Cultural mediators Mediators between languages and cultures

Jeanette Nitschka
Jeanette Nitschka | Photo detail: © Private

The Goethe-Institut has developed intercultural training for teachers. Participants in a pilot group serve as moderators for welcoming culture and GSL, and show how the integration of children and young people coming from different cultures and speaking different languages of origin can work.

The right to education is a human right and, together with the acquisition of language skills, is fundamental to social integration and participation. Compulsory education applies to all children and young people in Germany, including refugees, regardless of their residence status. Different cultural backgrounds and levels of language skills and knowledge put schoolchildren and teachers alike before new challenges, especially in rural areas. In contrast to metropolitan areas, structures here for intercultural and language-sensitive learning are still under construction, both in teacher training and in school and teaching organization. To achieve the inclusion and integration of the influx of refugees, however, the support of all the federal states and regions are needed.

Designing intercultural learning

In Saxony-Anhalt, twenty-two moderators of welcoming cultures and GSL have filled the gap. When needed, they advise and support schools and teachers in the intercultural orientation and language acquisition of children and others beginning to learn German as a second language. Each moderator has his or her own specific focal points: for example, the design of school-based welcoming culture, the diagnosis of pupils’ language skills, or how to combine language teaching with the teaching of particular subjects. A school can choose among the various offers. Since the moderators are themselves active as teachers in the areas of GSL or course development in primary, secondary, vocational or special-needs schools, they know the problems from their own experience. At the initiative of the Ministry of Education in Saxony-Anhalt, they have also taken part in a qualification course at the State Institute for Teacher Training and School Development LISA in Halle, which includes intercultural training at the Goethe-Institut.

Observe closely and include many possibilities

“To act interculturally means dealing with different people, not only with different cultures, nations and religions”, explains language and cultural trainer Anne Sass, who developed this intercultural coaching with the Goethe-Institut and realized it with the pilot group in Halle. This is why intercultural awareness is important everywhere and in principle in Germany, she says, in schools with only a few children with a migration background as well as schools with a high proportion of immigrants. For teachers, the first step here is to become aware of their own pattern of perception so as to avoid approaching pupils with a judgemental attitude. Only then are they in the position to observe, communicate and cooperate free of prejudice with a heterogeneous group.

The welcoming moderators from Saxony-Anhalt trained in this approach with Sass using role playing and particular examples. They then passed on the acquired knowledge and methods to other teachers in seminars at their schools. For example, that conflicts can be resolved by means of close observation, avoiding hasty interpretations, and changing perspectives. As in the case of a primary school class with two refugee pupils: both repeatedly brought white bread to breakfast, although the rule said that in class only full-grain bread was favoured. The other children and parents could not understand why this simple rule was not respected. Examination of the relevant backgrounds then led to mutual understanding by considering, on the one hand, where communication had failed and, on the other, nutritional habits from different perspectives. “But there was no one valid solution”, says Sass. “Not even intercultural training can deliver recipes for success, because there are none. Each case is different and has to be considered on its own. If a person frequently comes to appointments too late, for instance, this isn’t necessarily to be ascribed to cultural background; it may also have to do with his or her personality or private circumstances.”

A task for everyone

In the past months, the moderators have visited many schools in Saxony-Anhalt – small village schools with only a few pupils and big schools with a sufficient number of newcomers for the setting up of their own preparatory classes. “In particular, the topics ‘Welcoming Culture’, ‘Intercultural Competence’ and ‘Understanding Islam’ were very much in demand in response to the arrival of so many refugee schoolchildren”, reports Dr. Dorothé Salomo of the LISA in Halle. She coordinates the project, which comes to an end in the summer of 2017, and sees room for plenty of development. “The work of the moderators is a good ‘first aid’ offer, but major changes are needed. Whether in Saxony-Anhalt or other federal states, schools still often don’t see intercultural and language education as part of their total task, one which applies to more than only GSL teachers. For this reason, we’re planning, among other things, more advanced training in language awareness in the teaching of specific school subjects. Because after the welcoming, comes the target group-oriented teaching of scholastic content.”

 

Reports

Stephan Münchhoff Photo (detail): © Private Stephan Münchhoff (born in 1973), teacher in a special-needs school
Subjects: German, special education, German as target language

“I offer my services to schools and teachers for developing solutions in GSL instruction and language-aware teaching of specific school subjects. With me, you will get to know diagnostic procedures for children who speak a non-German mother tongue and how to derive individual learning goals. Among other things, common methods in special-needs teaching can be transferred and applied. For example, the development of an educational plan for individual pupils, which provides a gradual fostering of skills in listening, speaking, reading and writing. Not everyone has to learn at the same speed in all areas. Action-accompanying speaking can also be a good method for developing language skills – for instance, describing procedures in cooking recipes, use and assembly instructions or test protocols. It’s easier for schoolchildren to express something in language when they have done the thing themselves.”

Yvonne Al-Jorafi Photo (detail): © Private Yvonne Al-Jorafi (born in 1965), teacher at an integrated comprehensive school
Subjects: housekeeping, art education, planning, construction and design, handicrafts, technology, economics, special education

“I sensitize teachers for dealing with refugees and schoolchildren with immigration backgrounds by giving insights into a different language, culture and religion. We look at the cultural values and convictions of schoolchildren with Arabic roots so that these can be taken into account in the classroom. Teachers have questions especially about the wearing of the headscarf and Ramadan. Or I point out ways in which to communicate to Muslim families the need for girls to take part in swimming lessons. I recommend seeking out talks with the pupils and their parents and actively integrating the parents in the school. Teaching can also be opened up to other languages and cultures – through presentations and discussions about prejudices that lay a foundation for interculturalism.”

Jeanette Nitschka Photo (detail): © Private Jeannette Nitschka (born in 1981), teacher in a primary school
Subjects: mathematics, German, English

“I point out opportunities for how you can design a school day through a promotion of intercultural skills that makes possible the participation of all the schoolchildren. Primary schools differ from other schools in that language teaching is not the central task with respect to the integration of refugee children. They usually learn the language quickly. Conflicts arise as the results of misunderstandings and prejudices. Here teachers often feel out of their depth. But children who speak different languages and come from different cultures isn’t a new problem; it’s only a further aspect on the way to inclusion. When a new child arrives at school, the first thing is to greet him or her with openness and include him or her in the group. You can teach using pictures and concrete examples to convey language and knowledge.”

Willkommensmoderatoren Mittler zwischen Sprachen und Kulturen

Jeanette Nitschka
Jeanette Nitschka | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Privat

Das Goethe-Institut hat interkulturelle Trainings für Lehrende entwickelt. Die Teilnehmenden einer Pilotgruppe vermitteln als Moderatoren für Willkommenskultur und DaZ, wie die Integration von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit anderen Kulturen und Herkunftssprachen funktionieren kann.

Das Recht auf Bildung ist ein Menschenrecht. Zusammen mit dem Erwerb von Sprachkompetenzen ist es grundlegend für gesellschaftliche Integration und Teilhabe. Die Schulpflicht in Deutschland gilt für alle Kinder und Jugendliche, auch für geflüchtete ungeachtet ihres Aufenthaltsstatus. Andere Kulturen sowie ungleiche Sprach- und Wissensstände bei Schülerinnen und Schülern stellt Schulen und Lehrende vor neue Herausforderungen, insbesondere im ländlichen Raum. Im Unterschied zu den städtischen Ballungsräumen befinden sich Strukturen für interkulturelles und sprachsensibles Lernen hier noch im Aufbau – sowohl im Bereich der Lehrerausbildung als auch in der Schul- und Unterrichtsorganisation. Angesichts der hohen Zahlen von Geflüchteten sind aber alle Bundesländer und Regionen bei der Aufnahme und Integration gefragt.

Interkulturalität gestalten lernen

In Sachsen-Anhalt füllen 22 Moderatorinnen und Moderatoren für Willkommenskultur und DaZ diese Lücke. Bei Bedarf beraten und unterstützen sie Schulen und Lehrkräfte bei der interkulturellen Öffnung und Sprachbildung von Sprachanfängern oder Kindern mit Deutsch als Zweitsprache. Jeder Moderator hat eigene Schwerpunktthemen: zum Beispiel zur Gestaltung einer schulischen Willkommenskultur, wie man den Sprachstand von Schülern diagnostizieren kann oder wie man auch im Fachunterricht sprachliche Bildung vermittelt. Eine Schule kann aus den unterschiedlichen Angeboten wählen. Da die Moderatoren selbst als Lehrkräfte in Grund-, Sekundarschulen, in berufsbildenden oder Förderschulen in den Bereichen DaZ oder Unterrichtsentwicklung tätig sind, kennen sie die Probleme aus eigener Erfahrung. Auf Initiative des Bildungsministeriums in Sachsen-Anhalt haben sie darüber hinaus an einer Qualifizierung am Landesinstitut für Schulqualität und Lehrerbildung LISA in Halle teilgenommen, darunter ein interkulturelles Training des Goethe-Instituts.

Genau beobachten und viele Möglichkeiten einbeziehen

„Interkulturell handeln heißt, mit unterschiedlichen Menschen umzugehen, nicht nur mit unterschiedlichen Kulturen, Nationen oder Religionen“, erklärt die Sprach- und Kultur-Trainerin Anne Sass, die dieses interkulturelle Coaching zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut entwickelt und mit der Pilotgruppe in Halle durchgeführt hat. Deshalb sei interkulturelle Sensibilisierung grundsätzlich und überall in Deutschland wichtig, in Schulen mit hohem Migrantenanteil genauso wie in Schulen mit nur wenigen Kindern mit Migrationshintergrund. Für Lehrende bedeute dies in einem ersten Schritt, sich eigener Wahrnehmungsmuster bewusst zu werden, um in der Begegnung mit Schülern wertende Haltungen zu vermeiden. Erst dann sei man in der Lage, in einer heterogenen Gruppe vorurteilsfrei zu beobachten, zu kommunizieren und miteinander zu kooperieren.

Wie das funktioniert, haben die Willkommensmoderatoren in Sachsen-Anhalt mit Anne Sass anhand von Rollenspielen und eigenen Fallbeispielen trainiert. Die erworbenen Kenntnisse und Methoden geben sie nun in schulinternen Seminaren an andere Lehrende weiter. Etwa, dass sich Konflikte oft mittels genauer Beobachtung, Vermeidung von vorschnellen Interpretationen und Perspektivwechsel auflösen können. So wie im Fall einer Grundschulklasse mit zwei geflüchteten Schülern: Die beiden brachten zum Frühstück wiederholt Weißbrot mit, obwohl eine Regel besagte, dass in der Klasse nur Vollkornbrot gewünscht sei. Kinder wie Eltern konnten nicht verstehen, warum diese einfache Regel nicht eingehalten wurde. Eine Auseinandersetzung mit den Hintergründen führte zu gegenseitigem Verständnis, indem zum einen überlegt wurde, an welcher Stelle die Kommunikation nicht geklappt hatte und zum anderen Ernährungsgewohnheiten aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchtet wurden. „Die eine gültige Lösung gab es allerdings nicht“, erzählt Anne Sass. „Auch interkulturelle Trainings liefern keine Rezepte, weil es die nicht gibt. Jeder Fall ist anders und muss neu betrachtet werden. Wenn eine Person zum Beispiel häufig zu spät kommt, ist das nicht unbedingt einer kulturellen Prägung zuzuschreiben, sondern kann ebenso an ihrer Persönlichkeit oder der privaten Situation liegen.“

Eine Aufgabe für alle

In den vergangenen Monaten waren die Moderatorinnen und Moderatoren in vielen Schulen in Sachsen-Anhalt unterwegs, von kleinen Dorfschulen mit nur wenigen neuen Schülern bis zu großen Schulen mit ausreichend Neuankömmlingen für die Einrichtung eigener Vorbereitungsklassen. „Vor allem die Themen Willkommenskultur, interkulturelle Kompetenz oder Islam verstehen waren in Reaktion auf die Ankunft zahlreicher geflüchteter Schüler stark nachgefragt“, berichtet Dr. Dorothé Salomo vom LISA in Halle. Sie koordiniert das Projekt, das im Sommer 2017 ausläuft, und sieht viele Entwicklungspotenziale. „Die Arbeit der Moderatoren ist ein gutes 'Erste-Hilfe'-Angebot, aber größere Veränderungen sind notwendig. Ob in Sachsen-Anhalt oder in anderen Bundesländern, Schulen sehen Interkulturalität und Sprachbildung häufig noch nicht als gesamtschulische Aufgabe, die nicht nur DaZ-Lehrende, sondern alle betrifft. Deshalb planen wir in Zukunft unter anderem mehr Fortbildungen zu sprachsensiblem Fachunterricht. Denn nach dem Willkommenheißen kommt die zielgruppengerechte Vermittlung von schulischen Inhalten.“
 

Erfahrungsberichte

Stephan MünchhoffStephan Münchhoff (Jahrgang 1973), Lehrer in einer Förderschule
Fächer: Deutsch, Sonderpädagogik, Deutsch als Zielsprache

„Ich stehe Schulen und Lehrkräften zur Verfügung, um Lösungswege für den DaZ-Unterricht sowie den sprachsensiblen Fachunterricht zu entwickeln. Sie lernen bei mir diagnostische Verfahren für Kinder nicht deutscher Muttersprache kennen und wie man individuelle Lernziele ableitet. Unter anderem lassen sich gängige Methoden aus dem Unterricht an Förderschulen übertragen. Zum Beispiel die Entwicklung eines Förderplans für einzelne Schüler, der eine schrittweise Förderung der Fertigkeiten Hören, Sprechen, Lesen und Schreiben vorsieht. Nicht alle müssen in allen Bereichen gleich schnell lernen. Auch handlungsbegleitendes Sprechen kann eine gute Methode für die Sprachentwicklung sein, etwa beim Beschreiben von Vorgängen in Kochrezepten, Anleitungen oder Versuchsprotokollen. Es fällt Schülern leichter, etwas sprachlich auszudrücken, wenn sie es selbst gemacht haben.“

Yvonne Al-Jorafi Yvonne Al-Jorafi (Jahrgang 1965), Lehrerin in einer integrierten Gesamtschule
Fächer: Hauswirtschaft, Kunsterziehung, Planen, Bauen und Gestalten, Werken, Technik, Wirtschaft, Sonderpädagogik

„Ich sensibilisiere Lehrende für den Umgang mit Flüchtlingen und Schülerinnen und Schülerinnen mit Migrationshintergrund durch Einblicke in eine andere Sprache, Kultur und Religion. Wir setzen uns mit kulturellen Werten und Überzeugungen von Schülern mit arabischen Wurzeln auseinander, so dass diese im Unterricht berücksichtigt werden können. Vor allem zu den Themen Kopftuch und Ramadan haben Lehrende Fragen. Oder ich zeige Möglichkeiten auf, wie man muslimischen Familien die Notwendigkeit vermittelt, dass auch Mädchen am Schwimmunterricht teilnehmen. Ich empfehle, das Gespräch mit Schülern und Eltern zu suchen und die Eltern aktiv in die Schule einzubinden. Auch der Unterricht kann sich für andere Sprachen und Kulturen öffnen – durch Referate oder die Auseinandersetzung mit Vorurteilen -, um die Grundlagen für Interkulturalität zu legen.“

Jeanette Nitschka, PorträtJeannette Nitschka (Jahrgang 1981), Lehrerin in einer Grundschule
Fächer: Mathematik, Deutsch, Englisch

„Ich zeige Möglichkeiten auf, wie man durch die Förderung interkultureller Kompetenz einen Schulalltag gestaltet, der die Teilhabe aller Schülerinnen und Schüler ermöglicht. Die Grundschule unterscheidet sich von anderen Schulformen insofern, als dass die Sprachvermittlung nicht die zentrale Herausforderung bei der Integration von Flüchtlingskindern ist. Die Sprache erlernen sie in der Regel schnell. Zu Konflikten kommt es aber bei Missverständnissen und Vorurteilen. Lehrende fühlen sich davon oft überfordert, doch Kinder mit anderen Sprachen und Kulturen sind kein neues Problem, sondern nur ein weiterer Aspekt auf dem Weg zur Inklusion. Bei der Ankunft eines neuen Kindes steht zunächst die Aufnahme in der Gruppe an erster Stelle, in dem man ihm mit Offenheit begegnet. Im Unterricht kann man mit Bildern und Realien arbeiten, um Sprache und Wissen zu vermitteln.“