Note-taking at university Preparation for note-taking

Listening and taking notes, while at the same time adding critical comments
Listening and taking notes, while at the same time adding critical comments | Photo (detail): kasto – Fotolia.com

Note-taking is common practice in the higher education context, as well as in everyday professional settings. Nonetheless, it is a complex linguistic exercise that requires specific cognitive skills and strategies. The following deliberations show how note-taking can be practised in GFL lessons.

While listening to a lecture, students link new facts to their existing knowledge, filtering out the salient points and noting them down as a memory aid for future use. All of these are actions that are performed as a matter of course in everyday student life and later in professional contexts.
But what exactly do these actions involve? Which linguistic and cognitive demands are placed on us when we do this? And which additional problems arise when we have to understand the spoken or written word and engage in productive actions such as speaking, interacting and note-taking in a foreign language? This is outlined using the example of note-taking during a lecture.
Note-taking is a technique that involves processing text and knowledge. The notes themselves are taken while listening to a lecture or presentation, and can prove useful at a later date – for example when writing an essay, doing a homework assignment or revising for a test.

Linguistic and cognitive skills

When they take notes, students should be able to compare what they hear – often with the aid of lecture notes or copied presentation slides provided by the tutor – with written and in some cases also visual input. In addition, they should be in a position to understand non-verbal and semi-verbal signals, and to assess these appropriately. This is particularly the case in discussions involving several people, such as those that take place during seminars or at the end of a lecture. Such signals are characterized by cultural specifics and as such are not always easy to interpret clearly, particularly from a foreign language or foreign culture perspective.

Furthermore, it is of central importance for students at university to have a clear understanding of the functions of linguistic actions in academic discourse, such as argumentation, demonstration or objection. Besides the aforementioned functions of those types of texts that are relevant in higher education, they should also be able when listening (and taking notes) to recognize and understand the academic language and text-structuring elements. Only then will they be able to judge when for example a problem is being raised or references to other assessments are being made. As well as identifying key words and important information in the course of the speech, they must be capable of identifying and appraising discourse particles and non-verbal and semi-verbal markers from gestures, facial expressions or intonation. This will make it easier for them to keep track of positions and lines of argumentation, and to attribute these to the right person. Moreover, students must be able to grasp structuring methods such as cohesive elements to prepare a lecture or oral contribution so as to be able to develop hypotheses for the subsequent explanations. This in turn facilitates the reception process.

Linking to prior knowledge

Students also need to be able to link what they are hearing to their own prior knowledge and hypotheses and to check its relevance to the question on which they are focusing. In this context it is necessary to reduce reference texts (such as a lecture, for example) in terms of their quantity, distinguishing on the one hand between the essential and the non-essential, and on the other hand between new knowledge and knowledge that has already been acquired. Against this backdrop, students then need to decide what to record in the form of a note.

Converting notes into written form

Once students have decided on the content that they wish to note down, they have to mentally prepare it, compress it linguistically and, most importantly, paraphrase it. Individual abbreviations, notations and symbols are then used to convert it into written form in an efficient and effective manner (either using a device such as a tablet or by hand). Furthermore, students should be able to make a written record of argumentation structures: taking easily comprehensible notes of theses, antitheses, arguments and counterarguments also requires numerous additional skills. It is also important to decide whether the note should be taken in the student’s first language or in the foreign language, which presumably will depend first and foremost on the purpose for which the note will subsequently be used. It may also be that the choice of language will have consequences for the language system in which the notes are taken.

Notes are a useful aid when revising for tests. Notes are a useful aid when revising for tests. | Photo (detail): © Robert Kneschke – Fotolia.com

Like a puff of smoke – the fleeting nature of the spoken word

The fleeting nature of the spoken word means that it is crucial for students to remain attentive while they are taking notes so as not to lose the thread and miss hearing subsequent information. After all, unlike when reading and excerpting, information cannot be repeatedly received. Nonetheless, while listening and taking notes it is worth attempting to add critical comments to notes, put individual points in wider contexts and provide them with cross-references. On this basis students will be able to develop new or further-reaching questions.

Overall, the challenge in note-taking is to achieve a “mental disassociation between different communicative tasks” (Ehlich 2003: 19). In other words, students have to perform entirely different linguistic and cognitive actions simultaneously, without even having any possibility of repetition. It is therefore clear that attending a lecture or a seminar, especially in foreign-language contexts, poses a considerable mental strain.

Preparing for note-taking

As a rule, note-taking at university is closely related to the examination requirements of the course of study. Tasks and exercises aimed at teaching these skills in language courses at levels B2 and C1 should therefore be relevant in terms of content and situation to the real context in which they will be used and to the function of the notes.
Students must learn that note-taking will help them when it comes to revising for tests and that it will make it easier for them to give appropriate answers to questions in exam situations. While global, selective and detailed listening comprehensions and noting what is heard form an integral part of GFL and GSL teaching from beginner level right through to C1 level, lessons themselves rarely explain exactly how notes can be effectively taken, for example in preparation for a later exam. Many types of listening comprehension exercises for instance require that learners classify information or respond to specific questions. By contrast, note-taking that is intended for exam preparation demands that learners select content that will be of relevance in the exam. In this context it is important for learners themselves to distinguish between essential and non-essential content that will subsequently help them in the exam situation, and to anticipate which questions may result from what they have heard.
 
Lectures in German made available online by universities provide good exercise material. Lectures in German made available online by universities provide good exercise material. | Photo: © University of Applied Arts Vienna To this end, teachers should initially sensitize learners to the need for structured note-taking that contains key information in abbreviated form. Concrete examples should be given so that students can work out which criteria will be relevant when they are taking their own notes. In this context teachers can take advantage of the lectures that are accessible online in the Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC). Numerous German universities make their introductory lectures in different subjects available free of charge as an online course, in some cases with additional materials and slides.
 
The following document summarizes how to plan a 90-minute lesson in note-taking during an online lecture at higher education level:  
We feel that it is important for skills such as note-taking in lectures or work meetings to be incorporated into GFL lessons that are designed to prepare for or accompany a course of university study. This is because such skills are not acquired of their own accord during the course of study (incidentally, this is not even the case with students whose first language is German). Instead, we should systematically integrate them into our lessons in an action-oriented manner, as in the example given. This will help foreign students to study effectively and cope with the enormous workload involved in processing knowledge.
 

Literature

Arras, Ulrike (2015): Mitschreiben als hochschulrelevante Sprachhandlung – kann das eine Sprachprüfung testen? In: Knapp, Annelie/Aguado, Karin (Ed.): Fremdsprachen in Studium und Lehre – Foreign Languages in Higher Education. Chancen und Herausforderungen für den Wissenserwerb – Opportunities and Challenges for the Acquisition of Knowledge. Frankfurt am Main: Peter Lang, p. 209-245.

Banzer, Roman/Kruse, Otto (2011): Schreiben im Bachelor-Studium: Direktiven für Didaktik und Curriculumentwicklung. In: Berendt, Brigitte /Voss, Hans-Peter/Wildt, Johannes (Ed.): Neues Handbuch Hochschullehre. Lehren und Lernen effizient gestalten. G 4.8. Berlin: Raabe Verlag, p. 1-37.

Ehlich, Konrad (2003): Universitäre Textarten, universitäre Struktur. In: Ehlich, Konrad/Steets, Angelika (Ed.): Wissenschaftlich schreiben – lehren und lernen. Berlin u.a.: De Gruyter, p. 13-28.
 
Graefen, Gabriele/Moll, Melanie (2011): Wissenschaftssprache Deutsch: lesen – verstehen – schreiben. Ein Lehr- und Arbeitsbuch. Frankfurt am Main: Peter Lang.

Oertner, Monika/St. John, Ilona/Thelen, Gabriele (2014): Wissenschaftliches Schreiben. Ein Praxisbuch für Schreibtrainer und Studierende. Paderborn: Wilhelm Fink.

Mitschreiben im Studium Vorbereitung auf das Verfassen von Mitschriften

Gehörtes mitschreiben und gleichzeitig kritisch kommentieren
Gehörtes mitschreiben und gleichzeitig kritisch kommentieren | Foto (Ausschnitt): © kasto – Fotolia.com

Mitschreiben ist im Hochschulkontext und im beruflichen Alltag kaum wegzudenken. Jedoch ist das Mitschreiben eine komplexe Sprachhandlung, die besondere kognitive Fähigkeiten und Strategien erfordert. Die folgenden Überlegungen zeigen, wie man das Mitschreiben im DaF-Unterricht trainieren kann.

Studierende hören zu, verknüpfen Wissen mit Neuem, filtern dabei Wichtiges und notieren es als Erinnerungshilfe für spätere Verwendungszwecke. All das sind Handlungen, die im Studienalltag und später in beruflichen Zusammenhängen ganz selbstverständlich sind.
Was aber geschieht dabei genau? Welche sprachlichen und kognitiven Anforderungen werden dabei an uns gestellt? Und welche zusätzlichen Schwierigkeiten entstehen, wenn das Hör-Seh-Verstehen und produktive Handlungen, wie das Sprechen, Interagieren sowie das Notizenmachen in einer fremden Sprache zu leisten sind? Dies wird am Beispiel des Mitschreibens während einer Vorlesung skizziert.
Mitschreiben ist eine text- und wissensverarbeitende Arbeitstechnik. Die Mitschrift selbst ist eine Hörnotiz, die für spätere Zwecke - etwa ein eigener Aufsatz, eine Hausarbeit oder auch eine Klausurvorbereitung - relevant ist.

Sprachlich-kognitive Fertigkeiten

Beim Mitschreiben sollten Studentinnen und Studenten Gehörtes, oft auch mithilfe von Skripten oder kopierten Präsentationsfolien, mit schriftlichem und manchmal auch visuellem Input abgleichen können. Außerdem sollten sie in der Lage sein, nonverbale und semiverbale Zeichen nachzuvollziehen und angemessen einzuschätzen. Dies gilt insbesondere für Diskussionen mit mehreren Personen, wie sie in Seminaren oder im Anschluss an Vorträge entstehen. Solche Zeichen sind kulturspezifisch geprägt und daher gerade aus fremdsprachlicher sowie fremdkultureller Perspektive nicht immer eindeutig nachvollziehbar.

Im Studium ist es zudem von zentraler Bedeutung, dass sich die Studierenden über die Funktionen von Sprachhandlungen im Wissenschaftsdiskurs, etwa dem Argumentieren, dem Belegen oder Einwenden, im Klaren sind. Über die genannten Funktionen der im Studium relevanten Textsorten hinaus, sollten sie beim Zuhören (und Mitschreiben) auch die wissenschaftssprachlichen sowie textstrukturierenden Elemente erkennen und verstehen können. Nur dann können sie einschätzen, wann beispielsweise problematisiert wird oder wann Bezüge zu anderen Einschätzungen erfolgen. Neben der Identifikation von Schlüsselwörtern und wichtigen Informationen im Redeverlauf müssen sie darüber hinaus Diskurspartikel sowie nonverbale und semiverbale Marker aus Gestik, Mimik oder Stimmlagen erkennen und einschätzen können. Dadurch fällt es ihnen leichter, Positionen und Argumentationsstränge nachzuvollziehen und diese der jeweiligen Person zuzuordnen. Des Weiteren müssen die Studentinnen und Studenten strukturierende Mittel, etwa kohäsive Elemente zum Aufbau eines Vortrags oder Redebeitrags, erfassen können, um Hypothesen für die nachfolgenden Ausführungen zu entwickeln. Dies erleichtert wiederum die Rezeption.

Verknüpfung mit dem Vorwissen

Eine weitere Anforderung an die Studierenden ist es, Gehörtes mit ihrem Vorwissen und ihren Hypothesen zu verknüpfen und hinsichtlich seiner Relevanz für die eigene Fragestellung zu prüfen. In diesem Kontext ist es notwendig, Referenztexte (also etwa eine Vorlesung) quantitativ zu reduzieren. Hierbei ist es relevant, auf der einen Seite Wichtiges von Unwichtigem und auf der anderen Seite Neues von bereits gesicherten Wissensbeständen zu unterscheiden. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist eine Auswahl zu treffen, was als Notiz festzuhalten ist.

Verschriftlichung der Notizen

Nachdem die Studierenden entschieden haben, welcher Inhalt zu notieren ist, müssen sie diese Auswahl mental vorbereiten, sprachlich verdichten und vor allem paraphrasieren. Sie wird dann mithilfe von individuellen Abkürzungen, Notationen und Symbolen zeitökonomisch und effektiv verschriftlicht (maschinell per Tablet oder aber handschriftlich). Zudem sollten die Studierenden auch Argumentationsstrukturen schriftlich festhalten: Thesen, Antithesen, Argumente und Gegenargumente nachvollziehbar zu notieren, erfordert wiederum zahlreiche Teilkompetenzen. Außerdem ist zu entscheiden, ob die Mitschrift in der Erst- oder aber in der Fremdsprache erfolgt, was vermutlich hauptsächlich vom späteren Verwendungszweck der Mitschrift abhängt. Die Wahl der Sprache hat gegebenenfalls zudem Konsequenzen für das Schriftsystem, in dem die Notizen angefertigt werden.

Mitschriften dienen der Klausurvorbereitung. Mitschriften dienen der Klausurvorbereitung. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Robert Kneschke – Fotolia.com

Schall und Rauch – die Flüchtigkeit des Gesprochenen

Während des Schreibens aufmerksam zu bleiben, um den Faden nicht zu verlieren und Anschlussinformationen nicht zu verpassen, ist aufgrund der Flüchtigkeit des gesprochenen Wortes besonders kritisch. Denn Informationen können nicht, wie etwa beim Lesen und Exzerpieren, wiederholt rezipiert werden. Nichtsdestotrotz ist es erstrebenswert, Notizen während des Hörens und Mitschreibens kritisch zu kommentieren, einzelne Punkte in größere Zusammenhänge einzuordnen und mit Querverweisen zu versehen. Auf dieser Basis können die Studierenden schlussendlich neue oder weiterführende Fragen entwickeln.

Insgesamt besteht die Herausforderung beim Mitschreiben in der „mentalen Dissoziierung zwischen unterschiedlichen kommunikativen Aufgaben“ (Ehlich 2003: 19). Das heißt, die Studierenden müssen gleichzeitig ganz verschiedene sprachliche und kognitive Handlungen realisieren und das auch noch ohne die Möglichkeit der Wiederholung. An einer Vorlesung oder einem Seminar teilnehmen stellt daher insbesondere in fremdsprachlichen Kontexten ohne Zweifel eine mentale Belastung dar.

Vorbereitung auf die Mitschrift

Das Mitschreiben an der Universität ist in der Regel eng mit den Prüfungsanforderungen des Studiums verknüpft. Aufgaben und Übungen zur Vermittlung dieser Kompetenz in Sprachkursen auf den Niveaustufen B2 und C1 sollten daher inhaltlich und situativ an den realen Verwendungskontext und die Funktion der Mitschriften anknüpfen.
Studierende müssen lernen, dass Mitschreiben ihnen bei der Klausurvorbereitung hilft und es ihnen erleichtert, treffende Antworten auf Fragen in einer Prüfungssituation zu geben. Globales, selektives und detailliertes Hörverstehen und das Notieren des Gehörten sind zwar fester Bestandteil des DaF- oder DaZ-Unterrichts von den Anfängen bis zur Niveaustufe C1, aber im Unterricht selbst wird nur selten explizit behandelt, wie Notizen, etwa zur Vorbereitung auf eine spätere Prüfung, effektiv angefertigt werden können. Viele Übungsformen im Bereich des Hörverstehens fordern die Lernenden beispielsweise auf, Informationen zuzuordnen oder auf vorgegebene Fragen zu antworten. Im Gegensatz dazu verlangt das Mitschreiben zur Prüfungsvorbereitung von den Lernenden, eine Auswahl im Hinblick auf prüfungsrelevante Inhalte zu treffen. Dabei ist es wichtig, dass die Lernenden selbstständig zwischen Wesentlichem und Unwesentlichem bezüglich ihrer späteren Prüfungsleistung unterscheiden und antizipieren können, welche möglichen Fragen sich aus dem Gehörten ergeben.
 
Online zugängliche deutschsprachige Vorlesungen von Hochschulen sind gutes Übungsmaterial. Online zugängliche deutschsprachige Vorlesungen von Hochschulen sind gutes Übungsmaterial. | Foto: © Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien Dazu sollten Lehrkräfte die Lernenden zunächst für eine strukturierte Mitschrift, die wesentliche Informationen in Kurzform enthält, sensibilisieren. Dies ist anhand von konkreten Beispielen notwendig, damit die angehenden Studierenden Kriterien für das Verfassen ihrer eigenen Notizen ableiten können. Dafür können die Lehrenden die online zugänglichen Vorlesungen aus dem Massive Open Online Course Angebot (MOOC-Angebot) nutzen. Zahlreiche deutsche Hochschulen stellen ihre Einführungsvorlesungen zu den verschiedenen Fächern kostenlos als Onlinekurs, teils mit Zusatzmaterialien und Folien, zur Verfügung.

Im nachfolgenden Dokument wird die Verlaufsplanung für eine 90-minütige Unterrichtssequenz zum Mitschreiben während einer Online-Vorlesung aus dem Hochschulkontext zusammengefasst:  
Uns ist wichtig, dass die Integration von studienrelevanten Arbeitstechniken, wie das Mitschreiben in Vorlesungen oder Arbeitssitzungen, im studienvorbereitenden oder studienbegleitenden DaF-Unterricht verankert wird. Denn solche Fähigkeiten stellen sich nicht einfach von selbst im Verlauf des Studiums ein (übrigens auch nicht bei Studierenden mit Deutsch als Erstsprache). Vielmehr sollten wir sie systematisch und handlungsorientiert, wie im aufgeführten Beispiel, in den Unterricht integrieren. So helfen wir den ausländischen Studierenden, ihr Studium effektiv zu gestalten und das enorme Pensum an Wissensverarbeitung zu meistern.
 

Literatur

Arras, Ulrike (2015): Mitschreiben als hochschulrelevante Sprachhandlung – kann das eine Sprachprüfung testen? In: Knapp, Annelie/Aguado, Karin (Hg.): Fremdsprachen in Studium und Lehre – Foreign Languages in Higher Education. Chancen und Herausforderungen für den Wissenserwerb – Opportunities and Challenges for the Acquisition of Knowledge. Frankfurt am Main: Peter Lang, S. 209-245.

Banzer, Roman/Kruse, Otto (2011): Schreiben im Bachelor-Studium: Direktiven für Didaktik und Curriculumentwicklung. In: Berendt, Brigitte /Voss, Hans-Peter/Wildt, Johannes (Hg.): Neues Handbuch Hochschullehre. Lehren und Lernen effizient gestalten. G 4.8. Berlin: Raabe Verlag, S. 1-37. 

Ehlich, Konrad (2003): Universitäre Textarten, universitäre Struktur. In: Ehlich, Konrad/Steets, Angelika (Hg.): Wissenschaftlich schreiben – lehren und lernen. Berlin u.a.: De Gruyter, S. 13-28.
 
Graefen, Gabriele/Moll, Melanie (2011): Wissenschaftssprache Deutsch: lesen – verstehen – schreiben. Ein Lehr- und Arbeitsbuch. Frankfurt am Main: Peter Lang.

Oertner, Monika/St. John, Ilona/Thelen, Gabriele (2014): Wissenschaftliches Schreiben. Ein Praxisbuch für Schreibtrainer und Studierende. Paderborn: Wilhelm Fink.