Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Wegweiser mit Globus und zwei EU-Koffer© Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

The Concept

Once you’ve formed your team, you can start thinking about an innovative itinerary. The concept consists of two parts. The first part provides a detailed description of your environmentally friendly circular tour to the mentioned stops. The second part describes a communications strategy with which you aim to make as many people as possible aware of your journey and to sustainable mobility. The entire concept must be written in German and submitted digitally. 

Jugendwettbewerb #oekoropa



Europe-wide youth competition on sustainable travel

Part 1: The Tour Route

Plan a climate-neutral tour from your hometown to the trio capitals of the EU Council Presidency (Berlin, Lisbon, and Ljubljana).

  • Whether by train, on horseback, by bike, or virtual – there are no limits to your ideas! All sustainable means of transport are allowed.
     
  • Develop ideas about what sort of accommodations are suitable for an environmentally friendly journey and to what extent you can take local conditions into account.
     
  • Make sure that your travel concept is detailed, feasible, and economical.

Part 2: Gain an Audience

Once you’ve planned your climate-neutral circular tour, the second quest consists of planning the communication measures you’ll use to reach as large an audience as possible and convince them of the advantages of your journey:

How do you get people excited about ‘sustainable travel’? What activities can you use to generate attention in Berlin, Lisbon, and Ljubljana? What channels will you use to document your travel experiences?

  • Draw up digital and analog means you can use to share your journey with a broad, absolutely also local audience. Examples for this include a travel blog, a social media campaign, a film, and/or a high-profile event that you conduct at the travel locations. Please coordinate with your local Goethe-Instituts regarding your events in Berlin, Lisbon, and Ljubljana.
     
  • Increase your radius by using the hashtag #oekoropa.
     
  • The quality and scope of your interaction with the public on site and in social media channels will be assessed. The jury will also assess the teams’ persuasiveness on issues related to climate-neutral mobility and a European sense of belonging.


#oekoropa

#oekoropa: General conditions of participation ©Tobias Schrank

General conditions of participation

Each team consists of 3 to 4 pupils aged between 16 and 19 years.

 

#oekoropa: Anmeldeformular © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schenk

Registration form

The concepts, written in German, must be submitted with a registration form and signed Conditions of Participation. The deadline is 15 November 2020.

Lolli © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Prizes

In addition to unforgettable experiences, attractive prizes await you when you take part in the #oekoropa youth competition.

#oekoropa: Jury © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Jury

A jury of experts will decide the winners of the Sustainability Prize in November 2020.

Kristina Cunningham

Kristina Cunningham Kristina Cunningham She works as a senior expert on multilingualism in the Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture at the European Commission in Brussels. Her main focus is the implementation of the EU Council Recommendation on a comprehensive approach to language teaching and learning.

Education, multilingualism and youth work are areas that can be supported by EU programmes. In the school sector, the European Commission promotes "communities" for teachers through the School Education Gateway and eTwinning. Climate protection and environmental issues, as well as "Distance / Blended Learning" are currently very important topics in these areas.

What is your motivation to join #oekoropa?

It is a great pleasure for me to be a member of the jury for the #oekoropa competition. For several years now, young people all over Europe have been thinking about climate and environmental issues. The movement, which has gained a lot of strength thanks to Greta Thunberg, has taken on a whole new meaning since March 2020. Today, there is no longer a person in the economically strong regions of the world who does not think about how private and business trips can be planned and carried out more sustainably.

At the end of 2019, the European Commission had already taken the decision to make climate change and environmental challenges the eTwinning theme of the year 2020. This has led to an impressive number of interesting projects in school classes, which have enabled intensive cross-border cooperation for children and young people during the period of school closures. I am very curious to see what interesting ideas will be developed and elaborated through this Goethe-Institut initiative.

 I wish all participants* a lot of fun and good luck!

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Wegweiser mit Globus und zwei EU-Koffer© Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Konzept

Sobald Ihr Euer Team geformt habt, könnt Ihr mit Euren Überlegungen zu einer innovativen Reiseroute starten. Dabei besteht das Konzept aus zwei Teilen. Der erste Teil liefert eine detaillierte Darstellung Eurer umweltschonenden Rundreise zu den genannten Stationen. Der zweite Teil beschreibt eine Kommunikationsstrategie, mit der Ihr möglichst viele Menschen auf Eure Reise sowie Themen rund um nachhaltige Mobilität aufmerksam machen wollt. Das gesamte Konzept muss auf Deutsch verfasst sein und digital eingereicht werden.

Jugendwettbewerb #oekoropa



Europaweiter Jugendwettbewerb zu nachhaltigem Reisen

1. Aufgabenteil: Die Reiseroute

Wie stellt Ihr Euch eine klimaneutrale Rundreise von Eurem Heimatort in die Triohauptstädte der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft (Berlin, Lissabon und Ljubljana) vor?

  • Ob mit der Bahn, auf Pferden, per Fahrrad oder virtuell – Euren Einfällen sind keine Grenzen gesetzt! Sämtliche nachhaltigen Fortbewegungsmittel sind erlaubt.
     
  • Entwickelt Ideen, welche Unterkünfte sich für eine umweltfreundliche Reise eignen und inwiefern Ihr lokale Gegebenheiten berücksichtigen könnt. 
     
  • Achtet darauf, dass Euer Reisekonzept detailliert, realisierbar und kostenschonend ist.

2. Aufgabenteil: Publikum gewinnen

Nachdem Eure klimaneutrale Rundreise konzipiert ist, plant Ihr im zweiten Teil Eure Kommunikationsmaßnahmen, durch die Ihr unterwegs eine möglichst große Öffentlichkeit erreichen und von Eurer Reise überzeugen wollt:

Wie begeistert Ihr Menschen für das Thema „Nachhaltiges Reisen“? Mit welchen Aktivitäten erzeugt Ihr in Berlin, Lissabon und Ljubljana Aufmerksamkeit? Über welche Kanäle dokumentiert Ihr Eure Reiseerlebnisse?

  • Erarbeitet digitale sowie analoge Mittel und Wege, mit denen Ihr ein breites, unbedingt auch lokales Publikum an Eurer Reise teilhaben lassen könnt. Das kann zum Beispiel ein Reiseblog sein, eine Social-Media-Kampagne, ein Film und/oder eine öffentlichkeitswirksame Veranstaltung, die Ihr an den Reiseorten durchführt. Bezüglich Eurer Veranstaltungen in Berlin, Lissabon und Ljubljana stimmt Euch mit den lokalen Goethe-Instituten ab.
      
  • Vergrößert Euren Radius, indem Ihr den Hashtag #oekoropa verwendet.
     
  • Bewertet werden die Qualität und Reichweite Eurer Interaktion mit der Öffentlichkeit vor Ort und in Social-Media-Kanälen. Die Jury beurteilt außerdem die Überzeugungskraft der Teams für Themen rund um klimaneutrale Mobilität und ein europäisches Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl.


#oekoropa

#oekoropa: Teilnahmebedingungen ©Tobias Schrank

Teilnahmebedingungen

Jedes Team besteht aus jeweils drei bis vier Schüler*innen im Alter von 16 bis 19 Jahren.

#oekoropa: Anmeldeformular © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schenk

Anmeldeformular

Die deutschsprachigen Konzepte sind mit Anmeldeformular und Teilnahme-
bedingungen einzureichen. Einsendeschluss: 15. November 2020.

Lolli © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Preise

Bei der Teilnahme am #oekoropa-Jugendwettbewerb warten neben unvergesslichen Erlebnissen auch attraktive Preise auf Euch.

#oekoropa: Zeitplan © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Zeitplan

 #oekoropa läuft über einen Zeitraum von 12 Monaten. 

#oekoropa: Jury © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Jury

Eine Fachjury entscheidet im November 2020 über die Gewinner*innen des Nachhaltigkeitspreises.

Kristina Cunningham

Kristina Cunningham Kristina Cunningham Frau Cunningham arbeitet als leitende Sachverständige im Bereich Mehrsprachigkeit in der Generaldirektion Bildung, Jugend, Sport und Kultur bei der Europäischen Kommission in Brüssel. Ihr Schwerpunktthema ist die Durchführung der EU-Ratsempfehlung zu einem umfassenden Ansatz für das Lehren und Lernen von Fremdsprachen.

Bildung, Mehrsprachigkeit und Jugendarbeit sind Bereiche, die durch EU-Programme gefördert werden können. Im Schulbereich fördert die Europäische Kommission "Communities" für Lehrkräfte durch das School Education Gateway und eTwinning. Sowohl Klimaschutz und Umweltfragen, als auch "Distance / Blended Learning" sind dort zurzeit sehr wichtige Themen.

Was ist Ihre Motivation bei #oekoropa mitzumachen?

Es ist mir eine große Freude, als Jury-Mitglied für den Wettbewerb #oekoropa mitmachen zu dürfen. Seit mehreren Jahren machen sich Jugendliche in ganz Europa Gedanken über Klima und Umweltfragen. Die Bewegung, die durch Greta Thunberg sehr stark an Kraft gewonnen hat, hat seit März 2020 eine ganz neue Bedeutung. Heute gibt es keinen Menschen mehr in den wirtschaftlich starken Regionen der Erde, die sich nicht darüber Gedanken machen, wie private als auch dienstliche Reisen nachhaltiger geplant und durchgeführt werden können.

Die Europäische Kommission hatte schon Ende 2019 die Entscheidung getroffen, Klimawandel und ökologische Herausforderungen zum eTwinning Jahresthema 2020 zu ernennen. Dies hat zu einer beeindruckenden Anzahl von interessanten Projekten in Schulklassen geführt, die in der Periode von Schulschließungen Kindern und Jugendlichen intensive grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit ermöglicht haben. Ich bin sehr gespannt, welche interessanten Ideen durch diese Initiative des Goethe-Instituts entwickelt und erarbeitet werden.

Ich wünsche allen Teilnehmer*innen viel Spaß daran und viel Glück dabei!

Top