Exams and Tests Learning from the Pros

Exams and tests are a routine part of a teacher’s job
Exams and tests are a routine part of a teacher’s job | © Goethe-Institut/Kai-Uwe Oesterhelweg

All kinds of different exams and tests – short tests to verify student progress, standard assessment testing, vocabulary tests and final exams – are an important part of everyday life for teachers. On the very first day of a course, students ask about the exam relevance of the teaching and learning material, while language students require a specific certificate that will allow them to study or work. Exams and tests are therefore relevant to the way teachers organize their daily work. But what form should testing best take? And what do teachers need to take into account?

Not all tests are the same, and several distinctions can be made between them. The first of these concerns the function of a test. Low stakes tests are particularly important in language lessons, for example. These are tests which are of interest and relevance to teachers and learners but have no social, school or professional consequences. They include vocabulary tests and short tests designed by teachers themselves to check that specific learning targets have been reached.

By contrast, high stakes tests are those whose results have some impact on those who take them: these include the driving test (mobility), the Abitur (Germany’s higher education entrance qualification) and the Goethe-Zertifikat A1: Start Deutsch 1 (that allows spouses to be reunified with their partners in Germany). In other words, these are tests which learners need to pass and are designed by an external body.

Learning progress, learning targets, learning success

Apart from the function of a test, the time at which testing takes place is important (cf. Common European Framework of Reference, Chapter 9): should learning progress be tested while a course is ongoing or should the success of learning be checked at the end?

In the former case we talk of formative assessment. This allows teachers to obtain feedback about the success of their own teaching processes and adjust future lessons accordingly, repeat certain content or ensure future progress is made. This allows progress to be measured without using standardized targets. One example are short tests to verify student progress.

Summative assessment plays a much more common role in everyday teaching. This takes the form of a final test that aims to measure the learning progress actually achieved against a defined or imaginary benchmark, and is therefore course-related. These can include vocabulary tests and final exams in which the target to be achieved is specified by the textbook or curriculum.

Key questions for teachers

Teachers should therefore take the following questions into account when preparing tests:
  • What is the purpose of the test? Is it designed for example to measure learning progress with respect to the most recently taught lessons?
  • Is the test intended to prepare the students for something? And if so, what? For office communication, for instance, or for dealing with simple/complex everyday situations?
  • How useful or realistic is the test in terms of such preparation?

Ensuring the quality of tests

But what makes a final school exam or language course test different from an internationally recognized language test? One factor is the collection and analysis of data, which is one of 17 minimum standards set by the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). Items to be tested are first verified multiple times internally and then reviewed by external experts. Next, a group of at least 200 participants, whose composition roughly corresponds to the future exam candidates, trials all items. The results of these trials are statistically analysed to identify any inadequacies, inaccuracies or indeed errors. Following this analysis, the individual items are revised once more so that ultimately a fair, error-free and precisely measuring test is constructed.

Level and marking

In the same way that the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) classifies foreign language proficiency according to different levels, the tasks set in tests and exams must likewise match the desired level. If a task is set that exceeds the language level of the learners, they may be unable to answer certain questions despite actually knowing the answer. If a task is set that corresponds to the language level but is too easy or too difficult, the test will no longer fulfil its original intention and will no longer be valid and reliable.

As with designing items, it is common practice to mark exams on a level-related basis: errors typical of the level in question should be ignored as the focus is on overall proficiency.
This is illustrated by an example:

Example of a task set at A2 level, from: Materials for examiners Example of a task set at A2 level, from: Materials for examiners | © Goethe-Institut Learners are familiar with all the level A2 words and grammar used in the task, and the reasons for writing – to congratulate someone, to respond to an invitation and to ask questions – are realistic.

This is an example of a student’s answer:

Example of a student’s answer at A2 level, from: Materials for examiners Example of a student’s answer at A2 level, from: Materials for examiners | © Goethe-Institut The student has fully completed the sections Glückwunsch and Gäste and has therefore received full marks. At this level, students have not yet learnt that the verb gratulieren takes the preposition zu. The fact that the preposition has been left out can therefore be ignored, especially since this does not impair understanding. The sentence about the section Auto does contain errors that would impair understanding, however, which should result in marks being deducted.
A mark should be deducted because the salutations have been left out. The kind of text is recognizable, however, and the communicative nature of the text is clear. The length of the text is appropriate.
Assuming that three marks are awarded per section, plus one mark for the communicative design of the text as a whole, marks would be awarded in this case as follows: 3 (Glückwunsch) + 3 (Gäste) + 1.5 (Auto) + 0.5 (communicative design) = 8 out of 10.

Small-scale quality control

How can the quality of tests be ensured, however, if the time and financial or staff resources are not available to conduct multiple internal revisions, engage external experts or collect and analyse data? After designing a test, teachers can work through the set tasks themselves, focusing in detail on the items in question and then comparing their answers against the standard answers. This allows them to determine whether the items test the learners on the content that is supposed to be tested or accidentally test them instead on general knowledge, logic or their ability to concentrate.

It is also helpful to have a colleague work through the test and give their feedback: in which cases were items phrased unclearly? Was it possible to work through the items in the time given? Are the individual items distinguished clearly enough from one another, or do they overlap? Does one incorrect answer generate additional incorrect answers? And most importantly, does the test correspond to the level of the target group? The objective is to mark tests on a level-appropriate basis, focusing on what the exam candidates know rather than on any gaps in their knowledge. The CEFR can-do descriptors should always be taken into account.

This allows teachers to conduct small-scale quality control themselves and ensure that the test tests what it is supposed to test.
 

ALTE and Q-Mark

The Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE) is an organization of foreign language testers. In addition to the Goethe-Institut, it currently has 33 other full members who agree on certain standards and review one another for compliance with these standards. Only those exams which meet the ALTE’s 17 minimum standards are entitled to the internationally recognized Q-Mark. This quality indicator is awarded specifically to each exam rather than generally to an institution, which makes the Goethe-Institut the only language tester in the German-speaking world to offer Q-Mark-approved exams at all six levels.

 

Literature

Association of Language Testers in Europe: Minimum standards for establishing quality profiles in ALTE examinations. ALTE 2007.
 
Europarat: Gemeinsamer europäischer Referenzrahmen für Sprachen: lernen, lehren, beurteilen. Langenscheidt 2001.

Prüfen und Testen Lernen von den Profis

Prüfungen und Tests gehören zum Alltag von Lehrenden
Prüfungen und Tests gehören zum Alltag von Lehrenden | © Goethe-Institut/Kai-Uwe Oesterhelweg

Lernfortschrittskontrolle, Lernstandserhebung, Vokabeltest, Abschlussprüfung – Diese Formen des Testens und Prüfens spielen im Alltag von Lehrenden eine wichtige Rolle. Lernende fragen bereits am ersten Kurstag nach der Prüfungsrelevanz des Lehr- und Lernstoffs, Sprachschüler benötigen ein spezielles Zertifikat, um studieren oder arbeiten zu können. Prüfungen sind also für die Organisation des Lehralltags relevant. Wie aber soll, kann und muss getestet werden? Und: Was müssen Lehrende beachten?

Test ist nicht gleich Test und es gibt mehrerer Unterscheidungen. Die erste Unterscheidung ist die Funktion eines Tests. Im Sprachunterricht spielen vor allem Low-Stakes Tests eine Rolle: So nennt man Prüfungen, die für Lehrende und Lernende interessant und relevant sind, die jedoch keine gesellschaftlichen, schulischen oder beruflichen Konsequenzen haben. Hierzu gehören unter anderem Vokabeltests und Lernzielkontrollen, die von der Lehrperson selbst konzipiert werden.

High-Stakes Tests hingegen sind Prüfungen, von deren Ergebnis für die Teilnehmenden etwas abhängt: Dazu gehören die Führerscheinprüfung (Mobilität), das Abitur (Hochschulzugang) oder auch das Goethe-Zertifikat A1: Start Deutsch 1 (Ehegattennachzug). Diese sind also Prüfungen, die von Lernenden benötigt und von externer Stelle entworfen werden.

Lernfortschritt, Lernziel, Lernerfolg

Neben der Funktion eines Tests ist auch der Zeitpunkt des Testens wichtig (vgl. Gemeinsamer europäischer Referenzrahmen, Kapitel 9): Soll der Lernfortschritt während oder der Lernerfolg am Ende eines Kurses gemessen werden?

In ersterem Fall wird von formativer Evaluation gesprochen, die eine Rückkopplung auf eigene Prozesse zulässt, also auf die zukünftige Unterrichtsgestaltung, den noch einmal zu wiederholenden Stoff oder die zukünftige Progression. Dies erlaubt das Messen eines Fortschritts, ohne dass ein Ziel normiert wäre. Ein Beispiel hierfür sind Lernfortschrittskontrollen.

Eine viel häufigere Rolle im Kursalltag spielt die summative Evaluation. Sie entspricht einer Endkontrolle, die zwischen dem formulierten bzw. gedachten und dem tatsächlich erreichten Lernstand vergleicht, also kursbezogen ist. Hierzu gehören Vokabeltests und Abschlussprüfungen, in denen das zu erreichende Ziel in Bezug zu Lehrbuch oder Curriculum vorgegeben ist.

fragen für Lehrende

Bei der Erstellung von Tests sollten Lehrende also folgende Fragestellungen beachten:
  • Wofür ist dieser Test gemacht? Soll zum Beispiel der Lernfortschritt bezogen auf die letzten Unterrichtseinheiten gemessen werden?
  • Soll der Test auf etwas vorbereiten? Und wenn ja: Worauf? Auf die Kommunikation im Büro oder die Bewältigung einfacher/komplexer Alltagssituationen beispielsweise?
  • Wie sinnvoll oder realitätsnah ist der Test in Bezug auf diese Vorbereitung?

Qualitätssicherung von Prüfungen

Was unterscheidet nun aber eine Abiturprüfung oder eine Kursabschlussprüfung von einer international anerkannten Sprachprüfung? – Ein Faktor ist die Erprobung, einer von 17 Mindeststandards der Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). Die Prüfungsaufgaben, in der Testtheorie Items genannt, werden zunächst mehrfach intern und daraufhin durch externe Gutachter überprüft. Anschließend erprobt eine Gruppe von mindestens 200 Teilnehmenden, deren Zusammenstellung in etwa den zukünftigen Prüfungsteilnehmenden entspricht, alle Items. Die Ergebnisse der Erprobung werden statistisch ausgewertet, um Unzulänglichkeiten, Unschärfen oder gar Fehler aufzudecken. Nach dieser Auswertung werden die einzelnen Items erneut überarbeitet, um letztendlich zu einem fairen, fehlerfreien und exakt messenden Test zu gelangen.

Niveau und Bewertung

So wie der Gemeinsame Europäische Referenzrahmen (GER) die Kenntnisse von Fremdsprachenlernern in unterschiedliche Niveaustufen unterteilt, so müssen auch die Aufgabenstellungen dem gewünschten Niveau entsprechen. Bei einer Aufgabenstellung, die über dem sprachlichen Niveau der Lernenden liegt, können einige Items möglicherweise nicht gelöst werden, obwohl die Teilnehmenden die Lösung eigentlich kennen. Entspricht eine Aufgabenstellung zwar sprachlich dem gewünschten Niveau, ist aber zu leicht oder zu schwer, entspricht die Prüfung nicht mehr ihrer eigentlichen Intention: Sie ist nicht mehr valide und reliabel.

Wie bei der Itemerstellung ist es in der Prüfungsentwicklung üblich niveaubezogen zu bewerten: Niveautypische Fehler sollten vernachlässigt werden, denn die Gesamtkompetenz steht im Fokus. Zur Veranschaulichung eine exemplarische Aufgabenstellung:

Exemplarische Aufgabenstellung Niveau A2, aus: Trainingsmaterial für Prüfende Exemplarische Aufgabenstellung Niveau A2, aus: Trainingsmaterial für Prüfende | © Goethe-Institut Alle Wörter und die Grammatik des Niveaus A2 der Aufgabenstellung sind den Lernenden bekannt, die Themen des Schreibanlasses –  jemanden beglückwünschen, auf eine Einladung reagieren und Nachfragen stellen – sind realitätsnah.

Die exemplarische Schülerbearbeitung:

Exemplarische Schülerbearbeitung auf A2-Niveau, aus: Trainingsmaterial für Prüfende Exemplarische Schülerbearbeitung auf A2-Niveau, aus: Trainingsmaterial für Prüfende | © Goethe-Institut Die Inhaltspunkte Glückwunsch und Gäste sind voll erfüllt und sollten somit die volle Punktzahl erhalten. Die Präposition zu zum Verb gratulieren wird auf diesem Niveau noch nicht beherrscht. Deren Fehlen kann also vernachlässigt werden, auch da das Verständnis nicht beeinträchtigt wird. Der Satz zum Inhaltspunkt Auto enthält jedoch verständnisbeeinträchtigende Fehler, die zu Punkteabzug führen sollten. Da die Grußformeln fehlen, sollte es hierfür einen Punkteabzug geben, jedoch ist die Textsorte erkennbar und die kommunikative Gestaltung des Textes gegeben. Der Textumfang ist angemessen.
Bei einer Punkteverteilung von drei Punkten je Inhaltspunkt und einem Punkt für die kommunikative Gestaltung des Gesamttextes wäre die Punkteverteilung hier wie folgt: 3 (Glückwunsch) + 3 (Gäste) + 1,5 (Auto) + 0,5 (kommunikative Gestaltung) = 8 von 10 Punkten.

Qualitätskontrolle im Kleinen

Wie kann aber die Qualität von Prüfungen gesichert werden, wenn die zeitlichen, finanziellen und personellen Ressourcen für mehrfache interne Revision, externe Gutachter oder Erprobungen nicht gegeben sind? Nach der Konzeption des Tests können Lehrende diesen einmal selbst lösen, dabei genau auf die Aufgabenstellung eingehen und ihre Lösungen im Anschluss mit der Musterlösung abgleichen. Dadurch kann geklärt werden, ob die Aufgabe genau das abfragt, was abgefragt werden soll oder stattdessen versehentlich Weltwissen, Logik oder Konzentrationsfähigkeit getestet werden.

Auch ist es hilfreich, den Test im Vorfeld von einem Kollegen oder einer Kollegin lösen und sich Rückmeldung geben zu lassen: An welcher Stelle wurden unklare Formulierungen gewählt? Waren die Items in der vorgegebenen Zeit zu lösen? Sind die einzelnen Items scharf genug voneinander getrennt oder kommt es zu Überschneidungen? Zieht eine falsche Antwort weitere falsche Antworten nach sich? Und vor allem: Entspricht der Test dem Niveau der Zielgruppe? Angestrebt wird eine Korrektur, die niveauadäquat ist und in der das Augenmerk auf dem liegt, was die Prüfungsteilnehmenden können und nicht auf deren Unzulänglichkeiten. Hier sollten stets die Kann-Beschreibungen des GER im Auge behalten werden.

So können Lehrende selbständig Qualitätskontrollen im Kleinen durchführen und sicherstellen, dass der Test das testet, was er testen soll.
 

ALTE und Q-Mark

Die Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE) ist eine Organisation der Anbieter von Fremdsprachenprüfungen. Sie zählt im Moment neben dem Goethe-Institut 33 weitere Vollmitglieder, die sich auf gewisse Standards verständigen und sich gegenseitig auf diese hin kontrollieren. Nur diejenigen Prüfungen, die die 17 Mindeststandards der ALTE erfüllen, dürfen das international anerkannte Qualitätssiegel Q-Mark tragen. Dieses Siegel wird spezifisch pro Prüfung und nicht generell pro Institution vergeben, was das Goethe-Institut zum einzigen Anbieter im deutschsprachigen Raum mit Q-Mark auf allen sechs Niveaustufen macht.

 

Literatur

Association of Language Testers in Europe: 17 Mindeststandards zur Sicherstellung von Qualität in den Prüfungen der ALTE. ALTE 2007.
 
Europarat: Gemeinsamer europäischer Referenzrahmen für Sprachen: lernen, lehren, beurteilen. Langenscheidt 2001.