Tablets in GFL lessons The digital classroom

Learners can use tablets to collaborate on their own multimedia projects.
Learners can use tablets to collaborate on their own multimedia projects. | © Igor Mojzes/Fotolia.com

Research findings show that the use of tablets in GFL lessons is just as beneficial to the motivation of students as collaborative and project-based work. There is particular potential in the areas of speaking and listening – as long as the tablets are used correctly.

Portability, apps, microphones and integrated cameras: the technical benefits that some tablets offer compared with standard PCs are being recognised by more and more schools and other educational establishments. The trailblazer in Germany is the Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule (KAS), a grammar school in Cologne where tablets have been successfully used in class by André J. Spang, a music and theology teacher, since 2011. In Lower Saxony the use of tablets in lessons is being tested and evaluated at a total of 24 schools in a project entitled Mobile Learning with Tablet Computers, which runs until the end of the 2015 school year.

In the winter semester 2012/2013, the use of tablets in GFL lessons at the Goethe-Institut was put to the test for the first time as well, as part of a pilot project called Tablet-Klasse, which ran in Dublin, London and Amsterdam. The Institutes were each issued with one set of ten devices for a class. The pilot phase was scientifically evaluated. The result was extremely positive, and because of this tablets have been bought at more and more Goethe-Institutes since.

BECOMING MORE ACTIVE AND MOBILE

The benefits of tablets for cooperative work and students’ independent activity in GFL lessons are clear: with these devices, learners can work together on projects to develop their own multimedia products, which can then be presented to the rest of the group and discussed. At the same time the teacher takes a step back in his or her role, becoming a “coach” who supports the project, offers feedback or structures the discussion in class – and also encourages the students to persevere (Spang 2013:11). Working with QR codes means that material on the internet can easily be made accessible. Course participants do not have to spend a long time finding and entering complicated URLs. Furthermore, tablets promote mobility inside and outside the classroom. For instance the students can also use the devices away from the classroom for projects such as photo reportages.

IMPROVED LISTENING

Tablets in GFL lessons offer added educational value, especially where speaking and listening are concerned: tablets can be used to allow students to listen to and view audio clips or short films from the internet that are appropriate for their level and suit their individual learning speed – with the help of a splitter that allows two sets of headphones to be connected for two learners at the same time. The students must then agree on how many times they want to listen to each recording – or maybe even particularly difficult passages. Listening to audio clips at the student’s learning rate with tablets. Listening to audio clips at the student’s learning rate with tablets. | © DragonImages/Fotolia.com

In the Tablet-Klasse project run by the Goethe-Institut, for instance, it was apparent that learners were more aware of their speech and accent in German, because they were correcting both of these in a playful way during the process of recording and listening. It was also easier for students to reflect on their language skills. In the listening comprehension category, evaluation of research findings so far showed a significantly greater increase in learning when tablets are used compared with a purely “analogue” lesson style.

And André J. Spang from the Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule in Cologne also suggests that “in modern foreign languages […] apps can be used effectively to practise, record, evaluate, improve and share speech using the simplest of means” (2013: 12).

DIGITAL – AND ANALOGUE!

Admittedly the assumption that tablets can be used in lessons for all areas and as an exclusive medium is not correct. The lack of keyboard poses particular problems for many learners (and teachers). As a result the trend – in the USA for instance – is shifting towards so-called Chromebooks, which have a keyboard to make writing and researching easier, and with which learning software can be loaded far more quickly from the “Cloud” compared with laptops (cf. Murphy 2014).

To enable tablets to be used practically in GFL teaching, their function should be dovetailed with traditional methods as part of a “blended learning” approach. Consequently it is possible to go for “an ‘as-well’ instead of an ‘either-or’ when it comes to the integration of mobile user devices into lessons” (Mayrberger 2013:5). The successful Trinity College iPad Program in Australia showed a similar outcome: here, tablets are specifically not used as a replacement for a PC, but are explicitly designated as a tool with which to improve traditional teaching (cf. Aufenanger 2013:54f.).

Within the Goethe-Institut project Tablet-Klasse care was also taken that tablet-based work was linked up with work using the textbook and the other lesson content. Neither learners nor teachers should feel that they have to keep switching between two types of teaching – “digital” and “analogue”. For example the audio files that accompany the textbook were made available on the tablets so that the potential of the devices described above could be exploited during listening comprehension exercises.

SUCCESSFUL LEARNING – THROUGH SUCCESSFUL TEACHING

It is important that teaching staff receive in-depth training and an introduction to the devices if tablets are to be used successfully in GFL. But experience in the Tablet-Klasse project has shown that operating the tablets is always easily and intuitively learnt, even by people with less experience of technology. “It didn’t really take long for me to notice that the iPad gives me much more freedom in class.” This is how Frank Wittig, GFL teacher at the Goethe-Institut Dublin, summarises his experiences. “It was a great relief to me because I found the tablet very simple to use, even as a beginner.”

Embedded Code

Brief documentation on the use of tablets in foreign language lessons. Pilot project at the Goethe-Institutes in Amsterdam, Dublin and London.

 

 

Background

In the Autumn semester 2012/2013, Kathrin Hahn piloted the use of iPads in GFL lessons in six Level B1.1 classes at the Goethe-Institutes in Dublin, London and Amsterdam as part of a dissertation project, and used language tests, lesson observations and questionnaires to evaluate the project scientifically. In order to identify the potential of the iPads in foreign language lessons, as well as to identify stumbling blocks, three iPad classes were compared with three “analogue” classes throughout the whole  semester. All materials used in the project had been developed in advance based on the textbooks used in each case.

 

Literature

Aufenanger, Stefan: „Internationale Projekte mit Tablets in Schulen.“ Computer und Unterricht 89/2013, 54-55.

Greb, Thorsten: „Projekt „Mobiles Lernen mit Tablet-Computern“ startet in den Regelbetrieb“. Magazin Digital Lernen. Das Online-Magazin zu digitalen Medien in Bildungseinrichtungen, 2012.

Ifenthaler, Dirk; Schweinbenz, Volker: “The acceptance of Tablet-PCs in classroom instruction: The teachers’ perspectives.” Computers in Human Behavior 29:3/2013, 525-534.

Ludwig, Luise; Mayrberger, Kerstin; Weidmann, Adrian: „Einsatz personalisierter iPads im Unterricht aus der Perspektive der Schülerinnen und Schüler.“ In: Friedrich, Steffen; Kienle, Andrea; Rohland, Holger (Hrsg.): DeLFI 2011: Die 9. e-Learning Fachtagung Informatik – Poster, Workshops, Kurzbeiträge. TUDpress, 2011, 7-17.

Mayrberger, Kerstin: „Unterwegs lernen? Mobile Endgeräte im Unterricht.“ Praxis Fremdsprachenunterricht. Basisheft (Themenheft Mobiles Lernen) 1/2013, 5-7.

Murphy, Megan E.: “Are iPads or Chromebooks better for schools?” The Hechinger Report. Independent Education News, 2014.

Spang, André: „Lernen 2.0: Mobiles Lehren und Lernen mit iPad und Cloud.“ Praxis Fremdsprachenunterricht. Basisheft (Themenheft Mobiles Lernen) 1/2013, 11-13.

Tablets im DaF-Unterricht Das digitale Klassenzimmer

Lernende können mit Tablets gemeinsam an eigenen multimedialen Projekten arbeiten.
Lernende können mit Tablets gemeinsam an eigenen multimedialen Projekten arbeiten. | © Igor Mojzes/Fotolia.com

Forschungsergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass sich die Nutzung von Tablets im DaF-Unterricht ebenso vorteilhaft auf die Motivation der Lernenden auswirkt, wie auf die gemeinschaftliche und projektbasierte Arbeit. Vor allem in den Bereichen Hören und Sprechen liegen hier Potentiale – vorausgesetzt, die Tablets werden richtig eingesetzt.

Handlichkeit, Apps, Mikrofone und integrierte Kameras: Die technischen Vorteile, die manche Tablets gegenüber herkömmlichen PCs bieten, werden von immer mehr Schulen und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen erkannt. Vorreiter in Deutschland ist die Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule (KAS), ein Gymnasium in Köln, wo im Unterricht von Musik- und Theologielehrer André J. Spang bereits seit 2011 erfolgreich auch Tablets zum Einsatz kommen. In Niedersachsen wird innerhalb des Projekts Mobiles Lernen mit Tablet-Computern bis zum Schuljahrsende 2015 an insgesamt 24 Schulen der Einsatz von Tablets im Unterricht getestet und ausgewertet.

Im Wintersemester 2012/2013 wurde der Einsatz von Tablets im Pilotprojekt Tablet-Klasse erstmals auch im DaF-Unterricht des Goethe-Instituts erprobt, namentlich in Dublin, London und Amsterdam. Die Institute erhielten je einen Klassensatz von jeweils zehn Geräten. Die Pilotphase wurde wissenschaftlich begleitet. Das Ergebnis war überaus positiv, weshalb inzwischen an immer mehr Goethe-Instituten Tablets angeschafft werden.

AKTIVER UND MOBILER WERDEN

Die Vorteile von Tablets für das kooperative Arbeiten und die Eigenaktivität der Lernenden in DaF-Unterricht liegen auf der Hand: So können die Lernenden in Projekten am Tablet gemeinsam eigene multimediale Produkte entwickeln, die anschließend in der Gruppe präsentiert und diskutiert werden können. Gleichzeitig nimmt sich die Lehrkraft in ihrer Rolle zurück: Sie wird zum „Coach“, der das Projekt begleitet, Feedback gibt oder das Gespräch im Unterricht strukturiert – und auch zum Durchhalten anregt (Spang 2013:11). Durch die Arbeit mit QR-Codes können Materialien aus dem Internet sehr einfach verfügbar gemacht werden. Ein langes Suchen und das Eingeben von komplizierten URLs bleibt für die Teilnehmenden aus. Zudem fördern Tablets die Mobilität innerhalb und außerhalb des Klassenraums. So können die Lernenden die Geräte auch außerhalb des Klassenzimmers für Projekte wie Fotoreportagen nutzen.

BESSER HÖREN

Einen didaktischen Mehrwert bieten die Tablets im DaF-Unterricht insbesondere für Sprechen und Hören: Über Tablets können niveaugerechte Audios oder kurze Filme aus dem Internet im eigenen Lerntempo angehört und angesehen werden – mit Hilfe eines Splitters, der den Anschluss von zwei Kopfhörern ermöglicht, auch von zwei Lernenden gleichzeitig. Mit Tablets im eigenen Lerntempo Audios hören. © DragonImages/Fotolia.com Letztere müssen dann gemeinsam entscheiden, wie oft sie sich die jeweilige Aufnahme – oder eventuell auch besonders schwierige Passagen – anhören möchten.

Im Projekt Tablet-Klasse des Goethe-Instituts etwa zeigte sich, dass die Lernenden ihr Sprechen und ihre Aussprache im Deutschen bewusster wahrnahmen, weil sie beides im Prozess des Aufnehmens und Anhörens spielerisch korrigierten. Außerdem fiel es den Beteiligten leichter, über ihre Sprachfähigkeiten zu reflektieren. Im Bereich des Hörverstehens ergab die Auswertung der bisherigen Untersuchungsergebnisse gegenüber einem rein „analogen“ Unterricht einen deutlich größeren Lernzuwachs durch den Tablet-Einsatz.

Und auch André J. Spang von der Kölner Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule weist darauf hin, dass „in den modernen Fremdsprachen […] Apps hervorragend eingesetzt werden (können), um mit einfachsten Mitteln das freie Sprechen zu üben, aufzuzeichnen, zu beurteilen, zu verbessern und zu teilen“ (2013: 12).

DIGITAL – UND ANALOG!

Allerdings ist die Vermutung, Tablets seien im Unterricht in allen Bereichen und als ausschließliches Medium einzusetzen, nicht richtig. Vor allem die fehlende Tastatur stellt viele Lernende (und Lehrende) vor Probleme. Deshalb geht der Trend – etwa in den USA – hin zu so genannten Chromebooks, die durch ihre Tastatur das Schreiben und die Recherche erleichtern  und bei denen Lernsoftware im Unterscheid zu Laptops viel schneller aus der „Cloud“ geladen werden kann (vgl. Murphy 2014).

Um Tablets sinnvoll im DaF-Unterricht einsetzen zu können, sollte ihr Einsatz im Sinn eines „hybriden Lernens“ mit herkömmlichen Methoden verzahnt werden. Es geht also „mithin um ein ‚Sowohl-als-auch’ statt um ein ‚Entweder-oder’ bei der Entscheidung um die Integration von mobilen Endgeräten in den Unterricht“ (Mayrberger 2013:5). Ähnliches zeigt auch das erfolgreiche Trinity College iPad Program in Australien: Tablets werden hier ausdrücklich nicht als PC-Ersatz genutzt, sondern explizit als ein Instrument zur Erweiterung des herkömmlichen Unterrichts (vgl. Aufenanger 2013:54f.).

Innerhalb des Pilotprojekts Tablet-Klasse des Goethe-Instituts wurde ebenfalls darauf geachtet, die Arbeit an den Tablets mit der Arbeit im Lehrwerk und den anderen Inhalten des Unterrichts zu verknüpfen. Bei den Lernenden und Lehrenden sollte nicht das Gefühl entstehen, zwischen zwei Unterrichtsformen – „digital“ und „analog“ – hin und her springen zu müssen. Beispielsweise wurden die Audiodateien aus dem Lehrwerk auf den Tablets zur Verfügung gestellt, so dass bei Übungen zum Hörverstehen innerhalb des Lehrwerks die bereits beschriebenen Potentiale der Geräte genutzt werden konnten.

ERFOLGREICHES LERNEN – DURCH ERFOLGREICHES LEHREN

Wichtig für den erfolgreichen Einsatz von Tablets im DaF-Unterricht ist eine detaillierte Schulung und Heranführung von Lehrkräften an die Geräte. Die Erfahrungen im Projekt Tablet-Klasse haben aber gezeigt, dass die Bedienung der Tablets selbst von technisch weniger versierten Lehrenden grundsätzlich einfach und intuitiv erlernt wird. „Es ging eigentlich ziemlich schnell, dass ich gemerkt habe, dass das iPad mir viel mehr Freiheit im Unterricht gibt.“ fasst Frank Wittig, DaF-Lehrer am Goethe-Institut Dublin, seine Erfahrungen zusammen. „Für mich war es wirklich eine Erleichterung, weil das Tablet auch für mich als Anfänger sehr leicht zu bedienen ist.“
 
Kurzdokumentation zum Einsatz von Tablets im Fremdsprachenunterricht. Pilotprojekt an den Goethe-Instituten Amsterdam, Dublin und London.

 

Hintergrund

Im Herbstsemester 2012/2013 hat Kathrin Hahn im Rahmen eines Dissertationsprojekts den Einsatz von iPads im DaF-Unterricht in sechs B1.1-Klassen an den Goethe-Instituten in Dublin, London und Amsterdam pilotiert und auf Basis von Sprachtests, Unterrichtsbeobachtungen und Fragebögen wissenschaftlich begleitet. Um Potentiale der iPads für den Fremdsprachenunterricht sowie Stolpersteine zu identifizieren, wurden über das gesamte Semester hinweg drei iPad-Klassen mit drei „analogen“ Klassen verglichen. Alle Materialien, die im Projekt zum Einsatz kamen, waren zuvor in Anlehnung an die jeweils eingesetzten Lehrwerke entwickelt worden.

 

Literatur

Aufenanger, Stefan: „Internationale Projekte mit Tablets in Schulen.“ Computer und Unterricht 89/2013, 54-55.

Greb, Thorsten: „Projekt „Mobiles Lernen mit Tablet-Computern“ startet in den Regelbetrieb“. Magazin Digital Lernen. Das Online-Magazin zu digitalen Medien in Bildungseinrichtungen, 2012.

Ifenthaler, Dirk; Schweinbenz, Volker: “The acceptance of Tablet-PCs in classroom instruction: The teachers’ perspectives.” Computers in Human Behavior 29:3/2013, 525-534.

Ludwig, Luise; Mayrberger, Kerstin; Weidmann, Adrian: „Einsatz personalisierter iPads im Unterricht aus der Perspektive der Schülerinnen und Schüler.“ In: Friedrich, Steffen; Kienle, Andrea; Rohland, Holger (Hrsg.): DeLFI 2011: Die 9. e-Learning Fachtagung Informatik – Poster, Workshops, Kurzbeiträge. TUDpress, 2011, 7-17.

Mayrberger, Kerstin: „Unterwegs lernen? Mobile Endgeräte im Unterricht.“ Praxis Fremdsprachenunterricht. Basisheft (Themenheft Mobiles Lernen) 1/2013, 5-7.

Murphy, Megan E.: “Are iPads or Chromebooks better for schools?” The Hechinger Report. Independent Education News, 2014.

Spang, André: „Lernen 2.0: Mobiles Lehren und Lernen mit iPad und Cloud.“ Praxis Fremdsprachenunterricht. Basisheft (Themenheft Mobiles Lernen) 1/2013, 11-13.