IDT 2017 in Fribourg
Language bridges

A group of people debates Photo: Christoph Thorman - photocase.de

At the International Conference of German Teachers (IDT), language is combined with culture, teaching with learning, and exchange with opinion forming. The IDT will be celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2017. The series of articles relating to this year’s conference in the Swiss town of Fribourg reflects current trends in German as a foreign language and invites readers to share their ideas and experiences.

Under the banner “Building Bridges – Connecting with German”, the 16th International Conference of German Teachers will be taking place from 31 July until 4 August. Fribourg/Freiburg was selected as the venue – a town on a language border that serves as a bridge between language cultures. The Goethe-Institut is awarding grants to enable teachers of German from all over the world to take part in the event, which is the largest international conference on the German language and the diversity of German-speaking cultures.
                                                                   
With approx. 700 papers, nine expert panels, 36 sections and an extensive cultural programme, the IDT will be making a crucial contribution to the development of GFL teaching, and to the way teachers perceive their own role. A resolution presented at the conference will underline its desire to be a forum not only for exchange but also for language policy commitment.
 
Magazin Sprache is devoting an entire series of articles to this broad spectrum, designed to pick up on some of the topics raised at the IDT: the way the teaching profession views itself and is viewed by others; controlled versus uncontrolled language acquisition; cultural learning through literature; teaching with digital media and self-evaluation on the basis of practical examples, to name but a few. The different types of article reflect the diversity of topics: everything from more essayist formats and theoretical explanations to practical tips and a multimedia report.
 
We hope you will find the articles fascinating and inspiring! 

Articles

IDT 2017 in Fribourg
Sprachbrücken

Eine Gruppe von Menschen debattiert Foto: Christoph Thorman - photocase.de

Die Internationale Tagung der Deutschlehrerinnen und Deutschlehrer verbindet Sprache und Kultur, Lehren und Lernen, Austausch und Meinungsbildung. 2017 feiert sie ihr 50. Jubiläum. Die Artikelreihe zur diesjährigen IDT im schweizerischen Fribourg spiegelt aktuelle Entwicklungen des Deutschen als Fremdsprache wider und möchte zum Austausch einladen.

Vom 31. Juli bis zum 4. August findet die XVI. Internationale Tagung der Deutschlehrerinnen und Deutschlehrer unter dem Motto „Brücken gestalten – Mit Deutsch verbinden“ statt. Mit Fribourg/Freiburg wurde ein Ort an der Sprachgrenze gewählt, der als Brücke zwischen den Sprachkulturen dient. Durch die Vergabe von Stipendien ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Deutschlehrerinnen und -lehrern aus der ganzen Welt, an dieser größten internationalen Zusammenkunft zur deutschen Sprache und zur Vielfalt der deutschsprachigen Kulturen teilzunehmen.
                                                                   
Mit ca. 700 Beiträgen, 9 Fachpodien, 36 Sektionen und einem umfangreichen Kulturprogramm trägt die IDT einen entscheidenden Teil zum Selbstverständnis und zur Entwicklung des DaF-Unterrichtens bei. Eine vor Ort vorgestellte Resolution unterstreicht den Willen, nicht nur Forum des Austauschs, sondern auch des sprachpolitischen Engagements zu sein.
 
Diesem breiten Spektrum widmet das Magazin Sprache eine eigene Artikelreihe, die exemplarisch einige der bei der IDT behandelten Themen aufgreift: Selbst- und Fremdbild des Lehrberufs, gesteuerter bzw. ungesteuerter Spracherwerb, kulturelles Lernen durch Literatur, Lehren mit digitalen Medien sowie Selbstevaluierung anhand praktischer Beispiele und anderes mehr. Die Art der Beiträge entspricht der Vielfalt der Themen: von eher essayistischen Formaten über theoretische Ausführungen bis hin zu Praxistipps und einer multimedialen Reportage. Weitere Texte folgen im Herbst als Resümee der IDT.
 
Wir wünschen spannende und anregende Lektüre! 

Beiträge