Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Studying in Germany
Fit for university

150 refugees from diverse countries start university in Bremen in 2016. In autumn 2018, they will be joined by Ahmad Al Zoubi.
150 refugees from diverse countries start university in Bremen in 2016. In autumn 2018, they will be joined by Ahmad Al Zoubi. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Carmen Jaspersen / dpa

In 2015, Ahmad Al Zoubi fled from his Syrian homeland. Today he studies mechanical engineering in Germany. Like other refugees now at a German university, he was helped into higher education by the Integra language programme. 

By Petra Schönhöfer

The attacks on Daraa in southwestern Syria destroyed the lives of 19-year-old Ahmad Al Zoubi and his family. He had finished school, qualified for university and been accepted to study mechanical engineering in Damascus. But how could anyone think of studying in Damascus in autumn 2015? Ahmad and his family take flight and end up in Bremen. The first six months are spent at a refugee accommodation centre. Ahmad attends the German courses run for incoming refugees – but his sights are set higher: he wants to study in Germany. 

Learning German for university

He makes enquiries everywhere, until one day he hears about the Integra language programme. Specifically designed to promote the integration of refugees in higher education, it was launched in 2015 by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) (see info box). The programme helps refugees who wish to study in Germany to settle into higher education as quickly and easily as possible. In most federal states, they are allowed to start university as soon as the asylum process is underway, so they can also join the Integra programme at an early stage. To be eligible, they need to show that they have refugee status and university entrance qualifications, i.e. an appropriate educational background. 

At the heart of the Integra programme is an intensive language course, which Ahmad attends at the Goethe-Institut in Bremen. “That course took us to a very high level in preparation for studying in Germany,” Ahmad explains. “I started it with an intermediate B1 certificate and Integra took me to C1 exam level”. The C1 certificate is an adult qualification attesting to a high level of proficiency in the German language. It is required by non-nationals seeking a career in medicine, for example, or applying for university in Germany. 
“I found German a very difficult language because I had never come into contact with it in Syria,” Ahmad recalls. “We spoke English and knew the word ‘Germany’ but when we arrived here we were suddenly greeted with the words ‘Willkommen in Deutschland’“. He found definite and indefinite articles particularly hard because there is nothing like them in Arabic. “People from other parts of Europe may recognise words because they are similar in their own language. But for us Arabs, everything was totally new.”

“Find out for yourselves”

The Integra course helped Ahmad reach C1 level. For the 20018/19 winter semester, the now 21-year-old received acceptances from three universities to study mechanical engineering and he chose Bremen. Later, he would like to work in the field of renewable energy. But he does not want to give up his second great passion – film-making. His documentary “Flucht aus Syrien” – “Escape from Syria” – a compilation of mobile phone footage taken while he was on the run, has already been shown at a number of cinemas and universities. Audiences and critics both loved it.

Ahmad advises young refugees who would like to study in Germany to be proactive: “Go to the university and make direct enquiries. Don't ask your friends, find out for yourselves what opportunities there are.” The only thing the young Syrian regrets is that the Integra programme is not available in every federal state. 
Refugees need to reach a high level of language proficiency to study in Germany. Refugees need to reach a high level of language proficiency to study in Germany. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Paul Zinken / dpa

Road to higher education: the Integra language programme for refugees

Integrating refugees in higher education is a major challenge for German universities. In view of the large numbers of refugees registered in Germany at the end of 2015, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) launched “Integra – Integration of Refugees in Higher Education”, a programme now offered at around 200 German universities and other institutes of higher education. In conjunction with intercultural workshops and propaedeutic lectures, the intensive language programme is designed to help eligible refugees get into higher education as early as possible.

Bremen universities have taken part in the Integra programme since April 2016 and receive additional support from the state authorities to do so. “HERE Studies” (Higher Education Refugees Entrance Studies) is a joint project by the Foreign Language Centre of Bremen Universities, the dedicated HERE Office and the Bremen Goethe-Institut. The latter offers language courses for refugees up to C1 level, prepares them for university entrance language exams and runs the exams itself. The Foreign Language Centre of Bremen Universities supplements the intensive language tuition with tutoring. 

The success of the programme will be analysed in a research project. Dr Claudia Harsch, research director and general manager of the Foreign Language Centre of Bremen Universities and professor of language teaching and learning research, will monitor the linguistic development and integration of refugees during the Integra programme and the first phase of their university studies. In interviews and questionnaires, the first-year refugee students will be asked to assess in retrospect how well the programme prepared them for university. 

In the support programme’s first year, more than 6,800 refugees attended some 700 Integra language and subject-specific courses designed to prepare them for higher education. In 2017, the number of participants exceeded 10,000. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Studieren in Deutschland
Fit für die Hochschule

150 Flüchtlinge aus verschiedenen Ländern beginnen 2016 ein Studium in Bremen. Im Herbst 2018 wird auch Ahmad Al Zoubi dazu gehören.
150 Flüchtlinge aus verschiedenen Ländern beginnen 2016 ein Studium in Bremen. Im Herbst 2018 wird auch Ahmad Al Zoubi dazu gehören. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Carmen Jaspersen / dpa

2015 flüchtete Ahmad Al Zoubi aus seinem Heimatland Syrien; heute studiert er Maschinenbau in Deutschland. Geholfen hat ihm das Sprachprogramm Integra, das Geflüchtete dabei unterstützt, sich auf ein Hochschulstudium in Deutschland vorzubereiten.

Von Petra Schönhöfer

Die Angriffe auf seine Heimatstadt Daraa im Südwesten Syriens zerstörten die Lebensgrundlage für den damals 19-jährigen Ahmad Al Zoubi und seine Familie. Zuvor hatte er sein Abitur gemacht und eine Zulassung zum Maschinenbaustudium in Damaskus erhalten. Aber in Damaskus studieren? Das ist im Herbst 2015 unvorstellbar. Die Flucht endet für Ahmad schließlich in Bremen. Sechs Monate lang lebt die Familie Al Zoubi in einer Flüchtlingsunterkunft. Ahmad nimmt an den üblichen Deutschkursen für Flüchtlinge teil, aber er hat noch ein anderes Ziel: Er möchte in Deutschland studieren. 

Deutsch lernen für das Studium

Hartnäckig fragt er sich so lange durch, bis er vom Sprachprogramm „Integra – Integration von Flüchtlingen ins Fachstudium“ erfährt, das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) 2015 ins Leben gerufen wurde (siehe Infokasten). Es unterstützt Flüchtlinge, die in Deutschland studieren möchten, möglichst schnell an deutschen Universitäten Fuß zu fassen. In den meisten Bundesländern dürfen sie schon während des laufenden Asylverfahrens ins Studium einsteigen, weshalb sie auch mit Integra früh beginnen können. Die Voraussetzung: Sie müssen Flüchtlingsstatus haben und eine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung – also einen entsprechenden Bildungsabschluss – vorweisen. 

Im Mittelpunkt von Integra steht ein Intensivsprachkurs, den Ahmad am Goethe-Institut in Bremen macht. „In diesem Kurs wurden wir auf sehr hohem sprachlichen Niveau auf ein Studium in Deutschland vorbereitet“, erzählt Ahmad. „Zuvor hatte ich den Kurs B1 abgeschlossen, bei Integra lernten wir alles für die C1-Abschlussprüfung.“ Das C1-Zertifikat ist eine Deutschprüfung für Erwachsene, die ein weit fortgeschrittenes Sprachniveau bestätigt. Ausländische Mitbürger benötigen es etwa, um sich auf eine Tätigkeit im medizinischen Bereich vorzubereiten oder eben um sich für ein Studium in Deutschland zu bewerben. 

„Die deutsche Sprache war für mich sehr schwierig, weil ich mich in Syrien nie damit beschäftigt habe“, erinnert sich Ahmad. „Wir konnten Englisch und kannten das Wort ‚Germany‘, aber als wir ankamen, hieß es plötzlich ‚Willkommen in Deutschland‘.“ Auch die Artikel seien ihm beim Lernen schwergefallen, da es sie im Arabischen so nicht gibt. „Wer aus Europa kommt, kann oft ähnliche Wörter zum Vergleich heranziehen. Aber für uns Araber war alles komplett neu.“ 

„Erkundigt euch aus erster Hand“

Mit dem Integra-Kurs erreichte Ahmad das C1-Niveau. Für das Wintersemester 2018/19 hat der heute 21-Jährige Zulassungen im Bereich Maschinenbau an drei Universitäten erhalten und sich für Bremen entschieden. Am liebsten würde er später im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien eine Arbeit finden. Nebenbei möchte er aber auch seine zweite große Leidenschaft, das Filmemachen, nicht aus den Augen verlieren. Sein Dokumentarfilm „Flucht aus Syrien“, der Handyaufnahmen seiner Flucht zeigt, wurde bereits in verschiedenen Kinos und Universitäten gezeigt und von Publikum und Medien gleichermaßen mit großer Begeisterung aufgenommen. 

Jungen Flüchtlingen, die wie er ein Studium in Deutschland aufnehmen möchten, rät Ahmad vor allem zur Eigeninitiative: „Geht zur Uni hin und fragt euch durch. Fragt nicht eure Freunde, sondern erkundigt euch aus erster Hand, welche Möglichkeiten es für euch gibt.“ Einzig, dass das Integra-Programm nicht flächendeckend in allen deutschen Bundesländern angeboten wird, bedauert der junge Syrer.
Um in Deutschland studieren zu können, müssen Flüchtlinge ein hohes Sprachniveau erreichen. Um in Deutschland studieren zu können, müssen Flüchtlinge ein hohes Sprachniveau erreichen. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Paul Zinken / dpa

Der Weg ins Studium: Sprachprogramm Integra für Geflüchtete 

Die Integration von Geflüchteten in ein Studium stellt deutsche Hochschulen vor große Herausforderungen. Aufgrund der hohen Flüchtlingszahlen, die Deutschland Ende 2015 verzeichnete, riefen das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) das Programm „Integra – Integration von Flüchtlingen ins Fachstudium“ ins Leben, das an rund 200 deutschen Universitäten und Hochschulen angeboten wird. Der Intensivsprachkurs sowie interkulturelle Kurse und Fachangebote sollen studierfähige Geflüchtete zu einem möglichst frühen Zeitpunkt an ein Studium heranführen.

Die Bremer Hochschulen beteiligen sich seit April 2016 an diesem Programm und werden dafür zusätzlich vom Land Bremen gefördert. „HERE studies“ (Higher Education Refugees Entrance Studies) ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Fremdsprachenzentrums der Hochschulen, des eigens eingerichteten Hochschulbüros und des Goethe-Instituts Bremen. Letzteres bietet den Geflüchteten Sprachkurse bis zum Niveau C1 an, es bereitet sie auf die Sprachprüfungen zur Hochschulzugangsberechtigung vor und führt diese auch selbst durch. Das Fremdsprachenzentrum der Hochschulen ergänzt die Intensivsprachkurse durch eine tutorielle Sprachlernbegleitung. 

Den Erfolg des Programms wird ein Forschungsprojekt analysieren. Prof. Dr. Claudia Harsch, die Wissenschaftliche Direktorin und Geschäftsführerin des Fremdsprachenzentrum der Hochschulen in Bremen und Professorin für Sprachlehr- und -lernforschung, wird die sprachliche Entwicklung und Integration geflüchteter Menschen während des Integra-Sprachprogramms und in der ersten Phase des Hochschulstudiums begleiten. Mittels Interviews und Fragebögen sollen die Geflüchteten unter anderem in ihrem ersten Studienjahr rückblickend bewerten, inwieweit das Angebot sie adäquat auf ihr Studium vorbereitet hat. 

Im ersten Jahr der Förderung nahmen deutschlandweit mehr als 6.800 geflüchtete Studieninteressierte an rund 700 sprachlichen und fachlichen Vorbereitungskursen teil, die über das Programm Integra gefördert wurden. 2017 stieg diese Zahl bereits auf über 10.000 Teilnehmer.

Top