Multilingualism: What Is Multilingualism? Talking in Many Tongues

Talking in Many Tongues
Talking in Many Tongues | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

When we use the term “multilingualism”, we are referring to a variety of phenomena which, though fairly closed linked, occur on quite different levels. How then can multilingualism be defined? Which factors are important? Or are there in fact several types of multilingualism?

Abstract

The term “multilingualism” has not only individual and social but also political and institutional aspects. Contrary to commonly held assumptions, these aspects rarely run parallel to one another. The representatives of multilingual institutions are often not multilingual themselves; the ways in which society judges individual multilingualism frequently differ considerably; and only few people possess genuinely equal proficiency in the various languages of their repertoire. The following article aims to shed light above all on “individual multilingualism”, which is more than the sum of a number of languages.

Multilingualism has various dimensions and can be defined in different ways. “Individual multilingualism” for example characterizes people who are capable of making themselves understood in more than one language – be they celebrities like the writer Elias Canetti or people from everyday settings such as children from immigrant families who use their original language at home, speak the local national language at school and additionally learn at least one foreign language (cf. Wandruszka 1981). We talk of “social multilingualism” when languages share different functions in a society as is the case in the Swiss canton of Graubünden, where German, Romansh (and Italian) are official languages with theoretically equal status, yet Romansh and Italian are dominated in many situations by German on account of the general bilingualism of the minorities (“polyglotism”). In modern cities, speakers of different languages often live side by side without their languages being functionally separated (“heteroglotism”). By contrast, the term “territorial multilingualism” describes political areas divided into more or less monolingual language zones, as is the case with Flemish, French and German in Belgium. We talk of “institutional multilingualism” when institutions or organizations offer their services in different languages, as do the UN, the EU and the Swiss Federal Railways (SBB).

GERMANY SPEAKS MANY LANGUAGES

One “engine” that drives different forms of multilingualism is migration. In all of the world’s highly developed countries, migration is not only normal but also necessary and desirable, and this holds equally true for Germany, where it has resulted in individual and social multilingualism. German society is multilingual: immigrants have brought their languages with them and also use them in everyday life. It is not known how many languages are actually spoken in Germany, as there are no reliable statistics on this.

“Social multilingualism” is a general educational requirement in Germany, as children or adolescents whose lives are conducted in two or more languages can be found in virtually every classroom in the country. What is more, education policy is keen to foster individual multilingualism. Like all the member states of the European Union, Germany has also committed itself to the educational goal of trilingualism: all young people in Europe’s schools are supposed to learn at least two other languages in addition to the main language of the country in which they live. Although there is consensus that English should be one of these languages, there are no limitations whatsoever as regards the other languages. The languages that immigrants bring with them offer great potential as far as the teaching of other languages is concerned.

INDIVIDUAL MULTILINGUALISM

In purely functional terms, individual multilingualism is defined as the ability to communicate in several language contexts – regardless of the way in which the languages concerned were acquired or how well they are mastered. Accordingly, such individuals are neither multilingual from birth nor “perfectly” multilingual. A Moroccan immigrant who speaks some French and German in addition to his Arabic dialect is multilingual, as is the conference interpreter who confidently uses her three native or first languages of English, German and French as working languages. Bilingualism, that is to say the ability to communicate in two language contexts, is a borderline case in terms of multilingualism and for the purposes of this article will be treated as a subcategory of it.

In the context of education, a distinction between “folk” and “elective” multilingualism has proven beneficial. “Folk multilingualism” means that a person lives in more than one language in his or her everyday life. A child who grows up in a multilingual environment will acquire the various languages of this environment in just the same way as a monolingual child will acquire his or her one language. By contrast, we speak of “elective multilingualism” when people take foreign language classes despite using only one language in their everyday lives.


MULTILINGUALISM AS A CONNECTED SYSTEM

Individual multilingualism is often termed “plurilingualism” (Beacco, Byram 2002). In the same sense, one also speaks of “multi-competence”. This is intended to emphasize that it is more than simply a kind of “multiple monolingualism”, that is to say that it is more than the sum of several individual languages which exist independently side by side, without influencing one another. Indeed, individual multilingualism functions as a connected system (“one connected system, rather than each language being a separate system”; Cook 2008) in which the elements of the individual languages interact with and influence each other. Together, they comprise a single “integrated competence”.

In concrete terms, a multilingual repertoire is made up of a number of linguistic resources which are multimodal, that is to say they use different sensory channels. These are activated by speakers to resolve problems relating to specific situations – for example in multilingual teams at the workplace where team members can resort simultaneously to different languages, images and gestures to achieve optimal communication. Like a set of building blocks, these elements are as it were prefabricated in some cases and can be accessed from the speaker’s memory. In other cases, however, they are also formed anew in a spontaneous and creative manner (Lüdi, Py 2009).

Such observations have numerous implications for classroom teaching. For one thing, it is important to give consideration in all kinds of different ways to migration-related multilingualism in the classroom. For example, German lessons for native German speakers can often not be separated from the teaching of German as a second language. For another thing, all teachers must be aware of the importance of supporting pupils – for both their own benefit and for the benefit of society as a whole – in acquiring multilingual repertoires and of therefore promoting or at least respecting the development of their first languages.
 

Literature

Beacco, Jean Claude; Byram, Michael: Guide for the development of language education policies in Europe. From linguistic diversity to plurilingual education. Strasbourg: Council of Europe, Language Policy Division 2002.

Canetti, Elias: Die gerettete Zunge. München - Wien: Carl Hanser Verlag 1977.

Cook, Vivian: Second Language Learning and Language Teaching. London, Arnold 2008.

Europarat: Gemeinsamer europäischer Referenzrahmen für Sprachen: Lernen, lehren, beurteilen. München, Langenscheidt 2001

Lüdi, Georges; Py, Bernard: "To be or not to be … a plurilingual speaker". International Journal of Multilingualism 6/2 2009, 154-167.

Wandruszka, Mario: Die Mehrsprachigkeit des Menschen. München: Deutscher Taschenbuch-Verlag 1981.

Mehrsprachigkeit: Was ist Mehrsprachigkeit? In vielen Sprachen sprechen

In vielen Sprachen sprechen
In vielen Sprachen sprechen | Illustration: Melih Bilgil

Wer von „Mehrsprachigkeit“ spricht, spricht von unterschiedlichen Phänomenen, die recht eng miteinander verknüpft, aber auf ganz unterschiedlichen Ebenen angesiedelt sind. Wie also definiert man Mehrsprachigkeit? Welche Faktoren sind wichtig? Oder gibt es sogar mehrere „Mehrsprachigkeiten“?

Abstract

Der Begriff der „Mehrsprachigkeit“ hat individuelle und gesellschaftliche, aber auch politische und institutionelle Aspekte. Entgegen landläufiger Vorstellungen laufen diese selten parallel. Vertreter mehrsprachiger Institutionen sind häufig selber nicht mehrsprachig; gesellschaftlich wird individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit oft sehr unterschiedlich eingeschätzt; und nur wenige Menschen verfügen über wirklich ausgeglichene Fertigkeiten in den verschiedenen Sprachen ihres Repertoires. Im nachfolgenden Beitrag wird vor allem die „individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit“ beleuchtet – die mehr ist als die Addition mehrerer Sprachen.

Mehrsprachigkeit hat verschiedene Dimensionen und kann unterschiedlich definiert werden. „Individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit“ etwa kennzeichnet Menschen, die sich in mehr als einer Sprache zu verständigen wissen – seien es Berühmtheiten wie der Schriftsteller Elias Canetti oder Personen aus der alltäglichen Umgebung wie Kinder aus Einwandererfamilien, die zu Hause die Herkunftssprache benutzen, in der Schule die Unterrichtssprache sprechen und außerdem mindestens eine Fremdsprache erlernen (vgl. auch Wandruszka 1981). „Soziale Mehrsprachigkeit“ liegt vor, wenn sich Sprachen in einer Gesellschaft unterschiedliche Funktionen teilen wie im Schweizer Kanton Graubünden, wo Deutsch, Rätoromanisch (und Italienisch) zwar theoretisch gleichberechtigte Amtssprachen sind, aber Rätoromanisch und Italienisch aufgrund der allgemeinen Zweisprachigkeit der Minderheiten in vielen Situationen von Deutsch dominiert werden („Polyglossie“). In modernen Großstädten leben Sprecher unterschiedlicher Sprachen oft nebeneinander, ohne dass ihre Sprachen funktionell getrennt wären („Heteroglossie“). Dem gegenüber bezeichnet der Begriff der „territorialen Mehrsprachigkeit“ politische Räume, die in mehr oder weniger einsprachige Sprachräume unterteilt sind, wie in Belgien mit Flämisch, Französisch und Deutsch. Von „institutioneller Mehrsprachigkeit“ spricht man, wenn Institutionen oder Organisationen ihre Dienste in verschiedenen Sprachen anbieten, etwa die UNO, die EU oder die Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB).

DEUTSCHLAND SPRICHT VIELE SPRACHEN

Ein „Motor“ für verschiedene Formen der Mehrsprachigkeit ist Migration. In allen wirtschaftlich hoch entwickelten Staaten der Welt ist diese Zuwanderung nicht nur normal, sondern auch notwendig und erwünscht, so auch in Deutschland. Hier hat sie zu individueller und sozialer Mehrsprachigkeit geführt. Die Gesellschaft Deutschlands ist mehrsprachig: Die Zuwanderer haben ihre Sprachen mitgebracht und setzen sie im Alltag auch ein. Wie viele Sprachen in Deutschland tatsächlich gesprochen werden, ist unbekannt: Eine zuverlässige Statistik gibt es nicht.

In Deutschland ist die „soziale Mehrsprachigkeit“ eine allgemeine Bildungsbedingung, denn Kinder oder Jugendliche, die in zwei oder mehr Sprachen leben, sind in fast jeder Schulklasse im Lande anzutreffen. Zudem ist die Förderung der individuellen Mehrsprachigkeit bildungspolitisch erwünscht. Wie alle Mitgliedsländer der Europäischen Union, so hat sich auch Deutschland zum Bildungsziel Dreisprachigkeit verpflichtet: In den Schulen Europas sollen alle Jugendlichen mindestens zwei Sprachen neben der Hauptsprache jenes Landes erlernen, in dem sie leben. Man ist sich darüber einig, dass Englisch eine dieser Sprachen sein soll – aber für die weiteren Sprachen sind keinerlei Einschränkungen gemacht. Mit den mitgebrachten Sprachen der Migranten steht ein großes Potenzial für das weitere Sprachenangebot zur Verfügung.

INDIVIDUELLE MEHRSPRACHIGKEIT

Rein funktional wird individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit als Fähigkeit definiert, in mehreren Sprachkontexten zu kommunizieren – und dies unabhängig davon, auf welche Weise die beteiligten Sprachen erworben oder wie gut sie beherrscht werden. Danach sind die Betroffenen weder von Geburt an, noch „perfekt“ mehrsprachig. Mehrsprachig ist sowohl der marokkanische Zuwanderer, der neben seinem arabischen Dialekt auch etwas Französisch und Deutsch spricht, als auch die Konferenzdolmetscherin, die ihre drei Mutter- oder Erstsprachen Englisch, Deutsch und Französisch souverän als Arbeitssprachen verwendet. Zweisprachigkeit, d. h. die Fähigkeit, in zwei Sprachkontexten zu kommunizieren, stellt einen Grenzfall von Mehrsprachigkeit dar und wird im Folgenden darunter subsumiert.

Im Kontext von Bildung und Erziehung hat sich eine Unterscheidung in „lebensweltliche“ und „fremdsprachliche“ Mehrsprachigkeit bewährt. „Lebensweltliche Mehrsprachigkeit“ bedeutet, dass ein Mensch im Alltag in mehr als einer Sprache lebt. Ein Kind, das lebensweltlich mehrsprachig aufwächst, eignet sich die verschiedenen Sprachen seiner Lebenswelt genauso an, wie ein einsprachig aufwachsendes Kind, das eine Sprache erwirbt. Im Unterschied dazu liegt „fremdsprachliche Mehrsprachigkeit“ vor, wenn Menschen Fremdsprachen im Unterricht lernen, obwohl sie in ihrem Alltag nur eine Sprache gebrauchen.

MEHRSPRACHIGKEIT ALS GESAMTSYSTEM

Individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit wird oft auch „Plurilingualität“ genannt (Beacco, Byram 2002). Im gleichen Sinne spricht man auch von „Multikompetenz“. So soll herausgestellt werden, dass sie mehr ist als eine Art „mehrfache Einsprachigkeit“, also mehr als die Addition mehrerer Einzelsprachen, die selbständig und unbeeinflusst nebeneinander existieren. Tatsächlich funktioniert individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit als Gesamtsystem („one connected system, rather than each language being a separate system“; Cook 2008), bei dem die Elemente der einzelnen Sprachen miteinander interagieren und aufeinander einwirken. Gemeinsam bilden sie eine einzige „integrierte Kompetenz“.

Konkret besteht ein mehrsprachiges Repertoire aus einer Menge von sprachlichen und multimodalen, also unterschiedliche Sinneskanäle nutzenden Ressourcen. Diese werden von den Sprechern zur Problemlösung situationsbezogen aktiviert – zum Beispiel innerhalb mehrsprachiger Teams am Arbeitsplatz, wo die Akteure gleichzeitig auf unterschiedliche Sprachen, Bilder und Gesten zurückgreifen können, um sich optimal zu verständigen. Wie bei einem Baukasten, sind diese Bestandteile zum Teil gleichsam vorfabriziert und aus dem Gedächtnis abrufbar. Teils werden sie aber auch spontan und kreativ neu gebildet (Lüdi, Py 2009).

Derartige Beobachtungen haben zahlreiche Implikationen für den Unterricht. Zum einen gilt es, die migrationsbedingte Mehrsprachigkeit in den Klassenzimmern in verschiedenster Hinsicht zu berücksichtigen. So ist Deutschunterricht oft nicht von der Vermittlung von Deutsch als Zweitsprache zu trennen. Zum andern müssen sich alle Lehrkräfte der Herausforderung bewusst werden, dass sie die Schülerinnen und Schülern zu deren und der Gesamtgesellschaft Wohl bei der Herausbildung mehrsprachiger Repertoires zu unterstützen haben und deshalb auch die Entwicklung der Erstsprachen fördern oder zumindest respektieren sollten.

 

Literatur

Beacco, Jean Claude; Byram, Michael: Guide for the development of language education policies in Europe. From linguistic diversity to plurilingual education. Strasbourg: Council of Europe, Language Policy Division 2002.

Canetti, Elias: Die gerettete Zunge. München - Wien: Carl Hanser Verlag 1977.

Cook, Vivian: Second Language Learning and Language Teaching. London, Arnold 2008.

Europarat: Gemeinsamer europäischer Referenzrahmen für Sprachen: Lernen, lehren, beurteilen. München, Langenscheidt 2001

Lüdi, Georges; Py, Bernard: "To be or not to be … a plurilingual speaker". International Journal of Multilingualism 6/2 2009, 154-167.

Wandruszka, Mario: Die Mehrsprachigkeit des Menschen. München: Deutscher Taschenbuch-Verlag 1981.