Video production in the classroom Learners behind the camera

Producing their own videos for lessons motivates learners.
Producing their own videos for lessons motivates learners. | Photo (detail): Rasulov © Adobe Stock

You must have incorporated a video into your lesson at some point? But have learners ever produced videos of their own in your classroom? These tips and tutorial film clips will help you to try this out in lessons.
 

Smartphones make it possible to produce audio and video simply and at minimal cost.  Anyone can produce videos and share them via platforms such as YouTube and Vimeo, or apps like WhatsApp. Participation in the sense of being involved in public debate is easier as a result.

But what does it mean for GFL teaching? Whereas up to a few years ago teachers mainly used videos and films in combination with receptive tasks or as a means of motivating students to speak, it is now possible for learners to produce video content for the classroom themselves. So learners are potential media producers. This potential is huge for collaborations, independent learning and project documentation – all teachers need to do is address video production specifically in lessons and offer appropriate guidance.

Why do we have videos in language lessons?

In addition to the aspects stated above, there are further advantages of working with videos in language classes:
  • You can use videos to work receptively and productively with learners at all levels. As with all teaching activities, it is important to have internally differentiated planning.
  • Videos are popular. This means that students are motivated to engage with their content or even produce their own films.
  • Teachers can use videos to adopt a learner-centred approach to their lesson planning: when selecting popular videos, learners can base their choices on their own interests, and they can incorporate their individual preferences into the creation of their own productions too.
  • Video production is a good way of linking informal and formal learning.
  • The option of repeating individual film clips supports learning at the students’ own speed.
  • Video subtitling can be used as a lesson activity. It’s a good way of practising both pronunciation and listening comprehension.

Two classroom scenarios

Consolidation of phrases and vocabulary through recording given dialogues
Sound familiar? The lesson content is important, but the learners are getting bored with the exercises given. They urgently need to learn vocabulary and phrases, but they aren’t doing this. At this point you have the opportunity to make the lesson less formal by setting tasks relating to an existing video or getting them to create their own – and at the same time this will help them achieve the learning objectives more effectively. You can find a specific example of how a lesson (Level: B1 / course section: people / subject: job applications) is linked with low-threshold video work here:
Subtitling to improve pronunciation and listening comprehension
This often happens as well: learners produce a video, but it’s difficult to understand. To ensure that learners are careful to make their formulations comprehensible, they can subtitle their fellow learners’ videos as an exercise. Find out how you can work with the YouTube editor (which is freely available) here:

Tips for video production

Audio: The easiest way is for learners to use the built-in microphone on the mobile device. With this approach, background noises are often picked up on the recording too. To prevent this, recommend that the learners film the video in a quiet environment.

Framing and panning: Here, less is more. The larger the frame, the higher the visual input. The background can then quickly start to look chaotic. For this reason, the frame area should focus on the main characters. To achieve this, the camera should be held as straight as possible without too many interruptions and adventurous panning during filming. This can be irritating for viewers. One-Shot videos are ideal for introducing learners to video production.

Lighting: A mix of natural and artificial light is ideal for video productions using mobile devices. Extreme light contrasts should be avoided.

Story: A video always tells a story. The structure of the story is key – outsiders need to understand it as well. Learners should have that at the back of their minds as they film.

Over/under challenging: Teachers tend to aspire to ambitious video productions. To ensure that learners have a successful experience, you should start with simple productions rather than attempting complex video projects – because that would call for a lots of creativity, technical expertise and teamwork. In GFL teaching, there is the additional language aspect. For this reason, video productions should be oriented towards lesson content. In order not to over or under challenge the learners, you can suggest different variants to them – ranging from reading out existing dialogues or changing dialogue settings, to an improvised dialogue.

Teacher as coach: You should advise the learner groups regarding the planning and implementation of the video production, and give them feedback. If the group loses sight of the task’s purpose, you should also intervene at a contact level.

Copyrights: Young people in particular often want to add well-known music as a backing track to a video they have made themselves, or insert film clips. However, only material that is self-produced or can be obtained licence-free on the internet may be used. To minimise the risk of copyright infringement, you could also use the Adobe Spark software to work with students. Licence-free content is offered here.

Beware of mobbing: Remarks from within the learner group as well as anonymous user comments on video productions can quickly have a destructive effect on the learning process. To avoid this situation, you have the following options:  
  1. Don’t have people appearing in the video.
  2. You can decide whether the videos can be viewed by the public and the comment function is enabled, with the learners’ agreement of course.
  3. The videos are only uploaded in secure spaces, for instance via a closed learning platform.
Have you ever produced videos in the classroom? You can use the comment function to share your experiences with us!

Videoproduktion im Unterricht Lernende hinter der Kamera

Eigene Videos für den Unterricht zu produzieren, motiviert die Lernenden.
Eigene Videos für den Unterricht zu produzieren, motiviert die Lernenden. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Rasulov © Adobe Stock

Sie haben doch bestimmt schon einmal ein Video in Ihrem Unterricht eingesetzt? Aber haben die Lernenden in Ihrem Unterricht auch schon Videos selbst produziert? Die Tipps und Erklärvideos helfen Ihnen, das im Unterricht auszuprobieren.
 

Smartphones ermöglichen eine einfache, kostengünstige Audio- und Videoproduktion.  Jeder kann Videos produzieren und diese über Plattformen wie YouTube und Vimeo oder Apps wie WhatsApp teilen. Partizipation im Sinne von Teilhabe am öffentlichen Diskurs ist dadurch einfacher.

Aber was bedeutet das für den DaF-Unterricht? Nutzten Lehrkräfte bis vor einigen Jahren Videos und Filme vorwiegend in Kombination mit rezeptiven Aufgaben oder als Sprechanlass, so können Lernende nun auch selbst Videoinhalte für den Unterricht produzieren. Lernende sind also potenzielle Medienproduzentinnen und -produzenten. Dieses Potenzial ist für Kollaborationen,  selbstständiges Lernen und Projektdokumentationen enorm – die Videoproduktion muss nur im Unterricht gezielt aufgegriffen und angeleitet werden.

Wozu Videos im Sprachunterricht?

Neben den oben genannten Aspekten gibt es noch weitere Vorteile an der Arbeit mit Videos im Sprachunterricht:
  • Man kann mit Lernenden auf allen Niveaustufen rezeptiv und produktiv mit Videos arbeiten. Dabei ist wie bei allen Unterrichtsaktivitäten eine binnendifferenzierte Planung wichtig.
  • Videos sind beliebt. Daher motiviert es Lernende, sich mit Videos inhaltlich zu beschäftigen oder sogar welche zu produzieren.
  • Lehrende können ihren Unterricht durch Videos lernerzentriert gestalten: Bei der Auswahl beliebter Videos können Lernende ihre Interessen berücksichtigen und auch bei der eigenständigen Produktion können sie ihre individuellen Vorlieben einbringen.
  • Informelles und formelles Lernen werden bei der Videoproduktion gut miteinander verknüpft.
  • Die Möglichkeit, einzelne Videoabschnitte wiederholt abzuspielen, unterstützt das Lernen im eigenen Tempo.
  • Das Untertiteln von Videos kann als Aktivität in den Unterricht aufgenommen werden. Das trainiert sowohl die Aussprache als auch das Hörverstehen.

Zwei didaktische Szenarien

Festigung von Redemitteln und Vokabular durch die Aufnahme von vorgegebenen Dialogen
Wer kennt das nicht? Die Inhalte der Lektion sind wichtig, aber die Lernerinnen und Lerner langweilen sich mit den vorgegebenen Übungen. Sie müssen sich dringend Vokabeln und Redemittel einprägen, tun es aber nicht. An dieser Stelle haben Sie die Chance, mit Aufgaben zu einem bestehenden Video oder dem Dreh von eigenen Videos den Unterricht aufzulockern und gleichzeitig dadurch die Lernziele besser zu erreichen. Ein konkretes Beispiel zur Verknüpfung einer Lektion (Niveau: B1 / Lehrwerk: Menschen / Thema: Bewerbungen) mit niedrigschwelliger Videoarbeit finden Sie hier:
Untertitelung zur Förderung der Aussprache und des Hörverstehens
Auch das passiert häufig: Lernende produzieren ein Video, aber man versteht es nicht gut. Damit Lernende auf die Verständlichkeit ihrer Formulierungen achten, können sie als Übung die Videos ihrer Mitlernenden untertiteln. Wie Sie mit dem (frei verfügbaren) YouTube-Editor arbeiten können, um eine bessere Aussprache und das Hörverstehen zu fördern, erfahren Sie hier:

Tipps für die Videoproduktion

Audio: Am bequemsten ist es, wenn Lernende das Mikrofon des mobilen Endgeräts benutzen. Dabei werden oft  Geräusche aus der Umgebung mit aufgenommen. Empfehlen Sie deshalb den Lernenden, das Video in einer ruhigen Umgebung zu drehen.

Bildausschnitt und Kameraführung: Hier gilt weniger ist mehr. Je größer der Ausschnitt, umso höher der visuelle Input. Der Hintergrund wirkt dann schnell unübersichtlich. Deshalb sollte sich der Bildausschnitt auf die Handlungsfiguren konzentrieren. Die Kamera sollte dabei möglichst gerade gehalten werden, ohne viele Unterbrechungen und gewagte Schwenke bei der Aufnahme. Das kann für die Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer irritierend sein. One-Shot-Videos sind als Einstieg in die Videoproduktion mit Lernenden ideal.

Beleuchtung: Eine Mischung aus natürlichem und künstlichem Licht eignet sich gut für Videoproduktionen mit mobilen Endgeräten. Starke Lichtkontraste sollten vermieden werden.

Story: Ein Video erzählt immer eine Geschichte. Der Aufbau der Geschichte ist entscheidend – auch Außenstehende sollen sie verstehen. Das sollten Lernende beim Dreh im Hinterkopf haben.

Über- und Unterforderung: Als Lehrkraft ist man geneigt, ambitionierte Videoproduktionen anzustreben. Damit die Lernenden ein Erfolgserlebnis haben, sollten Sie mit einfachen Produktionen anfangen und auf komplexe Videoprojekte verzichten – denn das erfordert viel Kreativität, technisches Know-how und Teamarbeit. Im DAF-Unterricht kommt noch der sprachliche Aspekt dazu. Daher sollten sich Videoproduktionen an den Unterrichtsinhalten orientieren. Um die Lernenden nicht zu über- und unterfordern, können Sie ihnen verschiedene Varianten vorschlagen – vom Vorlesen vorgegebener Dialoge über die Veränderung des Dialogsettings bis zu einem improvisierten Dialog.

Lehrkraft als Coach: Sie sollten die Lernendengruppen bei der Planung und Umsetzung der Videoproduktion beraten und Feedback geben. Wenn die Gruppe den Sinn der Aufgabe aus den Augen verliert, sollten Sie auch inhaltlich eingreifen.

Urheberrechte: Insbesondere junge Lernende verspüren schnell die Lust, ein selbst gedrehtes Video mit bekannter Musik zu untermalen oder Filmausschnitte einzusetzen. Man darf jedoch nur Material verwenden, was man selbst produziert oder lizenzfrei im Internet bekommen kann. Um die Gefahr der Urheberrechtsverletzung gering zu halten, können Sie mit den Lernenden auch mit der Applikation Adobe Spark arbeiten. Dort werden lizenzfreie Inhalte angeboten.

Achtung Mobbing: Sowohl Bemerkungen innerhalb der Lernendengruppe als auch anonyme Nutzerkommentare zu Videoproduktionen können sich schnell destruktiv auf den Lernprozess auswirken. Um dieser Situation vorzubeugen, haben Sie folgende Möglichkeiten:  
  1. Es erscheinen keine Personen im Video.
  2. Sie entscheiden, ob die Videos für die Öffentlichkeit freigegeben werden und die Kommentarfunktion freigegeben wird, natürlich nur mit Einverständnis der Lernenden.
  3. Die Videos werden nur in geschützten Räumen, zum Beispiel auf einer geschlossenen Lernplattform hochgeladen.
Haben Sie im Unterricht bereits Videos produziert? Sie können Ihre Erfahrungen gern mit uns über die Kommentarfunktion teilen!