Recent Research Findings: The Education Research Perspective Language, Education – and Success?

Language, Education – and Success?
Language, Education – and Success? | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

How important are linguistic skills for academic success – and indeed for social participation? This is a key question in education research into language development and involves a quest for answers and new insights.
 

Abstract

Education researchers focusing on the area of language development are attempting to discover why some children and young people – even after years of attending school – do not learn the language used at school and in the classroom to a sufficient extent to achieve success and thus obtain an important foundation for social participation. They are also asking what the education system, the individual school or the individual teacher can do to promote successful language development. In this context, it is important to ascertain which factors influence linguistic development at school age and above. The latest education research findings in this field are presented below.

What effects do individual and social circumstances have on language development in the context of educational institutions? And what influence do teaching and classroom practices have on such development? In seeking answers to these key questions, education researchers also take into account the findings of neighbouring disciplines (see info box at the end of article).

The central focus is the fundamental role language plays in conveying educational content. For example, education researchers have discovered, looking among other things at the PISA studies, that the ability to successfully solve problems in the sciences and mathematics depends to a major extent on a student’s level of reading proficiency (Klieme et al. 2010). Almost every school subject is communicated via language, with tasks and their solutions being presented in the form of written text. It is thus virtually impossible to understand something without an understanding of language. In addition, the more advanced a person’s educational biography is, the more important their language skills and knowledge become for learning as a whole.

Education research also reveals that education systems generate unequal educational opportunities despite actually being supposed to help everyone equally to achieve the best possible success in education. In this context it is important to track down the systematic causes for this undesirable outcome.

LANGUAGE AND BACKGROUND

Education research has revealed that varying degrees of educational success are due in part to factors related to the learners’ backgrounds. For instance, children from socially and economically disadvantaged families are less likely to enjoy a successful educational career than children from well-off families. According to international comparative studies, this dependence of educational success on socio-economic background and on the family’s educational level is particularly pronounced in Germany (OECD 2014).

Learners’ linguistic prerequisites for education are closely intertwined with these factors related to background. This is particularly striking in the context of migration. In Europe, it is common for migrants to continue using their original languages even across several generations, with the result that their children grow up in multilingual environments. Whether this puts them at a disadvantage in terms of education is a classic question which arouses the scientific curiosity of education researchers (Gogolin/Neumann 2009). Findings here are ambivalent. On the one hand, young people who (also) speak a language at home other than the language generally used at school tend to perform less well in studies than children of the same age living in a monolingual environment. On the other hand, studies show that there are advantages to living in more than one language. Multilinguals have for example the ability at an earlier stage and to a greater extent than monolinguals to distinguish between the form of an utterance and its content. Because they have to decide which language to use, their cognitive skills receive special training – which benefits their language learning abilities and their learning in general (Bialystok/Poarch 2014).   

In view of this, education researchers are attempting to clarify why advantage is not taken of the resources that multilingualism obviously offers in the teaching and learning of language – and how the potential of multilingualism can best be exploited to benefit education processes. This places the focus of education research not only on the individuals and their linguistic prerequisites for education, but also on the institutions of education themselves. They have a considerable bearing on language development: through curricula and catalogues of learning targets and skills; as a result of the way schools and lessons are designed; through methods of diagnosing language abilities and their development, and not least as a result of the qualifications and activities of teaching staff.

FIELDS OF EDUCATION RESEARCH

One of the goals of education research is to gauge the impact of such influences and to obtain empirically founded evidence which will allow practices to be designed that will help reduce those factors with a negative influence. One of the ways this can be done is by developing tests and diagnostic procedures and by designing education in such a way that it benefits language learning.

Developing tests and diagnostic procedures:

It has been demonstrated that beneficial language practices must be tailored to the existing linguistic abilities of the learners. But what abilities are these exactly? It is not easy to assess this in an appropriate manner because – unlike in tests focusing on specific learning targets – there is no means of determining the linguistic input which learners have received.

Numerous methods – most of which evolved out of practical experience – are used to decide for example which ability group or remedial set learners should be assigned to. In very many instances, however, these are methods that have no sound scientific basis and whose quality has not been properly validated. The results they achieve are unclear and arbitrary in terms of their relevance to and importance for linguistic development. Nonetheless, such methods frequently prove highly effective in practice. They can determine whether a learner is provided with remedial tuition or not and whether his or her performance is correctly assessed – or whether an inappropriate procedure has been followed, thereby resulting in an erroneous judgement.

One important objective of research is thus to develop and assess the quality of methods with which to measure existing linguistic ability and carry out ongoing language diagnosis. From the perspective of education research, diagnostic methods must meet strict quality requirements. At the very least, they must be:
  • “objective”, that is to say their results must not be dependent on the way the method is carried out and analysed;
  • “reliable”, that is to say free of random errors and stable when used at different times;
  • “valid”, that is to say they actually measure what they purport to.
Developing diagnostic procedures which also adequately indicate the course and progress of learning entails particular challenges: after all, this is the information that is needed to assess whether the teaching on offer has been appropriate. So far, there have been particularly intensive activities aimed at developing instruments which can be used at the pre-school or school-entry level (Neugebauer/Becker-Mrotzek 2013). However, the first verified methods are now also available which are suitable for the pedagogical monitoring of language development in the school context and which are designed to be used by teachers. One example are the Niveaubeschreibungen Deutsch als Zweitsprache (Language Level Descriptors for German as a Second Language), which allow skills and the acquisition of skills in German to be monitored in a structured and systematic way during the teaching process. These can be used by teachers of all subjects. The monitoring results in “language profiles” being drawn up for the students, highlighting their strengths and weaknesses in German. They are suitable as a basis for planning lessons which build on the students’ existing strengths with a view to reducing their weaknesses.

Designing education to benefit language learning:

The starting point for studies aimed at laying the foundation for designing education in such a way that it benefits language learning can for example be the question of how language requirements change during the course of a person’s educational biography. As school subjects become more differentiated and the complexity of the content to be learnt increases, the linguistic communication of the subject matter in the classroom becomes more specific and more demanding. In other words, learners have to satisfy higher linguistic requirements in order to keep up. Questions that remain unanswered in this context are the extent to which understanding the language used to communicate the lesson content is sufficient for successful learning – and which learning activities demand that pupils themselves be able to actively produce the forms of language in which the subject matter is presented. It is not merely a question of being able to produce the surface structure of the linguistic devices that are necessary for instance to appropriately formulate an answer to a question. Rather it is important also to clarify the extent to which active linguistic engagement with the subject matter helps the student to reach a deeper understanding of it – and thus to learn more successfully. One particular facet of this problem involves determining its consequences when it is an educational requirement for children or young people to be bi- or multilingual in order to tackle the tasks in question.

One important source of insights into these questions is the accompanying research conducted during school trials and model programmes. Two examples are programmes such as “Förderung von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Migrationshintergrund” (i.e. Promotion of Children and Young People from Migrant Backgrounds, FörMig) and “Bildung in Sprache und Schrift” (i.e. Education in Language and Writing, BiSS).

The FörMig programme was concerned in particular with ensuring “consistent language education” at transitional points in a student’s educational biography. The central question was how to foster the language abilities of bi- and multilingual children and young people – that is to say those overarching skills which are a basic prerequisite for educational success (Gogolin et al. 2013). It was discovered that steps taken to create an environment that is generally conducive to language learning have a favourable effect on language development. It would appear that it is not individual remedial support that is decisive but a systematic and continual focus on the language side of learning in all lessons, regardless of subject. To create such an environment, teachers of different subjects have to work together, and they need to have the support of the head teacher. A good basis for this is to jointly develop a language education concept that is also transparent for pupils and parents. It appears to have little impact when aids or teaching material are made available from outside. If material and lessons are jointly designed by the teaching staff (for example by those who teach in the classes of a particular year), on the other hand, this greatly benefits the creation of a school environment that is conducive to language learning. This requires external support: for example, time has to be found for cooperation; most importantly, however, its success depends on the teachers involved having thorough and in-service training.

The FörMig model programme has come to an end; many of its results are being followed up on and further developed in the BiSS programme. Education research into language development is thus a vital field of research in which important insights have already been gained about the conditions needed for language abilities to thrive – despite many questions still remaining unanswered.
 

Basic findings from neighbouring disciplines

Research into language development from an education science perspective also draws on basic findings from other disciplines. Specifically, these are the following:
Psychology and psycholinguistics: These disciplines aim first and foremost to unravel the mysteries of individual language acquisition in early childhood. “Exceptional cases” are of particular interest here. One key question, for example, is how children develop who suffer from language development disorders. Another important question concerns the particular features of the development of children who grow up bi- or multilingually (Weinert/Grimm 2012).
Language didactics: When it comes to specifically influencing language learning at educational institutions – that is to say at nurseries, schools and universities – this is done primarily from the perspective of the language didactic disciplines. In many cases, they focus on the teaching of the main language used in schools, i.e. in Germany on the teaching of German. Another area of activity is to engage with the individual foreign languages that are taught, one of which may be German as a foreign language (GFL).
Language teaching research and educational linguistics: Non-language-specific questions relating to the teaching and learning of individual languages are dealt with by language teaching research (Burwitz-Melzer et al. 2013) or educational linguistics. Their focus is for example on language development and language learning in children who grow up and live with a language other than the language used in school while at the same time acquiring experience with this language in their everyday life – for instance German as a second language (GSL).
Sociology and sociolinguistics: These disciplines study non-language-related life circumstances which have an impact on language development. These include the social and economic conditions in which children grow up and live, and the consequences of migrating to a region in which a different language is spoken. The focus is on determining which circumstances favourably influence language development, and which are more likely to give rise to disadvantages.

 

Literature

Bialystok, Ellen; Poarch, Gregory: „Language Experience Changes Language and Cognitive Ability” In: Zeitschrift für Erziehungswissenschaft 17 (3) 2014, 433–446.

Burwitz-Melzer, Eva; Königs, Frank G.; Riemer, Claudia (Hrsg.): Identität und Fremdsprachenlernen. Anmerkungen zu einer komplexen Beziehung. Tübingen: Gunter Narr Verlag 2013.

Gogolin, Ingrid; Lange, Imke; Michel, Ute; Reich, Hans H. (Hrsg.): Herausforderung Bildungssprache - und wie man sie meistert. FörMig Edition Band 9. Münster: Waxmann 2013.

Gogolin, Ingrid; Neumann, Ursula (Hrsg.): Streitfall Zweisprachigkeit. The Bilingualism Controversy. Wiesbaden: VS-Verlag 2009.

Klieme, Eckhard; Artelt, Cordula; Hartig, Johannes; Jude, Nina; Köller, Olaf; Prenzel, Manfred et al. (Hrsg.): PISA 2009. Bilanz nach einem Jahrzehnt. Münster, New York u.a.: Waxmann 2010.

Neugebauer, Uwe; Becker-Mrotzek, Michael: Die Qualität von Sprachstandsverfahren im Elementarbereich. Eine Analyse und Bewertung. Mercator-Institut für Sprachförderung und Deutsch als Zweitsprache; Universität zu Köln, Köln 2013.

OECD: PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do – Student Performance in Mathematics,Reading and Science (Volume I, Revised edition, February 2014). Paris: OECD Publishing 2014.

Weinert, Sabine; Grimm, Hannelore : „Sprachentwicklung“. In: Lindenberger, Ulman; Schneider, Wolfgang (Hrsg.): Entwicklungspsychologie. Weinheim: Beltz 2012, 433–456.

Neuere Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung: Die Perspektive der Bildungsforschung Sprache, Bildung – und Erfolg?

Sprache, Bildung – und Erfolg?
Sprache, Bildung – und Erfolg? | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

Welche Bedeutung haben sprachliche Fähigkeiten für Bildungserfolg – und, darüber hinausgehend: für gesellschaftliche Teilhabe? Dies ist eine Leitfrage der Bildungsforschung zur Sprachentwicklung – eine Suche nach Antworten mit neuen Erkenntnissen.
 

Abstract

Im Bereich der Sprachentwicklung sucht die Bildungsforschung nach Ursachen für den Umstand, dass es Kinder und Jugendliche gibt, die die Sprache der Schule und des Unterrichts auch nach langen Jahren des Schulbesuchs nicht genügend erlernen, um erfolgreich zu sein und damit eine wichtige Grundlage für gesellschaftliche Teilhabe zu gewinnen. Und sie fragt, was das Bildungssystem, die einzelne Schule oder die einzelne Lehrkraft zu gelingender Sprachentwicklung beitragen kann. Wichtig dabei ist herauszufinden, welche Faktoren auf die sprachliche Entwicklung im Schul- und höheren Lebensalter Einfluss nehmen. Neue Erkenntnisse der Bildungsforschung zu diesem Thema werden hier vorgestellt.

Welche Auswirkungen haben individuelle und soziale Bedingungen auf die Sprachentwicklung, die sich im Kontext von Bildungsinstitutionen vollzieht? Und welchen Einfluss besitzt die Gestaltung des Lehr- oder Unterrichtsangebots auf diese Entwicklungen? Das sind leitende Fragen, bei denen die Bildungswissenschaft auch Erkenntnisse der Nachbarwissenschaften mit einbezieht (siehe Infobox am Ende des Beitrags).

Im Vordergrund steht dabei die grundlegende Bedeutung der Sprache als Transportmittel von Bildungsinhalten. So hat die Bildungsforschung unter anderem bei den PISA-Studien herausgestellt, dass die Fähigkeit, naturwissenschaftliche oder mathematische Aufgaben erfolgreich zu lösen, zu weiten Teilen von der Lesekompetenz abhängt (Klieme et al. 2010). Beinahe jeder Lerngegenstand wird sprachlich vermittelt; Aufgaben und ihre Lösungen werden in Texte gefasst. Ohne sprachliches Verstehen ist also ein Verständnis der Sache fast nicht möglich. Dabei gilt: Je fortgeschrittener eine Bildungsbiographie, umso bedeutsamer ist sprachliches Können und Wissen für das Lernen insgesamt.

Die Bildungsforschung zeigt auch, dass Bildungssysteme ungleiche Bildungschancen erzeugen, obwohl es eigentlich ihre Bestimmung ist, allen Beteiligten gleichermaßen zu bestem Bildungserfolg zu verhelfen. Hier gilt es, den systematischen Ursachen für das unerwünschte Ergebnis auf die Spur zu kommen.

SPRACHE UND HERKUNFT

Die Bildungsforschung hat gezeigt, dass Merkmale der Herkunft von Lernenden für unterschiedlichen Bildungserfolg mitverantwortlich sind. So haben Kinder aus sozio-ökonomisch schlechtgestellten Familien geringere Chancen auf beste Bildungskarrieren als Kinder aus gutgestellten Elternhäusern. Nach den dazu vorliegenden international vergleichenden Untersuchungen ist in Deutschland die Abhängigkeit des Bildungserfolgs von der sozio-ökonomischen Herkunft sowie der Bildungsnähe der Familie ausnehmend stark (OECD 2014).

Die sprachlichen Bildungsvoraussetzungen von Lernenden sind mit diesen Merkmalen der Herkunft eng verwoben. Besonders auffällig ist dies im Kontext von Migration. Innerhalb Europas ist es üblich, dass Migranten ihre Herkunftssprachen auch über mehrere Generationen nicht aufgeben. Ihre Kinder wachsen daher in Formen von Mehrsprachigkeit auf. Die Frage, ob dies zu Bildungsbenachteiligung führt, ist ein klassischer Ausgangspunkt für die wissenschaftliche Neugierde der Bildungsforschung (Gogolin/Neumann 2009). Die Ergebnisse hier sind ambivalent. Einerseits schneiden junge Menschen, die in der Familie (auch) eine andere als die übliche Schulsprache sprechen, in Leistungsstudien schlechter ab als einsprachig lebende Gleichaltrige. Andererseits aber zeigen Untersuchungen, dass das Leben in mehr als einer Sprache Vorteile mit sich bringt. Mehrsprachige verfügen zum Beispiel früher und intensiver als Einsprachige über die Fähigkeit, zwischen der Form einer Äußerung und ihrem Inhalt zu unterscheiden. Sie erhalten dadurch, dass sie die Wahl zwischen Sprachen haben und sich entscheiden müssen, ein besonderes Training ihrer kognitiven Fähigkeiten – und dies ist von Vorteil sowohl für das sprachliche Lernen als auch für das Lernen generell (Bialystok/Poarch 2014).

Angesichts dessen sucht die Bildungsforschung zu klären, warum Ressourcen, die offensichtlich in der Mehrsprachigkeit liegen, beim sprachlichen Lehren und Lernen nicht genutzt werden – und komplementär dazu: wie es gelingen kann, aus dem Potenzial der Mehrsprachigkeit für Bildungsprozesse Kapital zu schlagen. Damit kommen neben den Individuen und ihren sprachlichen Bildungsvoraussetzungen auch die Bildungsinstitutionen selbst in den Blick der Bildungsforschung. Sie nehmen durch Curricula und Lernziel- oder Kompetenzkataloge, durch Schul- oder Unterrichtsgestaltung, durch Verfahren der Diagnose sprachlicher Fähigkeiten und ihrer Entwicklung, und nicht zuletzt durch die Qualifikation und das Handeln des pädagogischen Personals Einfluss auf die Sprachentwicklung.

FELDER DER BILDUNGSFORSCHUNG

Zu den Zielen der Bildungsforschung gehört es abzuschätzen, wie solche Einflüsse wirken, und empirisch abgesicherte Grundlagen für die Gestaltung einer Praxis zu gewinnen, die zum Abbau von negativen Einflussfaktoren beiträgt. Dies geschieht unter anderem durch die Entwicklung von Tests und Diagnoseverfahren sowie durch die Gestaltung von förderlichen Bildungsangeboten.

Entwicklung von Tests und Diagnoseverfahren:

Es ist erwiesen, dass eine förderliche Bildungspraxis an den sprachlichen Voraussetzungen anknüpfen muss, die die Lernenden mitbringen. Aber was für Voraussetzungen sind das genau? Es ist nicht einfach, dies auf angemessene Weise zu ermitteln, denn anders als bei lernzielorientierten Tests besteht ja keine Kontrolle über den sprachlichen Input, den die Lernenden genossen haben.

Zwar liegen zahlreiche, meist aus praktischen Erfahrungen erwachsene Verfahren vor, die zum Beispiel bei Entscheidungen über die Zuweisung von Lernenden zu Leistungsgruppen oder Förderangeboten angewendet werden. Sehr oft handelt es sich dabei aber um Produkte, die weder eine klare wissenschaftliche Grundlage aufweisen noch eine Güteprüfung nach den Regeln der Kunst durchlaufen haben. Es werden damit Ergebnisse erzielt, deren Stellenwert und Bedeutung für sprachliche Entwicklung unklar und willkürlich ist. Dennoch entfalten solche Verfahren oft hohe praktische Wirksamkeit. Sie können entscheidend dafür sein, ob ein Mensch Förderung erfährt oder nicht; ob ihm eine Leistung zutreffend bescheinigt wird – oder ob es sich um einen durch ein unangemessenes Vorgehen erzeugten Irrtum handelt.

Ein Forschungsanliegen ist daher die Entwicklung und Güteprüfung von Verfahren zur Sprachstandsmessung und zur prozessbegleitenden Sprachdiagnose. Aus Sicht der Bildungsforschung müssen diagnostische Verfahren strengen Qualitätsanforderungen standhalten. Als Mindestvoraussetzung für Güte gilt, dass sie
  • „objektiv“ sind, ihr Ergebnis also unabhängig von den Umständen der Durchführung und Auswertung ist;
  • „reliabel“ sind, also frei von Zufallsfehlern und stabil beim Einsatz zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten;
  • „valide“ sind, also tatsächlich das messen, was sie zu messen vorgeben.
Besondere Herausforderungen bestehen darin, diagnostische Verfahren zu entwickeln, die auch Lernverläufe angemessen anzeigen: Dies ist schließlich die Information, die benötigt wird, um zu beurteilen, ob die Lehrangebote geeignet waren. Besonders intensiv sind bisher die Aktivitäten zur Entwicklung von Instrumenten, die im vorschulischen Bereich oder beim Schuleintritt eingesetzt werden können (Neugebauer/Becker-Mrotzek 2013). Es liegen aber auch erste geprüfte Verfahren vor, die sich zur pädagogischen Begleitung der Sprachentwicklung im Schulkontext eignen und für die Hand von Lehrkräften gedacht sind. Ein Beispiel sind die Niveaubeschreibungen Deutsch als Zweitsprache, mit deren Hilfe die Kompetenz und der Kompetenzzuwachs im Deutschen strukturiert, systematisch und unterrichtsbegleitend beobachtet werden können. Sie können durch Lehrkräfte aller Fächer eingesetzt werden. Ergebnis der Beobachtung sind „Sprachprofile“ der Schüler, die ihre Stärken und Schwächen im Deutschen zeigen. Sie eignen sich als Grundlage für die Planung von Unterricht, der an den vorhandenen Stärken der Schüler anknüpft, um Schwächen abzubauen.

Gestaltung förderlicher Sprachbildung:

Untersuchungen, die Grundlagen für die Gestaltung förderlicher Sprachbildungsangebote zum Ziel haben, nehmen ihren Ausgangspunkt zum Beispiel bei der Frage, wie sich sprachliche Anforderungen im Verlaufe der Bildungsbiographie verändern. Durch die Ausdifferenzierung der Unterrichtsfächer und dadurch, dass die Komplexität der zu lernenden Inhalte zunimmt, werden auch die sprachlichen Darbietungen von Unterrichtsstoff spezifischer und anspruchsvoller. Die Lernenden müssen also höheren sprachlichen Ansprüchen genügen, um in der Sache mitzuhalten. Zu den offenen Fragen gehört hier, wie weit es für erfolgreiches Lernen reicht, die sprachlichen Angebote zu verstehen, die der Unterricht macht – und für welche Lernleistungen es erforderlich ist, dass die Schüler selbst aktiv die Formen von Sprache produzieren können, in denen der Stoff dargeboten wird. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Fähigkeit zur Produktion der Oberflächenstruktur der sprachlichen Mittel, die etwa für die angemessene Formulierung einer Antwort auf eine Aufgabe nötig sind. Vielmehr ist auch zu klären, inwieweit die aktive sprachliche Auseinandersetzung mit der Sache zu ihrer tieferen Durchdringung verhilft – und damit zu erfolgreicherem Lernen. Eine besondere Facette dieses Problems ist es zu klären, welche Folgen es besitzt, wenn Zwei- oder Mehrsprachigkeit die Bildungsvoraussetzung ist, die Kinder oder Jugendliche für die Bewältigung dieser Aufgaben mitbringen.

Eine wichtige Quelle für Erkenntnisse zu diesen Fragen ist die Begleitforschung zu Schulversuchen und Modellprogrammen. Zwei Beispiele hierfür sind die Programme wie „Förderung von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Migrationshintergrund“ (FörMig) oder „Bildung in Sprache und Schrift“ (BiSS).

Im Programm FörMig ging es insbesondere um die Gestaltung einer „durchgängigen Sprachbildung“ an Übergängen in der Bildungsbiographie. Leitende Frage war, wie es gelingen kann, die bildungssprachlichen Fähigkeiten von zwei- oder mehrsprachigen Kindern und Jugendlichen zu fördern – also eben jene übergreifenden Fähigkeiten, die eine Grundvoraussetzung für Bildungserfolg sind (Gogolin et al. 2013). Es stellte sich heraus, dass sich Maßnahmen zur Gestaltung eines insgesamt sprachförderlichen Klimas günstig auf die bildungssprachliche Entwicklung auswirken. Nicht das einzelne Förderangebot erscheint entscheidend, sondern die systematische und kontinuierliche Aufmerksamkeit für die sprachliche Seite des Lernens in jedem fachlichen Unterricht. Um ein solches Klima herzustellen, ist die Zusammenarbeit der Lehrkräfte verschiedener Unterrichtsfächer ebenso erforderlich wie eine unterstützende Schulleitung. Eine gute Grundlage ist die gemeinsame Entwicklung eines Sprachbildungskonzepts, das  auch für Schüler und Eltern transparent ist. Es scheint wenig Einfluss zu besitzen, wenn Hilfsmittel oder Unterrichtsmaterial von außen bereitgestellt werden. Hingegen ist offenbar die gemeinsame Material- und Unterrichtsentwicklung der Lehrkräfte eines Kollegiums (beispielsweise derjenigen, die in den Klassen eines Jahrgangs unterrichten) von großem Nutzen für die Entstehung eines bildungssprachförderlichen Schulklimas. Nötig ist hierfür die Unterstützung von außen. So müssen Zeitfenster für die Zusammenarbeit geschaffen werden; vor allem aber ist die gründliche und praxisbegleitende Qualifizierung der beteiligten Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen eine Voraussetzung für das Gelingen.

Das Modellprogramm FörMig ist abgeschlossen; im Programm BiSS werden viele Ergebnisse aufgegriffen und weiterentwickelt. Die bildungswissenschaftliche Forschung zur Sprachentwicklung ist also ein vitales Forschungsfeld, in dem wichtige Erkenntnisse über Bedingungen für die glückliche Entfaltung sprachlicher Fähigkeiten bereits erarbeitet wurden – aber auch viele Fragen noch offen sind.
 

Grundlagen aus Den Nachbarwissenschaften

In der Forschung über Sprachentwicklung aus bildungswissenschaftlicher Perspektive wird auch auf Grundlagen zurückgegriffen, die in anderen Disziplinen erarbeitet werden. Namentlich sind dies:
Psychologie und Psycholinguistik: Diese Disziplinen wollen vor allem den Geheimnissen der individuellen Sprachaneignung in der frühen Kindheit auf die Spur kommen. Dabei interessieren „Ausnahmefälle“ besonders. So ist es eine wichtige Frage, welche Entwicklung Kinder nehmen, die mit Sprachentwicklungsstörungen zu kämpfen haben. Eine andere bedeutende Frage gilt den Besonderheiten der Entwicklung von Kindern, die zwei- oder mehrsprachig heranwachsen (Weinert/Grimm 2012).
Sprachdidaktik: Wenn es darum geht, in Bildungsinstitutionen – also in Kindergärten, Schulen, Hochschulen – auf das Lernen von Sprachen gezielt Einfluss zu nehmen, geschieht dies vor allem aus der Sicht sprachdidaktischer Fächer. Sie richten sich vielfach auf den Unterricht der Hauptsprache der Schule, in Deutschland also auf den Deutschunterricht. Ein anderes Aufgabengebiet ist die Beschäftigung mit Einzelsprachen, die als Fremdsprachen unterrichtet werden. Hierzu kann auch Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) gehören.
Sprachlehrforschung und Educational Linguistics: Sprachenübergreifende Fragen des Lehrens und Lernens von Einzelsprachen behandeln die Sprachlehrforschung (Burwitz-Melzer et al. 2013) oder die (auch in Deutschland auf Englisch bezeichneten) Educational Linguistics. Ihre Aufmerksamkeit gilt zum Beispiel der Sprachentwicklung und dem Sprachenlernen von Kindern, die mit einer anderen Sprache als der Schulsprache aufwachsen und leben, aber zugleich in ihrer Umwelt Erfahrungen mit dieser sammeln – also etwa dem Deutschen als Zweitsprache (DaZ).
Soziologie und Soziolinguistik: Diese Disziplinen untersuchen nicht-sprachliche Lebensumstände, die Auswirkungen auf Sprachentwicklung haben. Dazu gehören die sozialen und ökonomischen Bedingungen, unter denen Kinder heranwachsen und leben, oder die Folgen von Migration in eine anderssprachige Region. Im Fokus steht, welche Umstände sich günstig auf Sprachentwicklung auswirken, und von welchen eher Nachteile zu erwarten sind.

 

Literatur

Bialystok, Ellen; Poarch, Gregory: „Language Experience Changes Language and Cognitive Ability” In: Zeitschrift für Erziehungswissenschaft 17 (3) 2014, 433–446.

Burwitz-Melzer, Eva; Königs, Frank G.; Riemer, Claudia (Hrsg.): Identität und Fremdsprachenlernen. Anmerkungen zu einer komplexen Beziehung. Tübingen: Gunter Narr Verlag 2013.

Gogolin, Ingrid; Lange, Imke; Michel, Ute; Reich, Hans H. (Hrsg.): Herausforderung Bildungssprache - und wie man sie meistert. FörMig Edition Band 9. Münster: Waxmann 2013.

Gogolin, Ingrid; Neumann, Ursula (Hrsg.): Streitfall Zweisprachigkeit. The Bilingualism Controversy. Wiesbaden: VS-Verlag 2009.

Klieme, Eckhard; Artelt, Cordula; Hartig, Johannes; Jude, Nina; Köller, Olaf; Prenzel, Manfred et al. (Hrsg.): PISA 2009. Bilanz nach einem Jahrzehnt. Münster, New York u.a.: Waxmann 2010.

Neugebauer, Uwe; Becker-Mrotzek, Michael: Die Qualität von Sprachstandsverfahren im Elementarbereich. Eine Analyse und Bewertung. Mercator-Institut für Sprachförderung und Deutsch als Zweitsprache; Universität zu Köln, Köln 2013.

OECD: PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do – Student Performance in Mathematics,Reading and Science (Volume I, Revised edition, February 2014). Paris: OECD Publishing 2014.

Weinert, Sabine; Grimm, Hannelore : „Sprachentwicklung“. In: Lindenberger, Ulman; Schneider, Wolfgang (Hrsg.): Entwicklungspsychologie. Weinheim: Beltz 2012, 433–456.