Authentic communication in digital media הקץ לסימולציה

Digital media can help generate more authentic communication in the classroom.
Digital media can help generate more authentic communication in the classroom. | Photo (detail): WavebreakmediaMicro © Adobe Stock

Foreign language classes still simulate communicative processes in many cases. What should be the goal, however, are learning scenarios in which authentic communication between real people takes centre stage. Digital media can play an important role in achieving this.

It sounds so easy: rather than working with outdated textbooks in foreign language lessons and merely simulating communication in situations that have little to do with real life, digital media could be used to bring real communication partners into the classroom on a virtual level so that languages are learnt in an authentic manner on the basis of real-life examples. Back in 1995, Rainer Donath in Germany was already lamenting the fact that didactic simulations are causing us to “create a sham form of communication that reflects neither the linguistic nor cultural reality of the country in question” (Donath 1995: 46). He proposed that the “second-hand information contained in textbooks that have always been outdated and distorted and are rarely authentic” (Donath 1995: 46) be replaced by realistic communication, and initiated corresponding e-mail projects. However, what sounds so easy and convincing in theory proves complex and problematic when it comes to the detail. This is because the problems begin even with the term authentic.   

What is authentic about authentic communication?

There are increasing calls for authentic communication because foreign language lessons are often characterized by non-authentic communication of an absurdity aptly caricatured by the German comedian Loriot (1992: 94) in his television course “German for Beginners”:
 
Viktor:            My name is Viktor. I weigh 82 kilos.
Man:              My name is Herbert. My train departs at 7.26 pm.
Woman:         That is my husband.
Man:              Those are my trousers.
Viktor:            That is my briefcase.

 
In extreme cases, communication inside the classroom may have little in common with authentic communication outside it: it serves solely a predefined didactic purpose (learning pronouns, for example). There is no intrinsic motivation to enter into a dialogue; at best an artificial reason for the conversation is created. The communication has no significance in terms of its content – let alone any existential meaning – for the real lives of the participants.
 
By contrast, authenticity is evident in three dimensions that can be summarized – in much abbreviated form – as follows, in line with Judith Bündgens-Kosten (2013): communication is authentic on a linguistic and cultural level when it is based not on the ideals and stereotypes of the textbook but on the linguistic and cultural reality. It is functionally authentic when there is a genuine reason to engage in conversation with other people, and when the exchange in question serves not only a curricular purpose but also has a personal relevance for those taking part in it.
 
Even this brief and superficial outline makes it clear why there is often a discrepancy between authentic communication and classroom communication. To put it bluntly, the greater the extent to which communication processes serve only didactic ends, the less they will be experienced as authentic. Against this backdrop, digital communication can be viewed as an opportunity to lend foreign language lessons the highest possible degree of linguistic, cultural and functional authenticity. 

Authenticity versus a didactic approach

Learners can use voice messages or video conferences to communicate authentically with others. Learners can use voice messages or video conferences to communicate authentically with others. | Photo (detail): twinsterphoto © Adobe Stock One of the Internet developments with the most far-reaching consequences was the step from the consumer web 1.0 to the social media web we have today: while chatrooms, forums and video conferences were still seen as the exotic domain of the nerd when Donath was engaged in his e-mail projects, such activities are nowadays an integral part of everyday social media life for users of Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, YouTube, Twitter and WhatsApp. On a technical level it has never before been so easy to initiate authentic communication processes in foreign language lessons: to begin a collaborative writing project online that will involve learners jointly composing and discussing a text, all one needs to do is create a Google Docs document with the respective sharing options and then share the link. Portals such as fanfiction.de can be used as the springboard for social reading where the focus is not solely on books: current cinema films or computer games can also present opportunities to compose texts of one’s own and/or to enter into a discussion about them online. Those who dislike the public nature of the Internet can use commercial services such as lectory, which provide a more private setting in which to jointly read, annotate and discuss books. Facebook profiles and groups invite communication, and even individual hashtags can be used for language-learning purposes: on Instagram for example, a community has sprung up around #basicgermanwords, collecting and discussing artistic photos of German words such as “Hähnchengrill” and “Glühwein”. Blogs can be set up with great ease using services like Wordpress and used to combine many of the aforementioned functions: as a digital version of a reading diary or portfolio, they serve as a virtual expansion of the classroom and potentially can address the entire online community (see Schildhauer 2015). Popular messaging services like WhatsApp allow voice messages to be sent for time-staggered verbal exchanges. This can be a definite advantage as learners do not have to respond spontaneously to their communication partner and have enough time to compose their verbal contributions. Video conference calls (using for example Skype, Facetime or Hangouts) can now be made with any smartphone.
 
This technical simplicity is at odds with the complexity of the challenge of initiating authentic communication processes in a successful didactic manner. The main difficulty for teachers is to arrange the classroom scenario in such a way that learners experience the communication as authentic rather than as artificial and stilted. As a rule, a common topic is used as a communication bridge: this could include shared interests, local specificities, topical issues or identical lesson content. It should also be noted that authentic writing processes in digital media are based somewhere between the two extremes of spoken and written language use, so a text message chat for example should not be assessed strictly according to dictionary standards. Another aspect that is typical of authentic communication is that teachers will lose control on various levels: learners may choose for instance not to send a profile by e-mail, as they were requested to do, but may simply refer in a WhatsApp message to their Instagram account or use Twitter – without the teacher’s knowledge – to comment on what is happening instead of using the “official” video conference. In extreme cases authenticity may even mean that German and French pupils prefer to communicate with one another in English.

Technology and didactics 

In terms of technology, digital media make it easier than ever before to initiate authentic communication. On the other hand, it is still as difficult as ever to preserve authenticity in a didactic-based classroom setting. This is probably the key reason why Donath’s appeal – to put a stop to simulations in foreign language lessons – is still relevant today, almost a quarter of a century later. The German-Dutch video conference project GLAS (see Langela-Bickenbach 2015), which won the 2018 Teaching Award in the “innovative lessons” category, is one example that proves that it is possible to communicate authentically in foreign language lessons.
 

Literature

Bündgens-Kosten, Judith (2013): Authenticity in CALL: three domains of “realness”. In: ReCALL 25, Issue 2, p. 272-285.
 
Donath, Rainer (1995): Schluß mit den Simulationen im Fremdsprachenunterricht. In: Computer&Unterricht Volume 5, Issue 18, p. 46-51.
 
Langela-Bickenbach, Adriane (2015): GLAS-klar! - Austausch und Videokonferenzen mit der niederländischen Partnerschule. In: nachbarsprache niederländisch, Issue 30, p. 4-25.
 
Loriot (1993): Deutsch für Ausländer. Ein Fernsehkurs. In: Ders.: Menschen, Tiere, Katastrophen. Stuttgart: Reclam 1992, p. 93-94.
 
Schildhauer, Peter (2015): Blogging our Way to Digital Literacies? A Critical View on Blogging in Foreign Language Classrooms. In: 10plus1: Living Linguistics, Issue 1, p. 182-195.

Authentische Kommunikation in digitalen Medien Schluss mit Simulationen

Digitale Medien können zu mehr authentischer Kommunikation im Unterricht verhelfen.
Digitale Medien können zu mehr authentischer Kommunikation im Unterricht verhelfen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): WavebreakmediaMicro © Adobe Stock

Im aktuellen Fremdsprachenunterricht werden häufig kommunikative Prozesse simuliert. Das Ziel sollten jedoch Lernarrangements sein, in denen authentische Interaktionen zwischen realen Personen im Mittelpunkt stehen. Hierbei können digitale Medien einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten. 
 

Es klingt so einfach: Anstatt sich im Fremdsprachenunterricht mit veralteten Lehrbüchern zu beschäftigen und Kommunikation in lebensfernen Situationen nur zu simulieren, könnte man mithilfe der digitalen Medien reale Gesprächspartner virtuell ins Klassenzimmer holen und am Beispiel lebensnaher Themen auf authentische Weise Sprachen lernen. In Deutschland beklagte Rainer Donath bereits 1995, dass wir durch didaktische Simulationen „einen Kommunikationspopanz auf[bauen], der weder der sprachlichen noch der kulturellen Wirklichkeit des jeweils anderen Landes [...] gerecht werden kann” (Donath 1995: 46). Er schlug vor, die „second-hand Informationen der Lehrbücher, die immer schon veraltet, verzerrt und nur selten authentisch sind,” (Donath 1995: 46) durch realitätsbezogene Kommunikation zu ersetzen und initiierte entsprechende E-Mail-Projekte. Doch was so leicht und überzeugend klingt, erweist sich im Detail als komplex und problematisch. Denn die Schwierigkeiten beginnen schon beim Begriff authentisch.

Was ist authentisch an authentischer Kommunikation? 

Der Ruf nach authentischer Kommunikation wird laut, weil der Fremdsprachenunterricht häufig durch nicht-authentische Kommunikation geprägt ist, deren Absurdität Loriot (1992: 94) in seinem Fernsehkurs „Deutsch für Anfänger” treffsicher karikiert hat:
 
Viktor: Ich heiße Viktor. Ich wiege 82 Kilo.
Er:       Ich heiße Herbert. Mein Zug fährt um 19 Uhr 26.
Sie:     Das ist mein Mann.
Er:       Das ist meine Hose.
Viktor: Das ist meine Aktentasche.
 
Im Extremfall hat unterrichtliche Kommunikation nur wenig mit authentischer Kommunikation außerhalb des Klassenraums gemeinsam: Sie dient ausschließlich einem vorab festgelegten didaktischen Ziel (zum Beispiel Pronomen zu lernen). Es gibt keine intrinsische Motivation zum Dialog, sondern höchstens einen künstlich erzeugten Gesprächsanlass. Die Kommunikation hat für die eigene Lebenswelt keinerlei inhaltliche oder gar existenzielle Bedeutung.
 
Authentizität zeigt sich hingegen in drei Dimensionen, die man im Anschluss an Judith Bündgens-Kosten (2013) folgendermaßen - stark verkürzt - zusammenfassen kann: Kommunikation ist linguistisch und kulturell authentisch, wenn sie sich nicht an den Idealen und Stereotypen des Lehrbuchs, sondern an der sprachlichen und kulturellen Realität orientiert. Sie ist funktional authentisch, wenn es einen echten Anlass gibt, mit anderen Personen in Kontakt zu treten, und wenn der Austausch nicht nur einem curricularen Ziel dient, sondern für die Beteiligten auch persönlich bedeutsam ist.
 
Schon diese knappe und oberflächliche Skizze lässt die häufig auftretende Spannung zwischen authentischer und unterrichtlicher Kommunikation deutlich werden. Überspitzt formuliert: Je stärker Kommunikationsprozesse didaktisiert werden, desto weniger werden sie als authentisch erlebt. Vor diesem Hintergrund kann man digitale Kommunikation als eine Chance sehen, dem Fremdsprachenunterricht einen möglichst hohen Grad an linguistischer, kultureller und funktionaler Authentizität zu verleihen.

Authentizität versus Didaktisierung

Über Sprachnachrichten oder in Videokonferenzen können Lernende mit anderen authentisch kommunizieren. Über Sprachnachrichten oder in Videokonferenzen können Lernende mit anderen authentisch kommunizieren. | Foto (Ausschnitt): twinsterphoto © Adobe Stock Eine der folgenreichsten Entwicklungen im Internet war der Schritt vom Konsumenten-Web 1.0 zum Mitmach-Netz der Social Media: Galten Chats, Foren und Videokonferenzen zur Zeit der E-Mail-Projekte Donaths noch als exotischer Tummelplatz für Nerds, gehören diese Aktivitäten inzwischen zum medialen Alltag der Facebook-, Instagram-, Snapchat-, YouTube-, Twitter- und WhatsApp-Nutzerinnen und Nutzer. Technisch war es noch nie so einfach, authentische Kommunikationsprozesse im Fremdsprachenunterricht anzubahnen: Um online ein kollaboratives Schreibprojekt zu starten, in dessen Rahmen Lernende gemeinsam einen Text erstellen und darüber diskutieren, genügt es, ein Google-Docs-Dokument mit entsprechenden Freigabeoptionen zu erstellen und den Link zu teilen. Portale wie fanfiction.de können als Ausgangspunkt für Social Reading dienen, bei dem nicht nur Bücher im Mittelpunkt stehen: Auch aktuelle Kinofilme oder Computerspiele können als Anlässe dienen, eigene Texte zu schreiben und/oder sich online darüber auszutauschen. Wer die Offenheit des Webs scheut, findet bei kommerziellen Angeboten wie lectory einen geschlossenen Raum, in dem Bücher gemeinsam gelesen, annotiert und diskutiert werden können. Facebookprofile und -gruppen stellen eine Einladung zur Kommunikation dar und selbst einzelne Hashtags können zum Sprachenlernen dienen: Bei Instagram ist beispielsweise rund um #basicgermanwords eine Gemeinschaft entstanden, die künstlerische Fotos von deutschen Wörtern wie „Hähnchengrill” oder „Glühwein” sammelt und bespricht. Mit Blogs, die sich über Dienste wie Wordpress sehr einfach einrichten lassen, können viele der genannten Funktionen gebündelt werden: Als digitale Variante eines Lesetagebuchs oder eines Portfolios stellen sie die virtuelle Erweiterung des Klassenraums dar und adressieren potenziell das gesamte Internet als Publikum (siehe Schildhauer 2015). Populäre Messenger wie WhatsApp ermöglichen Sprachnachrichten, mit denen man sich zeitversetzt im Medium der Mündlichkeit austauschen kann. Das kann durchaus ein Vorteil sein: Lernende müssen nicht spontan auf ein Gegenüber reagieren und haben genug Zeit, ihre mündlichen Äußerungen zu konzipieren. Auch Videokonferenzen (unter anderem via Skype, Facetime, Hangouts) sind inzwischen mit jedem Smartphone möglich.
 
Dieser technischen Einfachheit steht die anspruchsvolle Aufgabe gegenüber, authentische Kommunikationsprozesse didaktisch erfolgreich anzuleiten. Für Lehrende ist es vor allem schwierig, das Unterrichtsarrangement so zu gestalten, dass Lernende die Kommunikation nicht als künstlich und zwanghaft, sondern als authentisch erleben. In der Regel wird über ein gemeinsames Thema eine kommunikative Brücke gebaut: Das können unter anderem geteilte Interessen, lokale Besonderheiten, aktuelle Themen oder identische Unterrichtsinhalte sein. Zu beachten ist auch, dass authentische Schreibprozesse in digitalen Medien zwischen den Polen der Mündlichkeit und Schriftlichkeit angesiedelt sind, sodass man beispielsweise einen Text-Chat nicht nach Maßstäben des Dudens bewerten sollte. Typisch für authentische Kommunikation ist weiterhin, dass Lehrende auf mehreren Ebenen die Kontrolle verlieren: So können Lernende zum Beispiel einen Steckbrief nicht - wie gewünscht - per E-Mail versenden, sondern einfach per WhatsApp auf ihr Instagramprofil verweisen oder neben der „offiziellen” Videokonferenz das Geschehen ohne das Wissen der Lehrenden via Twitter kommentieren. Im Extremfall kann Authentizität auch bedeuten, dass sich deutsche und französische Schülerinnen und Schüler vorzugsweise auf Englisch austauschen.

Technik und Didaktik 

Technisch ist es durch digitale Medien so einfach wie nie, authentische Kommunikation zu initiieren. Hingegen ist es unverändert schwierig, Authentizität im didaktisierten Unterricht zu wahren. Das ist wohl der wichtigste Grund, warum Donaths Appell – Schluss zu machen mit den Simulationen im Fremdsprachenunterricht – auch nach fast einem Vierteljahrhundert noch aktuell ist. Dass es durchaus möglich ist, im Fremdsprachenunterricht authentisch zu kommunizieren, zeigt exemplarisch das deutsch-niederländische Videokonferenz-Projekt GLAS (siehe Langela-Bickenbach 2015), das beim Lehrerpreis 2018 in der Kategorie „Unterricht innovativ“ ausgezeichnet wurde.
 

Literatur

Bündgens-Kosten, Judith (2013): Authenticity in CALL: three domains of “realness”. In: ReCALL 25, H. 2, S. 272-285.
 
Donath, Rainer (1995): Schluß mit den Simulationen im Fremdsprachenunterricht. In: Computer&Unterricht 5. Jg., H. 18, S. 46-51.
 
Langela-Bickenbach, Adriane (2015): GLAS-klar! - Austausch und Videokonferenzen mit der niederländischen Partnerschule. In: nachbarsprache niederländisch, H. 30, S. 4-25.
 
Loriot (1993): Deutsch für Ausländer. Ein Fernsehkurs. In: Ders.: Menschen, Tiere, Katastrophen. Stuttgart: Reclam 1992, S. 93-94.
 
Schildhauer, Peter (2015): Blogging our Way to Digital Literacies? A Critical View on Blogging in Foreign Language Classrooms. In: 10plus1: Living Linguistics, H. 1, S. 182-195.