International German Olympiad Fun Language Competition

Participants of the IDO in Frankfurt am Main.
Participants of the IDO in Frankfurt am Main. | © Goethe-Institut / V. Badiu

From 3 to 16 August 2014, the International German Olympiad (IDO) brought around one hundred pupils from 48 countries together in Frankfurt am Main. It was not only their language skills that were the focus, however.

Around the world, 12.8 million young people are learning German at secondary schools. This year, the best of them were invited to take part in the Goethe-Institut’s International German Olympiad (IDO) – the biggest German language competition, and one that has been staged every two years since 2000. National preliminary rounds determine who goes through to the competition proper, each country being allowed to send two winners born between 1995 and 2000. As a result, 95 young Olympians were selected from 48 countries and all the world’s continents – from Afghanistan and Brazil to China. Vietnam and India were also represented, both of them countries “where German is enjoying a particular boom just now”, according to IDO project leader and juror Bernd Schneider. For the first time, Iran also sent a candidate.

It’s the taking part that counts

“It’s the taking part in an Olympiad that counts”, stressed Goethe-Institut secretary general Johannes Ebert when welcoming the competitors to Frankfurt am Main, going on to say that one key focus of the IDO – apart from enjoying the competitive element – is also on the idea of intercultural exchange. “We get young people together from all over the world who are united by their enthusiasm for the German language”, agrees Bernd Schneider. The youngsters are not only supposed to compete against one another, but above all with one another. “That’s why two disciplines see them working together in international teams”.
German Olympiad competitors are classified according to the language levels A2, B2 and C1. “School systems differ hugely around the world”, explains the project leader, “so the level that can be reached varies accordingly from country to country.” At their respective levels, the students of German are put to the test in three disciplines: their tasks include compiling a wall newspaper, giving a presentation and taking part in a quiz.

Competing in three disciplines

At the IDO 2014, the wall newspaper was supposed to convey above all the young visitors’ personal impressions of the city of Frankfurt, mostly using photographs, songs or poems. The presentation involved international teams reflecting upon topics such as money or the environment and nature – in the form of a PowerPoint presentation, a theatre play or an interview. Last but not least, the quiz section saw participants listening to a story and then recounting it to the illustrator Reinhard Michl, who then prepared an illustrated version of their narrative.

Scores were given not only for language proficiency but also for intercultural skills. For instance, Anahita Hosseini from Iran – who won the bronze medal in the A2 language level group – was awarded the Fairness Prize by the international jury for her willingness to help and her ability to work in a team.

Tongue-twisters and Danube steamer captains

International German Olympiad 2014 – national preliminary round in Romania

Project leader Bernd Schneider was particularly pleased by the fact that “German was actually the only language spoken throughout the IDO; even amongst themselves the students did not switch to English”.
For most of the young people, this was the first time they had visited the country whose language they are learning. “There are hardly any trees in Bangkok; it’s much greener in Germany”, enthused 18-year-olde Puyisa Sangprechardt from Thailand, winner of the gold medal in the A2 category. “The German mentality is unusually open”, noted Erik Kovalik, also 18, from the Czech Republic. He praised above all the opportunities for exchange: “It’s really interesting to be able to chat to learners of German from Asia or Africa”. The IDO also gave the young Olympians the chance to compare notes on what makes the German language particularly tricky or useful. According to 15-year-old Hayiningbudi Sadswati from Indonesia, for example, “‘Entschuldigung’ is a difficult word”, while the favourite word of 17-year-old Andrew Thompson from New Zealand is “Donaudampfschifffahrtskapitän” – meaning the captain of a steamer ship on the river Danube.

Exchange between teachers

It is not only the students who profit from the IDO – the teachers who accompany them from their respective countries of origin do too. As part of the IDO supporting programme, they were offered an intercultural seminar. Praising the event, Lahbabi Mohammed-Yassir, a German teacher from Fes in Morocco, said: “The seminar gives us an opportunity to share our experiences, for example in terms of our different teaching methods”. As his Indonesian colleague Anisah Shoumi emphasized: “It is by encountering other cultures that we become acquainted with our own”.
Many of the teachers were already interested in German as youngsters themselves, like Philippa Watson from Wellington in New Zealand: “I had the choice between German and French. A young and enthusiastic teacher motivated me to take German.” As a result, Philippa spent four years studying the violin in Düsseldorf.

Ready for the future

“Many of our participants later want to study in Germany”, says Bernd Schneider, explaining that the IDO gives rise to networks for the future. Furthermore, IDO alumni can keep in contact with one another via “Deutsch für dich”, the Goethe-Institut’s community website. “The Olympiad was one of the reasons why I decided to study in Frankfurt”, reported Brigitte Horvathova from the Czech Republic, who took part in the 2012 IDO. Incidentally, the dates of the next German Olympiad have already been fixed – it will be taking place in Berlin from 17 to 30 July 2016.

Internationale Deutscholympiade Sprachwettkampf mit Spaß

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der IDO in Frankfurt am Main.
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der IDO in Frankfurt am Main. | © Goethe-Institut / V. Badiu

Die Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) hat vom 3. bis 16. August 2014 rund hundert Schülerinnen und Schüler aus 48 Ländern in Frankfurt am Main zusammengeführt. Doch nicht alleine die Sprachkompetenz stand im Mittelpunkt.

Weltweit lernen 12,8 Millionen junge Menschen Deutsch an Gymnasien. Die besten von ihnen waren in diesem Jahren dazu aufgerufen, sich an der Internationalen Deutscholympiade (IDO) des Goethe-Instituts zu beteiligen – dem größten Wettbewerb zur deutschen Sprache, der seit 2000 alle zwei Jahre stattfindet. Ermittelt wurden die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer in nationalen Vorentscheiden. Jedes Land durfte zwei Gewinner aus den Geburtsjahrgängen 1995 bis 2000 entsenden. Ausgewählt wurden auf diesem Weg 95 junge Olympioniken aus 48 Ländern aller Kontinente – von Afghanistan über Brasilien bis China. Vertreten waren auch Vietnam und Indien, „wo Deutsch derzeit besonders boomt“, so der IDO-Projektleiter und Juror Bernd Schneider. Erstmals entsendete zudem der Iran eine Teilnehmerin.

Dabeisein ist alles

„Bei einer Olympiade ist Dabeisein alles“, betonte Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, bei der Begrüßung der Teilnehmenden in Frankfurt am Main. Im Zentrum der IDO stehe neben der Freude am Wettbewerb schließlich der Gedanke der interkulturellen Begegnung. „Wir versammeln junge Menschen aus der ganzen Welt, die ihre Begeisterung für die deutsche Sprache eint“, sagt auch Bernd Schneider. Die Jugendlichen sollten nicht nur gegeneinander, sondern vor allem miteinander kämpfen. „Deswegen arbeiten sie bei zwei Disziplinen in internationalen Teams zusammen“.
Unterteilt werden die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Deutscholympiade dabei nach den Sprachniveaus A2, B2 und C1. „Die Schulsysteme sind weltweit sehr verschieden“, so der Projektleiter, „welche Stufe man erreichen kann, variiert entsprechend von Land zu Land.“ Die Deutschlernenden der verschiedenen Niveaus messen sich jeweils in drei Disziplinen. Dazu zählen das Erstellen einer Wandzeitung, eine Präsentation sowie ein Quiz.

Wettkampf in drei Disziplinen

Bei der IDO 2014 sollte die Wandzeitung vor allem die persönlichen Eindrücke der jungen Gäste von der Stadt Frankfurt vermitteln, zumeist über Fotografien, Lieder oder Gedichte. Bei der Präsentation wurden von international gemischten Teams Themen wie Geld oder Umwelt und Natur reflektiert – etwa in Form eines Powerpoint-Vortrags, Theaterstücks oder Interviews. Beim Quiz schließlich schilderten die Teilnehmenden eine zuvor gehörte Geschichte dem Zeichner Reinhard Michl, der danach eine Illustration fertigte.

Bewertet wurde neben den sprachlichen Fähigkeiten dabei auch die interkulturelle Kompetenz. So erhielt die iranische Teilnehmerin Anahita Hosseini – Gewinnerin der Bronzemedaille in der Sprachniveaugruppe A2 – von der internationalen Jury den Fairness-Preis für ihre Hilfsbereitschaft und Teamfähigkeit.

Zungenbrecher und Donaudampfschiffer

Internationale Deutscholympiade 2014 – nationale Vorrunde Rumänien

Besonders erfreut zeigte sich Projektleiter Schneider darüber, dass „während der gesamten IDO tatsächlich nur Deutsch gesprochen wurde, die Schülerinnen und Schüler sind auch untereinander nicht ins Englische gewechselt“.
Für die meisten jungen Menschen war es der erste Besuch in dem Land, dessen Sprache sie erlernen. „In Bangkok gibt es fast keine Bäume, in Deutschland ist es viel grüner“, begeisterte sich die 18-jährige Puyisa Sangprechardt aus Thailand, Goldmedaillengewinnerin in der Stufe A2. „Die deutsche Mentalität ist ungewöhnlich offen“, stellte der gleichaltrige Erik Kovalik aus Tschechien fest, der vor allem die Möglichkeiten des Austauschs lobte: „Sich mit Deutschlernenden aus Asien oder Afrika unterhalten zu können, ist super interessant“. Dabei bot die IDO den jungen Olympioniken auch Gelegenheit, Tücken und Vorzüge der deutschen Sprache zu vergleichen. „‚Entschuldigung‘ ist ein schwieriges Wort“, fand etwa der 15-jährige Hayiningbudi Sadswati aus Indonesien. Für den 17-jährigen Andrew Thompson aus Neuseeland ist dagegen „Donaudampfschifffahrtskapitän“ das erklärte Lieblingswort.

Austausch der Lehrer

Nicht nur die Schülerinnen und Schüler sondern auch die begleitenden Lehrkräfte aus den jeweiligen Herkunftsländern profitieren von der IDO. Für sie wurde im Rahmenprogramm ein interkulturelles Seminar angeboten. Lahbabi Mohammed-Yassir, Deutschlehrer im marokkanischen Fes, lobte: „Das Seminar gibt uns die Gelegenheit zum Erfahrungsaustausch, zum Beispiel über unsere verschiedenen Unterrichtsmethoden“. Sein indonesischer Kollege Anisah Shoumi betonte: „Durch die Begegnung mit anderen Kulturen lernen wir die eigene Kultur kennen“.
Viele der Lehrerinnen und Lehrer interessierten sich selbst bereits als Jugendliche für die deutsche Sprache. So etwa Philippa Watson aus dem neuseeländischen Wellington: „Ich hatte die Wahl zwischen Deutsch und Französisch. Eine junge, engagierte Lehrerin hat mich für Deutsch motiviert.“ Watson studierte in der Folge vier Jahre lang Violine in Düsseldorf.

Bereit für die Zukunft

„Viele unserer Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer haben den Wunsch, später in Deutschland zu studieren“, so Projektleiter Schneider. Über die IDO entstünden Netzwerke für die Zukunft. Zudem könnten die IDO-Alumni auf „Deutsch für dich“, der Community-Website des Goethe-Instituts untereinander Kontakt halten. „Die Olympiade hat dazu beigetragen, dass ich mich für einen Studienplatz in Frankfurt entschieden habe“, berichtete die Tschechin Brigitte Horvathova, Teilnehmerin der IDO 2012. Der Termin für die kommende Deutscholympiade steht derweil schon fest. Sie wird vom 17. bis 30. Juli 2016 in Berlin stattfinden.