Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Keynotes

Filmstill Torben Schmidt © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Keynote Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Fokusrunde Keynote © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Podium discussion with Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Keynote Cathleen Berger © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Keynote Cathleen Berger

Participants from a variety of academic backgrounds discussed a wide range of themes of the first day: Digital Literacy, Artificial Intelligence, Learning Analytics, Global Workspaces, Immersive Learning, Translation Technology, Open Sources and Digital Task and Exercise Formats.


Digital Literacy

Forum Digital Literacy © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Digital Literacy

Podium Discussion Digital Literacy

Forum 1
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: English/German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Dr. Doug Belshaw, Dynamic Skillset, Open Educational Thinkerer, Great Britain
Focus group: Torsten Larbig, Frank­fur­ter Gym­na­si­um Schillerschule, Technische Universität Darmstadt

“The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.”
– William Gibson

Reading and writing as cultural techniques have always been essential for playing a communicative role in social life. However the rapid progress of digitisation and technical developments are increasingly changing the way in which we communicate too.
 
But it’s by no means just about operating technical devices any more. Sociocultural skills relating to the way in which digital resources and virtual platforms – such as blogs, social media platforms etc. – function, behave and work have become indispensable.
 
If you take the “side effects” and feedback effects of new forms of communication into account, the new digital developments also offer opportunities and potential for the development and use of language learning resources. 
 


Artificial Intelligence

Forum Künstliche Intelligenz © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Artificial Intelligence

Forum 2
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Rotunda
Language: English/German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Prof. Donald Clark, Plan B Learning
Focus group: Dr. Tarek R. Besold, Data Science City, University of London

“The key is to have conversations again!”
– Amir Shevat, Director of Developer Relations at Slack

Indira hasn’t been learning German for very long. Indira’s “teacher” is in a position to reclassify his student’s language level continuously, on the basis of the vocabulary she uses, the sentence structure – but also because of the mistakes she makes. The information acquired from ongoing data analysis about Indira’s learning process enables her “teacher” to tailor the learning content optimally to Indira’s needs, her current language level and her individual progress at any time. At the same time, the “teacher” stimulates Indira’s learning process constantly with a set of exercises individually customised for her. When the “teacher” communicates with Indira, his vocabulary is automatically limited to words she currently knows.
 
Indira’s “teacher” is a learning assistant powered by artificial intelligence.
 
Utopia or a plausible scenario? Networking and constant discussion between experts specialising in the fields of “language” and “artificial intelligence” form a basis upon which the potential of speech recognition and evaluation can be applied in foreign language teaching. Yesterday’s utopia is tomorrow’s reality.
 


Learning Analytics

Learning Analytics © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Learning Analytics

Forum 3
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart, Department of Computer Science, Humboldt-Universität Berlin
Focus group: Harald Melcher, Managing Partner m2more GmbH Berlin
Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt, Professor of English Didactics, Leuphana University of Lüneburg

“Store all data you can get, there will be a time when you can use it”
– Toby Bradshaw, Microsoft

Information-gathering left the ivory tower of academic research behind a long time ago, and has now taken up residence in the head offices of major media groups. Collecting and evaluating data is now an element of modern society that we take for granted.
 
This also applies to education. In this environment data is increasingly being harvested from students.
This data can yield valuable information if analysed and evaluated using a targeted approach, for instance about the learning behaviour and progress of classes or individual students. It is only possible to adapt learning content to the specific needs and abilities of individuals successfully if robust data like this is used as a basis. 
 
However there is justified concern about the undoubted opportunities and benefits of personalised teaching and learning. The scope of potential dangers arising through the misuse of sensitive personal data collections of this nature can only be guessed at for now. Questions about data privacy and ethics, as well as responsible handling of “BIG DATA”, represent a challenge.


Global working places

Globale Arbeitswelten © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Global Working Places

Podium Discussion Global Working Places

Forum 4
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Rotunda
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Prof. Dr. habil. Olaf Zawacki-Richter, Institut für Pädagogik, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Focus group: Prof. Dr. habil. Svetlana Titova, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Area Studies, Lomonossow University Moscow

“Work has turned out to be the central interface of the digital change.”
– Andrea Nahles

Increasing digitisation also poses new challenges for the global economy. Demographic development and growing demands resulting from migration and immigration influx are an additional factor. This has far-reaching consequences for the tightly meshed relations between the areas of language, education and employment.
 
As the way we work changes, our approach to learning and its content must change too. Here, the focus needs to be on the necessary reorientation of learning, moving towards a learning style that is communication-oriented and collective, and uses digital media.
 
What value does knowledge of a foreign language still have in a media-dominated environment? What opportunities and challenges does digitisation have up its sleeve for the workplace in years to come?


Immersive Learning

Forum 5
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: English/German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Prof. Mel Slater, Department of Clinical Psychology and Psychobiology, University of Barcelona
Focus group: Sarah Rogerson, Cambridge English Language Assessment

“If you tell me, I will listen. If you show me, I will see. But if you let me experience, I will learn.”
– attributed to Lao-Tse

Becoming engaged with a different world using all your senses. Immersion is a core element of foreign language tuition and the more senses it addresses, the more intensive and lasting the experience becomes for learners.

The technology potential of Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality nowadays opens up completely new ways of learning in any location and in communicative situations. For instance, this technology makes direct “experience” of everyday situations possible in a virtual capacity. This doesn’t just apply to cultural studies: realistic use of language can be practised, evaluated and corrected in immersive scenarios.

Roleplay – a well-established approach to foreign language teaching – is also taking on a completely new character as a result of the new technological opportunities. However, developments have only just started on this front.


Translating Technology

Übersetzungstechnologie © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Translating Technology

Forum 6 
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Rotunda
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Presentation: Prof. Dr. Josef van Genabith, DFKI: German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence, Saarland University, Saarbrücken

“Let machines do what they can best.”
– Christoph Auer-Welsbach, IBM Watson

Being able to communicate with each other despite speaking different languages has undoubtedly been a theme since the Tower of Babel was built – and it’s become current again because of the ongoing processes of globalisation, migration and digitisation.
 
The latest developments in the research field of translation technology already offer a clue of the perfection that will come from automated translation tools in the future. The range of digital translation utilities on offer is becoming increasingly diverse, user-friendly and better-quality.
 
What do these developments mean for language learning? What obstacles must be overcome, and what are the limitations of digital translation tools? The discussion as to the contexts in which foreign language learning will remain essential even in the future has become more important still in the light of such developments. The key question here is whether being multilingual will continue to be a worthy aspiration, or whether it will lose impact as an educational ideal.


Open Education

Open Education © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Open Source

Forum 7
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Christine Kolbe, discussion creator at klugekonzepte and educational methods coordinator at mediale pfade

Open Education as #moderneducation:
Paradigm shift for accessible education and learning processes

A new pattern of order and behaviour concerning knowledge and information handling has started to prevail over the past two decades in the wake of digitisation: what began with the disclosure of source code has now also spread to other areas in the form of open-source practice. This culture of sharing, of reusability, is expressed in education in concrete terms in the Open Educational Resources – OER for short. In this context a paradigm shift is being manifested, an approach that rethinks copyright and rights of use in the digitised world. It’s about exchanging concepts, materials and methods for any learning and teaching environments – in order to make learning itself more open and flexible, and to exploit the full potential of the digital world. In projects that market themselves as “open”, the idea is to make the user into a co-designer. They should continue to develop the goods or works that come into their ownership, making their own contributions available to others or adopting and developing ideas. In view of the challenges posed by the 21st century, the opportunities arising from greater openness and diversity of access – especially where educational resources are concerned – should be used intelligently. That’s #moderneducation.


Digital Exercises

Forum Digitale Aufgaben- & Übungsformate © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Digital Exercises

Forum 8
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Rotunda
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018
Lecture: Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk, Department of German as a Foreign Language and Intercultural Studies, Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Focus group: Andrea Pfeil, Goethe-Institut New York
Prof. Bernd Rüschoff, University of Duisburg-Essen
Caterina Magro, Babbel Berlin
Dr. Phil Anika Bethan, EF international language school Berlin

Of the factors that determine the paths, forms and outcomes of foreign language learning, the quality of interaction in the learning process is of critical importance. Digital exercise formats in teaching materials and in apps mostly have a very limited interactive capacity, which rarely goes beyond the stimulus/response model. The panel discussion will address methodological positions, models and formats with the potential of digital interactivity as a starting point, which initiate and support interactive processes in foreign languages.


Conclusion round

Fazitrunde © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Conclusion round

Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018

with Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych, Faculty of Philology at the University of Leipzig
and Prof. Dr. Jannis Androutsopoulos, Linguistics of the German Language and Media Linguistics at the University of Hamburg

More Highlights

An ongoing programme of supporting events
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, ROTUNDA / Foyer

Thursday 22.3.2018

Marketplace for contacts and networking, presentations, windows of practice. 

Cambridge: 360 degree applications for exam preparation
GFL publishers: book table presentation of educational media for the future
Microsoft: Skype Translator, Chatbots, AI supported translation
Goethe-Institut: digital German exams

Workspace 1 - Reports from abroad
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, HALL
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018

Discussion group with German learners from the Goethe-Institut in India, Russia, Turkey and the USA

German learners from Goethe-Institut locations in India, Russia, Turkey and the USA have come together in workshops to think about how they would like to improve and simplify their learning of foreign languages in the future.

  • What wishes and requirements do you have of modern foreign language teaching?
  • Which media will be used for learning in the future?

Participants in this workshop will formulate their ideas and desires in front of the group and present the results of various creative workshops. We invite you to find out more about the perspective of German learners around the world, exchange experiences and discuss new concepts and approaches for language learning in the future with each other.

Workspace 2 - Round Table
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Lounge
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018

“How will we learn in 2030?”

What digital skills will learners and teachers need in 2030? What technologies will be used in language lessons? Representatives from publishing houses Cornelsen, Hueber and Klett, as well as the education trade fair didacta, present their visions of educational media in the year 2030 in the context of a discussion group.

Workspace 3
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018 (open-ended)
4:30 pm: Meet up Hackathon and last registration

Virtual reality, artificial intelligence, voice-activated assistants and chatbots: current technology developments offer broad scope for new technical solutions to improve foreign language learning sustainably. 

At the Hackathon, interdisciplinary teams develop innovative project ideas. The Hackathon is aimed at key people in the design and development environment, as well as language teachers and learners, education specialists and everyone with an interest in learning in the context of the challenges and opportunities offered through digitisation.

The projects will be presented straight after the Open Space events on Friday afternoon. The best project ideas will be awarded funding.

Registration, team building and a briefing are timetabled for Wednesday before the conference opening. Registration and participation in the Hackathon includes involvement in the opening event and the reception on Wednesday evening.

The Hackathon will also include participants from a Pre-Hackathon, which was held in Istanbul before the start of this conference.
 

Workspace 4
Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Rotunda
Language: German

Thursday 22.3.2018

Discussion group: Christopher Koska, zem::dg Zentrum für Ethik der Medien und der digitalen Gesellschaft, Hochschule für Philiosophie München, Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt

Philosophical late-night discussion on the Tower of Babel, innovation and the future of languages.      

Location: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Hall
Language: German

Friday 23.3.2018

Presented by: Florian Grolman, initio Organisationsberatung

On the first two days of the conference, experts from different subject fields highlight key trends and development perspectives of the next few years. How can we utilise the potential of digitisation, and in doing so make foreign language learning more attractive and easier for learners in the future? Interdisciplinary workshops are being held in the Open Spaces to develop ideas for actual projects, which are then presented to a jury of experts. The best project ideas will be awarded funding. Participation in the Open Space events is free of charge and open to anyone who is interested.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Keynotes

Filmstill Torben Schmidt © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Keynote Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Fokusrunde Keynote © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Fokusrunde Keynote Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Keynote Cathleen Berger © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Keynote Cathleen Berger

Die Teilnehmenden aus unterschiedlichen Wissensbereichen diskutierten am ersten Tag zu den Themen Digital Literacy, Künstliche Intelligenz, Learning Analytics, Globale Arbeitswelten, Immersives Lernen, Übersetzungstechnologie, Open Source und Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate.


Digital Literacy

Forum Digital Literacy © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Digital Literacy

Fokusrunde Digital Literacy © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Fokusrunde Digital Literacy

Forum 1
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Englisch/Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Dr. Doug Belshaw, Dynamic Skillset, Open Educational Thinkerer, Great Britain
Fokusrunde: Torsten Larbig, Frank­fur­ter Gym­na­si­um Schillerschule, Technische Universität Darmstadt

„The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.“
– William Gibson

Lesen und Schreiben sind als Kulturtechniken seit jeher Grundvoraussetzungen, um am gesellschaftlichen Leben kommunikativ teilzunehmen. Die rasant fortschreitende Digitalisierung und technische Entwicklungen verändern jedoch zunehmend auch die Art und Weise, wie wir kommunizieren.
 
Dabei geht es längst nicht mehr nur um die Bedienung von technischen Geräten.
Soziokulturelle Kompetenzen über Funktions-, Verhaltens- und Wirkweisen von digitalen Angeboten und virtuellen Plattformen wie z.B. Blogs, Social-Media-Plattformen etc. sind unentbehrlich geworden.
 
Wenn man die „Nebenwirkungen“ und Rückkopplungseffekte neuer Kommunikationsformen berücksichtigt, bieten die neuen digitalen Entwicklungen auch Chancen und Potenziale für die Entwicklung und Nutzung von Sprachlernangeboten. 
 


Künstliche Intelligenz

Forum Künstliche Intelligenz © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Künstliche Intelligenz

Forum 2
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel
Sprache: Englisch/Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Prof. Donald Clark, Plan B Learning
Fokusrunde: Dr. Tarek R. Besold, Data Science City, University of London

„The key is to have conversations again!“
– Amir Shevat, Director of Developer Relations at Slack

Indira lernt noch nicht lange Deutsch. Anhand des verwendeten Wortschatzes, des Satzbaus, aber auch aufgrund der gemachten Fehler ist Indiras „Lehrer“ in der Lage, das Sprachniveau seiner Schülerin kontinuierlich neu zu klassifizieren. Das durch stetige Datenanalyse gewonnene Wissen über Indiras Lernprozess ermöglicht es ihrem „Lehrer“, den Lernstoff zu jeder Zeit optimal an Indiras Bedürfnisse, ihren momentanen Sprachstand und ihren individuellen Fortschritt anzupassen. Gleichzeitig stimuliert der „Lehrer“ Indiras Lernprozess laufend mit einem Set individuell auf Indira zugeschnittener Aufgaben. Bei der Kommunikation mit Indira beschränkt sich der „Lehrer“, automatisch auf ihren aktuell verfügbaren Wortschatz.
 
Indiras „Lehrer“ ist ein von künstlicher Intelligenz gesteuerter Lernassistent.
 
Utopie oder denkbares Szenario? Die Vernetzung und der kontinuierliche Austausch von Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen „Sprache“ und „Künstliche Intelligenz“ sind die Grundlage dafür, das Potenzial im Bereich der Spracherkennung und -auswertung für den Fremdsprachenunterricht nutzbar zu machen. Die Utopie von gestern ist die Realität von Morgen.
 


Learning Analytics

Learning Analytics © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Learning Analytics

Forum 3
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart, Institut für Informatik, Humboldt-Universität Berlin
Fokusrunde: Harald Melcher, Managing Partner bei m2more GmbH Berlin
Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt, Professor für die Didaktik des Englischen, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg

„Store all data you can get, there will be a time when you can use it“
– Toby Bradshaw, Microsoft

Das Sammeln von Informationen hat den Elfenbeinturm der wissenschaftlichen Forschung längst verlassen und ist in die Zentralen großer Medienkonzerne eingezogen. Das Sammeln und Auswerten von Daten ist unterdessen selbstverständlicher Bestandteil unseres modernen gesellschaftlichen Lebens.
 
Dies gilt auch für den Bildungsbereich. Dort werden ebenfalls immer mehr Daten von Lernenden erhoben. Gezielt analysiert und ausgewertet bieten diese Daten wertvolle Informationen, z.B. über das Lernverhalten und den Lernfortschritt von Klassen oder einzelnen Lernenden. Erst solche soliden Datengrundlagen erlauben eine erfolgreiche individuelle Anpassung von Lerninhalten auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse und Fähigkeiten jedes Einzelnen hin. 

Den unbestrittenen Chancen und Vorteilen einer Personalisierung des Lehrens und Lernens stehen jedoch berechtigte Bedenken gegenüber. Der Umfang potenzieller Gefahren durch den Missbrauch derartiger Sammlungen sensibler personenbezogener Daten lässt sich derzeit erst erahnen. Fragen zu Datenschutz und Datenethik genauso wie der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit „BIG DATA“ stellen eine Herausforderung dar.


Globale Arbeitswelten

Globale Arbeitswelten © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Globale Arbeitswelten

Globale Arbeitswelten © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Fokusrunde Globale Arbeitswelten

Forum 4
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Prof. Dr. habil. Olaf Zawacki-Richter, Institut für Pädagogik, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Fokusrunde: Prof. Dr. habil. Svetlana Titova, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Area Studies, Lomonossow University Moscow

„Als zentrale Schnittstelle der digitalen Veränderung erweist sich die Arbeit.“
– Andrea Nahles

Die zunehmende Digitalisierung stellt auch das globale Wirtschaftssystem vor neue Herausforderungen. Demographische Entwicklung sowie wachsende Anforderungen aus Migration und Zuwanderung kommen hinzu. Im engmaschigen Beziehungsgeflecht zwischen den Handlungsfeldern Sprache, Bildung und Beschäftigung hat das weitreichende Folgen.
 
Mit der Veränderung der Art, wie wir arbeiten, muss sich auch die Art und Weise ändern, was und wie wir lernen. Die erforderliche Neuausrichtung des Lernens, hin zu handlungsorientiertem und kollektivem Lernen mit Hilfe digitaler Medien steht dabei im Mittelpunkt.
 
Welcher Wert kommt der Kenntnis einer Fremdsprache in einem medialisierten Umfeld noch zu? Welche Chancen und Herausforderungen hält die Digitalisierung für die Arbeitswelt in den nächsten Jahren bereit?


Immersives Lernen

Forum 5
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Englisch/Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Prof. Mel Slater, Department of Clinical Psychology and Psychobiology, University of Barcelona
Fokusrunde: Sarah Rogerson, Cambridge English Language Assessment

„If you tell me, I will listen. If you show me, I will see. But if you let me experience, I will learn.”
– Lao-Tse zugeschrieben

Mit allen Sinnen in eine andere Welt eintauchen. Immersion stellt ein zentrales Element im Fremdsprachenunterricht dar und je mehr Sinne angesprochen werden, desto intensiver und nachhaltiger wird das Erlebnis für Lernende.

Die technischen Möglichkeiten virtueller oder erweiterter Realität (Virtual Reality und Augmented Reality) bieten nun völlig neue Wege, Lernen ortsunabhängig und in kommunikativen Situationen zu ermöglichen. So eröffnet diese Technik nicht nur im Bereich der Landeskunde die Chance, virtuell Alltagssituationen unmittelbar zu „erleben“, sondern es kann zudem in immersiv erlebbaren Szenarien sprachliches Handeln wirklichkeitsnah geübt, evaluiert und korrigiert werden.

Auch das Rollenspiel als bewährtes Konzept des Fremdsprachenunterrichts gewinnt durch die neuen technischen Möglichkeiten eine völlig neue Qualität. Dabei stehen wir erst am Anfang dieser Entwicklungen.


Übersetzungstechnologie

Übersetzungstechnologie © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Übersetzungstechnologie

Forum 6 
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Impulsvortrag: Prof. Dr. Josef van Genabith, DFKI: Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz, Universität des Saarlandes, Saarbrücken

„Let machines do what they can best.”
– Christoph Auer-Welsbach, IBM Watson

Trotz unterschiedlicher Sprachen miteinander kommunizieren zu können, ist seit dem Turmbau zu Babel unbestritten ein Thema, das auch durch die fortlaufenden Prozesse der Globalisierung, der Migration und der Digitalisierung an Aktualität gewonnen hat.
 
Die neuesten Entwicklungen im Forschungsfeld Übersetzungstechnologie lassen bereits heute die künftige Perfektion von automatisierten Übersetzungshilfen erahnen. Die Angebotspalette digitaler Hilfsmittel zum Übersetzen wird immer diverser, nutzerfreundlicher und qualitativ besser.
 
Was bedeuten diese Entwicklungen für das Sprachenlernen? Wo liegen die Hürden, wo die Grenzen digitaler Übersetzungshilfen? Die Diskussion darüber, in welchen Kontexten das Fremdsprachenlernen auch künftig unverzichtbar bleiben wird, hat angesichts solcher Entwicklungen weiter an Bedeutung gewonnen. Die zentrale Frage ist hier, ob Mehrsprachigkeit weiterhin erstrebenswert bleiben wird oder ob diese als Bildungsideal an Bedeutung verliert.


Open Education

Open Education © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Open Source

Forum 7
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Christine Kolbe, Diskursgestalterin klugekonzepte und didaktische Koordinatorin bei mediale pfade

Open Education als #zeitgemäßeBildung:
Paradigmenwechsel für Bildungszugänge  und Lernprozesse

Seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten beginnt sich im Zuge der Digitalisierung ein neues Ordnungs- und Handlungsmuster im Umgang mit Wissen und Information auszubreiten: Was mit der Offenlegung von Quellcodes begann, setzt sich auch in anderen Bereichen als Open-Source-Praxis durch. Diese Kultur des Teilens, von Nachnutzbarkeit findet in der Bildung den konkreten Ausdruck in den Open Educational Resources kurz: OER. Darin manifestiert sich ein Paradigmenwechsel, ein Umdenken von Urheberschaft und Nutzungsrechten in der digitalisierten Welt. Es geht um den Austausch von Konzepten, Materialien und Methoden für jegliche Lern- und Lehrumgebungen, um das Lernen selbst offener und flexibler zu gestalten und die Möglichkeiten des Digitalen auszuschöpfen. Bei Projekten, die sich von ihrem Selbstverständnis her als open/offen bezeichnen, geht es darum, den Nutzer zum Mitgestalter zu machen. Er soll das erhaltene Gut oder Werk, weiterentwickeln, eigene Beiträge zur Verfügung stellen oder an Ideen weiterdenken. Angesichts der Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhundert sollten die Chancen die sich durch größere Offenheit und eine Vielfalt an Zugängen insbesondere von Bildungsressourcen ergeben, intelligent genutzt werden. Das ist #zeitgemäßeBildung.


Digitale Aufgaben- & Übungsformate

Forum Digitale Aufgaben- & Übungsformate © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Forum Digitale Aufgaben- & Übungsformate

Forum 8
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018
Vortrag: Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk, Institut für Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache und Interkulturelle Studien, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Fokusrunde: Andrea Pfeil, Goethe-Institut New York
Prof. Bernd Rüschoff, Universität Duisburg-Essen
Caterina Magro, Babbel Berlin
Dr. Phil Anika Bethan, EF Internationale Sprachschule Berlin

Von den Faktoren, die Wege, Formen und Ergebnisse des Lernens fremder Sprachen bestimmen, ist die Qualität der Interaktion im Lernprozess von entscheidender Bedeutung. Digitale Übungsformate in Lehrmaterialien und in Apps haben zumeist eine sehr eingeschränkte Interaktivität, die selten über das Stimulus/Response-Modell hinausgeht. Im Podiumsgespräch sollen fachdidaktische Positionen, Modelle und Formate erörtert werden, die ausgehend von den Potenzialen digitaler Interaktivität fremdsprachliche Interaktionsprozesse auslösen und unterstützen.


Fazitrunde

Fazitrunde © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Fazitrunde

Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018

mit Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych, Philologische Fakultät der Universität Leipzig
und Prof. Dr. Jannis Androutsopoulos, Linguistik des Deutschen und Medienlinguistik an der Universität Hamburg

Weitere Programmhighlights

Fortlaufendes Begleitprogramm
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel / Foyer

Donnerstag 22.3.2018

Marktplatz für Kontakte und Netzwerken, Präsentationen, Praxisfenster. 

Cambridge: 360°-Anwendungen zur Prüfungsvorbereitung
DaF-Verlage: Präsentieren am Büchertisch Bildungsmedien von morgen
Microsoft: Skype Translator, Chatbots, AI unterstützte Übersetzung
Goethe-Institut: Digitale Deutschprüfungen

Werkraum 1 - Reportagen aus dem Ausland
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, SAAL
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018

Gesprächsrunde mit Deutschlernenden aus den Goethe-Instituten in Indien, Russland, der Türkei und den USA

Deutschlernende an Goethe-Instituten in Indien, Russland, der Türkei und den USA haben sich in Workshops zusammengesetzt und überlegt, wie sie in der Zukunft besser und leichter Fremdsprachen lernen möchten.

  • Welche Wünsche und Anforderungen haben sie an modernen Fremdsprachenunterricht?
  • Mit welchen Medien wird in Zukunft gelernt?

Teilnehmende dieser Workshops werden auf dem Podium ihre Ideen und Wünsche formulieren und die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Kreativworkshops vorstellen. Wir laden Sie ein, die Perspektive von Deutschlernenden weltweit kennenzulernen, Erfahrungen auszutauschen und gemeinsam neue Konzepte und Ansätze für das Sprachenlernen in der Zukunft zu diskutieren.

Werkraum 2 - Runder Tisch
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Lounge (Empore)
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018

„Wie lernt man 2030?“

Welche digitalen Kompetenzen brauchen Lernende und Lehrende im Jahr 2030? Welche Technologien werden im Sprachunterricht verwendet?
Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Verlage Cornelsen, Hueber und Klett und der Bildungsmesse didacta stellen in einer Gesprächsrunde ihre Visionen zu Bildungsmedien im Jahr 2030 vor.

Werkraum 3
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Englisch/Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018 (open end)
16:30 Uhr: Vorbereitungstreffen Hackathon und letzte Registrierungsmöglichkeit

Virtual Reality, Künstliche Intelligenz, Sprachassistenten und Chatbots: Die technischen Entwicklungen bieten ein weites Handlungsfeld für neue technische Lösungen, um das Fremdsprachenlernen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Im Rahmen des Hackathons entwickeln interdisziplinäre Teams innovative Projektideen. Der Hackathon richtet sich an Akteurinnen und Akteure aus Entwicklung und Design sowie Sprachlehrende- und -lernende, Fremdsprachendidaktikerinnen und Fremdsprachendidaktiker und all diejenigen, die sich für das Thema Lernen im Zusammenhang mit den Herausforderungen und Chancen der Digitalisierung interessieren.

Die Vorstellung der Projekte findet im Anschluss an die Freiräume am Freitagnachmittag statt. Die besten Projektideen erhalten eine Förderung.

Anmeldung, Bildung der Teams und ein Briefing erfolgen am Mittwoch vor der Eröffnung der Konferenz. Die Anmeldung und Teilnahme am Hackathon beinhaltet die Teilnahme an der Eröffnungsveranstaltung und dem Empfang am Mittwochabend.

Am Hackathon nehmen auch Teilnehmende aus einem Pre-Hackathon teil, der vor Konferenzstart in Istanbul durchgeführt wurde.
 

Werkraum 4
Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Kuppel
Sprache: Deutsch

Donnerstag 22.3.2018

Gesprächsrunde: Christopher Koska, zem::dg Zentrum für Ethik der Medien und der digitalen Gesellschaft, Hochschule für Philiosophie München, Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt

Philosophisches Nachtgespräch zum Turmbau zu Babel, Innnovation und der Zukunft der Sprachen.      

Ort: Berlin, Spreewerkstätten, Saal
Sprache: Deutsch

Freitag 23.3.2018

Moderation: Florian Grolman, initio Organisationsberatung

An den ersten beiden Tagen der Konferenz zeigen Expertinnen und Experten aus verschiedenen Themenbereichen wichtige Trends und Entwicklungsperspektiven der nächsten Jahre auf. Wie können wir die Potentiale der Digitalisierung nutzen und dadurch das Fremdsprachenlernen in Zukunft für Lernerinnen und Lerner attraktiver und leichter gestalten? In den Freiräumen werden ­­­in interdisziplinären Kreativworkshops konkrete Projektideen entwickelt und anschließend einer Expertenjury präsentiert. Die besten Projektideen erhalten eine Förderung. Die Teilnahme an den Freiräumen ist kostenlos und für alle Interessierten offen.
Top