umfassenden und effektiven digitalen Strategien. Sie sind eine Quelle der Inspiration für andere.

Vorreiterinnen und Vorreiter (C2) stellen – als Experten auf dem Gebiet – die Angemessenheit üblicher digitaler und didaktischer Praktiken in Frage. Sie entwickeln neue und innovative digitale Lehrstrategien und sind ein Vorbild für andere Lehrende.
 

INSTRUMENTE ZUR SELBSTEINSCHÄTZUNG

Zur schnellen Selbsteinschätzung gibt es einen Selbsttest, den DigCompEdu Quick Check, der bislang nur in einer älteren Version auf Deutsch vorliegt. Eine aktuellere Version befindet sich gerade in der Fertigstellung.

SELFIE - Tool für Schulen © European Union 2017 Für Schulen und andere Institutionen steht seit Neuestem ein Tool zur Verfügung, das die Nutzung der digitalen Technologien im Unterricht und zu Lernzwecken analysieren kann: SELFIE = Self-reflection on Effective Learning by Fostering the use of Innovative Educational Technologies / Selbsteinschätzung des effektiven Lernens durch die Förderung der Verwendung von innovativen Bildungstechnologien.

SELFIE ist ein kostenloses, benutzerfreundliches und anpassbares Tool, um Schulen zu helfen, ihren aktuellen Stand beim Lernen im digitalen Zeitalter einzuschätzen. SELFIE sammelt – anonym – die Ansichten von Schülerinnen und Schülern, Lehrerinnen und Lehrern und Schulleitungen über die Art und Weise, wie Technologien an ihrer Schule eingesetzt werden.
 

ANGEBOTE FÜR DAF-LEHRKRÄFTE AN SCHULEN IM AUSLAND

Wie fördert das Goethe-Institut die digitalen Kompetenzen der Deutschlehrkräfte im Ausland? Zwei Beispiele:
 
DIP IN SOE

DIP in SOE © Goethe-Institut
Das Projekt förderte im Zeitraum von 2015 bis 2017 mediengestütztes Lernen und Lehren an Schulen in der Region Südosteuropa (SOE). Unter dem Motto "digital-interkulturell-projektorientiert (DIP)" entstanden innerhalb dieser drei Jahre in den Ländern Bulgarien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Griechenland, Kroatien, Rumänien und Serbien Kompetenz- und Fortbildungszentren, an denen ausgebildete Lehrkräfte (DaF- und Medien-Multiplikator(inn)en) ihre Kolleg(inn)en im Bereich des multimedialen Unterrichts unterstützen und fortbilden. Das Ziel des Projekts war die Einführung eines mediengestützten Unterrichtsmodells an insgesamt 12 Pilotschulen.
Nähere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen des Projekts finden Sie hier.
 
EDDU

Projekt EDDU Thailand © Goethe-Institut „Erfolgreich digital Deutsch unterrichten“ - Das Projekt EDDU der Region Südostasien (SAN) stellt Unterrichtsideen vor, wie Lehrkräfte digitale Medien in ihrem Unterricht einfach und erfolgreich einsetzen können, und zwar passend zu den technischen Voraussetzungen an ihren Schulen und mit allen Materialen, die sie brauchen. Bei EDDU finden Lehrkräfte konkrete Unterrichtsideen zum Einsatz von Chat-Apps, sozialen Medien, Videos, Fotos und anderen digitalen Tools zu den Themen, die in ihrem Lehrwerk vorkommen und die ihre Schüler und Schülerinnen interessieren.
Projekt EDDU © Goethe-Institut
Nähere Informationen zu EDDU finden Sie hier.