Who Learns German? Challenges for GFL and GSL New Goals for German Teaching

Who Learns German? Challenges for GFL and GSL
Who Learns German? Challenges for GFL and GSL | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

In recent years, the socioeconomic conditions for language learning have changed, as have learners’ individual reasons and goals. This has a fundamental impact on GFL and GSL teaching. So what new challenges do teachers face as a result?

Abstract

Over the past two decades there have been enormous changes – not only in quantitative but above all in qualitative terms – in the way German is learnt, and thus also in the way German is taught. New groups, regions and funding programmes, as well as new motives, goals and fields of application for language learning require more finely-tuned methods and didactic approaches to the teaching of German as a foreign language (GFL) and German as a second language (GSL). Teachers and their lessons face growing requirements – and must react.

Outside the school context, people rarely learn German nowadays simply because they are interested in German literature and culture but tend to do so for economic, political or social reasons. Besides individual goals, key reasons to take courses in GFL or GSL are mobility, professional qualifications or legal requirements. The motivation to learn German has changed and is generally related to work, university studies, a desire to join family members already in Germany or the wish to acquire citizenship.

These factors have far-reaching consequences for those involved. As a result, GFL and GSL teachers and institutes offering courses in German such as the Goethe-Institut need to review and revise their tried and tested general language learning goals as well as the way they design their lessons and define their course and exam formats. New concepts for teaching and language learning need to be developed (and indeed are already being developed) and must adequately reflect the target group learners and their specific goals. They must be practical, take advantage of any language learning experience individuals already have or ensure that they acquire such experience. They must also reflect the students’ reasons and motives for learning German.

GERMAN IN SCHOOLS – OR INDEED ELSEWHERE

The great majority of people still learn German at school. The numbers of German learners remain high in cases where German as a first, second or third foreign language is compulsory or one of a range of compulsory elective subjects. In Cameroon, for example, over 200,000 of the country’s nearly 202,000 German learners in 2010 were at secondary school. The current situation in India is a good example of how difficult it can be to establish German as a subject in schools despite considerable efforts to promote it. Specific funding programmes, and particularly the “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH) initiative, support the further development of German teaching at schools.

In certain other regions, however, German plays hardly any role in schools. In some Scandinavian countries (except Denmark), for instance, its importance is rapidly declining. Where the number of foreign languages on the curriculum is cut, English is often given preference over German. The consequences can be dramatic: at worst, the training of GFL teachers may be discontinued altogether and German departments at the country’s universities may be closed down.

Such opposing trends make regional or country-specific concepts aimed at supporting German teaching at schools all the more important. Foreign language policy must continue to focus on the need for teachers to receive training and continuing education in language, methods and didactics. What is more, such training must be expanded – precisely by introducing German as a foreign language in regions in which there has previously been little in the way of German teaching.

FOR SCIENCE, ACADEMIC STUDIES – AND THE PROFESSIONAL DOMAIN

Students around the world are increasingly interested in studying in Germany. Even in countries where German is not on the school curriculum, this is giving rise to growing demand for German courses that prepare students for university in Germany. There is also increasing demand for the requisite language proficiency certificates. Exams at the Goethe-Institut and university entrance tests (TestDaF) are experiencing a boom – as are courses which prepare for the exams.

At the same time, entirely new language requirements are emerging: students wishing to enrol in a degree course taught in English, for example, may no longer be required in some cases to have any knowledge of German to secure a university place or attend seminars at German universities. In everyday and student life, however, German is still as essential as ever. A new conglomerate of everyday and technical language is emerging with demand for communication skills in multilingual contexts.

New language constellations are also appearing within the framework of German university projects abroad. In such cases, German is often just one of many languages needed for university studies, academic research or the world of work. In conjunction with English and the respective national or regional language, this gives rise to multilingual situations for learning and using German which pose a highly specific challenge for language teaching – and open up new opportunities: the multilingual nature of academic contexts assigns particular functions to the different languages in certain domains such as everyday life, university studies, academic research or the world of work. Lesson concepts and lesson content must be geared to precisely these functions.

A knowledge of German is a basic prerequisite in the context of migration, though immigrants increasingly also require domain-specific language skills. This is particularly true of the medical and nursing sectors and in technical fields where a shortage of skilled professionals has resulted in migrants being specifically recruited in recent years. Extensive technical language skills have to be acquired alongside a good knowledge of everyday language. In addition, the cultural knowledge associated with the German language also has to be taught.

CHALLENGES FOR GERMAN LESSONS

These new framework conditions are changing the requirements for German lessons in Germany and abroad to an equal extent. Among other considerations, language courses need to take into account the fact that German has to be learnt in a much shorter period of time, especially in countries where German is not on offer in schools: in many cases, students have just one year to achieve B2 or C1 level – starting from scratch.
Another aspect that needs to be considered is that German language learners may differ considerably depending on their previous experience of language learning. If it is their first experience of learning a foreign language, or perhaps even their first experience of formal education, GFL or GSL teaching may need to begin by teaching students how to learn, and by helping them to acquire written language skills. In other cases, students may already have learnt English or as many as two or three other foreign languages. Advantage should be taken of such skills and learning experience.

In developing countries and countries such as China or Brazil, where people often live far away from places where German is on offer to any significant extent and in any reasonable quality, new Internet-based forms of learning are also becoming increasingly important and in some cases are actually the only available way of learning German.

In other cases, the fact that language learning is focused on increasingly specific vocational and professional goals makes learning of languages for special purposes a core element of the lessons – in some cases at low proficiency levels.

Increasingly, language learning is subject to a combination of various informal and lesson-based processes that is difficult to control, German learners having often already experienced different forms of language learning. In an age of greater mobility, formal language teaching is in some cases preceded by prolonged phases of informal second language acquisition.

Another challenge for GFL and GSL teaching lies in the potentially wide range of circumstances, existing abilities, goals and motivations among the students of a particular course. In GSL integration courses in Germany, for instance, it is not unusual to find people who have only just learnt to read and write sitting in the same classroom alongside highly qualified skilled professionals.

TAKING IN-CLASS DIFFERENTIATION TO THE NEXT STEP

These new constellations and trends require GFL and GSL teachers to adapt their approach to teaching so as to give due consideration to learning goals, specific existing skills and the need for language content for special purposes. It is also important to create learning environments that are conducive for very different learner types. Diagnostic skills, flexibility and empathy are therefore needed when planning GFL and GSL lessons, as well as when teaching, interacting with and testing students, in order to ensure that existing potential is identified and promoted.

Long-familiar didactic elements such as (in-class) differentiation, forms of open and active learning, mixtures of face-to-face and media-based teaching, E-learning and forms of group and individual work in the classroom are experiencing a revival in terms of their topical relevance. We need to build upon these methods and take them to the next step – using digital media, amongst other things.
 

Bibliography


Hufeisen, Britta: Englisch im Unterricht Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Stuttgart: Klett Edition Deutsch
1994.
 
Neuner, Gerhard; Hufeisen, Britta; Kursisa, Anta; Marx, Nicole; Koithan, Ute; Erlenwein, Sabine: Deutsch als zweite Fremdsprache. Berlin: Langenscheidt 2009.
 
Ohm, Udo; Kuhn, Christina; Funk, Hermann: Sprachtraining für Fachunterricht und Beruf. Fachtexte knacken – mit Fachsprache arbeiten. Münster u.a.: Waxmann 2007.
 
Schwerdtfeger, Inge Christine: Gruppenarbeit und innere Differenzierung. Berlin: Langenscheidt 2001.
 
Tönshoff, Wolfgang: Binnendifferenzierung im lernerorientierten Fremdsprachenunterricht. Teil I in: Deutsch als Fremdsprache 41/4, 227-231, Teil II in: Deutsch als Fremdsprache 42/1, 227-231, 2004/2005.

Wer lernt Deutsch? Herausforderungen für DaF und DaZ Deutschunterricht mit neuen Zielen

Wer lernt Deutsch? Herausforderungen für DaF und DaZ
Wer lernt Deutsch? Herausforderungen für DaF und DaZ | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

In den vergangenen Jahren haben sich die sozioökonomischen Bedingungen für den Spracherwerb ebenso gewandelt wie individuelle Gründe und Ziele. Das hat grundlegende Auswirkungen auf den DaF- und DaZ-Unterricht. Welche Herausforderungen kommen dabei auf die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer zu?

Abstract

Deutsch lernen – und damit auch Deutsch lehren – hat sich in den letzten beiden Jahrzehnten nicht nur quantitativ, sondern vor allem auch qualitativ enorm verändert. Neue Zielgruppen, neue Regionen, neue Förderprogramme, aber auch neue Gründe, Lernziele und Anwendungsfelder für den Spracherwerb erfordern eine ausdifferenzierte Methodik und Didaktik für Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) und Deutsch als Zweitsprache (DaZ). Die Anforderungen an Lehrkräfte und ihren Unterricht steigen – sie müssen reagieren.

Im außerschulischen Kontext wird Deutsch heute nur noch selten aus Interesse an deutscher Literatur und Kultur gelernt. Der Erwerb der deutschen Sprache folgt eher wirtschaftlichen, politischen und sozialen Interessen. Für den DaF- und DaZ-Unterricht sind neben individuellen Zielen Mobilität, Qualifikation oder gesetzliche Vorgaben entscheidende Faktoren. Aspekte wie Arbeit, Studium, Familienzusammenführung oder Staatsbürgerschaft stehen im Zentrum der veränderten Motivation.

Diese Faktoren haben tiefgreifende Auswirkungen auf die Beteiligten. Als Folge müssen DaF- und DaZ-Lehrende oder Sprachkursanbieter wie das Goethe-Institut ihre bewährten allgemeinsprachlichen Lernziele, aber auch ihre Unterrichtsgestaltung sowie ihre Kurs- und Prüfungsformate neu ausrichten. Neue Konzepte für Unterricht und Spracherwerb müssen entwickelt werden (und werden bereits entwickelt). Sie müssen zielgruppenadäquat auf die Lernenden und deren konkrete Lernziele bezogen sein. Sie müssen handlungsorientiert sein, die Erfahrungen der Individuen mit dem Erwerb von Sprachen nutzen oder solche Erfahrungen erst entwickeln. Sie müssen die Gründe und Motive für das Deutschlernen für den und im Unterricht reflektieren.

DEUTSCH IN DER SCHULE – ODER EBEN NICHT

Noch immer lernt eine große Mehrheit Deutsch in der Schule. Wo Deutsch als erste, zweite oder dritte Sprache in den Schulcurricula Pflichtfach oder Wahlpflichtfach ist, sind die Lernerzahlen nach wie vor hoch. In Kamerun etwa waren 2010 von knapp 202.000 Deutschlernern über 200.000 an Sekundarschulen. Wie schwierig es sein kann, trotz erheblicher Förderung Deutsch als Schulfach zu etablieren, zeigt aktuell das Beispiel Indien. Spezifische Förderprogramme, insbesondere die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH), unterstützen die Weiterentwicklung des schulischen Deutschunterrichts.

In anderen Regionen allerdings spielt Deutsch in der Schule kaum eine Rolle. Beispielsweise nimmt in den skandinavischen Ländern (ausgenommen Dänemark) seine Bedeutung rapide ab. Wo die Zahl der Fremdsprachen im Curriculum gekürzt wird, entfällt der Deutschunterricht zudem oft zugunsten von Englisch. Die Folgen können dramatisch sein: Schlimmstenfalls wird dann die DaF-Lehrerausbildung ganz eingestellt und die Germanistikfakultäten der betroffenen Länder werden geschlossen.

Derart gegensätzliche Entwicklungen machen regionale oder länderspezifische Konzepte für die Unterstützung des schulischen Deutschunterrichts immer wichtiger. Die sprachliche und methodisch-didaktische Aus- und Weiterbildung von Lehrkräften muss ein Schwerpunkt in der auswärtigen Sprachpolitik bleiben. Und sie muss ausgebaut werden – gerade durch die Einführung des Deutschen als Fremdsprache in Regionen, in denen es bislang nur wenig Deutschunterricht gab.

FÜR WISSENSCHAFT, STUDIUM – UND BERUF

Das Interesse an einem Studium in Deutschland nimmt weltweit zu. Das führt auch in Ländern ohne Deutsch im schulischen Curriculum zu einer wachsenden Nachfrage nach Deutschkursen, die auf ein Studium in Deutschland vorbereiten. Auch die Nachfrage nach den notwendigen Sprachnachweisen steigt. Prüfungen am Goethe-Institut oder für den Hochschulzugang (TestDaF) haben Konjunktur – Lernen für die Prüfungen inklusive.

Daneben entstehen ganz neue Sprachanforderungen: Bei englischsprachigen Studiengängen zum Beispiel sind Deutschkenntnisse für den Zugang zum Studium und für Lehrveranstaltungen an deutschen Hochschulen teilweise gar nicht mehr Bedingung. Im Alltag und für die Teilhabe am akademischen Leben ist Deutsch jedoch nach wie vor zwingend erforderlich. Ein neues Konglomerat von Alltags- und Fachsprachen entsteht, Kommunikationskompetenzen in mehrsprachigen Kontexten sind gefragt.

Auch im Rahmen von deutschen Hochschulprojekten im Ausland entstehen neue sprachliche Konstellationen. Für Studium, Wissenschaft und Beruf ist Deutsch dann nicht selten nur eine Sprache unter vielen. Im Verbund mit Englisch und der jeweiligen Landes- oder Regionalsprache entstehen dabei mehrsprachige Lern- und Verwendungszusammenhänge, die eine ganz besondere sprachpädagogische Herausforderung darstellen – und neue Chancen eröffnen: Die Mehrsprachigkeit im Wissenschaftskontext weist den jeweiligen Sprachen ganz bestimmte Funktionen in bestimmten Domänen wie Alltag, Studium, Wissenschaft oder Beruf zu. Gerade an diesen Funktionen müssen sich Unterrichtskonzepte und ‑inhalte orientieren.

Für den Kontext Migration gilt: Deutschkenntnisse sind eine Grundvoraussetzung. Aber in steigender Tendenz benötigen Zuwanderer auch hier domänenspezifische Sprachkompetenzen. Dies gilt besonders im Pflege- und Gesundheitswesen und in technischen Berufen, wo der Fachkräftemangel in den letzten Jahren zu einer gezielten Förderung der Einwanderung geführt hat. Neben gutem allgemeinen muss auch umfangreiches fachspezifisches Sprachwissen erworben werden. Aber auch das an die deutsche Sprache gebundene kulturelle Wissen muss ergänzend vermittelt werden.

HERAUSFORDERUNGEN FÜR DEN DEUTSCHUNTERRICHT

Die veränderten Rahmenbedingungen verändern die Anforderungen an den Deutschunterricht in den Herkunftsländern und in Deutschland gleichermaßen. Sprachangebote müssen sich unter anderem darauf einstellen, dass Deutsch gerade in Ländern, in denen Deutsch keine schulische Fremdsprache ist, in weitaus kürzerer Zeit erlernt werden muss: Oft steht nur ein Jahr zur Verfügung, um von „Null“ auf ein B2- oder C1-Niveau zu kommen.

Berücksichtigt werden muss auch, dass Deutsch im Sprachengefüge der Lernenden eine ganz unterschiedliche Stellung einnehmen kann. Als erste Sprachlern- oder sogar erste formelle Bildungserfahrung beginnt der DaF- oder DaZ-Unterricht dann gegebenenfalls mit dem „Lernen lernen“ und dem Erwerb schriftsprachlicher Kompetenzen. In anderen Fällen richtet er sich an Menschen, die bereits Englisch oder auch bereits zwei oder drei andere Fremdsprachen gelernt haben. Diese Kenntnisse und Lernerfahrungen gilt es zu nutzen.

In Entwicklungsländern oder Ländern wie China oder Brasilien, wo die Menschen oft fern von Orten leben, an denen Deutsch in nennenswertem Umfang und in ausreichender Qualität angeboten wird, gewinnen zudem neue, internetgestützte Lernformen eine große Bedeutung und stellen mitunter sogar die einzige Möglichkeit dar, um Deutsch zu lernen.

In anderen Fällen macht die Fokussierung des Spracherwerbs auf immer konkretere Ausbildungs- und Berufsziele Fachsprachen zu einem ganz wesentlichen Bestandteil des Unterrichts – und das teils auf niedrigem Kompetenzniveau.

Zunehmend findet Spracherwerb in einem schwer zu steuernden Zusammenspiel von informellen und durch Unterricht beförderten Prozessen statt: Deutschlernende haben häufig bereits unterschiedliche Formen des Sprachenlernens durchlebt. In Zeiten gesteigerter Mobilität gehen dem formellen Sprachunterricht mitunter lange Phasen des ungesteuerten Spracherwerbs voraus.

Eine weitere Herausforderung für den DaF- und DaZ-Unterrichts besteht in der großen Streubreite, welche die Voraussetzungen, Ziele und Motivationen der Lernenden innerhalb eines Kurses aufweisen können. In DaZ-Integrationskursen in Deutschland ist es zum Beispiel nicht ungewöhnlich, dass frisch Alphabetisierte mit ausgebildeten Fachkräften in der gleichen Klasse sitzen.

BINNENDIFFERENZIERUNG WEITERENTWICKELN

Diese neuen Konstellationen und Entwicklungen verlangen von den DaF- und DaZ-Lehrkräften ein angepasstes Unterrichtshandeln, das vorhandene Lernziele, spezifische Teilkompetenzen oder fachsprachliche Inhalte berücksichtigen muss. Auch gilt es, für ganz unterschiedliche Lernerpersönlichkeiten förderliche Lernumgebungen zu schaffen. Beim Planen, Handeln, Interagieren und Prüfen im DaF- und DaZ-Unterricht ist demnach diagnostische Kompetenz, Flexibilität und Einfühlungsvermögen gefragt, um das jeweilige Potenzial zu erkennen und zu fördern.

Seit langer Zeit bekannte didaktische Baukästen der (Binnen-)Differenzierung, offene Unterrichtsformen sowie ein Mix aus Präsenz- und virtuellem, Gruppen- und Individualunterricht erfahren eine ganz neue Aktualität. Es gilt, an diesen Ansätzen anzuknüpfen und sie weiterzuentwickeln – auch unter Nutzung der digitalen Medien.
 

Literatur

Hufeisen, Britta: Englisch im Unterricht Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Stuttgart: Klett Edition Deutsch
1994.
 
Neuner, Gerhard; Hufeisen, Britta; Kursisa, Anta; Marx, Nicole; Koithan, Ute; Erlenwein, Sabine: Deutsch als zweite Fremdsprache. Berlin: Langenscheidt 2009.
 
Ohm, Udo; Kuhn, Christina; Funk, Hermann: Sprachtraining für Fachunterricht und Beruf. Fachtexte knacken – mit Fachsprache arbeiten. Münster u.a.: Waxmann 2007.
 
Schwerdtfeger, Inge Christine: Gruppenarbeit und innere Differenzierung. Berlin: Langenscheidt 2001.
 
Tönshoff, Wolfgang: Binnendifferenzierung im lernerorientierten Fremdsprachenunterricht. Teil I in: Deutsch als Fremdsprache 41/4, 227-231, Teil II in: Deutsch als Fremdsprache 42/1, 227-231, 2004/2005.