Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Practical tips
The Deutschlandcollage: An AR tool for teaching and self-learning

  DCVorstellungsgrafik
© Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive

The Deutschlandcollage (“Germany Collage”) is an update and modernization of the well-known Deutschlandposter. This new map of Germany has a new “look” thanks to augmented reality as well as a new standalone app with a wide range of content for learning German and getting to know Germany as a diverse and dynamic society and culture.

By Sophia Schwager

Background and development

This new edition of the popular Deutschlandposter, which teachers around the world can use for classes on German culture and society, for example, now comes with a free interactive app for about 13.45 million school-age learners of German worldwide. The new poster shows images of contemporary German society as well as interactive elements that reflect the media habits of young German-learners. For this purpose, the Deutschlandcollage consists of two interacting parts: a map of Germany with a fresh new design and interactive augmented reality (AR) features, on the one hand, and an app called "Deutschland. Kennen. Lernen” (i.e. “Getting to know Germany”) with a wide range of content and interactive exercises, on the other. The poster and app can be downloaded together free of charge from the website.
Bild vom Poster (© Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive The “Germany Collage” (i.e. poster and app) is designed for young learners of German between the ages of 14 and 18, but it also inspires adult learners to learn more about Germany and improve their German skills while they’re at it. The collage has six subject areas for browsing and (self-)learning at the A2 level of German proficiency: “Living in Germany”, “Leisure and Volunteer Work”, “Environment and Sustainability”, “Studying in Germany”, “Creatives and Masterminds” (i.e. people in the arts and sciences) and “Working in Germany”. Interactive exercises and narrative media, including short films, provide variety and enable users to improve their vocabulary and their reading and listening comprehension, whilst learning more about Germany from the perspective of young people.

The Deutschlandcollage is essentially a self-learning tool, but can also be used in the classroom for teaching German as a foreign or second language.

Beispiel Themen © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive Practical example: Using Deutschlandcollage in the classroom

The collage can be used for German language teaching in a great many different ways. First of all, the Deutschlandposter can be used by itself, without the app. The large number of attractive pictures on the poster (available in sizes from A4 to A0) can be used to start a discussion with students, for example, about Germany in general and how they view the country. You can hang the poster up in the classroom and have your students do an exercise or two on it as a reward if they’ve been working especially hard in class. A single exercise can be “played through” in less than five minutes, during which students will improve their language skills in a playful way – and learn something about Germany while they’re at it.

Above and beyond that, teachers of German as a foreign or second language can use the Deutschlandcollage a great deal more intensively in the classroom. You’ll find various free teaching materials, comprising sets of worksheets and teachers’ handouts, on our website.
DC Cloud © Goethe-Institut e.V./ Colourbox Here’s an example of how to use the Deutschlandcollage with a group of (approximately A2 level) learners: A class of 8th-grade German-learners would like to learn more about how kids in Germany spend their free time (subject area: Leisure activities). Their teacher would like to tell them about (young) Germany whilst doing some vocabulary practice, listening comprehension and oral skills.

The 8th-graders and the teacher have installed the "Deutschland. Kennen. Lernen" app on their smartphones/iPhones or tablets/iPads free of charge. (After installation, the exercises can be either streamed or used offline.) In the classroom, the teacher can either hang a suitably large version (e.g. A0) of the free poster on the wall, place several smaller versions (e.g. A5 or A4) on their desks, or project an image of the poster on the wall. The poster is also available as a PDF for school tablets or laptops. In addition, the students receive worksheets on the subject of “Leisure and Volunteer Work” (as PDFs or printouts).
Beispiel Übungen © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive After opening the app, the students can scan the poster and do exercises from the app under the teacher’s guidance. The subject area in this case would be "Leisure and Volunteer Work" with the topics "Sports", "Volunteer Work", "Music and Festivals" and "Clubs". The app contains exercises of various kinds and formats: short movies, word search puzzles, two types of word-and-picture-matching exercises, knowledge puzzles, 3D objects and two kinds of slideshows (either “text-only” along the lines of "Did you know that …?" or with sound and text).

The worksheets (and teachers’ handouts) methodically round out the app content and provide supplementary exercises such as word-and-picture matching, conversation aids about the topics (sports, music, volunteer work etc.) and/or specific points of grammar in practice, puzzles using what students have learned from the app, some special material about modern pop music in Germany, fill-in-the-blank texts, and a whole lot more.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Praxistipp
Die Deutschlandcollage – Ein AR-Angebot für den Unterricht und das Selbstlernen

| © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive

Die Deutschlandcollage ist eine Aktualisierung und Modernisierung des bekannten Deutschlandposters. Die neue Deutschlandkarte hat sowohl einen neuen ‚Look‘ mit Augmented Reality als auch eine neue eigenständige App mit vielen Inhalten zum Deutschlernen und Kennenlernen Deutschlands als bunte dynamische Gesellschaft und Kultur.

Von Sophia Schwager

Hintergrund und Entstehungsgeschichte

Mit der Neuauflage des beliebten Deutschlandposters, das Lehrkräfte weltweit u.a. im Landeskundeunterricht verwenden können, existiert nun ein kostenloses, interaktives Digitalangebot für die weltweit ca. 13,45 Millionen Deutsch lernenden Schüler*innen. Das neue Poster zeigt sowohl Bilder aus der heutigen Gesellschaft in Deutschland und enthält auch interaktive Elemente, die die Mediengewohnheiten junger Deutschlerner*innen widerspiegeln. Zu diesem Zweck besteht die Deutschlandcollage aus zwei miteinander interagierenden Teilen: einer Landkarte Deutschlands in einem modernen Design mit interaktiven Augmented-Reality-Funktionen (AR) und der App „Deutschland. Kennen. Lernen.“ mit vielfältigen Inhalten und interaktiven Übungen. Auf der Webseite kann man sich Poster und App zusammen kostenlos herunterladen.
Bild vom Poster © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive Die D-Collage wurde für junge Deutschlernende zwischen 14-18 Jahren konzipiert, bereitet aber ebenso erwachsenen Deutschlernenenden Lust, Deutschland digital besser kennenzulernen und sozusagen nebenbei die eigenen Deutschkenntnisse zu verbessern. Es gibt sechs Themenbereiche, die zum Stöbern und (Selbst-) Lernen einladen. Diese Themen für das Sprachniveau A2 sind: Leben in Deutschland, Freizeit und soziales Engagement, Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit, Studieren in Deutschland, kluge und kreative Köpfe (Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaften, Kultur und Kunst) und Arbeiten in Deutschland. Interaktive Übungen und narrative Medienelemente, wie kleine Filme, sorgen für Abwechslung und ermöglichen es den Nutzer*innen insbesondere ihren Wortschatz sowie Lese- und Hörverständnis zu verbessern während sie mehr über Deutschland aus Sicht junger Leute erfahren.

Auch wenn die Deutschlandcollage (also Poster und App) zunächst ein Selbstlernangebot ist, kann sie auch von Lehrkräften im-Unterricht in Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) und Deutsch als Zweitsprache (DaZ) eingesetzt werden.
Beispiel Themen © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive

Anwendungsbeispiel: Die Deutschlandcollage im Unterricht

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten im DaF-/ DaZ-Unterricht sind vielfältig. Das Deutschlandposter alleine, also ohne App, lässt sich bereits nutzen. Die vielen ansprechenden Bilder können z.B. als Gesprächsanreiz dienen, um mit Schüler*innen allgemein über Deutschland und ihre Deutschlandbilder zu diskutieren. Hängt das Poster im Unterrichtsraum (DIN A4 – DIN A0) können Deutschlernende die eine oder andere Übung auch als Belohnung machen, wenn sie im Unterricht besonders fleißig waren. Eine einzelne Übung lässt sich in unter fünf Minuten 'durchspielen' während Schüler*innen spielerisch ihre Sprachkenntnisse verbessern und gleichzeitig etwas über Deutschland lernen.

Darüber hinaus können DaF- und DaZ-Lehrkräfte die Deutschlandcollage deutlich intensiver im Unterricht nutzen. Sie finden dazu auf unserer Webseite verschiedene kostenlose Unterrichtsmaterialien, die aus Sets an Arbeitsblättern und Lehrkräfte-Handreichungen bestehen.
Cloud-Bild © Goethe-Institut e.V./ Colourbox Für eine Lernendengruppe (etwa A2-Niveau) kann die Nutzung der Deutschlandcollage beispielsweise so aussehen: Deutschlernende einer 8. Klasse möchten mehr darüber erfahren, wie Jugendliche in Deutschland ihre Freizeit verbringen (Unterrichtsthema Freizeitaktivitäten). Lehrkräfte möchten dazu Wissen über (ein junges) Deutschland vermitteln und Wortschatz, Hörverständnis, Redefähigkeiten trainieren.

Die 8. Klässler*innen und auch die Lehrkraft haben sich dazu die App "Deutschland. Kennen. Lernen" auf ihr Smartphone/ iPhone oder Tablet/ iPad kostenlos installiert. (Nach der Installation können die Übungen entweder gestreamt oder offline genutzt werden.) Im Klassenzimmer hängt außerdem das kostenlose Deutschlandposter entweder in einem geeigneten großen Format an der Wand (zum Beispiel DIN A0), in einem kleineren Format (zum Beispiel DIN A5-A4) liegt es mehrfach aus, ist auf Schultablets oder Laptops als PDF vorhanden oder wird über einen Beamer an eine Wand projiziert. Dazu erhalten die Schüler*innen die Arbeitsblätter zum Thema "Freizeit und Soziales Engagement" (PDF oder Ausdrucke).
Beispiel Übungsformate © Goethe-Institut e.V./ KIDS interactive Die Deutschlernenden scannen bei geöffneter App das Poster und machen Übungen aus der App, zu denen sie ihre Lehrkraft anleitet. Dazu eignet sich das Thema "Freizeit und Soziales Engagement" mit seinen Unterthemen "Sport", "Soziales Engagement", "Musik und Festivals" und "Vereine". Die Übungsformate in der App sind: Kurzfilme, Wortgitter, zwei Arten von Wort-zu-Bild-Übungen, Wissens-Rätsel, 3D-Objekte und zwei Arten von Slideshows (entweder 'nur' Texte nach dem Prinzip "Weißt du, dass" oder mit Ton und Text).

Die Arbeitsblätter (und Lehrkräftehandreichungen) ergänzen die Inhalte der App methodisch und bieten weitere Übungsmöglichkeiten wie Wort-Bild-Matchings, Konversationshilfen über die Themen (Sport, Musik, Ehrenamt, etc.) und/oder bestimmte Grammatik in der Praxis, Rätseln zu Wissen aus der App, Exkurse zur modernen Pop-Musik in Deutschland, Lückentexten, und vielem mehr.
 

Top