Which German? Communicative Purposes and Contexts Teaching Language Proficiency

Teaching Language Proficiency
Teaching Language Proficiency | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

Speech communities have more or less fixed expectations regarding typical ways of speaking and writing. What role is played in linguistic communication by different purposes and contexts? And what significance does this have when it comes to choosing an appropriate style?

Abstract

The expectations of what constitutes “correct” ways of speaking and writing vary depending on the linguistic situation and the communicative intention. Being aware of such expectations is an important element of language acquisition and a core expression of what is known as communicative proficiency, which is needed if a foreign language is to be used at all authentically. This article draws on a number of examples in German to explain the relationship between language and situation.

A person who speaks German well is able to choose between numerous potential ways of expressing him- or herself. Linguists refer to this variety as “vertical” and “horizontal” differentiation. The former relates to the entire spectrum of language variety, from standard language to regional and social dialects, which can be on different levels of a vertical scale depending on individual range and social standing. Horizontal differentiation, on the other hand, describes the stylistic diversification of contemporary German according to the communicative purpose and context. Both axes are important for learners of German as a foreign language (GFL); above a certain level of proficiency, a command of the “horizontal” level is required and indeed tested in examinations.

LANGUAGE AND SITUATION

Teaching the “horizontal” stylistic diversity of German in GFL classes require equal consideration to be given to different situation types and to the linguistic and communicative approaches expected in them. This includes illustrating how certain forms of speaking and writing are dependent on specific contexts and communicative purposes, as well as making learners aware that (native) speakers associate many forms of linguistic expression with certain typical situations. A knowledge of such expectations is an essential part of foreign language acquisition. It is a central element of what is known as communicative proficiency, which must always accompany and complement grammatical proficiency if a foreign language is to be used authentically in different situations.

The following factors must be considered when assessing communicative situations: who is being spoken or written to (addressee)? Is the communication taking place between friends, family members, business partners or strangers (relationships between individual speakers)? How private or public is the situation? What is the subject of the communication? Is communication taking place orally, in writing, by telephone or via digital means (medium)? Such criteria can be used to distinguish between situations of communicative proximity (for example a private discussion between persons who know each other well) and situations of communicative distance (a hearing, official letter, specialized text or similar).

PROXIMITY AND DISTANCE

Linguistic studies have demonstrated that communicative proximity on all levels of language structural formation gives rise to different forms of linguistic expression than communicative distance. In terms of pronunciation, contractions (using “hat’s” rather than “hat es”) and the omission of unstressed vowels (“ich brauch'” rather than “ich brauche”) are typical markers for proximity. In terms of morphology, a reduced form of directional adverbs can be heard in informal settings (“rein” rather than “herein” or “hinein”, “rüber” rather than “herüber” or “hinüber”).

In terms of syntax, communicative proximity is characterized among other things by a penchant for coordinate sentences, a large number of “sentence-equivalent” expressions (“Einfach toll!”) and syntactic constructions such as left and right dislocation in which the subject is placed at the beginning or end of the phrase and replaced by a pronoun. Sentences such as “Mein Kumpel, der ist Rennfahrer” and “Das sieht ja hübsch aus, dieses Täschchen!” are typical of spontaneous conversation. The way speech is structured can also vary significantly according to the situation. In the context of proximity, numerous structural particles are used (“also”, “naja”, “so”), whereas in distance situations adverbs like “einerseits” and “andererseits” or expressions such as “im Folgenden” are common. Stylistic differentiation of this type can be observed in German among all speakers. A proximity style is by no means “less good” than a distance style, but rather the communicative approach that is expected and therefore appropriate in many situations.

Another area of stylistic differentiation is specialized communication between experts. Markers for this style include linguistic devices such as loanwords (“Enzephalitis”), compounds (“Intonationskonturen”) and abbreviations (“TCP/IP”), as well as combining forms such as noun endings (“-ierung”), a form of syntax normally associated with the written language that uses hypotaxis or complex nominal phrases, and forms of text such as specialist essays or expert reports. Such specialized usage appears not only in a distance setting such as lectures or academic texts, however. Colleagues “talking shop” in the pub can also use the same devices, while at the same time adding a more casual element by employing the stylistic devices of communicative proximity. In this context the indicators of distance and proximity are not mutually exclusive; instead, they combine with and complement one another in specific cases.

LANGUAGE DIVERSITY AND MEDIUM

Stylistic differentiation even occurs in an area of language as heavily standardized as punctuation. On the Internet in particular, punctuation is often very different to that used in standard written language. Generally speaking, this does not indicate an ignorance of the rules, but stems rather from a desire to use punctuation in typed dialogue to express communicative proximity. Multiple question and exclamation marks are used to signal sympathy (“waaaas?????!!”). In social media, messages are frequently ended either without a full stop or indeed with three full stops to indicate that the message in question was composed in haste and should not be regarded as entirely binding. Such phenomena are of interest to learners of German as a foreign language because they show that new communicative contexts lead to linguistic innovations – and thus to a more diverse usage of the German language.

The “conventional” media also illustrate on a daily basis just how diverse German is. While received pronunciation tended to be the norm in broadcasting in the past, the entire spectrum of varieties and styles of German can be heard on radio and television today. Breakfast shows often feature several presenters who adopt a chatty and informal tone, while various different dialects and group languages can be heard in reality shows. This allows journalists and presenters to suggest a proximity to their listeners, which gives rise to a stronger sense of identification. Such programmes are interesting for GFL learners because they give numerous insights into the diversity of the German language.
 

Literature

Androutsopoulos, Jannis: Online-Gemeinschaften und Sprachvariation. Soziolinguistische Perspektiven auf Sprache im Internet. Zeitschrift für Germanistische Linguistik 31:2, 2003, S. 173-197

Fandrych, Christian / Thurmair, Maria: Textsorten im Deutschen. Linguistische Analysen aus sprachdidaktischer Sicht, Tübingen 2011

Koch, Peter; Wulf Oesterreicher: „Schriftlichkeit und Sprache“. In: Günther, H./ Ludwig, O. (Hrsg.): Schrift und Schriftlichkeit. Handbücher für Sprach- und Kommunikationswissenschaft. Berlin/ New York. Bd. 1. 1994, S. 588-604

Welches Deutsch? Kommunikative Zwecke und Kontexte Sprachkompetenz vermitteln

Sprachkompetenz vermitteln
Sprachkompetenz vermitteln | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

In Sprachgemeinschaften bestehen im Hinblick auf typische Arten des Sprechens und Schreibens mehr oder weniger feste Erwartungen. Welche Rolle spielen verschiedene Zwecke und Kontexte sprachlicher Kommunikation dabei? Und was bedeutet dies für die Wahl des angemessenen Stils?

Abstract

Die Erwartungen an „richtiges“ Sprechen und Schreiben variieren je nach Sprachsituation und kommunikativer Absicht. Die Kenntnis solcher Erwartungen ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Sprachenerwerbs und ein zentraler Ausdruck der so genannten kommunikativen Kompetenz, die nötig ist, damit eine Fremdsprache überhaupt authentisch eingesetzt werden kann. Dieser Beitrag erläutert das Verhältnis zwischen Sprache und Situation an mehreren Beispielen des Deutschen.

Wer gut Deutsch spricht, kann auf zahlreiche Möglichkeiten des sprachlichen Ausdrucks zurückgreifen. In der Sprachwissenschaft wird diese Vielfalt als „vertikale“ und „horizontale“ Ausdifferenzierung beschrieben. Ersteres meint die ganze Bandbreite sprachlicher Varietäten von der Standardsprache bis zu regionalen und sozialen Dialekten, die sich je nach Reichweite und gesellschaftlichem Ansehen auf unterschiedlichen Niveaus („vertikal“) bewegen. Die horizontale Differenzierung hingegen bezeichnet die stilistische Ausfächerung der deutschen Gegenwartssprache je nach Zweck und Kontext der Kommunikation. Beide Achsen sind für Lernende von Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) wichtig; ab einem bestimmten Kompetenzniveau wird die Beherrschung der „horizontalen“ Ebene zwingend erwartet und in Prüfungen auch abgefragt.

SPRACHE UND SITUATION

Um die „horizontale“ Stilvielfalt des Deutschen im DaF-Unterricht zu vermitteln, müssen die jeweiligen Situationstypen und die dabei zu erwartenden sprachlich-kommunikativen Mittel gleichermaßen berücksichtigt werden. Dazu gehört, die Abhängigkeit bestimmter Arten des Sprechens und Schreibens von spezifischen Kontexten und kommunikativen Zwecken aufzuzeigen und darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass viele sprachliche Ausdrucksformen im Bewusstsein der Sprecher mit typischen Gebrauchssituationen verbunden sind. Die Kenntnis solcher Erwartungen gehört zum Fremdsprachenerwerb unbedingt dazu. Sie ist zentrales Element der so genannten kommunikativen Kompetenz, die die grammatische Kompetenz stets begleiten und ergänzen muss, damit eine Fremdsprache in verschiedenen Situationen authentisch eingesetzt werden kann.

Zur Beurteilung von kommunikativen Situationen ist es wichtig, folgende Faktoren zu berücksichtigen: Wer wird angesprochen beziehungsweise angeschrieben (Adressat)? Kommunizieren Freunde, Familienmitglieder, Geschäftspartner oder Unbekannte miteinander (Rollenverhältnis)? Wie privat oder öffentlich ist die Situation? Worüber wird kommuniziert (Thema)? Wird gesprochen, geschrieben, fernmündlich oder digital kommuniziert (Medium)? Anhand solcher Kriterien lassen sich Situationen kommunikativer Nähe (beispielsweise ein privates Gespräch unter gut vertrauten Partnern) von solchen der kommunikativen Distanz (eine Anhörung, ein amtliches Schreiben, ein Fachtext oder ähnliches) unterscheiden.

NÄHE UND DISTANZ

Sprachwissenschaftliche Untersuchungen haben nachgewiesen, dass kommunikative Nähe auf allen Ebenen der sprachlichen Strukturbildung andere sprachliche Ausdrucksmittel hervorbringt als kommunikative Distanz. In der Aussprache sind unter anderem Verschmelzungsformen („hat's“ statt „hat es“) und Auslassungen von unbetonten Vokalen („ich brauch'“ statt „brauche“) typische Marker von Nähe. In der Morphologie haben unter anderem Richtungsadverbien in informellen Gesprächen reduzierte Formen („rein“ statt „herein“ oder „hinein“, „rüber“ statt „herüber“ oder „hinüber“).

In der Syntax zeichnet sich kommunikative Nähe unter anderem durch eine Vorliebe für nebengeordnete Sätze, viele satzwertige Ausdrücke (“Einfach toll!“) und syntaktische Konstruktionen wie die Links- und Rechtsversetzung, bei der das Subjekt vor- bzw. nachgestellt und durch ein Pronomen ersetzt wird. Sätze wie „Mein Kumpel, der ist Rennfahrer“ oder „Das sieht ja hübsch aus, dieses Täschchen!“ sind typisch für spontane Gespräche. Auch die Strukturierung der Rede kann sich situationsbezogen stark unterscheiden. Im Kontext der Nähe dienen hierzu zahlreiche Gliederungspartikel („also“, „naja“, „so“), während in Situationen der Distanz Adverbien wie „einerseits“ und „andererseits“ oder Ausdrücke wie „im Folgenden“ üblich sind. Stilistische Differenzierungen dieser Art sind im Deutschen bei allen Sprecherinnen und Sprechern zu beobachten. Ein Stil der Nähe ist dabei keinesfalls „schlechter“ als einer der Distanz, sondern die in vielen Situationen erwartete und daher angemessene kommunikative Wahl.

Ein anderer Bereich stilistischer Ausdifferenzierung ist die Fachkommunikation unter Experten. Kennzeichen hierfür sind Sprachmittel wie Fremdwörter („Enzephalitis“), Komposita („Intonationskonturen“) oder Abkürzungen („TCP/IP“), aber auch Wortbildungsmittel wie Nominalendungen („-ierung“), eine eher schriftsprachliche Syntax mit Hypotaxen oder komplexen Nominalphrasen sowie Textsorten wie Fachaufsätze und Gutachten. Dabei kommt Fachspezifik nicht nur im distanzierten Umfeld von Vorlesungen oder Wissenschaftstexten zum Tragen. Auch ein kollegiales Fachsimpeln in der Kneipe kann die genannten Merkmale aufweisen – und gleichzeitig durch Mittel der kommunikativen Nähe aufgelockert sein. Sprachmittel von Distanz und Nähe sind hier kein Gegensatz, sondern verbinden und ergänzen sich im konkreten Fall.

SPRACHVIELFALT UND MEDIUM

Selbst in einem stark normierten Sprachbereich wie der Interpunktion kommt stilistische Ausdifferenzierung vor. Besonders im Internet weist die Zeichensetzung oft große Unterschiede zur geschriebenen Standardsprache auf. Zumeist zeugt dies nicht von einer Unkenntnis der Regeln. Vielmehr geschieht es aus dem Bedürfnis heraus, in getippten Dialogen mit Hilfe der Interpunktion kommunikative Nähe auszudrücken. Frage- und Ausrufezeichen werden gerne mehrfach gesetzt, um Anteilnahme zu signalisieren („waaaas?????!!“). In den sozialen Medien werden Mitteilungen gern ohne Punkt oder mit gleich drei Punkten abgeschlossen, was andeuten soll, dass das Geschriebene flüchtig formuliert und nicht ganz verbindlich zu verstehen ist. Solche Phänomene sind für DaF-Lernende interessant, weil sie zeigen, dass neue kommunikative Kontexte zu sprachlichen Innovationen führen – und dadurch zu einem vielfältigeren Gebrauch der deutschen Sprache.

Wie vielfältig das Deutsche ist, zeigt sich täglich auch in den „traditionellen“ Medien. Während im früheren Rundfunk die Hochsprache professioneller Sprecher herrschte, ist heute in Radio und Fernsehen eine ganze Bandbreite an Varietäten und Stilen des Deutschen zu hören. Morgensendungen werden oft von mehreren Moderatoren in lockerem Gesprächston gehalten; in so genannten Reality-Sendungen kommen verschiedene Dialekte und Gruppensprachen vor. Journalisten und Moderatoren inszenieren hierdurch eine Nähe zu ihren Hörern und bieten ihnen so verstärkt Identifikationsmöglichkeiten an. Für DaF-Lernende sind solche Sendungen interessant, weil sie zahlreiche Einblicke in die Vielfalt der deutschen Sprache eröffnen.
 

Literatur

Androutsopoulos, Jannis: Online-Gemeinschaften und Sprachvariation. Soziolinguistische Perspektiven auf Sprache im Internet. Zeitschrift für Germanistische Linguistik 31:2, 2003, S. 173-197

Fandrych, Christian / Thurmair, Maria: Textsorten im Deutschen. Linguistische Analysen aus sprachdidaktischer Sicht, Tübingen 2011

Koch, Peter; Wulf Oesterreicher: „Schriftlichkeit und Sprache“. In: Günther, H./ Ludwig, O. (Hrsg.): Schrift und Schriftlichkeit. Handbücher für Sprach- und Kommunikationswissenschaft. Berlin/ New York. Bd. 1. 1994, S. 588-604