European Day of Languages Start Talking

Multilingualism is the precondition for a productive European culture.
Multilingualism is the precondition for a productive European culture. | Photo: © treenabeena - fotolia.com

Every year on 26th September Europe celebrates its linguistic diversity. Numerous cultural institutes take part in the European Day of Languages (EDL). What, however, is it really all about?

When people speak more than one language, it is not just the individual that benefits from it, but the whole of society. Linguistic skills in several languages not only encourage an understanding for other cultures and improve people’s opportunities on the job market, but are also an important factor if individual companies are to grow. Even when it comes to such noble political goals as international understanding and the promotion of democracy multilingualism can make a substantial contribution.

Due to its linguistic diversity Europe provides the best conditions for people to enjoy a multilingual way of life. It is not just languages like German, English or French that are part of the European tradition, but also languages like Basque, Catalan or Galician. In order to safeguard the existence and future of these languages the EU initiated the European Charter for Regional and Minority Languages way back in 1992. This ensured, on the one hand, that people had the right to use a regional or minority language not only in their private sphere, but also in public. On the other hand, the charter included the obligation to create and maintain opportunities and situations in which regional and minority languages could be spoken.

The European Year of Languages that was organised by the Council of Europe and the EU in 2001 also embraced the tradition of promoting linguistic diversity and facilitating the learning of languages. It was the success of this project that spawned the idea for the European Day of Languages that has been held since 2002 every year on 26th September and which language and cultural institutes, associations, universities and, above all, schools take part in.

Language courses on the tram

Whether it is with a language café or an e-magazine, a writing competition or a radio show, a language course or a conference – on this day everybody is invited to champion European multilingualism as a valuable resource. With the help of its international partners the European Centre for Modern Languages (ECML) in Graz, Austria, offers a platform that provides an overview of events both in Europe and all over the world and posts all the information on its website. As an institution of the Council of Europe that introduced the celebration day in 2001 as part of the European Year of Languages, the ECML also collaborates with the EU.

In 2014, there were over 640 events registered and the European Day of Languages website had three million hits. “In Graz, for example, there was a linguistic tour through the city on the ‘Language Bus’ on which language courses were given by speakers of all kind of languages, some of which were not so well known. This enabled people to start talking to each other, which at best can have a positive effect on people’s lives,” says Susanna Slivensky, Program Director and Vice Director of the ECML. She went on to say that even beyond the borders of Europe interest in the European Day of Languages was growing, mainly due to cooperation partners in Canada and Hong Kong.

Wonderful rhetoric on multilingualism

There are, however, some quite definitely critical voices. “It is important that on this day educational institutions affirm the meaning of multilingualism. The effects of this day of celebration, however, are not sustainable, but unfortunately fizzle out rather quickly,” says, for example, Ingrid Gogolin, an educational scientist at the University of Hamburg and an expert on multilingualism.

According to Ms Gogolin on the European political level there is in fact a “wonderful rhetoric on multilingualism” and in the fields of both research and practice there are numerous individual projects, like the research focus on multilingualism at the University of Hamburg and the multilingualism portal of the city of Manchester, but no way can we speak of a coherent strategy. “As long as politicians in Bavaria publicly advocate the banning of Turkish in school playgrounds, we cannot expect parents living in upmarket districts to beat the drum for multilingualism. In this respect the EDL is nothing more than a drop in the ocean.”

English reigns supreme

Surveys do in fact actually show that in Europe when it comes to multilingualism the gap between goal and reality is still very wide. Back in 2002 the European Council already decided that every EU citizen should be able to speak two other languages beside his or her own mother tongue. And in some of the smaller countries like Luxembourg, Malta and Sweden this is actually the case. In larger countries it looks different. Instead of linguistic diversity it is still English that reigns supreme as a foreign language. Furthermore other surveys have revealed that in total only half of all Europeans speak a foreign language. Only 42 per cent of all children and teenagers under 14 say that they can speak their first foreign language well.

Ms Slivensky, too, still sees a strong need for action. “We have to get the message across that English alone is not conducive to multilingualism. Instead we have to start including the languages of our neighbours and immigrants. And even though we know that understanding that goes beyond linguistic and cultural borders is a very vital aspect of communication on a European level, the language issue still does not enjoy the priority it should in top-level politics.” We can only hope that the EDL will sustainably arouse a new awareness for the importance of multilingualism in Europe.

Europäischer Tag der Sprachen Ins Gespräch kommen

Mehrsprachigkeit ist die Voraussetzung für eine produktive europäische Kultur.
Mehrsprachigkeit ist die Voraussetzung für eine produktive europäische Kultur. | Foto: © treenabeena - fotolia.com

Jedes Jahr am 26. September feiert Europa die Mehrsprachigkeit. Zahlreiche Kulturinstitute beteiligen sich am Europäischen Tag der Sprachen. Doch worum geht es dabei eigentlich?

Wenn Menschen mehr als eine Sprache sprechen, profitiert davon nicht nur jeder Einzelne, sondern die ganze Gesellschaft. Kompetenzen in mehreren Sprachen können das Verständnis für andere Kulturen, aber auch die Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erhöhen und sind eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür, dass einzelne Unternehmen wachsen. Auch bei politischen Zielen wie Völkerverständigung und Demokratieförderung kann Mehrsprachigkeit einen großen Beitrag leisten.

Europa bietet aufgrund seiner sprachlichen Vielfalt die besten Voraussetzungen, um Mehrsprachigkeit zu leben. Nicht nur Sprachen wie Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch, sondern auch Baskisch, Katalanisch oder Galizisch sind Teil der europäischen Tradition. Um diesen Sprachen Schutz zu gewähren, einigte sich die EU schon im Jahr 1992 auf die Europäische Charta der Regional- und Minderheitensprachen. Geschützt wird zum einen das Recht, sowohl im privaten Bereich als auch in der Öffentlichkeit eine Regional- und Minderheitensprache zu benutzen. Zum anderen enthält die Charta die Verpflichtung, Gelegenheiten für die Benutzung von Regional- oder Minderheitensprachen zu schaffen oder zu erhalten.

Auch das Europäische Jahr der Sprachen, das 2001 von Europarat und EU organisiert wurde, ist in der Tradition zu verstehen, sprachliche Vielfalt zu fördern und das Erlernen von Sprachen zu ermöglichen. Aus dem Erfolg des Projektes entstand die Idee zu einem Europäischen Tag der Sprachen, der seit 2002 jedes Jahr am 26. September stattfindet und an dem sich Sprach- und Kulturinstitute, Verbände, Universitäten und vor allem Schulen beteiligen.

Sprachkurs in der Straßenbahn

Ob mittels Sprachcafé oder E-Magazin, Schreibwettbewerb oder Radioprogramm, Sprachkurs oder Konferenz – jeder ist eingeladen, die Mehrsprachigkeit Europas an diesem Tag als wertvolle Ressource sichtbar zu machen. Das Europäische Fremdsprachenzentrum des Europarates (EFSZ) in Graz bietet für Veranstaltungen in Europa und weltweit mithilfe seiner internationalen Partner eine Plattform und bündelt alle Informationen auf seiner Website. Als Einrichtung des Europarats, der den Feiertag 2001, im Europäischen Jahr der Sprachen, eingeführt hat, kooperiert das EFSZ auch mit der EU.

Allein 2014 waren mehr als 640 Veranstaltungen registriert und die Website zum Europäischen Tag der Sprachen hatte drei Millionen Zugriffe. „In Graz gab es zum Beispiel eine Sprachenreise durch die Stadt mit dem Sprachenbus mit Sprachkursangeboten von Sprechern der unterschiedlichsten, zum Teil wenig bekannten Sprachen. Dadurch können Menschen ins Gespräch kommen, was sich im besten Fall positiv auf die Lebenswege der Einzelnen auswirkt“, sagt Susanna Slivensky, Vize- und Programmdirektorin des EFSZ. Auch über Europas Grenzen hinweg werde der Europäische Tag der Sprachen aufgenommen, etwa durch Kooperationspartner in Kanada oder Hongkong.

Wunderbare Mehrsprachigkeitsrhetorik

Aber es gibt durchaus auch kritische Stimmen. „Es ist wichtig, dass Bildungsinstitutionen sich an diesem Tag der Bedeutung der Mehrsprachigkeit vergewissern. Doch die Wirkung des Feiertags ist nicht nachhaltig, sondern verpufft leider sehr schnell wieder“, sagt beispielsweise Ingrid Gogolin, Erziehungswissenschaftlerin an der Universität Hamburg und Expertin für Mehrsprachigkeit.

Zwar gebe es, so Gogolin, auf der Ebene der europäischen Politik eine „wunderbare Mehrsprachigkeitsrhetorik“ und in Forschung wie Praxis zahlreiche Einzelinitiativen wie den Forschungsschwerpunkt Mehrsprachigkeit an der Universität Hamburg und das Mehrsprachigkeitsportal der Stadt Manchester. Doch von einer durchgängigen Strategie könne man nicht sprechen. „Solange Politiker in Bayern öffentlich vorschlagen, Türkisch auf Schulhöfen zu verbieten, kann man auch nicht erwarten, dass sich Eltern, die in bevorteilten Stadtvierteln leben, für Mehrsprachigkeit einsetzen. Hier ist der Europäische Tag der Sprachen nur so etwas wie ein Tropfen auf den heißen Stein.“

Englisch dominiert

Tatsächlich zeigen Studien, dass in Europa Wunsch und Realität in Sachen Mehrsprachigkeit noch weit auseinanderklaffen. Schon 2002 hat der Europäische Rat beschlossen, dass jeder EU-Bürger neben seiner Muttersprache zwei weitere Sprachen beherrschen soll. Und in kleinen Ländern wie Luxemburg, Malta oder Schweden ist das auch tatsächlich der Fall. In größeren Ländern sieht das anders aus. Statt der geforderten sprachlichen Vielfalt Europas dominiert hier das Englische als Fremdsprache. Darüber hinaus kommen Untersuchungen zu dem Ergebnis, dass insgesamt nur die Hälfte aller Europäer überhaupt eine Fremdsprache spricht. Lediglich 42 Prozent aller Kinder und Jugendlichen unter 14 Jahren sagen, dass sie ihre erste Fremdsprache gut beherrschen.

Auch Slivensky sieht noch großen Handlungsbedarf: „Eine wichtige Botschaft ist, dass Englisch allein keine Mehrsprachigkeit ausmacht. Stattdessen müssen wir die Nachbar- und Migrantensprachen einbeziehen. Und obwohl wir wissen, dass Verständigung über Sprach- und Kulturgrenzen hinweg ein sehr vitaler Aspekt der Kommunikation auf europäischer Ebene ist, hat das Sprachenthema auf höchster politischer Ebene noch nicht die Priorität, die es haben sollte.“ Es bleibt also zu hoffen, dass der Europäische Tag der Sprachen nachhaltig ein neues Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung von Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa weckt.