Claudia Daems How do pedestrian lights work?

Deutschlehrerin bei TTK
Foto: Roger Daems

Teaching technology combined with german as a foreign language at university level

ADOK is an acronym that stands for Automatisierung und Deutsch im Online-Kurs (i.e. Automation and German in an Online Course), a freely available Moodle course that was created during the EU’s Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP). Although the course curriculum and online materials are best suited to engineering students, they can also be adapted to other disciplines. This interdisciplinary course teaches students the fundamental principles of automation, gives them a basic knowledge of German for communicating with customers, and provides a reading strategy for understanding technical texts. The course simulates an international project, covering the entire process from ordering to commissioning of a pedestrian light control system. 

background – the Situation in Finland  

The importance of language skills for global business is highlighted in numerous publications. The “Languages for Jobs” report notes that “the demand for foreign languages and communication skills is steadily rising on the European labour market” [1]. As the ELAN study “Effects on the European Economy of Shortages of Foreign Language Skills in Enterprise” showed, a quarter of the 2,000 small and medium-sized enterprises surveyed not only want the English skills of their employees to be improved but also for them to have a command of German, French or Russian and to be able to apply these language skills in all kinds of different work situations [2].

The aim is to take a closer look at this situation, using Finland as an example. Employees with German language skills are particularly important for Finnish companies because Germany is the country’s main trading partner alongside Sweden and Russia. However, ever fewer engineers have a command of German at the level B1 or higher according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. There are many reasons for this: pupils at Finnish schools choose German increasingly rarely as their first foreign language, the range of German courses offered at universities is decreasing and such courses that are available are often limited to beginners’ courses.  
 

the Idea for a combined language and content course for engineers

With a view to broadening the language horizons of engineering students at A2 level, automation lecturer Professor Olavi Kopponen and German teacher Claudia Daems came up with the idea of teaching engineering and language proficiency at the same time, using authentic materials already available in the laboratories – in this case manuals from Siemens and software help texts and commands. However, it turned out that Tampere University of Applied Sciences did not have sufficient financial and personnel resources to develop such a course. The EU’s LLP programme provided an opportunity to devise new course curricula. Together with partners they found in three European countries, the two lecturers prepared a project application that was selected for co-funding by the EU in July 2009. The project consortium was made up of four universities and three companies: Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK), Finland (coordination, GFL, automation); the company Toiminimi Ulrike Eichstädt, Finland (GFL); Reutlingen University, Germany (GFL, automation); the company HINTERWAELT, Germany (graphic design); the company InPunkto Software, Germany (programming); Tallinn University of Applied Sciences (TTK), Estonia (GFL, automation) and the Technical University of Ostrava (VŠB), Czech Republic (GFL).

Project group Project group | Photo: Andreas Berner

ADOK – the course you are looking for

Working together, the partners developed a curriculum and materials for an interdisciplinary online course that would combine automation – specifically programmable logic controllers (PLCs) – with German as a foreign language. Designed for the Moodle platform, this online course is available to anyone interested on the Internet. The project website provides a link to the ADOK course and the access data (student rights) so that potential users can familiarize themselves with the course, its structure and its content.
ADOK course

description of the course 

Interlinking the two subjects
The two subjects – automation and German – are linked by the learning goals. In both of the subjects, the idea is for students to acquire the ability to tackle problems set in automation projects in German and to solve problems in international project work. Details of the learning goals can be found on the project website.
Definition of learning goals

In practice, the two subjects are interlinked by a project simulation. Students are split into international teams – either real or simulated, depending on the situation at the university in question. Each team plays the roles of both principal and agent. Each team is tasked with ordering pedestrian lights for a busy road. The set task, which is available in two versions together with a solution, includes not only a description of the problem but also a sketch and a list of the functional conditions for the pedestrian lights.
 
  • Task for team 1 © Peter Hau
    Task for team 1
  • Task for team 2 © Peter Hau
    Task for team 2
On the basis of this task, each team is provided with a set of technical specifications and the order that it will send to its partner team. The partner team (= the supplier) uses the technical specifications to draw up a graphic representation of the pedestrian light phases and, using the STEP 7 software for the SIMATIC programmable logic controller, writes a program to control the pedestrian lights. The teams communicate throughout the project work, for example to arrange meetings or resolve technical issues. The course ends when the project is handed over, which includes presenting the pedestrian lights. The students learn the programming in their native languages or in English, though authentic back-up material is also available in German. Furthermore, it is also possible to select German for the STEP 7 programming software in the lab. In any case, the students have to communicate with one another in German during the project. 

course scope and content 

In total, the course encompasses ten study points ( (= 250 hours of student work), with five study points being spent on PLCs, three study points on German, one study point on company visits and one study point on intercultural matters. Ideally, the course runs for two semesters. If required, or if the curriculum permits, the course can be run as an intensive course in one semester (in a semester of 15 weeks this would require 16.6 hours of work on average per week). This is broken down as follows: 25 hours in the classroom for GFL (German for project communication and for STEP 7 texts), 50 hours online (Moodle: teamwork, work documentation, communication between principal and agent); for intercultural matters: 25 hours (classroom-based and online), for virtual and real company visits 25 hours and for PLCs 25 hours in the classroom (programming in general with STEP 7), 50 hours online (Moodle: teamwork, work documentation, communication between principal and agent), 50 hours of lab work (programming on the computer with STEP 7, testing of program on control unit, simulation on pedestrian lights).

There are ten modules on the Moodle learning platform:

Module 1: Getting to know team members and PLCs
Module 2: Presentation of task
Module 3: Planning of automation systems
Module 4: Application of PLCs
Module 5: Introduction to programming with STEP 7 + software visualization
Module 6: Project start – programming of pedestrian lights – external communication
Module 7: Company visit
Module 8: Project handover
Module 9: Intercultural matters
Module 10: Reading strategy “Seven Steps to STEP 7”

In parallel to modules 3–8, the students work on programming tasks in the lab. The contents of the online and classroom-based phases are designed to complement each other. The actual rhythm is decided by each university on the basis of its curriculum. The work on and with the PLCs is based on the Siemens SIMATIC guide with the example of traffic light control; this was adapted by the automation teachers and prepared for educational use by the German teachers. Short tests are carried out at the end of each module to check learning progress. In addition, the German-language project documents are assessed. The final test is to present the pedestrian light control system working perfectly. 

focus of german lessons 

Project communication encompasses introductions, small talk, product presentations, arranging appointments and business communication, among other things. There are exercises for practising written and oral communication. Students can use models that are designed as Moodle tests to practise their written business communication.

Example exercise, screenshot Example exercise, screenshot | © ADOK project team The pedestrian light project simulation requires students to have a specific technical vocabulary, which they acquire and consolidate by completing various tasks (e.g. flash cards, cloze tests, matching exercises), tests and texts. The automation teachers compiled a special vocabulary list in German, English, Estonian, Finnish and Czech. 

Ways to access authentic texts

To allow students to work with authentic German texts, the German teachers devised the “7 Steps to STEP 7” reading strategy for them on the basis of EuroCom’s Seven Sieves method [4]. The reading strategy teaches the students to access technical texts step by step, proceeding as follows: 
  1. Look at the pictures, illustrations, numbers and names.
  2. Look for international vocabulary.
  3. Use the special vocabulary list for technical texts.
  4. Mark the verb in the sentence.
  5. There are verbs that comprise two parts. Find these verbs.
  6. Look for structures that are typical of technical texts.
  7. Find all the remaining unknown words in the dictionary.
Each step is illustrated using an example, with at least one exercise provided for practice.

In addition, each module uses an example to illustrate a typical structure found in technical texts, with short exercises provided for practice. The main focus here is on identifying and adapting the structures. At this stage, students are not yet required to form the structures themselves. The following structures are presented: 
  • simple passive,
  • verbal nouns,
  • verbs with prepositions,
  • passive with modal verbs,
  • relative clauses,
  • participles as adjectives,
  • “sich lassen + infinitive”,
  • “sein + infinitive”.

Test and Pilot phase  

In the autumn of 2010, two modules and steps 1 and 2 of the reading strategy were tested at the four universities participating in the project. When the results of the tests were analysed, it was found that students coped well with the exercises even though the texts sometimes exceeded their language level. The use of the planned reading strategy received a positive response. Students realized that the reading strategy would enable them to access the content of even more complex technical texts. Overall, the exercises corresponded largely to the targeted A2 language level, and the instructions provided were sufficiently understandable [4].
 
Selected tasks and exercises were tested on Belgian engineering students at the Katholieke Hogeschool Kempen (Catholic University Kempen) in February 2011 and in 2012. During the university’s International Week, Professor Olavi Kopponen and Claudia Daems each ran a workshop in which automation and German were successfully combined in a classroom setting. Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK) organized a test run involving a somewhat shorter course (3 study points on PLC and 3 study points on GFL) in the autumn of 2011. Students without any knowledge of German were also admitted to the course, which turned out to be problematic. Although the project process could be simulated, little learning progress was achieved.
 
The ADOK course was piloted at the four universities from January to June 2012. TAMK and TTK ran the course as a bilateral content-based course. Two international teams were formed. Project communication was organized via Skype and discussion forums in Moodle. An international exchange involving joint lessons in Tallinn (four days) and Tampere (two weeks) was also organized during the pilot course. Working in the laboratories at TAMK, the two teams completed their programming tasks and, together with the German teachers Claudia Daems (TAMK) and Britt Petjärv (TTK), prepared to present their pedestrian light control system in German. 

Students in team 1 Students in team 1 | Photo: Andreas Berner The course was tested in the form of a technical language course at the Technical University of Ostrava (Czech Republic). The focus here was on building vocabulary, identifying typical structures in technical texts and testing the reading strategy.

At Reutlingen University, a pilot course was run with exchange students from China and Brazil whose level in German was only A1. So that they could take part in the course, the German teacher Gesine Gruhler adapted much of the material to their specific level and gave instructions in English. For some of the contact hours, she taught together with PLC teacher Professor Karl Armbruster. This allowed highly motivated students to successfully complete the course. [5] A lot more exercise material for the classroom phase was produced during the pilot phase and can be found in the ADOK Moodle course’s “Pool für Lehrer: Aufgaben für Präsenzunterricht” (Pool for Teachers: Exercises for Classroom-based Lessons).

The positive results of the pilot phase encouraged the project partner TTK from Tallinn to take part in the “European Language Label for Innovative Projects in Language Teaching and Learning” competition. This is the European Commission’s way of paying tribute to new approaches to language teaching and innovative projects. The ADOK project won the European Language Label for being one of the most innovative language teaching projects. The certificate was presented on 14 September 2012 during a ceremony at the Estonian Ministry of Education and Research in Tartu. 


A German teacher at TTK Britt Petjärv, a German teacher at TTK, and Claudia Daems, a German teacher at TAMK, with the European Language Label | Photo: Roger Daems

concluding remarks

The project team hopes that the ADOK course proves to be an inspiring example of interdisciplinary learning and that it will be used in many higher education institutions. To make it easier to work with the course and the wide range of material, a teacher handout has been prepared and can be found below. For each module, the exercises, tasks and materials are described in detail: title, description/type of exercise, method/role assignment, time needed, additional material and recommendations.
Teacher handouts

The ADOK course can also serve as the basis for designing a similar course with a different combination of subjects, however. There have been lively discussions of this at many conferences, as well as at other continuing education events.

 

Literatur


 

Author

Claudia Daems Foto: Studio Kuvattavaksi Oy Claudia Daems is German but has lived and worked in Finland since 1988. After graduating with a degree in German and history from Leipzig University, she worked as a German and history teacher at schools in Leipzig and Berlin. After moving to Finland, she worked as a German teacher at private schools, numerous Finnish companies, the University of Tampere and the Goethe-Institut Tampere. She was a lecturer in German as a foreign language with a special focus on engineering at Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK) from 1992 to 2013. She coordinated the LLP project ADOK – Automatisierung und Deutsch im Online-Kurs (Automation and German in an Online Course) and the Lingua2 project SPIK: Sprachhandeln in Konfliktsituationen (Language Action in Conflict Situations), and has worked on numerous EU and university projects: DEMA: Deutsch mal anders (A Different Approach to German), PROTOCALL, Just in time, Languages for e-commerce, Virtuelles Wiburg (Virtual Wiburg). Furthermore, she is the author of Deutsch im Display (German on Screen), a text book for German as a foreign language specifically targeted at engineering students and engineers. She is particularly interested in ways of combining language learning with the acquisition of technical knowledge, and in international collaboration when it comes to the creation of teaching and learning material.

Claudia Daems Wie funktioniert eine Ampel?

Deutschlehrerin bei TTK
Foto: Roger Daems

Technik und Deutsch als Fremdsprache fächerübergreifend an Hochschulen unterrichten 

ADOK ist das Akronym von Automatisierung und Deutsch im Online-Kurs, einem frei verfügbaren Moodle-Kurs, der während des gleichnamigen EU-Projekts (LLP: Lifelong Learning Programme) entstand. Das Kurscurriculum und die Online-Materialien sind vor allem für Studierende der Ingenieurwissenschaften geeignet, lassen sich jedoch auch für andere Fachrichtungen adaptieren. In diesem fächerübergreifenden Kurs erwerben die Studierenden die Grundlagen für die Lösung von Automatisierungsaufgaben, Basiswissen für die Kundenkommunikation auf Deutsch und eine Lesestrategie für die Entschlüsselung von technischen Texten. Der Kurs simuliert ein internationales Projekt von der Bestellung bis zur Inbetriebnahme einer Ampelanlagen-Steuerung.

Hintergrund – die Situation in Finnland 

Die Bedeutung von Sprachkenntnissen für die globale Wirtschaft wird in zahlreichen Publikationen unterstrichen. Im Bericht „Languages for Jobs” wird festgestellt, dass „der Bedarf an Fremdsprachenkenntnissen und Kommunikationsfähigkeiten auf dem europäischen Arbeitsmarkt ständig steigt” [1]. Wie die ELAN-Studie „Auswirkungen mangelnder Fremdsprachenkenntnisse in den Unternehmen auf die europäische Wirtschaft“ zeigte, fordert ein Viertel der 2000 befragten kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen nicht nur die Verbesserung der Englischkenntnisse ihrer Mitarbeiter, sondern auch die Beherrschung von Deutsch, Französisch oder Russisch und die Anwendung dieser Sprachkenntnisse in verschiedensten Arbeitssituationen [2].

Am Beispiel von Finnland soll die Situation näher betrachtet werden. Für finnische Firmen sind Mitarbeiter/-innen mit Deutschkenntnissen besonders wichtig, da Deutschland neben Schweden und Russland der wichtigste Handelspartner ist. Aber immer weniger Ingenieure beherrschen Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 oder höher des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens. Die Gründe dafür sind vielschichtig: Deutsch wird immer seltener an finnischen Schulen als erste Fremdsprache gewählt, das Angebot an Deutschkursen an den Hochschulen wird geringer und beschränkt sich oft auf Anfängerkurse. 

Die Idee zu einem kombinierten Sprach- und Fachangebot für Ingenieure

Um den sprachlichen Horizont für Ingenieurstudenten mit dem Niveau A2 zu erweitern, entwickelten Prof. Olavi Kopponen, Dozent für Automatisierung, und die Deutschlehrerin Claudia Daems die Idee, Ingenieur- und Sprachwissen gleichzeitig zu vermitteln und dabei das in den Laboren vorhandene authentische Material – in diesem Falle Handbücher der Firma Siemens sowie Hilfetexte und Kommandos in der Software – einzusetzen. Es zeigte sich jedoch, dass die finanziellen und personellen Ressourcen der FH Tampere nicht ausreichten, um solch einen Kurs zu entwickeln. Das Programm LLP der EU bot die Möglichkeit, neue Kurscurricula zu entwickeln. Die beiden Dozenten suchten Partner in drei europäischen Ländern und erstellten mit ihnen einen Projektantrag, der im Juli 2009 von der EU zur Kofinanzierung ausgewählt wurde. Das Projektkonsortium bestand aus vier Hochschulen und drei Firmen: die FH Tampere (TAMK), Finnland (Koordination, DaF, Automation); die Firma Toiminimi Ulrike Eichstädt, Finnland (DaF); die Hochschule Reutlingen, Deutschland (DaF, Automation); die Firma HINTERWAELT, Deutschland (grafische Gestaltung); die Firma InPunkto Software, Deutschland (Programmierung); die  Technische  Hochschule Tallinn (TTK), Estland (DaF, Automation) und die Technische Universität Ostrava (VŠB), Tschechische Republik (DaF).

Projektgruppe Projektgruppe | Foto: Andreas Berner

ADOK – hier finden Sie den Kurs

Gemeinsam entwickelten die Partner ein Curriculum und Materialien für einen fächerübergreifenden Online-Kurs, der die Bereiche Automatisierung, konkret Speicherprogrammierbare Steuerungen (SPS), und Deutsch als Fremdsprache verbindet. Dieser Online-Kurs wurde für die Plattform Moodle entwickelt und steht allen Interessenten im Internet zur Verfügung. Auf der Projektwebseite gibt es einen Link zum ADOK-Kurs und die Zugangsdaten (Studentenrechte), so kann man sich mit dem Kurs, seinem Aufbau und seinen Inhalten vertraut machen.
ADOK-Kurs

Beschreibung des Kurses 

Verknüpfung der beiden Fächer
Das Bindeglied der beiden Fächer findet sich in den Lernzielen. Sowohl im Fach Automatisierung als auch im Fach Deutsch sollen die Studierenden die Fähigkeit erwerben, Aufgabenstellungen in Automatisierungsprojekten auf Deutsch zu bearbeiten und Probleme in internationaler Projektarbeit zu lösen. Die Lernziele sind im Detail auf der Projektinternetseite zu finden.
Definition der Lernziele

Die Verknüpfung wird in der Praxis durch die Simulierung einer Projektabwicklung realisiert. Die Studierenden werden in internationale Teams – je nach Situation an der Hochschule in echte oder simulierte – eingeteilt, wobei jedes Team sowohl als Besteller/Auftraggeber als auch als Lieferant/Auftragnehmer fungiert. Jedes Team erhält die Aufgabe, eine Fußgängerampel für eine vielbefahrene Straße zu bestellen. Die Aufgabenstellung, die in zwei Versionen inklusive Lösung vorliegt, umfasst neben der Beschreibung auch eine Skizze und die Auflistung der funktionellen Ampelbedingungen.
 
  • Aufgabe für Team 1 © Peter Hau
    Aufgabe für Team 1
  • Aufgabe für Team 2 © Peter Hau
    Aufgabe für Team 2
Auf Grundlage dieser Aufgabe erstellt jedes Team ein Lastenheft (technische Spezifikation) und die Bestellung, die es an das Partnerteam sendet. Das Partnerteam (= Lieferanten) verarbeitet die Angaben aus dem Lastenheft zu einer grafischen Darstellung der Ampelphasen und programmiert die Ampelsteuerung mit Hilfe der Software STEP 7 für die speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung SIMATIC. Während der Projektarbeit kommunizieren die Teams miteinander, um zum Beispiel Termine zu vereinbaren oder technische Probleme zu lösen. Den Abschluss des Kurses bildet die Projektübergabe, die eine Präsentation der Fußgängerampel beinhaltet. Die Studierenden erlernen die Programmierung in ihrer Muttersprache oder auf Englisch. Unterstützendes authentisches Material gibt es aber auch auf Deutsch. Zudem kann im Labor für die Programmiersoftware STEP 7 auch Deutsch gewählt werden. Deutsch müssen die Studierenden aber auf jeden Fall für die Projektkommunikation verwenden.

Kursumfang und Kursinhalt 

Der Kursumfang beträgt insgesamt zehn Studienpunkte (= 250 Stunden Studentenarbeit), davon entfallen fünf Studienpunkte auf SPS, drei Studienpunkte auf Deutsch, ein Studienpunkt auf Firmenbesuche und ein Studienpunkt auf Interkulturelles. Im Idealfall läuft der Kurs über zwei Semester. Bei Bedarf oder wenn das Curriculum es erlaubt, kann der Kurs als Intensivkurs in einem Semester geführt werden (bei 15 Semesterwochen = durchschnittliche wöchentliche Arbeitsleistung von 16,6 Stunden). Im Detail sieht das so aus: Für DaF 25 h Präsenz (Deutsch für Projektkommunikation und für STEP 7-Fachtexte), 50 h Online (Moodle: Arbeit im Team, Arbeitsdokumentation, Kommunikation zwischen Besteller und Lieferant), für Interkulturelles: 25 h (Präsenz und Online), für virtuelle und reale Betriebsbesichtigungen 25 h und für SPS 25 h Präsenz (Programmieren im Allgemeinen mit STEP 7), 50 h Online (Moodle: Arbeit im Team, Arbeitsdokumentation, Kommunikation zwischen Besteller und Lieferant), 50 h Laborarbeit (Programmieren am Computer mit STEP 7, Testen des Programmes am Steuerungsgerät, Simulation an der Ampelanlage).

Auf  der Lernplattform Moodle gibt es zehn Module:

Modul 1: Teammitglieder und SPS kennenlernen
Modul 2: Aufgabenübergabe
Modul 3: Planung von Automatisierungssystemen
Modul 4: Anwendung der SPS
Modul 5: Einführung in die Programmierung mit STEP 7 + Visualisierung von Software
Modul 6: Projektstart - Programmierung der Ampelanlage – Externe Kommunikation
Modul 7: Firmenbesuch
Modul 8: Projektübergabe
Modul 9: Interkulturelles
Modul 10: Lesestrategie „Sieben Steps zu STEP 7“

Parallel zu den Modulen 3–8 arbeiten die Studierenden im Labor an Programmieraufgaben. Die Online-Phasen und Präsenzphasen werden inhaltlich aufeinander abgestimmt. Die tatsächliche Taktung entscheidet jede Hochschule entsprechend ihrem Curriculum selbst. Grundlage für die Arbeit an und mit der SPS ist die SIMATIC-Fibel von Siemens mit dem Beispiel Ampelsteuerung, die von den Automatisierungslehrern adaptiert und den Deutschlehrern didaktisiert wurde. Am Ende eines jeden Moduls wird der Lernfortschritt mit Hilfe kleiner Tests überprüft. Außerdem werden die deutschsprachigen Projektdokumente bewertet. Als Abschlusstest gilt das störungsfreie Funktionieren der Ampelsteuerung.

Schwerpunkte des Deutschunterrichts 

Die Projektkommunikation umfasst Vorstellung, Smalltalk, Produktpräsentation, Terminabsprache, Geschäftskommunikation u. A. Es gibt Aufgaben für die schriftliche und die mündliche Kommunikation. Die schriftliche Geschäftskommunikation können die Studierenden mit Hilfe von Modellen, die als Moodletest gestaltet sind, bewältigen.

Aufgabenbeispiel, Screenshot Aufgabenbeispiel, Screenshot | © ADOK-Projektteam Für das simulierte Projekt Ampelanlage benötigen die Studierenden einen speziellen technischen Wortschatz, den sie durch verschiedene Aufgaben (zum Beispiel Flashcards, Lückentexte, Zuordnungsübungen), Teste  und Texte erwerben und festigen. Die Automatisierungslehrkräfte erstellten eine spezielle Wortliste in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Estnisch, Finnisch und Tschechisch.

Wege zur Erschließung authentischer Texte

Damit die Studierenden mit authentischen deutschsprachigen Texten arbeiten können, entwickelten die Deutschlehrer/-innen für sie die Lesestrategie „7 Steps zu STEP 7“, die auf der Methode der Sieben Siebe von EuroCom beruht [4]. Mit Hilfe der Lesestrategie lernen die Studierenden, technische Texte schrittweise zu erschließen. Folgende Schritte sollten sie einhalten:
  1. Sehen Sie sich die Bilder, Grafiken, Zahlen und Namen an.
  2. Suchen Sie Internationalismen.
  3. Benutzen Sie die spezielle Wortliste für technische Texte.
  4. Markieren Sie das Verb im Satz.
  5. Es gibt Verben, die aus zwei Teilen bestehen. Suchen Sie diese Verben.
  6. Suchen Sie Strukturen, die typisch für technische Texte sind.
  7. Finden Sie die übrigen unbekannten Wörter im Wörterbuch.
Jeder Schritt wird an einem Beispiel veranschaulicht und in mindestens einer Aufgabe geübt.

In jedem Modul wird außerdem eine typische Struktur für technische Texte an einem Beispiel gezeigt und in kleinen Aufgaben geübt, dabei steht das Identifizieren und Umformen im Vordergrund. Die Studierenden müssen die Strukturen noch nicht selbst bilden. Folgende Strukturen werden vermittelt:
  • einfaches Passiv,
  • substantivierte Verben,
  • Verben mit Präpositionen,
  • Passiv mit Modalverben,
  • Relativsätze,
  • Partizipien als Adjektive,
  • sich lassen + Infinitiv,
  • sein + Infinitiv.

Test- und Pilotierungsphase 

Im Herbst 2010 wurden zwei Module sowie die Schritte 1 und 2 der Lesestrategie an den vier im Projekt beteiligten Hochschulen getestet. Die Auswertung zeigte, dass die Studierenden die Aufgaben gut bewältigen konnten, auch wenn die Texte manchmal über ihrem Sprachniveau lagen. Der Einsatz der geplanten Lesestrategie wurde positiv angenommen. Den Studierenden wurde bewusst, dass sie mit Hilfe der Lesestrategie auch schwierigere Fachtexte inhaltlich erschließen können. Die Aufgaben entsprachen insgesamt weitgehend dem angestrebten Sprachniveau A2 und die Arbeitsanweisungen waren verständlich genug [4].

Ausgewählte Übungen und Aufgaben wurden im Februar 2011 und 2012 mit belgischen Ingenieurstudenten der Katholischen Hochschule Geel getestet. Im Rahmen der internationalen Woche führten Prof. Olavi Kopponen und Claudia Daems jeweils einen Workshop durch, bei dem die Verknüpfung von Automatisierung und Deutsch erfolgreich in der Präsenzphase realisiert wurde. Einen Testdurchlauf mit einem etwas verkürzten Kursinhalt (3 Studienpunkte SPS und 3 Studienpunkte DaF) organisierte die FH Tampere (TAMK) im Herbst 2011. Zu diesem Kurs wurden auch Studenten ohne Deutschkenntnisse zugelassen, was sich als problematisch erwies. Zwar konnte die Projektabwicklung simuliert werden, aber der Lernfortschritt blieb gering.
 
Von Januar bis Juni 2012 wurde der ADOK-Kurs an den vier Hochschulen pilotiert. TAMK und TTK realisierten den Kurs als bilateralen Fachkurs. Es wurden zwei internationale Teams gebildet. Via Skype und Diskussionsforen in Moodle wurde die Projektkommunikation organisiert. Während des Pilotkurses wurde auch ein internationaler Austausch mit gemeinsamem Unterricht in Tallinn (vier Tage) und Tampere (zwei Wochen) organisiert. In den Laboren von TAMK lösten die beiden Teams ihre Programmieraufgaben und bereiteten mit den Deutschlehrerinnen Claudia Daems (TAMK) und Britt Petjärv (TTK) die Präsentation ihrer Ampelsteuerung auf Deutsch vor. 

Studenten in Team 1 Studenten in Team 1 | Foto: Andreas Berner An der Technischen Universität Ostrava (Tschechien) wurde der Kurs als Fachsprachenkurs getestet. Hier standen die Wortschatzarbeit, die typischen Strukturen von Fachtexten und die Erprobung der Lesestrategie im Vordergrund.

An der Hochschule Reutlingen wurde der Kurs mit Austauschstudierenden aus China und Brasilien, die nur A1-Deutschkenntnisse besaßen, pilotiert. Damit sie im Kurs arbeiten konnten, passte die Deutschlehrerin Gesine Gruhler viele Materialien dem Niveau an und gab Arbeitsanweisungen auf Englisch. Einen Teil der Kontaktstunden unterrichteten sie und der SPS-Lehrer Prof. Karl Armbruster gemeinsam. So konnten die hochmotivierten Studierenden den Kurs erfolgreich absolvieren. [5] Während der Pilotphase entstanden viele weitere Übungsmaterialien für die Präsenzphase, die sich im „Pool für Lehrer: Aufgaben für Präsenzunterricht“ des ADOK-Moodlekurses befinden.

Die positiven Ergebnisse der Pilotierungsphase ermutigten den Partner TTK aus Tallinn, am Wettbewerb „Das Europäische Siegel für innovative Projekte im Bereich Sprachenlehren und –lernen“ teilzunehmen. Mit diesem Siegel würdigt die Europäische Kommission neue Techniken der Sprachvermittlung und innovative Projekte. Das ADOK-Projekt gewann als eines der innovativsten Sprachlehrprojekte das Europäische Siegel. Am 14.9.2012 wurde das Siegel im estnischen Bildungs- und Wissenschaftsministerium in Tartu feierlich überreicht. 

Deutschlehrerin bei TTK Britt Petjärv, Deutschlehrerin bei TTK, und Claudia Daems, Deutschlehrerin bei TAMK, mit dem Sprachensiegel | Foto: Roger Daems

Abschlussbemerkung

Das Projektteam hofft, dass der ADOK-Kurs ein inspirierendes Beispiel für fachübergreifendes Lernen ist und in vielen Hochschuleinrichtungen eingesetzt wird. Um die Arbeit mit dem Kurs und den vielfältigen Materialien zu erleichtern, wurde eine Lehrerhandreichung erstellt, die unten zu finden ist. Für jedes Modul sind die Übungen, Aufgaben und Materialien detailliert beschrieben: Titel, Beschreibung/Typ der Aufgabe, Methode/Rollenverteilung, Zeitaufwand, Zusatzmaterial und Empfehlungen.
Lehrerhandreichungen

Der ADOK-Kurs kann aber auch als Anregung dienen, einen ähnlichen Kurs mit einer anderen Fächerkombination zu gestalten. Auf vielen Konferenzen, aber auch anderen Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen gab es anregende Diskussionen zu diesem Thema.

 

Literatur


 

Autorin

Claudia Daems Foto: Studio Kuvattavaksi Oy Claudia Daems ist Deutsche und lebt und arbeitet seit 1988 in Finnland. Nach dem Germanistik- und Geschichtsstudium an der Universität Leipzig arbeitete sie als Deutsch- und Geschichtslehrerin an Schulen in Leipzig und Berlin. Nach ihrer Übersiedlung nach Finnland war sie für Privatschulen, zahlreiche finnische Firmen, die Universität Tampere und das Goethe-Institut Tampere als Deutschlehrerin tätig. Von 1992 bis 2013 war sie DaF-Dozentin an der FH Tampere (TAMK) mit dem Unterrichtsschwerpunkt in Ingenieurwissenschaften. Sie koordinierte das LLP-Projekt ADOK – Automatisierung und Deutsch im Online-Kurs und das Lingua2-Projekt SPIK: Sprachhandeln in Konfliktsituationen und arbeitete bei zahlreichen EU- und hochschulinternen Projekten mit: DEMA: Deutsch mal anders, PROTOCALL, Just in time, Languages for e-commerce, Virtuelles Wiburg. Desweiteren ist sie Autorin des Lehrwerks Deutsch im Display, einem Lehrbuch für Deutsch als Fremdsprache, das Ingenieurstudenten und Ingenieure als Zielgruppe hat. Ihre Interessen liegen in der  Verbindung von Fachwissenserwerb und Sprachenlernen sowie in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit bei der Erstellung von Lehr- und Lernmaterial.